DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant argues on pp.14-15 of the Response that McNamara does not disclose simultaneously displaying the at least two vital sign rend graphs and an AF event trend graph so that they are aligned in time and share the same time period. However, the Examiner relied upon Sharma for the general disclosure of simultaneous displaying and alignment of multiple vital sign parameters on a common time window (see Fig. 7). McNamara was relied upon to show that AF burden measures obtained over time (such as daily) in conjunction with heart rate, AF length, etc. was also known in the art (see Fig. 3, 5, 6). In other words, aggregating AF burden data as another trackable metric in AF reporting systems was known in the art. By combining Sharama and McNamara, the resultant reporting system would simply add AF burden to the list of daily tracked parameters in Fig. 7 that are simultaneously displayed and aligned with a common timeline. Again, Sharma was relied on for the alignment aspects of the data and McNamara was relied upon to show daily AF burden is a known heart failure metric in health reporting systems. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to add AF burden to the list of trackable metrics in Fig. 7 of Sharma.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 11, 12, 15, 18, 20, 21, 25, 26, 28, 31 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (2016/0038093) in view of McNamara et al. (2010/0268103).
Regarding Claims 1, 8, 15, 18 and 25, Sharma discloses acquiring at least two vital sign parameters such as a fluid index, heart rate, heart rate variability, activity, etc. (see Fig. 7) wherein the heart rate, HR variability, etc. can be detected from electrical activity of the heart (electrocardiograms, see par. [0037, 0038, 0040, 0085]). Sharma also discloses acquiring information of atrial fibrillation events (see AF duration, AF+RVR in Fig. 7) and discloses displaying this information in a comprehensive view such that trend graphs of each vital sign parameter and AF metrics can be simultaneously displayed (Fig. 7). Sharma additionally discloses that AF burden can be a metric that is tracked and displayed (par. [0076, 0085, 0133]) but does not show a specific example in the drawings of simultaneously displaying the AF burden with the other parameters. Sharma also discloses that specific time windows can be set by a user for analysis (par. [0107, 0116, 0127]) but again fails to disclose any specific example in which AF burden is analyzed with the vital sign parameter trends and AF event trends.
However, McNamara, in the same field of endeavor of cardiac health reporting, discloses creating AF burden trend charts comprising daily calculations that are displayed simultaneously with vital sign data such as heart rate trends (Fig. 3) for the purpose of providing a more detailed snapshot of patient health surrounding atrial fibrillation events, thus aiding a clinician in the monitoring and treatment of the patient (par. [0038-0040, 0049, 0051, 0058]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Sharma reference to include simultaneously displaying and aligning displaying AF burden trends with other vital sign parameter trends such as heart rate, as taught and suggested by McNamara, for the purpose of providing a more detailed snapshot of patient health surrounding atrial fibrillation events, thus aiding a clinician in the monitoring and treatment of the patient.
The combination of Sharma and McNamara (the addition of AF burden trends to the metric data being displayed) would result in a simultaneous display of vital sign parameter trends; AF event trends; and AF burden trends on a single display with a common timeline that can be analyzed over user selected time periods to assess cardiac health as this is clearly set forth in Fig. 7 of Sharma.
Claims 2 and 26 define intended results of what the simultaneous display of parameters can provide visually. The Examiner notes the Sharma and McNamara references disclose the combined display of data trends of all of the claimed parameters over a common timeline. The display of these trends would then provide visual similarities, difference, correlations, effects, etc. as a natural result of their display.
In regard to Claim 3, Sharma discloses providing markers (peaks, see 154, 156 in Fig. 7) when AF occurs verses a time of no marks or peaks indicative of when no AF event occurs (Fig. 7).
With regard to Claim 4, Sharma and McNamara discloses marking a dot 322 in the HR signal when an AF event is detected (McNamara, Fig. 3, par. [0036]).
Regarding Claim 5, the graphed data of Sharma clearly shows various extrema (max and min values) over time. Sharma also discloses presenting max values such as max fluid values or max contraction rates over a specified time range (par. [0113, 0119]; Fig. 6, 7).
In regard to Claim 6, the trend graphs of Sharma and McNamara using a common time scale would provide visual indications of extrema associated with AF events and extreme not associated with AF events. One could see a peak in a vital signa trend that does not align with an AF event as well as peaks that do align with AF events (see Fig. 7). Sharma also discloses that various markers, colors, etc. can be used to highlight critical values (par. [0126]).
In regard to Claims 11 and 12, Sharma and McNamara disclose providing statistical information for atrial fibrillation, such as proportion of time over a time period a user spent in Afib (McNamara, par. [0039]; Fig. 3).
Regarding Claims 20, 21 and 31, Sharma discloses the various displayed parameters can be a result of user selection of “hotkeys” such as menus, scroll bars, navigation buttons, etc. (the claimed “click operation of a user”, see par. [0044, 0047, 0099, 0115]) and alarm conditions can be displayed (see mark 140 in Fig. 6; par. [0126]).
Regarding Claim 28, Sharma discloses providing markers (peaks, see 154, 156 in Fig. 7) when AF occurs verses a time of no marks or peaks indicative of when no AF event occurs (Fig. 7). Additionally, the graphed data of Sharma clearly shows various extrema (max and min values) over time. Sharma also discloses presenting max values such as max fluid values or max contraction rates over a specified time range (par. [0113, 0119]; Fig. 6, 7). Sharma further discloses the various displayed parameters can be a result of user selection of “hotkeys” such as menus, scroll bars, navigation buttons, etc. (the claimed “click operation of a user”, see par. [0044, 0047, 0099, 0115]) and alarm conditions can be displayed (see mark 140 in Fig. 6; par. [0126]).
In regard to Claim 63, Sharma and McNamara discloses the AF burden is a histogram with the height of the bars indicating the burden and the width indicating a period of time, such as a day (see McNamara, Fig. 5, 6)
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma et al. (2016/0038093) in view of McNamara et al. (2010/0268103), further in view of Huang et al. (2014/0067838).
Regarding Claim 9, Sharma discloses including trend data such as blood pressure trend data (par. [0126]) but fails to disclose systolic and diastolic trends having a shared vertical coordinate. However, Huang discloses displaying both diastolic and systolic pressure with heart rate trends (Fig. 5) for the purpose of providing a more complete health picture over time rather than just based on current health information (par. [0003-0010]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Sharma and McNamara combination to include displaying both diastolic and systolic pressure with heart rate trends, as taught and suggested by Huang, for the purpose of providing a more complete health picture over time rather than just based on current health information. The example of Fig. 5 of Huang discloses vertical axes that have a common measurement (mmHg) so in one interpretation, that could be considered a common vertical coordinate. Huang does not disclose, in this example, a common magnitude scale for the mmHg measures. However, Huang, in another embodiment discloses that the diastolic and systolic measures can be plotted on the same coordinate system having the same values of magnitude on the vertical axis, (see Fig. 4a, b). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to establish a common magnitude of values for a vertical axis in displaying systolic and diastolic pressure in that in either configuration (a common set of values or a lack of a common set of values) would equally provide accurate readings of systolic and diastolic pressure. Scaling a figure or not scaling a figure would not have any bearing on the values displayed.
In regard to Claim 10, Sharma discloses displaying different colors based on the values of the detected parameters (par. [0126]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796