DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 8-14 in the reply filed on 02/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 11-14 can be downstream products of the alcohol claims of Group I. This is not found persuasive because claims 11-14 are not drawn to downstream products of the alcohol claims but limit the freezing point of claim 8, and thus are grouped with Group I in view of the restriction/election requirement. Furthermore, if Applicant is intending to refer to nonelected Group II, claims 15-20, the traversal is still not persuasive because the search burden was made of record as the inventions require different field of search.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15-20 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rodriguez (Rodriguez, T. et al. Patent application publication number US2004/0097599A1).
Regarding claim 8, Rodriguez teaches a composition with C11 alcohols comprising 2-methyl-1-decanol=39% by weight; 2-ethyl-1-nonanol=20% by weight; 2-propyl-1-octanol=19% by weight; 2-butyl-1-heptanol=20% by weight and about 2% by weight of 1-undecanol ([0017]).
Regarding claims 8-14, the reference is silent about the composition having the freezing point as claimed, however, it is an inherent feature as the reference teaches the same composition as claim 8. MPEP § 2112.01 states:
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty.").
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent application publication number US2004/0238787A1 teaches alcohol compositions that anticipate claim 8 (Tables 2a-2f).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 8-14 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 8-14 of copending Application No. 18/867,861 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 8-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12145904 (‘904).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to alcohol composition comprising a mixture of alcohols wherein less than 60% of the mixture of alcohols are linear alcohols, greater than 25% of the mixture of alcohols are 2-methyl branched alcohols, and greater than 8% of the mixture of alcohols are 2-ethyl branched alcohols.
The difference between the instant claims and claims of ‘904 is the alcohol mixture of the instant claims comprises C9-C35 alcohols whereas in ‘904 comprises a mixture of C12-C36 alcohols, thus have overlapping number of carbons. In view of MPEP § 2144.05, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for overlapping ranges.
Furthermore, the claims of ‘904 are silent about the freezing point of alcohol mixtures as instantly claimed. However, since the claims recite mixture of alcohols that also include the same number of carbons as instantly claimed, there is a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness for the mixture of alcohols in the claims of ‘904 to have the freezing point as claimed. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Claims 8-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-20 of copending Application No. 18/867,861 (reference application).
Claims 8-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 17/827,754 (reference application).
Claims 8-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-20 of copending Application No. 18/266,039 (reference application).
Claims 8-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 26-41 of copending Application No. 17/553,752 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they recite a composition, comprising a mixture of C9-C35 aldehydes, wherein less than 60 wt. % of the mixture of C9-C35 aldehydes are linear aldehydes, wherein greater than 25 wt. % of the mixture of C9-C35 aldehydes are 2-methyl branched aldehydes, wherein greater than 8 wt. % of the mixture of C9-C35 aldehydes are 2-ethyl branched aldehydes.
The copending claims are silent about the composition having freezing point as instantly claimed, however, it is an inherent feature as the copending claims recite the same composition as instant claims. MPEP § 2112.01 states:
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. (Applicant argued that the claimed composition was a pressure sensitive adhesive containing a tacky polymer while the product of the reference was hard and abrasion resistant. "The Board correctly found that the virtual identity of monomers and procedures sufficed to support a prima facie case of unpatentability of Spada’s polymer latexes for lack of novelty.").
The difference between the instant claims and the copending claims is that the instant claims are drawn to the alcohol composition whereas the copending claims are drawn to the use of the alcohol composition. However, even though the alcohol composition is recited as utility in the copending claims, the composition is the same as the claim under examination. As such, the claims under examination are not patentably distinct from the copending claims and are thus obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 8-14 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692