DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 6/22/2026.
In the RCE, Applicant amended claims 1, 11, and 20.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 6-9, filed 6/22/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, but they are not persuasive.
On page 6, Applicant summarizes the art used to rejection the claims. Applicant then recites the claim and discussed the Kim and Yue references. On page 7, Applicant recites a portion of [0068] of Yue. On pages 7-9, Applicant uses this passage of Yue to conclude that Yue discloses only implicit preference/support for a handover to an NES cell in the capability report and explicit preference/support for handover to an NES cell in a message after the capability report.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, in addition to the teaching found in [0068] of Yue, [0067] further indicates that “[t]he preference of handover may be provided to the source cell by being contained in a UL transmission, e.g. in a configured measurement report, or in a UE capability report”. This clearly indicates that the preference of handover can be included explicitly “in a UE capability report” (in addition to the implicit support indicaeted in [0068]).
Further, an indication of preference of handover being to a “target new cell” (i.e. network energy savings/NES cell) clearly indicates support for handover to an NES cell.
For at least these reasons, Examiner maintains that the combination of Kim and Yue discloses the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 11-13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2025/0106756) in view of Yue et al (US 2025/0142428).
Regarding claim 1: Kim discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, by a wireless device, a capability message comprising one or more information elements indicating whether the wireless device supports a network energy saving (NES) cell, wherein an NES cell is associated with one or more processes resulting in energy saving compared to a non-NES cell (disclosed throughout; see step 1301 of Figure 13, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting a message indicating “base station energy saving mode support capability” to a base station; the energy saving mode is associated with one or more processes that result in energy saving compared to a non-NES cell (a cell in “normal mode”) as indicated in [0007] and [0162], for example, which indicates that these processes include at least control of downlink transmission, switching off of antennas or power amplifiers, adjusting downlink bandwidth and/or power spectral density); and
receiving configuration parameters of an NES cell in response to transmitting the message and the one or more information elements indicating that the wireless device supports an NES cell (disclosed throughout; see step 1302 of Figure 13 and [0258], which discloses the UE receiving signaling including “at least one piece of configuration information related to base station energy saving mode”).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the limitation that the capability message indicates that the wireless device supports a handover to a network energy saving (NES) cell. However, Yue discloses a similar system that distinguishes between a UE that supports network energy savings and a UE that does not support network energy saving (see [0004], for example). (As noted in [0004], Yue also refers to an NES cell (a cell supporting network energy savings) as a “new cell”.) Further, Yue discloses that the UE capability report indicating that “the UE supports network energy saving techniques” can include or be used to infer the handover preferences of the UE. For example, see [0067], which indicates that “[t]he preference of handover may be provided to the source cell by being contained in a UL transmission, e.g. in a configured measurement report, or in a UE capability report”. Further, see [0068], which indicates “if a UE capability report indicates that the UE supports all of the states of the cell which implements energy saving techniques, it can be considered as the preference of handover of the UE is preference for a target new cell or preference for any state of a target new cell”. Thus, the capability report indicates the UE’s preference for a target cell to which to handover (such as to a new (NES) cell) and thus clearly indicates that the UE supports a handover to a new/NES cell. To the extent that Kim does not explicitly disclose that the capability report that includes an indication that the UE supports NES also indicates that the UE supports a handover to an NES cell, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to utilize the UE capability report indicating support for NES to determine that the UE supports (and has certain preferences for) handing over to an NES cell. The rationale for doing so would have been to identify the most preferable target cell for a given UE when multiple target cells are available by at least considering the NES capability of the UE as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 11: Kim discloses a wireless device comprising:
one or more processors (see processor 1630 of Figure 16, for example); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to (see memory 1620 of Figure 16 and [0280], for example):
transmit a capability message comprising one or more information elements indicating whether the wireless device supports a network energy saving (NES) cell, wherein an NES cell is associated with one or more processes resulting in energy saving compared to a non-NES cell (disclosed throughout; see step 1301 of Figure 13, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting a message indicating “base station energy saving mode support capability” to a base station; the energy saving mode is associated with one or more processes that result in energy saving compared to a non-NES cell (a cell in “normal mode”) as indicated in [0007] and [0162], for example, which indicates that these processes include at least control of downlink transmission, switching off of antennas or power amplifiers, adjusting downlink bandwidth and/or power spectral density); and
receive configuration parameters of an NES cell in response to transmitting the message and the one or more information elements indicating that the wireless device supports an NES cell (disclosed throughout; see step 1302 of Figure 13 and [0258], which discloses the UE receiving signaling including “at least one piece of configuration information related to base station energy saving mode”).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the limitation that the capability message indicates that the wireless device supports a handover to a network energy saving (NES) cell. However, Yue discloses a similar system that distinguishes between a UE that supports network energy savings and a UE that does not support network energy saving (see [0004], for example). (As noted in [0004], Yue also refers to an NES cell (a cell supporting network energy savings) as a “new cell”.) Further, Yue discloses that the UE capability report indicating that “the UE supports network energy saving techniques” can include or be used to infer the handover preferences of the UE. For example, see [0067], which indicates that “[t]he preference of handover may be provided to the source cell by being contained in a UL transmission, e.g. in a configured measurement report, or in a UE capability report”. Further, see [0068], which indicates “if a UE capability report indicates that the UE supports all of the states of the cell which implements energy saving techniques, it can be considered as the preference of handover of the UE is preference for a target new cell or preference for any state of a target new cell”. Thus, the capability report indicates the UE’s preference for a target cell to which to handover (such as to a new (NES) cell) and thus clearly indicates that the UE supports a handover to a new/NES cell. To the extent that Kim does not explicitly disclose that the capability report that includes an indication that the UE supports NES also indicates that the UE supports a handover to an NES cell, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to utilize the UE capability report indicating support for NES to determine that the UE supports (and has certain preferences for) handing over to an NES cell. The rationale for doing so would have been to identify the most preferable target cell for a given UE when multiple target cells are available by at least considering the NES capability of the UE as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claim 20: Kim discloses a system comprising:
a base station (disclosed throughout; see the base station of [0256]-[0259], for example); and
a wireless device comprising (disclosed throughout; see the UE of [0256]-[0259], for example):
one or more processors (see processor 1630 of Figure 16, for example); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to (see memory 1620 of Figure 16 and [0280], for example):
transmit, to the base station, a capability message comprising one or more information elements indicating whether the wireless device supports a network energy saving (NES) cell, wherein an NES cell is associated with one or more processes resulting in energy saving compared to a non-NES cell (disclosed throughout; see step 1301 of Figure 13, for example, which discloses a UE transmitting a message indicating “base station energy saving mode support capability” to a base station; the energy saving mode is associated with one or more processes that result in energy saving compared to a non-NES cell (a cell in “normal mode”) as indicated in [0007] and [0162], for example, which indicates that these processes include at least control of downlink transmission, switching off of antennas or power amplifiers, adjusting downlink bandwidth and/or power spectral density); and
receive configuration parameters of an NES cell in response to transmitting the message and the one or more information elements indicating that the wireless device supports an NES cell (disclosed throughout; see step 1302 of Figure 13 and [0258], which discloses the UE receiving signaling including “at least one piece of configuration information related to base station energy saving mode”).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the limitation that the capability message indicates that the wireless device supports a handover to a network energy saving (NES) cell. However, Yue discloses a similar system that distinguishes between a UE that supports network energy savings and a UE that does not support network energy saving (see [0004], for example). (As noted in [0004], Yue also refers to an NES cell (a cell supporting network energy savings) as a “new cell”.) Further, Yue discloses that the UE capability report indicating that “the UE supports network energy saving techniques” can include or be used to infer the handover preferences of the UE. For example, see [0067], which indicates that “[t]he preference of handover may be provided to the source cell by being contained in a UL transmission, e.g. in a configured measurement report, or in a UE capability report”. Further, see [0068], which indicates “if a UE capability report indicates that the UE supports all of the states of the cell which implements energy saving techniques, it can be considered as the preference of handover of the UE is preference for a target new cell or preference for any state of a target new cell”. Thus, the capability report indicates the UE’s preference for a target cell to which to handover (such as to a new (NES) cell) and thus clearly indicates that the UE supports a handover to a new/NES cell. To the extent that Kim does not explicitly disclose that the capability report that includes an indication that the UE supports NES also indicates that the UE supports a handover to an NES cell, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to utilize the UE capability report indicating support for NES to determine that the UE supports (and has certain preferences for) handing over to an NES cell. The rationale for doing so would have been to identify the most preferable target cell for a given UE when multiple target cells are available by at least considering the NES capability of the UE as suggested by Yue.
Regarding claims 8 and 18: Kim discloses the limitations that the receiving the configuration parameters is via a radio resource control (RRC) configuration message (see [0169] and [0200], for example, which indicates that signaling regarding the energy saving mode of the base station may be received via RRC signaling).
Regarding claims 2 and 12: Kim discloses the limitations that a first periodicity associated with at least one of at least one signal and at least one channel, transmitted or received via an NES cell, is lower than a second periodicity associated with the at least one of the at least one signal and the least one channel transmitted or received via a non-NES cell (disclosed in at least [0157], for example, which indicates that a particular energy saving mode may be implemented by “adjusting transmission” of PSS, SSS, PBCH, and CSI-RS “to occur less frequently” than the periodicity they occur at during a normal mode (not energy saving)).
Regarding claims 3 and 13: Kim discloses the limitations that the at least one of the at least one signal and at least one channel comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) (disclosed in at least [0157], for example, which indicates that the signals with the lower periodicity in the energy saving mode include PSS, SSS, and PBCH; as indicated in [0071], “SS/PBCH block (synchronization signal/PBCH block or SSB)…is made up of a combination of PSS, SSS, PBCH”).
Claims 4-7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2025/0106756) in view of Yue et al (US 2025/0142428) in view of Zhou et al (US 2025/0081103).
Regarding claims 4 and 14: Kim discloses the limitations of parent claims 1 and 11 as indicated above. Kim does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 4 and 14 that at least one of at least one signal and at least one channel is transmitted or received via a non-NES cell and is not transmitted or received via an NES cell. However, Zhou discloses a similar system for network energy savings. Further, Zhou discloses that in the energy saving (ES) state (also referred to as a cell-off state), the base station “may stop downlink transmissions” including SIB1, SIB2, and SSBs. See also [0397], which indicates that “In the ES state, the base station may skip (or stop) transmitting the SSBs in the configured location and with the configured periodicity”. See also [0441], which discloses that “during the time duration in the ES state on the cell, the base station may skip transmission of at least one of: CSI-RS(s), PDSCH(s), PDCCH(s), SIB(s) and/or TRS(s)”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim such that at least one signal or channel (such as an SSB or SIB) is not transmitted/received via an NES (energy saving) cell, but is transmitted/received via a normal non-NES cell as disclosed by Zhou. The rationale for doing so would have been to reduce the energy consumed by the base station by minimizing the number of signals/channels it transmits in certain states as suggested by Zhou.
Regarding claims 5 and 15: Kim, modified, discloses the limitations that the at least one of the at least one signal and at least one channel comprises a synchronization signal block (SSB) (see the rejection of claims 4 and 14 above, which cite passages of Zhou that disclose the at least one signal that is not transmitted during an energy saving (ES) state can include an SSB).
Regarding claims 6 and 16: Kim, modified, discloses the limitations that the at least one of the at least one signal and at least one channel comprises a system information block (SIB) (see the rejection of claims 4 and 14 above, which cite passages of Zhou that disclose the at least one signal that is not transmitted during an energy saving (ES) state can include a SIB).
Regarding claims 7 and 17: Kim discloses the limitations of parent claims 1 and 11 as indicated above. Kim does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 7 and 17 that an NES cell is associated with at least one of a discontinuous transmission (DTX) state and a discontinuous reception (DRX) state in a first timing based on at least one of a DTX pattern and a DRX pattern configured for the NES cell. However, Zhou discloses a similar system for network energy savings. Further, Zhou discloses that DTX patterns are used as part of the energy saving state for base stations throughout. Consider [0348], for example, which discloses “network energy saving operation may comprise a BS DTX configuration” and “a base station operating in BS DTX mode for a given cell and with a given pattern, which is transmitted to wireless devices, implies that the wireless devices in the cell, apply the BS DTX pattern in the cell as their DRX pattern”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim to utilize a DTX pattern for base stations in an energy saving state as disclosed by Zhou. The rationale for doing so would have been to allow the base station to conserve energy without completely powering off all functionality by using a discontinuous pattern that the terminals can apply to know when the base station is next planning to transmit.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2025/0106756) in view of Yue et al (US 2025/0142428) in view of Choe (US 2025/0159603).
Regarding claims 9 and 19: Kim discloses the limitations of parent claims 1 and 11 as indicated above. Kim does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claims 9 and 19 that the receiving the configuration parameters is via a handover command. However, Choe discloses transmitting “configuration information” for an “NES operation” that is transmitted via a handover command such as an RRCReconfiguration (see [0131], for example). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim to transmit the configuration information related to network energy savings using a handover message such as an RRCReconfiguation message as suggested by Choe. The rationale for doing so would have been to provide flexibility in the message used by the network to configure the NES related functions as suggested by Choe which allows a number of different messages to be used for this configuration information.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2025/0106756) in view of Yue et al (US 2025/0142428) in view of Myung et al (US 2025/0031249).
Regarding claim 10: Kim discloses the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above. Kim does not explicitly disclose the limitations of claim 10 of initiating a random access process via the NES cell and based on the configuration parameters. However, Myung discloses a system including a base station that implements network energy savings (see Figure 1 and [0105], for example). Further, this base station implementing energy savings also performs a RACH process with UEs on non-anchor carriers as disclosed in [0109]-[0111], for example. As indicated in [0131]-[0132], the RACH process is performed based on a network energy saving configuration including a list of the non-anchor carriers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kim to enable the network energy saving cell to perform RACH processes on some carriers as suggested by Myung. The rationale for doing so would have been to reduce power consumption while maintaining much of the base station functionality as suggested in Myung.
Conclusion
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 July 6, 2026