Detailed Action
Current Status of Claims
This action is response to communication of September 22, 2025. By amendment of September 22, 2025, the Applicant amended claims 1, 6, 16, and canceled claim 5. Therefore, claims 1-4 and 6 to 20 are currently active in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6 to 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on at least one reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Drawings
The drawings were objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). This objection is withdrawn in view of arguments provided in response of September 22, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeves et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2020/0110566 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2014/0347264 A1).
In regard of claim 1, Reeves et al. disclose an apparatus, comprising: a first display; a second display (See at least Figure 1A of Reeves et al. illustrating an apparatus (100) having a first display (110) and second display (114) with screens (104 and 108) as discussed in paragraph [0078-0081]); an interconnect portion operatively coupled to the first and second displays, wherein the interconnect portion is configured to provide for rotational movements of the first and second portions with respect to the interconnect portion (See at least Figure 1C illustrating an interconnecting portion (128) coupled to the first and second displays to provide rotational movement as shown in Figures 1H, 1I, 1J and discussed in paragraphs [0081-0082]) and wherein the first and second displays are configured to display information and wherein at least of the first and second displays is capable of receiving at least one user input (See at least Figure .
2 of Reeves et al. illustrating displays (110/114) as touch sensitive displays configured to display information as discussed in paragraphs [0107-0109]).
However, the reference to Reeves et al. does not disclose a third display configured on a reverse side of the first display and being oriented to display information to a user when the first display is not directly viewable by the user and wherein the first display is oriented to display information to a user when the third display is not directly viewable by the user, wherein the third display is configured to display a book cover.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee et al. disclose an apparatus (100) shown in Figures 1, 3A with the third display (304) configured on a reverse side of the first display (300) and being oriented to display information to a user when the first display (300) is not directly viewable by the user and wherein the third display (304) is configured to display a book cover as discussed in paragraphs [0053-0055] .
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person skilled in the art at the moment the invention was filed to use the double-sided display shown by Lee et al. with the apparatus of Reeves et al. in order to provide an additional display screen for exhibiting a book cover.
In regard of claim 2, Reeves et al. and Lee et al. further disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a central processing unit (CPU); a memory unit operatively coupled to the CPU; an interface module to provide communication between the apparatus and at least one external electronic device; a display control module to provide control of display of information on the first and second displays; and audio control module to provide control of an audio output signal (See Figure 2 of Reeves et al. illustrating the apparatus (100) further disclosing CPU (204), memory (208), interface module (248) a display control module (216a, 216b) controlling first and second displays (110, 114) and audio control module (244) to provide control of an audio output signals as discussed in paragraph [0100]).
In regard of claim 3, Reeves et al., and Lee et al. further disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the interface module comprises at least one of: a wireless interface configured to provide wireless communications between the apparatus and at least one external electronic device; a wi-fi interface configured to provide wireless communications between the apparatus and at least one external electronic device; or a Bluetooth Interface configured to provide wireless communications between the apparatus and at least one external electronic device (See at least Figure 2 of Reeves et al. illustrating the apparatus (100) having wireless communication module (232) as discussed in paragraph [0097] providing connection with other external electronic device).
Claims 4, 6-14, and 16 to 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeves et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2020/0110566 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2014/0347264 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2015/0317120 A1).
In regard of claim 4, Reeves et al. and Lee et al. further disclose the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the interface module comprises at least one of: a touch user interface configured to receive the user input, wherein the user input is a touch input from a user of the apparatus (See at least Figure 2 of Reeves et al. disclosing the apparatus (100) having a touch user interface (110, 216a, 248, 114, 216b) as discussed in paragraphs [0078-0080]).
However, the combination of references to Reeves et al. and Lee et al. does not discuss a haptics link interface configured to receive user input from a user of the apparatus based on at least one of: a touch input from the user; a vibration; or a motion of the user.
In the same field of endeavor Kim et al. discloses an apparatus (100) with several display/touch screens which could provide a tactile reaction to a user (852) when they are touched (840A, 840E, 840I) as shown in Figures 1A(A) and 8 and discussed in paragraphs [0161, 0201].
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person skilled in the art at the moment the invention was filed to use haptic response shown by Kim et al. with the apparatus of Reeves et al. and Lee et al. in order to provide a set of sensory feedback information from user inputs based on movements/pressure/touch.
In regard of claim 6, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose a portable interactive device, comprising: a first portion comprising a first screen; a second portion comprising a second screen; a third portion comprising a third screen affixed to a reverse side of the first screen (See at least Figure 3A of Lee et al. illustrating the double-sided display the first screen as discussed in paragraph [0053] of Lee et al.); a spine operatively coupled to the first and second portions (See at least Figures 1A-1C of Reeves et al. illustrating a portable interactive device (100) comprising a first screen (110) and second screen (114) connected by spine (128) as discussed in paragraph 0080-0081] of Reeves et al.), wherein the spine is configured to provide for movement of the first and second portions such that the first and second portions may be positioned with the first screen and the second screen facing each other in a closed configuration and the third screen facing outward away from the first and second screens with the third screen being configured to display a book cover; and wherein the first, second and third screens are configured to display information (See at least Figures 1A (C) and 1A(D) of Kim et al. illustrating the device comprising two screens (110, 120) in closed configuration shown in Figure 1A(D) facing each other as discussed in paragraph [0059] wherein both screens is capable to display information as shown in Figures 2A and 2B of Kim et al. and also See figure 3A of Lee et al. illustrating a book cover (304) on the back of the screen (300)).
In regard of claim 7, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 6, further comprising: a central processing unit (CPU); a memory unit operatively coupled to the CPU; an interface module to provide communication between the portable interactive device and at least one external electronic device; a display control module to provide control of display of information on the first and second screens; and audio control module to provide control of an audio output signal (See Figure 2 of Reeves et al. illustrating the apparatus (100) further disclosing CPU (204), memory (208), interface module (248) a display control module (216a, 216b) controlling first and second displays (110, 114) and audio control module (244) to provide control of an audio output signals as discussed in paragraph [0100]).
In regard of claim 8, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 7, wherein the interface module comprises at least one of: a wireless interface configured to provide wireless communications between the portable interactive device and at least one external electronic device; a wi-fi interface configured to provide wireless communications between the portable interactive device and at least one external electronic device; or a Bluetooth Interface configured to provide wireless communications between the portable interactive device and at least one external electronic device(See at least Figure 2 of Reeves et al. illustrating the apparatus (100) having wireless communication module (232) as discussed in paragraph [0097] providing connection with other external electronic device see also Figure 4B of Kim et al. illustrating wireless communication modules (451, 452) as discussed in paragraph [0119] of Kim et al.)) .
In regard of claim 9, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 7, wherein the interface module comprises at least one of: a touch user interface configured to receive a touch input from a user of the portable interactive device; and a haptics link interface configured to receive an input from a user of the portable interface device based on at least one of: a touch input from the user; a vibration; or a motion of the user (See reference to Kim et al. which discloses an apparatus (100) with several display/touch screens which could provide a tactile reaction to a user (852) when they are touched (840A, 840E, 840I) as shown in Figures 1A(A) and 8 and discussed in paragraphs [0161, 0201]).
In regard of claim 10, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 6, wherein the portable interactive device is an electronic reader (eReader) (See at least paragraph [0048] of Kim et al. discussing that the portable device (110) could be an e-BOOK).
In regard of claim 11, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 6, further comprising the third screen being oriented to display information to a user when the first display is not directly viewable by the user and wherein the first display is oriented to display information to a user when the third display is not directly viewable by the user (See at least Figure 3A of Lee et al. illustrating a display apparatus (100) with the display not directly viewable by a user (304) or the display is not directly viewable by the user as discussed in paragraphs [0053-0055]).
In regard of claim 12, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 6, wherein the third screen is configured to display at least one of a book cover, a book page, a news article, a magazine content, a multimedia content, an hypertext content, an hypermedia, a video content, an audio content (See at least Figure 3A of Lee et al. illustrating a display apparatus (100) with the display not directly viewable which displays book pages (300) as discussed in paragraphs [0053-0055]).
In regard of claim 13, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 6, wherein the first and second screens are configured to display at least one of a book page, a news article, a magazine content, a multimedia content, an hypertext content, an hypermedia, a video content, an audio content (See at least Figure 11A of Kim et al. wherein the first (1110A) and second screen (1120A) displaying multimedia content as discussed in paragraphs [0188-0190] of Kim et al.) .
In regard of claim 14, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 6, wherein the spine comprises mechanical means to allow swiveling of the first and second portions about the spine (See at least Figure 1C of Reeves et al. illustrating spine (128) which could be formed with hinges or locking mechanisms discussed in paragraph [0090]).
In regard of claim 16, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose a portable interactive device, comprising: a first foldable portion comprising a first and third interactive display affixed together facing in opposite directions; a second foldable portion comprising a second interactive display; a spine operatively coupled to the first and second foldable portions, wherein the spine is configured to provide for opening and closing movements of the first and second foldable portions such that the first and second portions may be positioned with the first screen and the second screen facing each other in a closed configuration; and wherein the first and second screens are configured to display information and interactive communications, and third screen is configured to display a book cover (See rejection of claim 6 provided above).
In regard of claim 17, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 16, further comprising: a central processing unit (CPU); a memory unit operatively coupled to the CPU; an interface module to provide communication between the portable interactive device and at least one external electronic device; a display control module to provide control of display of information on the first and second screens; and audio control module to provide control of an audio output signal (See rejection of claim 7 provided above).
In regard of claim 18, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 17, wherein the interface module comprises at least one of: a wireless interface configured to provide wireless communications between the portable interactive device and at least one external electronic device; a wi-fi interface configured to provide wireless communications between the portable interactive device and at least one external electronic device; or a Bluetooth Interface configured to provide wireless communications between the portable interactive device and at least one external electronic device (See rejection of claim 8 provided above).
In regard of claim 19, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 17, wherein the interface module comprises at least one of: a touch user interface configured to receive a touch input from a user of the portable interactive device; and a haptics link interface configured to receive an input from a user of the portable interface device based on at least one of: a touch input from the user; a vibration; or a motion of the user (See rejection of claim 4 provided above).
In regard of claim 20, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 16, wherein the portable interactive device is an electronic reader (eReader) (See rejection of claim 10 provided above).
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reeves et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2020/0110566 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2014/0347264 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2015/0317120 A1) and further in view of Sawadski et al. (US Patent Publication Application 2008/0112113 A1).
In regard of claim 15, Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. further disclose the portable interactive device of claim 6.
However, the combination of Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. does not disclose the portable interactive device, wherein the spine comprises at least one electronic circuit adapted to perform an operation of the portable interactive device.
In the same field of endeavor, Sawadski et al. disclose the portable device (102) with spine (106) comprising a vibrator or display device for haptic interactions with a user as shown at least in Figure 2 and discussed in paragraph [0016].
Therefore, it would be obvious for a person skilled in the art at the moment the invention was filed to use the spine shown by Sawadski et al. with the apparatus of Reeves et al., Lee et al. and Kim et al. in order to provide a set of sensory feedback information from user inputs based on movements/pressure/touch.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, LunYi Lao can be reached on (571) 272-7671. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/OLGA V MERKOULOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621