The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/10/2025 in which claims 1-2, 21-27 are pending, claims 1-2 are currently amended and claims 21-27 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 and claim 27 recites the limitation " the non-cutting edge " in line 2 and lines 8-9 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Costa (U.S. Patent D356,020). In regards to claim 1, Costa discloses a knife (see annotations below) comprising: a multi grip handle including an end grip surface; grip surfaces, a connecting region having a first cutting edge that is substantially straight and perpendicular to the multi-grip handle, the grip surfaces being positioned between the end grip surface and the first cutting edge, and a blade connected to the multi grip handle via the connecting region and having a second cutting edge.
In regards to claim 2, Costa discloses wherein the blade comprises has a third cutting edge positioned between the first cutting edge and the second cutting edge.
In regards to claim 21, Costa discloses wherein the third cutting edge is serrated with a toothed surface (as shown above).
In regards to claim 22, Costa discloses wherein the second cutting edge is curved (as shown above) with the non-cutting edge of the blade is linear.
In regards to claim 23, Costa discloses wherein the non-cutting edge of the blade is substantially parallel to the multi-grip handle (as annotated above).
In regards to claim 24, Costa discloses wherein the multi-grip handle extends farther from the connecting region than a tip of the blade, and first cutting edge is a chopping edge.
In regards to claim 25, Costa discloses wherein the blade and the multi-grip handle extend in the same parallel direction away from opposite distal ends of the connecting region (both extend from the right to the left away from the connecting region).
Claims 1 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Costa (U.S. Patent D356,020). In regards to claim 1, Costa discloses a knife (see annotations below) comprising: a multi grip handle including an end grip surface; grip surfaces, a connecting region having a first cutting edge that is substantially straight and perpendicular to the multi-grip handle, the grip surfaces being positioned between the end grip surface and the first cutting edge, and a blade connected to the multi grip handle via the connecting region and having a second cutting edge.
In regards to claim 26, Costa discloses wherein the multi-grip handle and the blade are not connected opposite the connecting region, forming an opening for entry of a user's hand allowing the user to perform multiple cutting, chopping, and cleaving actions with one knife using different grips on the multi-grip handle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loomis (U.S. Patent 5113587) in view of Jeffcoat (U.S. Patent 5,581,895).
In regards to claim 27, Loomis discloses a knife comprising: a multi-grip handle (20) having an end grip surface and grip surfaces; a connecting region (25) having a first chopping edge that is straight and perpendicular to the multi-grip handle at an end of the multi-grip handle; the grip surfaces being positioned between the end grip surface and the first chopping edge; and a blade (12) connected to the multi-grip handle via the connecting region and having a second cutting edge (16), the second cutting edge is curved with the non-cutting edge (14) of the blade being linear, wherein the non-cutting edge of the blade is parallel to the multi-grip handle, and wherein the multi-grip handle (20) and the blade are not connected opposite the connecting region, forming an opening for entry of a user's hand allowing the user to perform multiple cutting, chopping, and cleaving actions with one knife using different grips on the multi-grip handle.
Loomis discloses the claimed invention except that the handle is at an angle to the connection portion and a blade non-cutting edge and therefore does not disclose the high lighted limitations in which the connecting region is perpendicular to the multi grip handle and the non-cutting edge is parallel to the multi grip handle. Attention is further directed to the Jeffcoat knives. Jeffcoat discloses a multipurpose knife where the knife is attached to the handle via a fastener 60. Jeffcoat sets forth that the fastener allows the blade to move from the closed position as in Figure 1 to the open position of Figure 2. Alternatively, “fastener 60 allows the individual user to select the most comfortable angle alpha. for each type of cut.” Col6. Lines 47-50. Thereby Jeffcoat anticipates that alternative angles of the handle relative to the blade edge are contemplated due to the given cutting application. As multiple positions of the handle relative to the blade edge are contemplated by Jeffcoat with the same blade edge, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified the handle of Loomis to either be adjustable about a corresponding fastener, or two have provided the handle of Loomis at a different angle, e.g. parallel to the non-cutting edge and perpendicular to the connection portion as depending on the needs of the user per the given cutting application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724