DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. No information disclosure statement was present at the time of this office action.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1), which states "view numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG.". In the instant case, the view numbers of Figures 15 - 19 are preceded by the word "Figure" instead of the abbreviation "FIG.".
Specification
4. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
5. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0045, line 1, "showing indicating" should be indicating;
In paragraph 0086, line 1, “certain embodiments” should read “in certain embodiments”;
Paragraph 00112 has no associated text and should be removed;
In paragraph 00162, line 1, “useful” should be used;
In paragraph 00192, line 3, “indicated indicate” should be indicate.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 1, 17, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The phrase “of from about” in claim 1, line 3 is grammatically incorrect;
In claim 1, lines 7 and 8; claim 17, line 2; and claim 18, line 2, the "F" acronym as part of the "RSV F-specific" is not defined in the claim. An acronym should be defined the first time it appears in the claims. For the purposes of examination, the "F" is interpreted to mean the RSV fusion protein, as defined in the specifications.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 USC § 112(d)
8. Claims 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 13 – 15 require the administration of two doses. Claim 7, from which claims 13 – 15 are dependent upon, requires the administration of a single dose. Therefore, claims 13 – 15 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 7. In the interest of compact prosecution, claims 13 – 15 will be considered as dependent upon claim 8, which requires the administration of two doses as described in claims 13 – 15. However, an appropriate amendment is required. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
35 USC § 112(b)
10. Claims 1, 17, and 18 recite “(RSV F-specific)”. Due to the presence of parenthesis, it cannot be determined whether or not the phrase is a recited limitation. In the interest of compact prosecution, it will be interpreted that claims 1, 17, and 18 are intended to mean that there is an increase in concentrations of IgG (claim 1 and 17) and IgA (claim 1 and 18) with specificity for RSV F protein. However, an appropriate amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 11, 16 – 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore, M. L., et. al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,232,032; Issued 03/19/2019).
Moore, M. L., et. al. teaches an attenuated recombinant RSV that is used in a vaccine (column 28, lines 28 and 29), as recited in instant claim 1, wherein the vaccine formulation is administered intranasally, e.g., by drops, aerosol, or spray into the upper respiratory tract (column 28, lines 12 – 15), as required by instant claims 1 and 21. Column 26, lines 49 – 55 further teach that administration of the vaccine may begin within the first month of life and at intervals throughout childhood, such as at two months, six months, one year, and two years, as required by instant claim 1. Column 28, lines 4 and 5 teach that the virus can be provided in a range of about 103 – 106 plaque forming units (pfu) per dose, as recited in instant claims 1, 3 – 6, and 8 – 11. Moore, M. L., et. al. goes on to teach that the immune system of the host responds to the vaccine by producing antibodies that are specific for RSV virus proteins, e.g., F and G glycoproteins (column 25, lines 60 – 62), as recited by instant claims 1 and 16 – 18, wherein symptoms of infection, or at least symptoms of serious infection, will not occur in most individuals immunized with the attenuated RSV (column 28, lines 29 – 32), as recited in instant claim 2. Additionally, Moore, M. L., et. al. teaches an RSV genome with SEQ ID NOs: 6 (column 30, line 24), 9 (column 17, lines 25 and 26), and 20 (column 113, lines 64 and 65) that are 100% identical to the instant SEQ ID NOs: 6, 9, and 20, respectively, as recited by instant claims 1 and 19 and seen below [Figures 1 – 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 7 and 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore, M. L., et. al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,232,032; Issued 03/19/2019).
Moore, M. L., et. al. teaches that the virus can be provided in a range of about 103 – 106 pfu per dose (column 28, lines 4 and 5), wherein single or multiple administrations of the vaccine compositions of the disclosure can be carried out (column 28, lines 29 – 32). Moore, M. L., et. al. does not teach 107 pfu per dose, as recited in instant claims 7 and 12, or the dosing regimen for the administration of multiple doses, as required in instant claims 13 – 15. However, the compound dosage in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person having ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of each ingredient, i.e., the dosage and dosing regimen, needed to achieve the desired results. The principle of law states from MPEP §§ 2144.05: "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages," (see In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation," (See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Double Patenting
15. Claims 1 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,232,032 (Issued 03/19/2019). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to the same RSV genome with the same SEQ ID NO: 20. Patent claim 1 encompasses an RSV genome with at least 90% sequence identity to patent SEQ ID NO: 20. Instant claims 1 and 19 disclose that the RSV vaccine genome should be comprised of instant SEQ ID NO: 20, which has 100% sequence similarity to patent SEQ ID NO: 20, as seen below [Figure 1].
16. Claims 1 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4 – 9, and 12 – 14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,792,356 (Issued 10/06/2020). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are drawn to the same RSV genomes with the same SEQ ID NO: 6 and 9 that can be
used as a vaccine. Patent claims 1, 5 – 7, and 9 disclose a recombinant vector of the RSV genome with the NS1 gene comprising SEQ ID NO: 6; whereas patent claims 4, 6, 8, and 9 disclose the RSV genome with the NS2 gene comprising SEQ ID NO: 9. Furthermore, claims 12 – 14 indicate a vaccine from the attenuated recombinant RSV with SEQ ID NOs: 6 and 9. Instant SEQ ID NOs: 6 and 9 have 100% sequence similarity to patent SEQ ID NOs: 6, as seen above [Figure 2], and 9, as seen below [Figure 3]. See Geneva Pharms. v. GlaxoSmithKline, 349 F.3d 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2003), and Pfizer v. Teva Pharms., 518 F.3d 1353 (Fed. Cir. 2008).
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but could be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: SEQ ID NO: 22, as recited in claim 20, was found free of the prior art. The closest sequence match is SEQ ID NO: 4 from Moore, M. L., et. al. (U.S. Patent No. 10. The instant claims do not disclose a required percent identity of the RSV genome to SEQ ID
NO: 22 and thus, is considered free of the prior art. A search for all of the sequences listed in the instant application in their entirety is prohibited by the sequence search constraints of the Scientific and Technical Information Center of the USPTO. An updated search will be conducted upon receipt of a reply, with supporting claim amendments, from the applicant.
Conclusion
/HALLIE NICOLE PENNINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1671
/JANET L ANDRES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1671