DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to claims filed 30 May 2023 for application 18203076 filed 03 May 2023. Currently claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In step 1, claims 1, 10 and 19 are directed to the statutory category of a method, an article of manufacture and a system.
In step 2a prong 1, claims 1, 10 and 19 recite, in part, receiving a trained model, extracting a set of features based on importance, generating a set of marginal queries, performing a measurement of the queries, using measurements to generate synthetic data. The limitations of receiving, extracting, generating, performing, and using are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “computer”, “processor” and “computer-readable storage medium” in the context of the claims, the limitations encompass extracting features from a model based on importance and performing measurements to create synthetic data in the mind or with aid. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
In step 2a prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of “computer”, “processor” and “computer-readable storage medium”. The computer components in the claim are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C. This limitation amounts to mere insignificant extra-solution activity of transmitting information. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g).
In step 2b, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, either alone or in combination. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “computer”, “processor” and “computer-readable storage medium” to perform the steps of the claims amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 recite further limitations of retraining the model, source data is private and privacy preserving measurements are used, using differentially private measurements, the model has been trained on private data, using differentially private extraction, global or local feature importance, covariance or sensitivity, and using k-way marginal queries. These limitations amount to the same abstract idea recited above in step 2a prong 1. No further additional elements are recited and thus the claims do not recite any practical application in step 2a prong 2 or amount to significantly more in step 2b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vietri et al. (Private Synthetic Data for Multitask Learning and Marginal Queries) in view of Mireshghallah (Not All Features Are Equal: Discovering Essential Features for Preserving Prediction Privacy)(hereinafter “Miresh”).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 19, Vietri discloses: A computer-implemented method comprising:
extracting a set of features (“We use the five largest states (California, New York, Texas, Florida, and Pennsylvania) which together with the five tasks constitute 25 datasets. We used the folktables package [DHMS21] to extract features and tasks.3 In the appendix, we include a table that summarizes the number of categorical and numerical features for each ACS task and the number of rows in each of the 25 datasets.” P7 §5.Datasets)
wherein each of said extracted features is assigned a feature importance score (“This query class is constructed to preserve the relationship between feature columns and target columns with the goal of generating synthetic data useful for training ML models. Since the possible set of queries for this class is finite we enumerate over all possible combinations of 3-way marginals in our experiments.” P8 §2.1 ¶2);
generating a set of marginal queries based, at least in part, on a selected subset of said features (p3 Definition 3 discloses mixed marginal queries);
performing a measurement of said set of marginal queries on a source database, to obtain measurements of said set of marginal queries on said source database (p3 Definition 3 discloses mixed marginal queries and Definition 4 discloses a threshold and values for the queries against the dataset/features); and
using said measurements to generate synthetic data that matches said measurements (“The quality of synthetic data can be evaluated in task-specific ways. Since the goal is to accurately answer a set of queries over numerical features, we can evaluate the difference between answers to the queries on the synthetic data and those on the real data, summarized by an `1 norm.” p3 §2.1 ¶7).
Vietri does not explicitly disclose, however, Mihesh teaches:
receiving a trained machine learning model (“In the black-box setup, we have no access to the target classifier, nor the data it was trained on. In both cases, we need labeled training data from the data distribution D, that the target classifier was trained on. We do not, however, need access to the exact same training data, nor do we need any extra collaboration from the service provider, such as a change in infrastructure or model parameters” p2 §2 ¶2);
extracting a set of features associated with said machine learning model…
a feature importance score which represents a relative explanatory power of said feature with respect to an output of said machine learning model (features extracted based on importance p2 §2 ¶3);
feature importance score (only important features are kept p2 §2 ¶3).
Vietri and Mihesh are in the same field of endeavor of extracting features in private environments. Vietri discloses a method of extracting features using marginal queries and differential privacy. Mihesh discloses extracting features from a trained model using feature importance. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known privacy preserving feature extraction by using features related to a trained model and using feature importance scores as taught by Mihesh to yield predictable results of building the model using only the most useful features to ensure model privacy and accuracy (Mihesh p2 §2 ¶3).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 20, Vietri discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising using said synthetic data to construct a training dataset, wherein said training dataset is used to re-train … model (“We also train linear models for multiple classification tasks using the synthetic datasets generated from different algorithms. We find that RAP++ provides the highest accuracy when the numeric features are predictive of the target label, and closely tracks all benchmark accuracy in all other cases” p2 §Empirical evaluations).
Vietri does not explicitly disclose, however, Mihesh teaches:
said received trained machine learning model p2 §2 ¶2
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Vietri discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein said source database comprises private data, and wherein said measurement is a privacy-preserving measurement of said set of marginal queries on said source database comprising said private data, to obtain privacy-preserving measurements of said set of marginal queries on said source database (“The notion of privacy that we adopt in this paper is differential privacy, which measures the effect of small changes in a dataset on a randomized algorithm. Formally, we say that two datasets are neighboring if they are different in at most one data point.” P3 §2.2 ¶1, see also Definition 6).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Vietri discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein said privacy-preserving measurement is a differentially-private measurement (“The notion of privacy that we adopt in this paper is differential privacy, which measures the effect of small changes in a dataset on a randomized algorithm. Formally, we say that two datasets are neighboring if they are different in at most one data point.” P3 §2.2 ¶1, see also Definition 6).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Vietri discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, … wherein said extracting and said assigning are performed using a privacy-preserving feature importance extraction method (“The notion of privacy that we adopt in this paper is differential privacy, which measures the effect of small changes in a dataset on a randomized algorithm. Formally, we say that two datasets are neighboring if they are different in at most one data point.” P3 §2.2 ¶1, see also Definition 6).
Vietri does not explicitly disclose, however, Mihesh teaches: trained machine learning model is initially-trained on private data (§2 Mutual Information and §6.2 disclose that the models are trained using private data)
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Vietri discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein said privacy-preserving feature importance extraction method is a differentially-private feature importance extraction method (“The notion of privacy that we adopt in this paper is differential privacy, which measures the effect of small changes in a dataset on a randomized algorithm. Formally, we say that two datasets are neighboring if they are different in at most one data point.” P3 §2.2 ¶1, see also Definition 6).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Vietri does not explicitly disclose, however, Mihesh teaches: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein said feature importance scores comprise at least one of the following categories: global feature importance scores, and local feature importance scores (features extracted based on importance, importance for model interpreted as global importance p2 §2 ¶3).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Vietri does not explicitly disclose, however, Mihesh teaches: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein said assigning further comprises assigning, to at least some of said features, at least one of the following measures: covariance, and sensitivity (§5.5 discloses sensitivity of features).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Vietri discloses: The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein said selected subset of features comprises k features, and wherein said set of marginal queries comprises all k-way marginal queries which include said selected subset of k features (p3 Definition 2 discloses the use of k-way marginal queries).
Conclusion
/ERIC NILSSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151