DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 4/22/2026. Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO 2018/056785, attached with this Office Action) in view of Jiang et al. (WO 2014/019139, attached with this Office Action, and using its Translation also attached with this Office Action)
Referring to Claim 1, Kim et al. disclose a communication method comprising: a terminal in a single-signaling connected state (par 372, terminal with only SRB0 and SRB1, others suspended, interpreted as single-signaling connected state); and release a communication connection to the terminal in the single-signaling connected state (Fig. 5d and pars 370-374, determine/implement to suspend/release; also, resume connection).
However, Kim et al. do not explicitly disclose receive by a network device a measurement report from a terminal and determining by the network device based on the measurement report whether to release a communication connection.
In the same field of endeavor, Jiang et al. discloses receive by a network device a measurement report from a terminal and determining by the network device based on the measurement report whether to release a communication connection (page 7, before Embodiment 4 and other citations on page, eNB receives measurement report from UE, condition is met, connection released).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate receive by a network device a measurement report from a terminal and determining by the network device based on the measurement report whether to release a communication connection, as taught by Jiang et at., in the method of Kim et al., for the purpose of implementing RRC release (Jiang et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 2 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, wherein radio bearers RBs between the terminal in the single-signaling connected state and the network device comprise only a signaling radio bearer o (SRBo) and a signaling radio bearer (SRB1) (Kim et al., par 372, state with only SRB0 and SRB1).
Referring to Claim 3 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, wherein the communication connection is a radio resource control RRC connection (Kim et al., pars 372 and 373, RRC connection).
Referring to Claim 4 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, further comprising: sending, by the network device, a measurement configuration to the terminal, wherein the measurement configuration comprises a measurement object and a reporting condition (Kim et al., par 372, channel quality, cells).
Referring to Claim 5 as applied to Claim 4 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, wherein the measurement object comprises a serving cell currently connected to the terminal, or at least one neighboring cell of the currently connected serving cell (Kim et al., par 372, channel quality, serving and neighbor cells).
Referring to Claim 6 as applied to Claim 4 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, wherein the reporting condition comprises a measurement event or a reporting periodicity (Kim et al., pars 371-373, move/channel quality).
Referring to Claim 7 as applied to Claim 6 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, wherein the measurement event comprises: Event A2: signal quality of a serving cell is lower than an absolute threshold, Event A3: signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than that of a serving cell by an offset value, Event A4: signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than an absolute threshold, Event A5: signal quality of a serving cell is lower than a first absolute threshold, and signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than a second absolute threshold, Event B1: signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than an absolute threshold, or Event B2: signal quality of a serving cell is lower than a first absolute threshold, and signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than a second absolute threshold (Kim et al., pars 371-373, channel quality, serving/neighbor cell; also, par 325, threshold).
Referring to Claim 8 as applied to Claim 7 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, wherein the measurement report comprises at least one of the measurement events (Kim et al., pars 371-373, channel quality).
Referring to Claim 9 as applied to Claim 6 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, wherein the measurement report comprises a reference signal measurement value of at least one currently connected serving cell or neighboring cell (Kim et al., pars 308 and 372, reference signal, quality).
Referring to Claim 10 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, wherein, before performing a release, the method further comprises: detecting a connection status of the terminal; and performing the release when determining that the terminal is in the single-signaling connected state (Kim et al., par 372, information regarding suspended SRBs except SRB0 and SRB1).
Referring to Claim 11 as applied to Claim 1 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the method, further comprising, after completing a release, enabling the terminal to send a connection establishment request to a neighboring cell whose signal quality is better than that of a serving cell connected to the terminal before the release (Kim et al., connection pars 371-374, resume).
Referring to Claim 14, Kim et al. disclose a network device (pars 370-374, base station), comprising: a communication interface (pars 370-374, base station communication component); a terminal is in a single-signaling connected state (par 372, terminal with only SRB0 and SRB1, others suspended, interpreted as single-signaling connected state); and a release interface configured to release a communication connection to the terminal in the single-signaling connected state (Fig. 5d and pars 370-374, determine/implement to suspend/release component; also, resume connection).
However, Kim et al. do not explicitly disclose receive by a network device a measurement report from a terminal and determining by the network device based on the measurement report whether to release a communication connection.
In the same field of endeavor, Jiang et al. discloses receive by a network device a measurement report from a terminal and determining by the network device based on the measurement report whether to release a communication connection (page 7, before Embodiment 4 and other citations on page, eNB receives measurement report from UE, condition is met, connection released).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate receive by a network device a measurement report from a terminal and determining by the network device based on the measurement report whether to release a communication connection, as taught by Jiang et at., in the device of Kim et al., for the purpose of implementing RRC release (Jiang et al., Abstract).
Referring to Claim 15 as applied to Claim 14 above, Kim et al. as modified discloses the device, wherein radio bearers RBs between the terminal in the single-signaling connected state and the network device comprise only a signaling radio bearer o (SRBo) and a signaling radio bearer (SRB1) (Kim et al., par 372, state with only SRB0 and SRB1).
Referring to Claim 16 as applied to Claim 14 above, Kim et al. as modified discloses the device, wherein the communication connection is a radio resource control RRC connection (Kim et al., pars 372 and 373, RRC connection).
Referring to Claim 17 as applied to Claim 14 above, Kim et al. as modified discloses the device, wherein the processor is further configured to configure a measurement configuration, the communication interface is configured to send the measurement configuration to the terminal, and wherein the measurement configuration comprises a measurement object and a reporting condition (Kim et al., par 372, channel quality informed, cells).
Referring to Claim 18 as applied to Claim 17 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the device, wherein the measurement object comprises a serving cell currently connected to the terminal, or at least one neighboring cell of the currently connected serving cell (Kim et al., par 372, channel quality, serving and neighbor cells).
Referring to Claim 19 as applied to Claim 18 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the device, wherein the reporting condition comprises a measurement event or a reporting periodicity (Kim et al., pars 371-373, move/channel quality).
Referring to Claim 20 as applied to Claim 19 above, Kim et al. as modified disclose the device, wherein the measurement event comprises: Event A2: signal quality of a serving cell is lower than an absolute threshold, Event A3: signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than that of a serving cell by an offset value, Event A4: signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than an absolute threshold, Event A5: signal quality of a serving cell is lower than a first absolute threshold, and signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than a second absolute threshold, Event B1: signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than an absolute threshold, or Event B2: signal quality of a serving cell is lower than a first absolute threshold, and signal quality of a neighboring cell is higher than a second absolute threshold (Kim et al., pars 371-373, channel quality, serving/neighbor cell; also, par 325, threshold).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendment. See the above rejection for the relevant citations found in the cited prior art disclosing the amended limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUHAIL KHAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7187. The examiner can normally be reached on M-TH 8:30am-6:30pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rafael Perez-Gutierrez can be reached on 5712727915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Suhail Khan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642