DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-15, 18-22 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
The claimed acronyms have support because applicant declares the full names of acronyms as follows:
Flow sense valve (FSV) in claim 4
Linear variable differential transformer (LVDT) in claim 6
Linear variable differential transformer (LVDT) in claim 8
Shut off valve (SOV) in claim 14
Flow sense valve (FSV) in claim 19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 18-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths (US 2015/0192075).
Annotations on Griffiths fig 2
Claim 1, Griffiths discloses a fuel circuit (fuel supply system, par 0001) connecting a fuel supply to an outlet (fig. 2, fuel supply from low pressure source LP/fuel tank; outlet is HP outlet on start valve 43, deliver to supply line/HPA and engine-directed flow path; par. 0035, 0040-0041, 0045), the fuel circuit comprising:
an inlet line downstream of and connected to the fuel supply (inlet line to pump 39, via fuel filter, par. 0035, 0040-0041);
an output line upstream of and connected to the outlet (HPA/high pressure line feeding pressure drop control valve 41 and start valve 43 toward downstream delivery, par. 0041, 0045);
a controllable pump fluidically connected to the fuel supply and configured to generate a pump flow through the controllable pump (variable displacement pump 39 in actuator pump unit 37 receives fuel from the low pressure source and delivers fuel at high pressure into HPa, par. 0040-0041), and to output an output flow to an output line (Hpa, par. 0040-0041), wherein the controllable pump comprises: a pump inlet fluidically connected to and downstream of the inlet line (variable displacement pump 39 receives fuel from the low pressure source LP, par. 0040-0041); a pump outlet fluidically connected to and upstream of the output line (variable displacement pump 39 delivers discharge to HPA, which feeds valve 41 and valve 43, par. 0041); and
a flow passage configured to be revealed at a first displacement of the controllable pump (spill port 49 of pressure drop control valve 41 provide the disclosed low-flow spill path associated with de-stroked operation of variable displacement pump 39, fig. 2, par. 0047-0048; this corresponds to the claimed flow passage revealed at low displacement); and
a flow split system (PDCV 41 with spill port 49 which connects the VDP delivery at pressure HPa to the HP pump outlet at pressure HP at low flow conditions, par 0048), directly connecting the flow passage to the [supply] line of the fuel circuit, such that the flow split system directs a portion of a fuel flow to bypass the outlet line and flow to the inlet line when an output of the controllable pump is at or below the first displacement such that the flow passage is revealed (at low flow conditions fuel is delivered to the outlet of HP pump 33, par 0048).
Does not disclose the flow split system directing spill flow during low flow conditions to the claimed “inlet line.” Griffiths does not disclose this because spill port 49 of valve 41 discharges to the outlet of pump 33 and not to the inlet of pump 39 (the claimed inlet line). Examiner notes that a person of ordinary skill would recognize that connecting spill port (49) to the common “inlet line” of pump (33) and pump (39) would have no effect on the operation of the Griffin system because the main function of valve (41) when in the low flow state is to provide “rapid response” by redirecting flow from spill port (49) to actuators (par 0048). Similarly, the output of port (47) is directed toward the outlet of pump (33), but it functions as a spill valve during a shift to low flow demands of oil for actuators (par 0047). In both cases, the rapid responses result from maintaining the flow through pump (39) and it is unrelated to flow through pump (33), therefore whether the spill discharges to the inlet or outlet of (33) should have no effect on whether pump (39) has a spill port for its excess output.
It would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts to connecting the spill port (49) of valve (41) to the common inlet of pump (33) and pump (39). The rule is that a rearrangement of parts is obvious when shifting the position of a device would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP 2144.04). In this case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the ports discharging to the inlet of the “inlet line” rather than the discharge of pump (33) would have no effect on the port’s function as a spill valve, and further that there is no disclosed benefit of discharging the low flow oil to discharge of pump (33). A person of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the Griffiths system functions to remain unchanged if such a change were done.
Similarly, applicant has not disclosed any particular problem solved or benefit of connecting the outlet of their bypass valve to recirculate (121). Applicant’s disclosed invention criticality is that the bypass valve allows the pump to run during low flow conditions, and that the continuous flow prevents overheating. The bypass valve spilling its low flow to recirculate back to the “inlet line” has no disclosed benefit and is therefore obvious design choice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of spill port (49) of Griffiths to the “inlet line” of pump (33) and pump (39) as an obvious rearrangement of parts.
Claim 3, Griffiths makes obvious the fuel circuit of claim 2, wherein the flow split system includes a bypass line in fluid communication with the flow passage of the controllable pump (bypass line is the branch from output line HPa which includes the passage to spill port 49 of pressure drop control valve 41 provides the disclosed low-flow spill path associated with de-stroked operation of variable displacement pump 39, fig. 2, par. 0047-0048; PDCV 41 with spill port 49 provides a bypass/spill path in fluid communication with the claimed flow passage).
Claim 4, Griffiths makes obvious the fuel circuit of claim 3, wherein the flow split system includes a flow sense valve (FSV) in the bypass line and comprising a piston, wherein the piston is biased against pressure on the bypass line such that the bypass flow is configured to move the piston (pressure drop control valve 41 is a flow sense valve; it includes a piston as a pressure-responsive valve member/spool controlling flow through spill ports 47, 49 under pressure conditions in the spill/control path, par. 0041, 0047-0048).
Claim 5, Griffiths discloses the fuel circuit of claim 4, wherein the flow split system includes a piston position sensor (position sensor for start valve 43, par 0043; the start valve 43 is broadly associated with the valve 49 and can be considered a component of the flow split system) associated with the piston configured to determine a position of the piston (par 0043).
Claim 18, Griffiths teaches the fuel system of claim 22, wherein the flow split system includes a bypass line in fluid communication with the flow passage of the variable displacement pump (bypass line is the branch from output line HPa which includes the passage to spill port 49 of pressure drop control valve 41 provides the disclosed low-flow spill path associated with de-stroked operation of variable displacement pump 39, fig. 2, par. 0047-0048; PDCV 41 with spill port 49 provides a bypass/spill path in fluid communication with the claimed flow passage).
Claim 19, Griffiths teaches the fuel system of claim 18, wherein the flow split system includes a flow sense valve in the bypass line and comprising a piston, wherein the piston is biased against pressure on the bypass line such that the bypass flow is configured to move the piston (pressure drop control valve 41 is a flow sense valve; it includes a piston as a pressure-responsive valve member/spool controlling flow through spill ports 47, 49 under pressure conditions in the spill/control path, par. 0041, 0047-0048).
Claim 20, Griffiths discloses a method for operating a fuel circuit (fuel supply system, par 0001) delivering fuel from an inlet line to an outlet line (fig. 2, fuel supply from low pressure source LP/fuel tank to the inlet of pump 39; outlet is HP outlet on start valve 43, deliver to supply line/HPA and engine-directed flow path; par. 0035, 0040-0041, 0045), the method comprising:
bypassing flow of a controllable pump (39) from an outlet of the controllable pump (ports 46 of valve 43) and, thereby, from the outlet line of the fuel circuit (ports 46 are outlets of the “outlet line” from pump 39), by directing a portion of the flow (spill out of spill port 49 of valve 41) between an inlet of the controllable pump (inlet of 39) and the outlet of the controllable pump (outlet of valve 43 on the discharge of pump 39; 39 is a component of the pump unit 37 which includes valve 43, par 0056) through a flow passage of the controllable pump (through flow passage out of spill port 49),
…
maintaining a desired output flow through the outlet of the controllable pump by directing the rest of the flow through the outlet of the controllable pump (fig 2 shows, valve 41 with port 49 and valve 43 with outlet 46 are the only branches off of the same fluid line, therefore all fluid not going through valve 41 goes through valve 43 and vice versa), and thereby to the outlet line of the fuel circuit and downstream of the controllable pump (since ports 46 are on valve 43, flow through valve 43 will go to the “outline line” through ports 46) to cause a total pump flow within the controllable pump to maintain at least a minimum pump flow (pump 39 continues to operate and cause flow during low flow demand conditions, par 0047-0049).
Griffiths does not disclose the flow passage returns to the inlet line and upstream of the inlet of the controllable pump when the flow passage is open, and wherein the flow passage is separate from the outlet;
that maintains a pump temperature below a high temperature threshold.
Nevertheless, spill port 49 of pressure drop control valve 41 provides the disclosed low-flow spill path associated with de-stroked operation of variable displacement pump 39, and at low flow conditions fuel is delivered to the outlet of HP pump 33 (par. 0047-0048). Griffiths does not explicitly disclose discharge to the claimed inlet line because it routs to the outlet of pump 33.
It would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts to connecting the spill port (49) of valve (41) to the common inlet of pump (33) and pump (39). The rule is that a rearrangement of parts is obvious when shifting the position of a device would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP 2144.04). In this case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the ports discharging to the inlet of the “inlet line” rather than the discharge of pump (33) would have no effect on the port’s function as a spill valve, and further that there is no disclosed benefit of discharging the low flow oil to discharge of pump (33). A person of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the Griffiths system functions to remain unchanged if such a change were done.
Similarly, applicant has not disclosed any particular problem solved or benefit of connecting the outlet of their bypass valve to recirculate (121). Applicant’s disclosed invention criticality is that the bypass valve allows the pump to run during low flow conditions, and that the continuous flow prevents overheating. The bypass valve spilling its low flow to recirculate back to the “inlet line” has no disclosed benefit and is therefore obvious design choice. Therefore, rerouting spill port 49 to the common inlet of pump 33 and pump 39 would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts because it would not change the spill function of valve 41, there is no function lost from stopping low-flow discharge to the outlet of pump 33.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of spill port (49) of Griffiths to the “inlet line” of pump (33) and pump (39) as an obvious rearrangement of parts.
Regarding that maintains a pump temperature below a high temperature threshold.
Nevertheless, Griffiths discloses the benefit of heat rejection when operating the pump less flow (Griffiths, par 0052). Reasonably, the cooling cause by pump flow maintains the pump at a lower temperature, than the higher temperature the pump would reach without cooling. Under a BRI, the temperature the pump would reach without cooling meets the “high temperature threshold.” Applicant has not disclosed the amount nor the intended effect or result of the high temperature threshold (Applicant’s spec par 0004, 0013, 0018, 0030). Therefore, reasonably this BRI interpretation of high temperature threshold reasonably conforms to what is disclosed by applicant.
Claim 22, Griffiths discloses a fuel system comprising: (fuel supply system, par 0001; fig. 2 overall arrangement, par 0040-0041);
a fuel supply (low pressure source LP/fuel tank, par. 0035, 0040-0041);
an outlet (HP outlet on start valve 43 in the downstream delivery path, par. 0045);
a fuel circuit fluidically connecting the fuel supply to the outlet (fig. 2 fuel path from LP source through pumps and valves to downstream outlet, par. 0040-0041, 0045), the fuel circuit comprising:
an inlet line downstream of and connected to the fuel supply (fig. 2, fuel supply from low pressure source LP/fuel tank to the inlet of pump 39; outlet is HP outlet on start valve 43, deliver to supply line/HPA and engine-directed flow path; par. 0035, 0040-0041, 0045);
an outlet line upstream of and connected to the outlet (id);
a variable displacement pump (variable displacement pump 39 in actuator pump unit 37, par. 0040-0041) , the variable displacement pump comprising:
a pump inlet connected to and downstream of the inlet line; (variable displacement pump 39 receives fuel from low pressure source LP, par. 0040-0041); a pump outlet connected to and upstream of the outlet line (a pump outlet is the outlet of valve 43 on the discharge of pump 39; 39 is a component of the pump unit 37 which includes valve 43, par 0056); and a flow passage downstream of the pump inlet and upstream of the pump outlet (spill passage from port 49), and wherein the controllable pump is configured to reveal the flow passage at a low displacement angle and/or position of the controllable pump; (spill port 49 of pressure drop control valve 41 provides the disclosed low-flow spill path associated with de-stroked operation of variable displacement pump 39, fig. 2, par. 0047-0048; this corresponds to the claimed flow passage revealed at low displacement angle and/or position); and
a flow split system directly connecting the flow passage to the inlet line and configured to divert fuel from the pump outlet (PDCV 41 with spill port 49 which connects the VDP delivery at pressure HPa to the HP pump outlet at pressure HP at low flow conditions, par 0048), and thereby from the outlet line of the fuel circuit (flow is taken from HPa to feed valve port 49), and through the flow passage, and thereby to the [supply] line, when the flow passage is revealed. (PDCV 41 with spill port 49 connects VDP delivery at pressure HPa to the HP pump 33 outlet at pressure HP at low flow conditions, par. 0048).
Griffiths does not disclose the flow split system directing spill flow during low flow conditions to the claimed “inlet line.” Nevertheless, spill port 49 of pressure drop control valve 41 provides the disclosed low-flow spill path associated with de-stroked operation of variable displacement pump 39, and at low flow conditions fuel is delivered to the outlet of HP pump 33 (par. 0047-0048). Griffiths does not explicitly disclose discharge to the claimed inlet line because it routs to the outlet of pump 33. It would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts to connecting the spill port (49) of valve (41) to the common inlet of pump (33) and pump (39). The rule is that a rearrangement of parts is obvious when shifting the position of a device would not have modified the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950); MPEP 2144.04). In this case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the ports discharging to the inlet of the inlet line rather than the discharge of pump (33) would have no effect on the port’s function as a spill valve, and further that there is no disclosed benefit of discharging the low flow oil to discharge of pump (33). A person of ordinary skill would reasonably expect the Griffiths system functions to remain unchanged if such a change were done. Similarly, applicant has not disclosed any particular problem solved or benefit of connecting the outlet of their bypass valve to recirculate (121). Applicant’s disclosed invention criticality is that the bypass valve allows the pump to run during low flow conditions, and that the continuous flow prevents overheating. The bypass valve spilling its low flow to recirculate back to the inlet line has no disclosed benefit and is therefore obvious design choice. Therefore, rerouting spill port 49 to the common inlet of pump 33 and pump 39 would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts because it would not change the spill function of valve 41, there is no function lost from stopping low-flow discharge to the outlet of pump 33. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connection of spill port (49) of Griffiths to the inlet line of pump (33) and pump (39) as an obvious rearrangement of parts.
Claims 6 - 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths in view of Rutar (2022/0307491).
Claim 6, Griffiths teaches the fuel circuit of claim 5. Griffiths does not explicitly disclose: the piston position sensor is a linear variable differential transformer.
Rutar teaches a fluid pump system (variable displacement pump “vdp” with a control system, par 0004, 0016), a controllable pump (vdp 102, par 0016); wherein the piston position sensor is a linear variable differential transformer (Rutar, sensor 138 is a linear variable differential transformer, par 0020).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the generic position sensor of Griffiths by using the linear variable differential transformer of Rutar for the predictable result of measuring piston position .
Claim 7, Griffiths teaches the fuel circuit of claim 5.
Griffiths does not explicitly disclose: the controllable pump includes a pump position sensor configured to sense a position of the controllable pump.
Nevertheless, Griffiths discloses servo controller (42) of the variable displacement pump (39, par 0041) where the servo-controller (42) controls displacement of the VDP (39, par 0044, 0047).
Rutar teaches a fluid pump system (variable displacement pump “vdp” with a control system, par 0004, 0016), a controllable pump (vdp 102, par 0016); wherein a servo valve (EHSV connected to controller 142, par 0021) controls the displacement of the pump (par 0007, 0021), wherein a position sensor (sensor 138, par 0020-0021) provides feedback on the position of the electrohydraulic servo valve in order to adjust displacement of the pump (par 0021).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the servo-controller of Griffiths by adding a position sensor for position feedback of the pump taught by Rutar in order to provide the controller feedback to compare to the displacement of the variable displacement pump and thereby actuate an adjustment of the variable displacement valve via the servo valve and thereby improve the responsiveness of the pump (Rutar, par 0021).
Claim 8, Griffiths in view of Rutar teaches the fuel circuit of claim 7. Griffiths does not explicitly disclose: the pump position sensor is a linear variable differential transformer.
Rutar teaches wherein the piston position sensor is a linear variable differential transformer (Rutar, sensor 138 is a linear variable differential transformer, par 0020).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the generic position sensor of Griffiths by using the linear variable differential transformer of Rutar for the predictable result of measuring piston position.
Claim 9, Griffiths in view of Rutar teaches the fuel circuit of claim 7, further comprising a flow module (Griffiths control of VDP 39 pump flow rate via valve 41 and servo-controller 42, par 0040-0041) operatively connected to the pump position sensor (Rutar, 138, par 0020-0021, applied on Griffiths servo valve 42), the piston position sensor (Griffiths, position sensor 43), a pump speed source (at a given speed, the auxiliary pump is configured for maximum flow rate, for both low and high engine speeds, par 0020-0022; the main pump also has speed proportional to engine speed, par 0002, 0010), and an output line pressure sensor (Griffiths, differential pressure between outlet and LP is measured, par 0041), and configured to determine flow through the controllable pump and flow through the bypass line and flow split system (flow rate is determined from control via these measurements, par 0041), and to subtract the flow through the bypass line (Griffiths 47/49) from the flow through the controllable pump to determine the output flow (Griffiths, flow through HP port 46 is the flow that does not go through 47/49, par 0043, 0047-0048).
Claim 10, Griffiths in view of Rutar teaches the fuel circuit of claim 9, further comprising the pressure sensor on the output line downstream of the controllable pump (Griffiths, PDCV 41 senses pressure rise, par 0047).
Claim 11, Griffiths in view of Rutar teaches the fuel circuit of claim 9, wherein the flow module is configured to determine pump flow (Griffiths, par 0047) through the controllable pump as a function of a pump position (Griffiths, the servo-controller 42 changes the pump stroke angle, par 0047), a pump speed (Griffiths, the control is configured to change flow of the auxiliary pump based on speed of the main pump which is directly related to engine speed, par 0002, 0020-0022), and an output line pressure (PDCV 41 senses pressure par 0047).
Claim 12, Griffiths in view of Rutar teaches the fuel circuit claim 10, wherein the flow module is configured to determine bypass flow on the bypass line (Griffiths, flow through ports 47/49) and through the flow split system as a function of a piston position (Griffiths, piston position sensor on start valve 43 senses valve position; the start valve determines split flow through ports 46, par 0044- 0045), a piston spring constant (Griffiths, Bias spring in 41 biases into a position to increase pump flow rate, par 0041; bias spring in servo-controller 42 determines pressure required for servo control for changes in flow, par 0047, 0050; bias spring in 43 is a part of the controls of valve 43 and flow through port 46, par 0053-0054, inherently the bias spring in 43 affects flow through the valve 43 as the spring reasonably determines responsiveness to the controlling pressure differential across the control piston of valve 43, par 0053-0054).
Claim 13, Griffiths in view of Rutar teaches the fuel circuit claim 12, wherein the flow module is configured to control the controllable pump to generate a commanded output flow (Griffith, desired flow out of port 46, par 0043) based on the determined output flow from the controllable pump based on the bypass flow and pump flow (output flow of pump 39 which is not directed out of port 47/49 is output via port 46, par 0046, 0048).
Claim 14, Griffiths in view of Rutar teaches the fuel circuit claim 13, further comprising a shut off valve (Griffiths, start valve 43, at high engine speeds the start valves shuts the path 46, abstract, par 0005, 0015, 0018) between the output line (HPa which feeds both valve 41 and vale 43, par 0041) and an engine line (HP line 35 to which HP 46 discharges, par 0043, 0045, 0050; or a shut-off valve, par 0038).
Claim 15, Griffiths in view of Rutar teaches the fuel circuit of claim 14, wherein the SOV is controlled by a solenoid valve (Griffiths, Servo-controller 42, para 0019-0022, 0041, 0044; a servo is known to provide precise variable position electrical control of a valve, solenoids are known to provide two position electrical control of a valve; Servo meets the solenoid limitation under a BRI because it provides positional electrical control of the valve) in communication with fluidically connected to the output line (42 connects to HPaf via servo orifice 44, par 0041, 0047) to fluidly communicate a biased side of the SOV (fig 2 shows a side of 42 with spring) with the output line such that pressure on both sides of the SOV equalizes and cause closure of a biased SOV piston to shut off flow to the engine line (pressure through HPaf will pressure balance in order to destroke pump 39, par 0041, 0044, 0045; decreasing flow of pump 39 meets the plain meaning of shut-off flow under a BRI, the output of the pump to HP 46 decreasing flow to engine line 35, par 0043, 0047).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant is correct in asserting that Griffiths does not disclose “flow to the inlet line.” Examiner agrees that Griffiths does not disclose that element because spill valve 49 discharges to the outlet of pump 33.
However, the rejection above was modified to address the differences as obvious under Griffiths. As noted in the rationale above, the discharge of the flow passage to “the inlet line” is an obvious rearrangement of parts. Applicant’s disclosed benefit come from maintaining fluid flow through the pump (applicant’s par 0031-0032); this is accomplished by the flow split system directing “a portion of fuel flow to bypass the outlet line.” Plainly, only the bypass flow is critical, and where that bypass flow is rejoined into the fuel system is a matter of obvious design choice that has no effect on the operation of applicant’s invention.
Similarly, as explained above, the point at which the output of Griffiths spill port (49) rejoins the fuel system is also unimportant and does not affect the critical features of Griffiths. Griffiths diverting of flow is to adjust to low demand, and yet to retain sufficient potential flow to allow a rapid transition from low demand of flow to a high demand of flow. The critical feature in Griffiths is that the diversion of flow occurs, but where that flow is rejoined into the fuel system is a matter of design choice, and it also has no effect on the function of Griffiths.
Pg 11, applicant argues against Kikuchi. The arguments are moot as Kikuchi is no longer used in the rejection.
Pg 12, applicant argues against Rutar teaching the outlet of the bypass line connecting to the “inlet line”. Rutar is not used in the rejection to teach the bypass line connection to the “inlet line.” Rutar is instead cited in regards to the details of the linear variable differential transformer. Applicant has presented no argument’s related to the combination of Rutar with regards to the LVDT. Therefore, the combination maintained.
Conclusion
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746