DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 15 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10-11, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al US 2021/0409783 in view of Tsai et al US 2013/0128986.
As to claim 1, Wan teaches a method performed by a video decoding apparatus for inloop-filtering a video block based on a deep learning technology, [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0024-0028] the method comprising: decoding parameters of at least one deep learning model; [abstract; fig. 2; ¶ 0024-0028; ¶ 0074; ¶ 0084; ¶ 0109] obtaining a video input block that includes a luma block, a first chroma block, and a second chroma block, which respectively have a luminance component signal, a first chrominance component signal, and a second chrominance component signal in a 4:2:0 or 4:4:4 format of sampling rate; [abstract; fig. 2; ¶ 0026-0028; ¶ 0035-0038] generating an input block by stacking or combining the luma block, the first chroma block, and the second chroma block; [figs. 2-3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0030-0036] converting quantization parameters used for decoding of the video input block into an encoded map; [fig. 2; ¶ 0026-0028; ¶ 0034; ¶ 0065-0072] stacking the encoded map with the input block; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0034-0036; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085] inputting a stack of the encoded map and the input block to the at least one deep learning model; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0034-0036; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085] generating an output block from the stack of the encoded map and the input block by performing a convolutional operation based on the at least one deep learning model; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085; ¶ 0109] and generating a video output block from the output block. [fig. 2; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0109]
Wan does not explicitly teach padding a periphery of the input block with previously reconstructed samples adjacent to the input block to generate a padded input block.
Tsai teaches padding a periphery of the input block with previously reconstructed samples adjacent to the input block to generate a padded input block; [figs. 7-8; ¶ 0025-0026]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Tsai with the teachings of Wan allowing for improved image quality.
As to claim 2, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Wan teaches wherein generating the input block comprises: when the luminance component signal, the first chrominance component signal, and the second chrominance component signal are in a 4:2:0 format, enlarging the first chroma block and the second chroma block to match in size the luma block; [¶ 0037-0038] and stacking the luma block, an enlarged first chroma block, and an enlarged second chroma block. [figs. 7-8; fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0034-0038; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085]
As to claim 8, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Wan teaches wherein generating the input block comprises: when the luminance component signal, the first chrominance component signal, and the second chrominance component signal are in a 4:2:0 format, generating a super block that is equal in size to the luma block by using the first chroma block and the second chroma block; [¶ 0037-0038] and stacking the super block and the luma block. [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0034-0038; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085]
As to claim 10, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Wan teaches wherein generating the input block comprises: when the luminance component signal, the first chrominance component signal, and the second chrominance component signal are in a 4:2:0 format, [¶ 0037-0038] generating a super block by combining the luma block, the first chroma block, and the second chroma block. [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0034-0038; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085]
As to claim 11, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Wan teaches wherein generating the input block comprises: when the luminance component signal, the first chrominance component signal, and the second chrominance component signal are in a 4:4:4 format, generating the input block by stacking the luma block, the first chroma block, and the second chroma block. [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0034-0038; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085]
As to claim 19, Wan teaches a method performed by a video encoding apparatus for inloop-filtering a video block based on a deep learning technology, [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0024-0028] the method comprising: obtaining a video input block that includes a luma block, a first chroma block, and a second chroma block, which respectively have a luminance component signal, a first chrominance component signal, and a second chrominance component signal in a 4:2:0 or 4:4:4 format of sampling rate; [abstract; fig. 2; ¶ 0026-0028; ¶ 0035-0038] generating an input block by stacking or combining the luma block, the first chroma block, and the second chroma block; [figs. 2-3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0030-0036] converting quantization parameters used for decoding of the video input block into an encoded map stacking the encoded map with the input block; [fig. 2; ¶ 0026-0028; ¶ 0034; ¶ 0065-0072] stacking the encoded map with the input block; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0034-0036; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085] inputting a stack of the encoded map and the input block to at least one deep learning model; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0034-0036; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085] generating an output block from the stack of the encoded map and the input block by performing a convolutional operation based on the at least one deep learning model; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085; ¶ 0109] generating a video output block from the output block; [fig. 2; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0109] and encoding parameters of the at least one deep learning model. [abstract; fig. 2; ¶ 0024-0028; ¶ 0074; ¶ 0084]
Wan does not explicitly teach padding a periphery of the input block with previously reconstructed samples adjacent to the input block to generate a padded input block;
Tsai teaches padding a periphery of the input block with previously reconstructed samples adjacent to the input block to generate a padded input block; [figs. 7-8; ¶ 0025-0026]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Tsai with the teachings of Wan allowing for improved image quality.
As to claim 20, Wan teaches a method for providing a video decoding device with video data, the method comprising: encoding the video data into a bitstream; [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0024-0027] and transmitting the bitstream to the video decoding device, [figs. 1-2; ¶ 0024-0028; ¶ 0109] wherein the encoding of the video data comprises: obtaining a video input block to be inloop-filtered that includes a luma block, a first chroma block, and a second chroma block, which respectively have a luminance component signal, a first chrominance component signal, and a second chrominance component signal in a 4:2:0 or 4:4:4 format of sampling rate; [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0024-0028; ¶ 0035-0038] generating an input block by stacking or combining the luma block, the first chroma block, and the second chroma block; [figs. 2-3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0030-0036] converting quantization parameters used for decoding of the video input block into an encoded map; stacking the encoded map with the input block; [fig. 2; ¶ 0026-0028; ¶ 0034; ¶ 0065-0072] stacking the encoded map with the input block; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0034-0036; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085] inputting a stack of the encoded map and the input block to at least one deep learning model; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0034-0036; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085] generating an output block from the stack of the encoded map and the input block by performing a convolutional operation based on the at least one deep learning model; [fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085; ¶ 0109] generating a video output block from the output block; [fig. 2; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0027-0028; ¶ 0109] and encoding parameters of the at least one deep learning model. [abstract; fig. 2; ¶ 0024-0028; ¶ 0074; ¶ 0084]
Wan does not explicitly teach padding a periphery of the input block with previously reconstructed samples adjacent to the input block to generate a padded input block;
Tsai teaches padding a periphery of the input block with previously reconstructed samples adjacent to the input block to generate a padded input block; [figs. 7-8; ¶ 0025-0026]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Tsai with the teachings of Wan allowing for improved image quality.
Claim(s) 3, 9, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al US 2021/0409783 in view of Tsai et al US 2013/0128986 further in view of Gao et al US 2023/0336776.
As to claim 3, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 2. Wan teaches wherein enlarging comprises: enlarging the first chroma block to match in size the luma block. [¶ 0037-0038; ¶ 0083]
Wan does not explicitly teach wherein enlarging comprises: enlarging the first chroma block to match in size the luma block by repeating the first chroma block 4 times through mirroring the first chroma block up and down or left to right and combining four first chroma blocks resulting from the mirroring.
Gao, analogous art in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein enlarging comprises: enlarging the first chroma block to match in size the luma block by repeating the first chroma block 4 times through mirroring the first chroma block up and down or left to right and combining four first chroma blocks resulting from the mirroring. [fig. 23; ¶ 0243-0244]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Gao with the teachings of Wan allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 9, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 8.
Wan (modified by Tsai) does not explicitly teach wherein generating the super block comprises: combining the first chroma block and the second chroma block up and down and then upsampling the first chroma block and the second chroma block in a horizontal direction, or combining the first chroma block and the second chroma block from side to side and then upsampling the first chroma block and the second chroma block in a vertical direction.
Gao teaches wherein generating the super block comprises: combining the first chroma block and the second chroma block up and down and then upsampling the first chroma block and the second chroma block in a horizontal direction, or combining the first chroma block and the second chroma block from side to side and then upsampling the first chroma block and the second chroma block in a vertical direction. [abstract; figs. 1-2; figs. 13-14; ¶ 0094-0096; ¶ 0141-0147; ¶ 0152-0160; ¶ 0181-0182; ¶ 0186-0189]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Gao with the teachings of Wan (modified by Tsai) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 15, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 1.
Wan teaches stack of the encoded map [Wan - fig. 3; figs. 7-8; ¶ 0034-0036; ¶ 0053-0054; ¶ 0082-0085] and the padded input block. [Tsai - figs. 7-8; ¶ 0025-0026]
Wan (modified by Tsai) does not explicitly teach wherein performing the convolutional operation: setting a stride value for the sack of encoded map and the input block; and filtering the stack of the encoded map and the input block by using a preset kernel.
Gao teaches wherein performing the convolutional operation: setting a stride value for the sack of encoded map and the input block; [figs. 2a-c; ¶ 0102-0113] and filtering the stack of the encoded map and the input block by using a preset kernel. [figs. 2a-c; ¶ 0102-0113]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Gao with the teachings of Wan (modified by Tsai) allowing for improved processing efficiency.
As to claim 18, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 15. Gao teaches wherein the stride value is set based on a size of the input block. [figs. 2a-c; ¶ 0102-0113]
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al US 2021/0409783 in view of Tsai et al US 2013/0128986 in view of Gao et al US 2023/0336776 in view of Lim et al. US 2022/0166998.
As to claim 4, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Wan (modified by Tsai) does not explicitly teach wherein enlarging comprises: centering the first chroma block and then enlarging the first chroma block to match in size the luma block by padding a periphery of the first chroma block, while filling the periphery of the first chroma block with values of the luma block co-located with the first chroma block.
Gao teaches wherein enlarging comprises: and then enlarging the first chroma block to match in size the luma block by padding a periphery of the first chroma block, while filling the periphery of the first chroma block with values of the luma block co-located with the first chroma block. [fig. 23; ¶ 0102-0110; ¶ 0243-0244]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Gao with the teachings of Wan allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Wan (modified by Tsai and Gao) does not explicitly teach centering the first chroma block.
Lim teaches centering the first chroma block. [¶ 0332]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Lim with the teachings of Wan (modified by Tsai and Gao) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al US 2021/0409783 in view of Tsai et al US 2013/0128986 in view of Ko et al. US 2020/0322601.
As to claim 5, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Wan (modified by Tsai) does not explicitly teach wherein enlarging comprises: positioning the first chroma block in one quadrant of the enlarged first chroma block and then filling remaining quadrants of the enlarged first chroma block with values of the luma block co-located with the first chroma block.
Ko teaches wherein enlarging comprises: positioning the first chroma block in one quadrant of the enlarged first chroma block and then filling remaining quadrants of the enlarged first chroma block with values of the luma block co-located with the first chroma block. [¶ 0077; ¶ 0107-0111; ¶ 0127-0128; ¶ 0131-0132]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Ko with the teachings of Wan (modified by Tsai) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al US 2021/0409783 in view of Tsai et al US 2013/0128986 in view of Yin et al. US 2019/0273948.
As to claim 6, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Wan teaches wherein generating the input block comprises: when the luminance component signal, the first chrominance component signal, and the second chrominance component signal are in a 4:2:0 format. [abstract; figs. 1-2; ¶ 0024-0028; ¶ 0035-0038]
Wan (modified by Tsai) does not explicitly teach quadrisecting the luma block to match in size the first chroma block; and stacking the quadrisected luma blocks, the first chroma block, and the second chroma block.
Yin teaches quadrisecting the luma block to match in size the first chroma block; [fig. 4; ¶ 0067] and stacking the quadrisected luma blocks, the first chroma block, and the second chroma block. [fig. 4; ¶ 0067]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Yin with the teachings of Wan (modified by Tsai) allowing for improved processing efficiency.
As to claim 7, Wan (modified by Tsai) teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Wan (modified by Tsai) does not teach wherein quadrisecting comprises: decimating samples that constitute the luma block in horizontal and vertical directions to generate the quadrisected luma blocks.
Yin teaches wherein quadrisecting comprises: decimating samples that constitute the luma block in horizontal and vertical directions to generate the quadrisected luma blocks. [fig. 4; ¶ 0067]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Yin with the teachings of Wan (modified by Tsai) allowing for improved processing efficiency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483