DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/26/23 and 4/26/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
limiting element in claim 1 -and all its dependent claims thereof;
push rod locking member in claims 12-14;
joint unlocking member in claims 1and all its dependent claims thereof; and
linear driving device in claims 17-19.
For a limiting element, in claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 12, and 16, the specification does not disclose sufficient structure. Therefore, it remains unclear how a limiting element should be interpreted.
For a push rod locking member, in claims 12-13, the specification discloses “the push rod locking member 143 is configured as a spherical member independent of the push rod locking sleeve 142 and the push rod 122” (¶106) and “the push rod locking member 143 can use other forms, and/or be configured as a member installed on the push rod locking sleeve 142 or the push rod 122, as long as it can achieve the above-mentioned locking and unlocking effects” (¶106). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the push rod locking member to be a spherical member independent of the push rod locking sleeve and the push rod or a member installed on the push rod locking sleeve or the push rod, as long as it can achieve the above-mentioned locking and unlocking effects.
For a joint unlocking member, in claims 1, 3-6, and 9-12, Fig. 4 of the drawings show joint unlocking member 111 as being composed of fixing hole-1111, insertion portion-1112, and sleeving portion-1113. Also see ¶70 of the specification. Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the joint unlocking member to be the fixing hole, insertion portion, and sleeving portion.
For a linear driving device, in claims 17 and 19, the specification discloses “the linear driving device can be selected as a linear motor 151 or other similar devices” (¶116). Therefore, the Examiner is interpreting the linear driving device to be a linear motor or other similar devices.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim limitation “a limiting element” in claim 1 and all its dependent claims invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not disclose structure for the limiting element.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a limiting element” in claim 1 and all its dependent claims invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification does not disclose structure for the limiting element. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
In claim 15, the limitation of “an outer sheath” in line 2 seems unclear. It remains unclear whether this is the same or different that “an outer sheath” in line 4 of claim 1. For the purposes of examination, they are being interpreted as the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Traina (WO 2019191015 filed on 3/26/19 as cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Traina teaches a quick insertion-and-removal device for a surgical instrument, comprising: a base for slidably connecting the surgical instrument; an outer sheath limiting assembly provided on the base and comprising a limiting element (¶13-the coupler defines a threaded aperture, whereby the coupler is rotationally affixed within the recess of the stem, the drive screw includes a threaded portion and a coupling feature), the limiting element is movable relative to the base and used for locking or unlocking an outer sheath of the surgical instrument (¶13-rotation of the proximal gear of the engagement assembly drives rotation of the central gear of the transfer assembly and linear translation of the drive screw, with respect to the housing assembly); a push rod limiting assembly provided on the base (¶79-drive member 380 may define, for example, a drive bar or push bar) and comprising a sliding sleeve which is movable relative to the base to lock or unlock a push rod of the surgical instrument (¶5-the latch plate is rotationally coupled to the housing assembly and configured to transition between a locked configuration and unlocked configuration, with respect to an instrument sleeve of the surgical instrument); and a mounting-dismounting control assembly comprising a joint unlocking member (¶83- instrument drive shaft 1020 controls actuation, articulation, and/or firing of the end effector), the joint unlocking member is movable relative to the base and connected to the sliding sleeve and capable of driving the sliding sleeve to move relative to the base to a position of unlocking the push rod (¶110-coupling and uncoupling of instrument sleeve 1010 of surgical instrument 1000 to retention mechanism 2550 of instrument drive assembly 2000), where the joint unlocking member engages with the limiting element and is capable of unlocking the outer sheath (¶96-the direction of rotation of proximal gear 310, and thus drive screw 340, determines the direction of longitudinal translation of drive nut 350. With instrument sleeve 1010 of surgical instrument 1000 coupled to coupling assembly 500, and instrument drive shaft 1020 coupled to drive member 380, rotation of proximal gear 310 directs linear translation of drive member 380 and instrument drive shaft 1020; ¶127).
Regarding claim 9, Traina teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein the limiting element is provided with a first linked engagement portion, the joint unlocking member is provided with a second linked engagement portion, and the joint unlocking member and the limiting element are engageble with each other through cooperation between the first linked engagement portion and the second linked engagement portion (Traina, ¶5-the button is slidably coupled to the housing assembly between first and second positions; ¶108-when button 2555 is in the first position the engagement region 2557 of release arm 2558 is disposed at the first end 2554a of cam slot 2554 and the abutment region 2556 of release arm 2558 is spaced away from lock plate 2552. When button 2555 is in the second position the engagement region 2557 of release arm 2558 is disposed at the second end 2554b of cam slot 2554 and abutment region 2556 of release arm 2558 is in abutment with lock plate 2552).
Regarding claim 10, Traina teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 9, wherein one of the first linked engagement portion and the second linked engagement portion is configured as an insertion hole, and the other is configured as an insertion portion receivable within the insertion hole (Traina, ¶139-as button 3555 slides towards the second position, cam arm 3558 of button 3555 cams along arm 3553 of latch plate 3552, causing arm 3553 to pivot into a position out of longitudinal bore 3405 and off axis of longitudinal axis “G” of coupling tube 340 into the unlocked configuration (e.g., arm 3553 pivots within locking cavity 3551 of coupling tube 3400 out of engagement with recess 1015 of instrument sleeve 1010) (FIGS. 28D and 29A)).
Regarding claim 11, Traina teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein the joint unlocking member further comprises a sleeving portion for surrounding or being inserted in the sliding sleeve, and the sliding sleeve comprises a blocking portion engageble with the sleeving portion so that the sliding sleeve is slidable along with the joint unlocking member (Traina, ¶88-longitudinal translation of instrument sleeve 1010 of surgical instrument 1000, within coupling tube 400, is inhibited, and in the unlocked configuration, button 552 is disengaged from recess 1015 such that instrument sleeve 1010 freely slides proximally and distally within coupling tube 400, button 552 slides into and out of engagement with recess 1015 of instrument sleeve 1010 of surgical instrument 1000).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traina in view of Ren (WO 2020005165 filed on 7/1/19).
Regarding claim 2, Traina teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 1, wherein the limiting element is movable relative to the base in a direction perpendicular to a sliding direction of the surgical instrument (Traina, ¶88-button 552 actuates between the locked and unlocked configurations, button 552 translates perpendicular to coupling tube 400, and instrument sleeve 1010 of surgical instrument 1000 inserted therein). However, Traina does not teach the base has a slide hole extending perpendicular to a sliding direction of the outer sheath, the limiting element is slidably connected to the slide hole and opened with an outer sheath limiting hole and is capable of locking or unlocking the outer sheath of the surgical instrument through the outer sheath limiting hole.
Ren teaches the base has a slide hole extending perpendicular to a sliding direction of the outer sheath (¶100-a threaded hole 342 formed there on at a position e.g. along a direction 341 perpendicular to the assembling hole 340), the limiting element is slidably connected to the slide hole and opened with an outer sheath limiting hole and is capable of locking or unlocking the outer sheath of the surgical instrument through the outer sheath limiting hole (¶100-when the locking screw 346 is loosened, the executing member 2 becomes slidable relative to the sphere 33, along upward direction 202 or downward direction 204, to enable positional adjustment of the executing member 2 relative to the sphere 33, e.g. the distance between the end tip 26 to the executing member 2 relative to the base 1).
Ren relates to robotics, and in particular to a robotic linkage apparatus for medical applications (¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include the base has a slide hole extending perpendicular to a sliding direction of the outer sheath, the limiting element is slidably connected to the slide hole and opened with an outer sheath limiting hole and is capable of locking or unlocking the outer sheath of the surgical instrument through the outer sheath limiting hole of Ren in order to position at various postural orientations with maximum possible inclination angle within a three-dimensional geometry space defined by the base (Ren, ¶81).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Traina and Ren teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 2, wherein when the joint unlocking member moves to a position of being engaged with the limiting element, the joint unlocking member is capable of driving the limiting element to slide in the slide hole to unlock the outer sheath (Traina, ¶75-housing assembly 205 defines at least one bore 207 (as best illustrated in FIG. 4) for housing an inner drive assembly 300 (FIG. 7) therein; ¶7-pivots the drive link between a locked position and an unlocked position; ¶105-may alternatively be releasably couplable to elongated cavity 2034, such that coupling tube 2400 slides into and out of engagement with elongated cavity 2030).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Traina and Ren teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 2, wherein the outer sheath limiting assembly further comprises a detection element which is arranged within a sliding path of the limiting element and used to detect a stop position of the limiting element in the slide hole (Traina, ¶131-a stop cap 3376 is disposed about drive screw 3370 distal of threaded portion 3372, such that proximal portion 3371 of drive screw 3370 may slide linearly within a through-hole 3375 of stop cap 3376).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traina in view of Fournier (WO 2015189531 filed on 6/12/15).
Regarding claim 4, Traina teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 1. However, Traina does not teach wherein the mounting-dismounting control assembly further comprises a shift block connector, one side of which is fixedly connected to the joint unlocking member, and the other side extends along a motion direction of the joint unlocking member to form as a slidable portion.
Fournier teaches wherein the mounting-dismounting control assembly further comprises a shift block connector, one side of which is fixedly connected to the joint unlocking member (page 1, 2nd to last ¶-a control member adapted to control in a cyclical repeated manner a movement relative to the base of the drive members of the pair of drive members in the drive configuration from the first to the second position), and the other side extends along a motion direction of the joint unlocking member to form as a slidable portion (page 14, ¶3-the end 27 of the actuating rod 27 slides relative to the actuating surface 25 in the direction Y. Provision is made for example for the actuating rod 27 to be secured to a carriage 28 mounted so as to slide in the direction Y on rails 29 secured to the drive member 24).
Fournier relates to for driving elongate flexible medical members (page 1, ¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein the mounting-dismounting control assembly further comprises a shift block connector, one side of which is fixedly connected to the joint unlocking member, and the other side extends along a motion direction of the joint unlocking member to form as a slidable portion of Fournier in order to makes the structure relatively more complex, but clearly more reliable in terms of the transmission quality of the movement between actuators on the one hand and drive member base (Fournier, page 6, 2nd to last ¶).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Traina and Fournier teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 4, wherein a protrusion is provided on one side of the base (Fournier, page 9, ¶2-receiving the pins or the rollers respectively connected to the two drive members); an accommodating hole is defined in the slidable portion for accommodating the protrusion (Fournier, page 25, ¶4-three oblong holes 734, 735 and 736, inclined by the same inclination in which slide at least three pins 737, 738 and 739 respectively connected); and the shift block connector is slidable relative to the base on a surface where a top face of the protrusion is located (Fournier, page 24, 2nd to last ¶-when the actuator 711, located on the left, pushes the plate 716 towards the right which slides in the rail 717 fixed to the base 718), and when the shift block connector slides with the joint unlocking member to the position where the joint unlocking member is engaged with the limiting element (Fournier, page 14, ¶4-the range of movement of the carriage 28 relative to the drive member 24 in the Y direction is preferably limited so that, at each location of this range of movement, the end 27 of the actuating rod remains engaged with the actuating surface 25 of the drive member 24), the accommodating hole accommodates the protrusion as the shift block connector approaches the base (Fournier, page 8, 4th to last ¶-two inclined oblong holes of opposite inclination in which slide at least two pins respectively connected to the drive members).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein a protrusion is provided on one side of the base; an accommodating hole is defined in the slidable portion for accommodating the protrusion; and the shift block connector is slidable relative to the base on a surface where a top face of the protrusion is located, and when the shift block connector slides with the joint unlocking member to the position where the joint unlocking member is engaged with the limiting element, the accommodating hole accommodates the protrusion as the shift block connector approaches the base of Fournier in order to make the structure clearly more reliable in terms of the transmission quality of the movement between actuators on the one hand and drive member base (Fournier, page 6, 2nd to last ¶).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Traina and Fournier teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 5,wherein a plurality of protrusions are provided at intervals along a direction in which the shift block connector slides relative to the base (Fournier, page 9, ¶2-receiving the pins or the rollers respectively connected to the two drive members), and the accommodating holes correspond to the protrusions in number and location (Fournier, page 25, ¶4-three oblong holes 734, 735 and 736, inclined by the same inclination in which slide at least three pins 737, 738 and 739 respectively connected); a slideway extending along the motion direction of the joint unlocking member is opened in the base (Fournier, page 9, ¶2-the inclination of the oblong holes being closer to the first direction than to the second direction, two of the oblong holes being arranged symmetrically with respect to the pivoting axis and receiving the pins or the rollers), sides of the slideway are capable of guiding the sliding slidable portion (Fournier, page 8, 2nd to last ¶-two inclined oblique rails of opposite inclination in which slide at least two slides respectively connected to the drive members), and an inclined surface is further provided on a bottom surface of the slideway (Fournier, page 8, 2nd to last ¶-two inclined oblique rails of opposite inclination in which slide at least two slides respectively connected to the drive members), and the shift block connector is slidable along the inclined surface to approach a side of the base (Fournier, page 24, 2nd to last ¶-when the actuator 711, located on the left, pushes the plate 716 towards the right which slides in the rail 717 fixed to the base 718).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein a plurality of protrusions are provided at intervals along a direction in which the shift block connector slides relative to the base, and the accommodating holes correspond to the protrusions in number and location; a slideway extending along the motion direction of the joint unlocking member is opened in the base, sides of the slideway are capable of guiding the sliding slidable portion, and an inclined surface is further provided on a bottom surface of the slideway, and the shift block connector is slidable along the inclined surface to approach a side of the base of Fournier in order to makes the structure relatively more complex, but clearly more reliable in terms of the transmission quality of the movement between actuators on the one hand and drive member base (Fournier, page 6, 2nd to last ¶).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traina in view of Ren as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Li (CN 209734036 published on 12/6/19).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Traina and Ren teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 2, wherein the outer sheath limiting assembly further comprises a first spring which is provided so that the limiting element can be retained in position of locking the outer sheath (Traina, ¶88-biasing member 555 may include a spring element disposed within radial cavity 405 in abutment with both button 552 and longitudinal cavity 510 and/or coupling tube 400, with button 552 biased into the locked configuration). However, the combination of Traina and Ren does not teach the push rod limiting assembly further comprises a second spring and a spring force from the second spring makes the sliding sleeve keep a tendency of locking the push rod.
Li teaches the push rod limiting assembly further comprises a second spring and a spring force from the second spring makes the sliding sleeve keep a tendency of locking the push rod (page 13, 3rd to last ¶-the end of the small cylinder 344 on the stopper 343 is provided with an engaging portion 3441 to limit the second spring; page 15, 2nd to last ¶-the pressing rod 1222 and the linkage button 123 are reset under the action of the second spring).
Li relates to the technical field of medical apparatus, especially claims a minimally invasive surgical instrument (page 1, ¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include the push rod limiting assembly further comprises a second spring and a spring force from the second spring makes the sliding sleeve keep a tendency of locking the push rod of Li in order to prevent the second seat from colliding with the second spring stop (Li, page 9, 5th to last ¶) and the maximum rotation angle of the instrument 42 can be controlled (Li, page 9, 3rd to last ¶).
Claims 12, 14-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traina in view of Zhang (CN 109998686 published on 4/25/19).
Regarding claim 12, Traina teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 1. However, Traina does not teach wherein the push rod limiting assembly further comprises a push rod locking sleeve arranged in the sliding sleeve and a push rod locking member, and wherein the push rod is provided in the push rod locking sleeve; the push rod locking member is capable of being constrained by the sliding sleeve between the push rod locking sleeve and the push rod, so that the push rod is locked relative to the push rod locking sleeve; and when the joint unlocking member moves to the position of being engaged with the limiting element, the sliding sleeve releases the push rod locking member to unlock the push rod.
Zhang teaches wherein the push rod limiting assembly further comprises a push rod locking sleeve arranged in the sliding sleeve and a push rod locking member and wherein the push rod is provided in the push rod locking sleeve (Zhang, page 2, ¶7-a main push rod is connected between the main connector and the main swing arm; page 4, 3rd to last ¶-a secondary push rod 26 that is coupled to the lower end of the secondary swing arm 6; page 2, ¶6-the main positioning lock and the auxiliary positioning lock each include an engagement sleeve, and the upper end of the engagement sleeve is inserted a connecting rod, a lower end of the engaging sleeve is inserted with a lower connecting rod); the push rod locking member is capable of being constrained by the sliding sleeve between the push rod locking sleeve and the push rod, so that the push rod is locked relative to the push rod locking sleeve (Zhang, page 5, ¶4-the main positioning lock 5 and the auxiliary positioning lock 8 are all connected. The upper end of the connecting sleeve 13 is inserted with the upper connecting rod 15, and the lower end of the engaging sleeve 13 is inserted with the lower connecting rod 14); and when the joint unlocking member moves to the position of being engaged with the limiting element (Zhang, page 4, 4th to last ¶-connecting the main connecting base 2 and a second shaft for connecting the main push rod 25 are respectively provided), the sliding sleeve releases the push rod locking member to unlock the push rod (Zhang, page 2, ¶5-main X-direction slider is connected to the main connecting seat, an X-direction moving motor; page 1, last ¶-the main connecting seat is connected with the main positioning lock).
Zhang relates to a surgical robot, in particular to a double gantry surgical robot for bone surface coordinate mapping acquisition for joint replacement (page 1, ¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein the push rod limiting assembly further comprises a push rod locking sleeve arranged in the sliding sleeve and a push rod locking member, and wherein the push rod is provided in the push rod locking sleeve; the push rod locking member is capable of being constrained by the sliding sleeve between the push rod locking sleeve and the push rod, so that the push rod is locked relative to the push rod locking sleeve; and when the joint unlocking member moves to the position of being engaged with the limiting element, the sliding sleeve releases the push rod locking member to unlock the push rod of Zhang in order to provide appropriate support (Zhang, page 4, 3rd to last ¶), realize multi-axis motion control and adjustment, and improve the operation precision (Zhang, page 3, ¶2).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Traina and Zhang teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 12, wherein two push rods are provided, each of which corresponds to one said push rod locking sleeve (Zhang, page 2, ¶7-a main push rod is connected between the main connector and the main swing arm; page 4, 3rd to last ¶-a secondary push rod 26 that is coupled to the lower end of the secondary swing arm 6; page 2, ¶6-the main positioning lock and the auxiliary positioning lock each include an engagement sleeve, and the upper end of the engagement sleeve is inserted a connecting rod, a lower end of the engaging sleeve is inserted with a lower connecting rod).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein two push rods are provided, each of which corresponds to one said push rod locking sleeve of Zhang in order to provide appropriate support (Zhang, page 4, 3rd to last ¶), realize multi-axis motion control and adjustment, and improve the operation precision (Zhang, page 3, ¶2).
Regarding claim 15, Traina teaches an executing mechanism of a surgical robot, comprising the quick insertion-and-removal device according to claim 1 and the surgical instrument which comprises an outer sheath (Traina, ¶13-the coupler defines a threaded aperture, whereby the coupler is rotationally affixed within the recess of the stem). However, Traina does not teach two push rods slidably inserted in the outer sheath, with each of the push rods being connected to a swing member.
Zhang teaches two push rods slidably inserted in the outer sheath, with each of the push rods being connected to a swing member (page 2, ¶7-a main push rod is connected between the main connector and the main swing arm; page 4, 3rd to last ¶-a secondary push rod 26 that is coupled to the lower end of the secondary swing arm 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include two push rods slidably inserted in the outer sheath, with each of the push rods being connected to a swing member of Zhang in order to provide appropriate support (Zhang, page 4, 3rd to last ¶).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Traina and Zhang teaches the executing mechanism of the surgical robot according to claim 15, wherein the executing mechanism further comprises two groups of push rod driving assemblies each corresponding to each of the push rods (Zhang, page 2, ¶7- the Y-direction driving motor is mounted with a rotating shaft, A main push rod is connected between the main connector and the main swing arm; page 4, 4th to last ¶-the X-direction guiding control device through the main connecting base 2, and the main push rod 25 is also mounted on the main connecting base 2), the push rod driving assembly comprising: a linear driving device arranged on the base (Zhang, page 4, 4th to last ¶-the main swing arm 3 is mounted on the X-direction guiding control device through the main connecting base 2); and a loading seat connected to an output end of motion of the linear driving device for driving the push rod to axially slide (Zhang, page 2, ¶5-main X-direction slider is connected to the main connecting seat, an X-direction moving motor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein the executing mechanism further comprises two groups of push rod driving assemblies each corresponding to each of the push rods, the push rod driving assembly comprising: a linear driving device arranged on the base; and a loading seat connected to an output end of motion of the linear driving device for driving the push rod to axially slide of Zhang in order to provide appropriate support (Zhang, page 4, 3rd to last ¶), realize multi-axis motion control and adjustment, and improve the operation precision (Zhang, page 3, ¶2).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Traina and Zhang teaches the executing mechanism of the surgical robot according to claim 17, wherein the push rod limiting assembly comprises two push rod locking sleeves arranged within the sliding sleeve (Zhang, page 2, ¶7-a main push rod is connected between the main connector and the main swing arm; page 4, 3rd to last ¶-a secondary push rod 26 that is coupled to the lower end of the secondary swing arm 6; page 2, ¶6-the main positioning lock and the auxiliary positioning lock each include an engagement sleeve, and the upper end of the engagement sleeve is inserted a connecting rod, a lower end of the engaging sleeve is inserted with a lower connecting rod), and in a locked state, the push rod can move with the push rod locking sleeve which is connected to the loading seat (Zhang, page 2, ¶5-main X-direction slider is connected to the main connecting seat, an X-direction moving motor; page 1, last ¶-the main connecting seat is connected with the main positioning lock).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein the push rod limiting assembly comprises two push rod locking sleeves arranged within the sliding sleeve, and in a locked state, the push rod can move with the push rod locking sleeve which is connected to the loading seat of Zhang in order to provide appropriate support (Zhang, page 4, 3rd to last ¶), realize multi-axis motion control and adjustment, and improve the operation precision (Zhang, page 3, ¶2).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Traina and Zhang teaches the executing mechanism of the surgical robot according to claim 15, wherein the executing mechanism further comprises two groups of push rod driving assemblies each corresponding to each of the push rods (Zhang, page 2, ¶7- the Y-direction driving motor is mounted with a rotating shaft, A main push rod is connected between the main connector and the main swing arm; page 4, 4th to last ¶-the X-direction guiding control device through the main connecting base 2, and the main push rod 25 is also mounted on the main connecting base 2), the push rod driving assembly comprising: a linear driving device directly arranged on the base (Zhang, page 4, 4th to last ¶-the main swing arm 3 is mounted on the X-direction guiding control device through the main connecting base 2); and a push rod locking sleeve connected to an output end of motion of the linear driving device for driving the push rod to axially slide (Zhang, page 2, ¶6-the auxiliary positioning lock each include an engagement sleeve; Fig. 1-main x-direction slider and 13 connecting sleeve).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein the executing mechanism further comprises two groups of push rod driving assemblies each corresponding to each of the push rods, the push rod driving assembly comprising: a linear driving device directly arranged on the base; and a push rod locking sleeve connected to an output end of motion of the linear driving device for driving the push rod to axially slide of Zhang in order to provide appropriate support (Zhang, page 4, 3rd to last ¶), realize multi-axis motion control and adjustment, and improve the operation precision (Zhang, page 3, ¶2).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traina in view of Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Wang (CN 112901977 published on 6/4/21).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Traina and Zhang teaches the quick insertion-and-removal device for the surgical instrument according to claim 12. However, the combination of Traina and Zhang does not teach wherein along a sliding direction of the sliding sleeve relative to the push rod locking sleeve, the sliding sleeve has a locking section and an unlocking section, and wherein when the sliding sleeve slides to a position where the locking section corresponds to the push rod locking sleeve, the push rod locking member locks the push rod; and when the sliding sleeve slides to a position where the unlocking section corresponds to the push rod locking sleeve, the push rod locking member is released to unlock the push rod.
Wang teaches wherein along a sliding direction of the sliding sleeve relative to the push rod locking sleeve (page 3, ¶3-guide sleeve 4-5 and can slide smoothly along the axis; page 4, ¶2-the telescopic rod 3-1 extends and pushes the guide post 4-4 to move), the sliding sleeve has a locking section and an unlocking section (page 3, ¶3-guide sleeve 4-5 and can slide smoothly along the axis; page 4, ¶1-locking and unlocking state conversion process), and wherein when the sliding sleeve slides to a position where the locking section corresponds to the push rod locking sleeve (page 3, ¶2-on the outside of the universal wheels, there are installed the support guide post assembly 4 and the electric push rod 3; page 3, ¶3-the guide sleeve 4-5 and can slide smoothly along the axis), the push rod locking member locks the push rod (page 3, ¶2-electric push rod 3 for locking the ground); and when the sliding sleeve slides to a position where the unlocking section corresponds to the push rod locking sleeve, the push rod locking member is released to unlock the push rod (page 4, ¶1-locking and unlocking state conversion process; page 2, ¶2-the guide post is arranged in the guide sleeve and can slide).
Wang relates to the technical field of minimally invasive surgical robots, and in particular to a method for controlling the base of a patient operating table of a surgical robot to lock the ground (page 1, ¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein along a sliding direction of the sliding sleeve relative to the push rod locking sleeve, the sliding sleeve has a locking section and an unlocking section, and wherein when the sliding sleeve slides to a position where the locking section corresponds to the push rod locking sleeve, the push rod locking member locks the push rod; and when the sliding sleeve slides to a position where the unlocking section corresponds to the push rod locking sleeve, the push rod locking member is released to unlock the push rod of Wang in order to have a reliable ground locking function, and the ground locking operation has the advantages of simple, fast and safe (Wang, page 4, ¶1).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traina in view of Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Ren.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Traina and Zhang teaches the executing mechanism of the surgical robot according to claim 15. However, the combination of Traina and Zhang does not teach wherein the base has a slide hole extending perpendicular to a sliding direction of the outer sheath; the outer sheath limiting assembly comprises a limiting element which is slidably connected to the slide hole, and the limiting element is provided with an outer sheath limiting hole; and an outer wall of the outer sheath is opened with an annular limiting groove for limiting part of a hole wall of the outer sheath limiting hole.
Ren teaches wherein the base has a slide hole extending perpendicular to a sliding direction of the outer sheath (¶100-a threaded hole 342 formed there on at a position e.g. along a direction 341 perpendicular to the assembling hole 340); the outer sheath limiting assembly comprises a limiting element which is slidably connected to the slide hole, and the limiting element is provided with an outer sheath limiting hole (¶100-when the locking screw 346 is loosened, the executing member 2 becomes slidable relative to the sphere 33, along upward direction 202 or downward direction 204, to enable positional adjustment of the executing member 2 relative to the sphere 33, e.g. the distance between the end tip 26 to the executing member 2 relative to the base 1); and an outer wall of the outer sheath is opened with an annular limiting groove for limiting part of a hole wall of the outer sheath limiting hole (¶69-unblock the opening 100; ¶96-annular sliding groove; ¶98).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include wherein the base has a slide hole extending perpendicular to a sliding direction of the outer sheath; the outer sheath limiting assembly comprises a limiting element which is slidably connected to the slide hole, and the limiting element is provided with an outer sheath limiting hole; and an outer wall of the outer sheath is opened with an annular limiting groove for limiting part of a hole wall of the outer sheath limiting hole of Ren in order to position at various postural orientations with maximum possible inclination angle within a three-dimensional geometry space defined by the base 1 (Ren, ¶81).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Traina in view of Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Chen (CN 111227944 published on 6/5/20).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Traina and Zhang teaches a surgical robot, comprising the executing mechanism according to claim 15. However, the combination of Traina and Zhang does not teach a telecentric manipulating mechanism, the telecentric manipulating mechanism comprising a movable platform, a static platform, and a plurality of telescopic units; two ends of each telescopic unit are respectively rotatably connected to the movable platform and the static platform; and the executing mechanism is arranged on the movable platform, and the surgical instrument has a preset telecentric fixed point, and deflection of the movable platform is capable of driving the surgical instrument to swing around the telecentric fixed point.
Chen teaches a telecentric manipulating mechanism (page 4, ¶4-a telecentric control assembly 20), the telecentric manipulating mechanism comprising a movable platform, a static platform, and a plurality of telescopic units (page 5, 4th to last ¶-first movable platform 22, static platform 21, multiple first telescopic elements 23); two ends of each telescopic unit are respectively rotatably connected to the movable platform and the static platform (page 8, ¶1-the two ends of the first telescopic element 23 can be respectively rotatably connected with the first movable platform 22 and the static platform 21); and the executing mechanism is arranged on the movable platform, and the surgical instrument has a preset telecentric fixed point (page 5, 4th to last ¶-the first movable platform 22 is fixedly connected to the executive assembly 30, the actuator 30 has a preset telecentric immobile point), and deflection of the movable platform is capable of driving the surgical instrument to swing around the telecentric fixed point (page 7, ¶4-the number of control driving members 43 is at least three, and two of the three control driving members 43 are used to control the deflection (swing) of the surgical instrument 32 in two different directions that are staggered, that is, the two control The driving part 43 is a control element for the swing movement of the surgical instrument 32; page 5, 4th to last ¶-the swing center of the actuator 30 is a telecentric fixed point, and the telescopic path of the actuator 30 passes through the telecentric fixed point).
Chen relates to the technical field of medical devices, in particular to a surgical mechanical arm and a surgical robot (page 1, ¶2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Traina to include a telecentric manipulating mechanism, the telecentric manipulating mechanism comprising a movable platform, a static platform, and a plurality of telescopic units; two ends of each telescopic unit are respectively rotatably connected to the movable platform and the static platform; and the executing mechanism is arranged on the movable platform, and the surgical instrument has a preset telecentric fixed point, and deflection of the movable platform is capable of driving the surgical instrument to swing around the telecentric fixed point of Chen in order to provide an improved surgical manipulator and surgical robot, which can realize the detection of the mechanical feedback of the surgical instrument acting on the human tissue, improve the interaction between the doctor and the human tissue, and improve the doctor’s accuracy of the operation (Chen, page 1, 4th to last ¶).
Conclusion
/L.N.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/UNSU JUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792