DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/203,231 filed on 05/30/2023.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 11/26/2025, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 12, 21-37 are cancelled.
-Claims 1- 11, 13-20 are pending.
-Claims 1- 11, 13-20 are rejected.
Priority
4. Acknowledgment is made of a continuation of PCT/CN21/71823 filed 01/14/2021.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
5. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 9-11, filed on 11/26/2025, with respect to Claim Objections have been considered in light of applicant’s claim amendments. Claim objections pertaining to Claims 1, 6, 14, 18, 19, 20 are withdrawn.
6. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 9-11, filed on 11/26/2025, with respect to Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112 have been considered in light of applicant’s claim amendments. Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112 pertaining to Claims 3, 11, 16, 17 are withdrawn.
7. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 9-10, filed on 11/26/2025, with respect to REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds of rejection being used in the current rejection.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent Claims have been considered, and are moot for the same reasons noted above, and are not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Objections
8. Claims 3, 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding claim 3 and claim 11 – both claims recite “ThreshRemainingST)”, “ThreshRemainingVT)” which appear typographical errors intended as “ThreshRemainingST”, “ThreshRemainingVT”.
Should applicant contend otherwise, applicant is requested to appropriately address, amend, and verify as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
10. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et. al (US 20220167221 A1) i.e. “LEE”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) LEE discloses: A method (LEE – FIG. 16 & ¶ 0342 […] a method for selection of NTN cells to perform CHO among multiple cells satisfying the condition; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. procedure reads on: A method)
performed by a wireless communication device (LEE – FIG. 16 & ¶0343 […] a UE is provided with CHO configuration and if multiple NTN cells simultaneously satisfy the CHO triggering condition, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0343 i.e. UE may select the cell reads on: performed by a wireless communication device ),
the method comprising: obtaining configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0344 […] step 1601, a UE may acquire CHO configuration. For example, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: the method comprising: obtaining . where per ¶0344, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration by reads on: configuration information);
based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0345 […] CHO configuration may include list of candidate cells to execute CHO; ¶0346] […] each candidate cell in the CHO configuration may be configured with CHO triggering condition; ¶0347 […] in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured; ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured; ¶0349[…] absolute validity time period may include minimum absolute time threshold and/or maximum absolute time threshold; ¶0350 step 1602, the UE may perform measurement on cells […]; ¶0351 […] step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition […] if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: based on the configuration information),
selecting at least one (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0347 see above; ¶0348 See above; ¶0351 See above; ¶0352 […] CHO triggering condition for a cell is satisfied if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. i.e. step 1603, the UE may select reads on: selecting. Furthermore i.e. per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured and per ¶0351 i.e. select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells, where furthermore per ¶0347 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured and ¶0352 i.e. if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell i.e. a criterion can be i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period configured, i.e. cell quality threshold configured reads on: at least one criterion)
from among [[the]] following criteria (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
,
a cell with a longest valid time (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a cell with a longest serving time (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a cell with a longest remaining valid time (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: a cell with a longest remaining valid time),
or a cell with a longest remaining serving time (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on [[the]] a selected at least one criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see above; ¶0352 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time and where per ¶0352 i.e. CHO triggering condition for a cell is satisfied if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell reads on: ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on [[the]] a selected at least one criterion from a selected at least one criterion including i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period configured, i.e. cell quality threshold configured.
Furthermore per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells also reads on: ranking a plurality of candidate cells in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO. Furthermore i.e. per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured, and furthermore that per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may i.e. select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion i.e. included in the CHO triggering condition where in this case a selected criterion is i.e. absolute validity time period configured in the CHO);
and selecting (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
reselecting(note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) one of the plurality of candidate cells having a highest rank among the plurality of candidate cells (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select reads on: and selecting i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell reads on: one of , i.e. with longest remaining absolute validity time period i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: the plurality of candidate cells Per ¶0351 i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among reads on: having a highest rank, per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: among the plurality of candidate cells ).
Regarding Claim 2. (Original) Lee discloses: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LEE discloses: further comprising: based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0345 See Claim 1; ¶0348 See Claim 1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0350 See claim 1; ¶0351 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: further comprising: based on the configuration information), performing at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
determining the plurality of candidate cells for selection (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
reselection (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0345 See Claim 1; ¶0348 See Claim 1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0350 See claim 1; ¶0351 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: determining the plurality of candidate cells for selection);
and adjusting the ranking of the plurality of candidate cells (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see Claim 1; ¶0352 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO reads on: and adjusting the ranking of the plurality of candidate cells) .
Regarding Claim 3. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses: The method of claim 2,
furthermore LEE discloses: wherein: the wireless communication device determines the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0344 See claim 1; ¶0345 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: wherein: the wireless communication device determines and per ¶0345 i.e. CHO configuration may include list of candidate cells to execute CHO reads on: the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information);
and the configuration information comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a range to best cell for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (RangeTo BestCellNTN), wherein only cells having a ranking within RangeTo BestCellNTN are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT) (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0353 […] the remaining absolute validity time period is time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured, and per ¶0349 absolute validity time period may include minimum absolute time threshold and/or maximum absolute time threshold reads on: a threshold where per ¶0353 i.e. remaining absolute validity time period is time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold reads on: of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT)),
wherein only cells having a remaining valid time greater than or lower than ThreshRemainingVT) are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See claim 1; ¶0353 see above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: wherein only cells having a remaining valid time where per ¶0353 i.e. remaining absolute validity time period is i.e. time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold reads on: lower than ThreshRemainingVT) are selected and per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: in the plurality of candidate cells i.e. from the cells in the CHO configuration);
and a threshold of remaining serving time of a cell (ThreshservingT), wherein only cells having a remaining serving time greater than or lower than ThreshRemainingST) are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) Lee discloses: The method of claim 2,
furthermore LEE discloses: wherein the configuration information is broadcast as system information (note: limitations separated by or subsequent to recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by or subsequent to recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) provided via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (LEE FIG. 13 & FIG. 16 & ¶0305 […] In the CHO procedure, the network can configure multiple candidate cells with CHO triggering condition to UE via RRC dedicated signalling; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to FIG. 16 acquiring CHO configuration, i.e. per ¶0305 i.e. the network can configure multiple candidate cells with CHO triggering condition to UE via RRC dedicated signalling reads on: wherein the configuration information is provided via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling).
Regarding Claim 6. (Original) LEE discloses: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LEE discloses: further comprising: obtaining at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
ephemeris information associated with a plurality of candidate satellites of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by the recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
[[and/]] or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by the recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a cell expire time (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0344 See claim 1; ¶0348 See claim 1; ¶0349 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: further comprising: obtaining at least one of. where per ¶0344, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration and per ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: a cell expire time);
and based the at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the ephemeris information (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by the recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
[[and/]] or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by the recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the cell expire time, calculating a value of the selected at least one criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above; ¶0353 see claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0353 i.e. remaining absolute validity time period is time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold reads on: and based the at least one of the cell expire time per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: calculating a value of the selected at least one criterion).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) LEE discloses: The method of claim 6,
(Claim 7 depends from claim 6, and claim 7 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 6 and not required, and therefore the claim 7 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the ephemeris information comprises at least one of: orbital parameters associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, adjustments to the orbital parameters, orbital state vectors associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, cell information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, beam information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, an association between the cell information and the orbital parameters and the orbital state vectors, and an association between the cell information and the beam information (Claim 7 depends from claim 6, and claim 7 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 6 and not required, and therefore the claim 7 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 8. (Original) LEE discloses: The method of claim 7,
(Claim 8 depends from claim 7, and claim 7 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 6 and not required, and therefore the claim 7 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and accordingly at least via dependency Claim 8 limitation are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in the wireless communication device via Non Access Stratum (NAS) signaling or pre-configured in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) contained in the wireless communication device (Claim 8 depends from claim 7, and claim 7 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 6 and not required, and therefore the claim 7 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and accordingly at least via dependency Claim 8 limitation are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required ).
Regarding Claim 9. (Original) LEE discloses: The method of claim 8,
(Claim 9 depends from Claim 8, and Claim 8 depends from claim 7, and claim 7 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 6 and not required, and therefore the claim 7 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and accordingly at least via dependency Claim 8 limitation are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and furthermore accordingly, at least via dependency Claim 9 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information and the cell expire time is broadcast as system information or provided via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling by the NTN(Claim 9 depends from Claim 8, and Claim 8 depends from claim 7, and claim 7 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 6 and not required, and therefore the claim 7 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and accordingly at least via dependency Claim 8 limitation are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and furthermore accordingly, at least via dependency Claim 9 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses: A non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to (LEE FIG. 5 & ¶0105 […] The memory 104 is operatively coupled with the processor 102 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 102. The memory 104 may include ROM, RAM, flash memory, memory card, storage medium and/or other storage device; FIG. 16 & ¶0343 […] a UE is provided with CHO configuration and if multiple NTN cells simultaneously satisfy the CHO triggering condition, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the UE of FIG. 16 & ¶0343, per FIG. 5 & ¶0105 i.e. The memory 104 may include ROM, RAM, flash memory, memory card reads on: A non-transitory machine-readable media , where i.e. The memory 104 is operatively coupled with the processor 102 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 102 reads on: having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to):
(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19) obtain configuration information; based on the configuration information, select at least one criterion from among following criteria: a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and [[the]] a wireless communication device, (See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19).
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses: A wireless communication device (LEE – FIG. 16 & ¶0343 See claim 1; Per ¶0343 i.e. a UE is provided reads on: A wireless communication device with CHO configuration and if multiple NTN cells simultaneously satisfy the CHO triggering condition, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period),
comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to(LEE FIG. 5 & ¶0105 […] The memory 104 is operatively coupled with the processor 102 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 102. The memory 104 may include ROM, RAM, flash memory, memory card, storage medium and/or other storage device; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the UE of FIG. 16 & ¶0343, per FIG. 5 & ¶0105 i.e. The memory 104 may include ROM, RAM, flash memory, memory card , where i.e. The memory 104 is operatively coupled with the processor 102 and stores a variety of information reads on: comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions to operate the processor 102 reads on: and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to):
(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20) obtain configuration information; based on the configuration information, select at least one criterion from among following criteria: a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device, (See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
12. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Rune et al. (US 20230300700 A1), i.e. “Rune”.
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses: The method of claim 2,
furthermore Lee discloses: wherein: the wireless communication device adjusts the ranking of the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see Claim 1; ¶0352 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO reads on: wherein: the wireless communication device adjusts the ranking of the plurality of candidate cells, and per ¶0347 i.e. ¶0347 […] in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured and per ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: based on the configuration information );
and the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0353 See Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: and the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value, where longest remaining absolute validity time period determined from the difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and i.e. the predetermined absolute validity time period i.e. maximum absolute time threshold)
and at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT) (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0353 See Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured, and per ¶0349 absolute validity time period may include minimum absolute time threshold and/or maximum absolute time threshold reads on a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT)) ,
wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time less than ThreshRemainingVT (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See claim 1; ¶0353 see Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time where per ¶0353 i.e. remaining absolute validity time period is i.e. time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold reads on: less than ThreshRemainingVT and per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: in the plurality of candidate cells i.e. from the cells in the CHO configuration) are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See claim 1; ¶0353 see Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value i.e. the ranking of cells above quality threshold are decreased in rank based upon the i.e. with longest remaining absolute validity time period);
a threshold of remaining serving time of a cell (ThreshRemainingsT), wherein rankings of cells having a remaining serving time less than ThreshRemainingsT are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
and a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center (ThreshDistanceto CellCenter), wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocellCenter are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
While Lee discloses a predetermined adjustment value as noted herein above, where per ¶0351 where longest remaining absolute validity time period per ¶0353 is determined from the difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and i.e. the predetermined absolute validity time period i.e. maximum absolute time threshold, assuming arguendo “predetermined” is implied, and that
Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): a predetermined adjustment value;
Rune teaches: configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value (Rune FIG. 5 & ¶0039 the network may configure an offset range […] ; ¶0154 […] “expected time to be served” can be used as a means to trigger cell reselection procedure if, for example, the estimated value in the serving cell drops below a threshold broadcast by the network or provided via dedicated signaling; ¶0155 […] As in the currently specified ranking formulae, a hysteresis and an offset, e.g. Q.sub.hyst and Qoffset, may be used for the channel quality measure, in order to favor the current serving cell and reduce the frequency of cell reselection; ¶0156 Additionally or alternatively, a hysteresis may be applied to the expected time to be served too, essentially preventing cell reselections to take place based on the expected time; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0039 i.e. the network may configure an offset range reads on: and the configuration information comprises , where per ¶0155 As in the currently specified ranking formulae, a hysteresis and an offset, e.g. Q.sub.hyst and Qoffset, may be used for the channel quality measure, in order to favor the current serving cell and reduce the frequency of cell reselection and ¶0156 Additionally or alternatively, i.e. a hysteresis may be applied to the expected time to be served too reads on: a predetermined adjustment value)
and at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT) (Rune FIG. 5 & ¶0157 […] an alternative way to realize a hysteresis based on expected time to be served may be to stipulate that unless the expected time to be served in the serving cell is less than a configured value and the expected time to be served in the new (reselected) cell is more than a configured value, e.g., T.sub.exp-serving<T.sub.exp-thres_for_serving (where, T.sub.exp-serving is the expected (remaining) time to be served in the current serving (camping) cell and T.sub.exp-thres_for_serving is a threshold value which indicates that if T.sub.exp-serving becomes less than this value the UE shall attempt to find a suitable cell to reselect to); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0157 i.e. the expected time to be served in the serving cell is less than a configured value reads on a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT)) ,
wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time less than ThreshRemainingVT (Rune FIG. 5 & ¶0156 See above; ¶0157 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0156 i.e. a hysteresis may be applied to the expected time to be served too, essentially preventing cell reselections to take place based on the expected time to be served i.e. selected cells are ranked lower than serving cell by hysteresis reads on: wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time where per ¶0157 i.e. the expected time to be served in the serving cell is less than a configured value where per reads on: less than ThreshRemainingVT) are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value (Rune FIG. 5 & ¶0156 See above; ¶0157 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0156 i.e. a hysteresis may be applied to the expected time to be served too, essentially preventing cell reselections to take place based on the expected time to be served i.e. selected cells are ranked lower than serving cell or decreased by the hysteresis reads on: are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with teachings of Rune, since Rune enables procedures to serve to reduce the number of cell reselections in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state. This may reduce the amount of overhead in terms of UE measurements and system information reading, thereby saving energy and UE battery lifetime, and also reduces the risk for page misses (Rune - ¶0103).
13. Claims 10, 11, 13 -18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et. al (US 20230209413 A1) i.e. “JUNG” in view of LEE, further in view of Rune.
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended) JUNG teaches: A method (JUNG – FIG. 7 & ¶) 0162 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. procedure reads on: A method)
performed by a wireless communication device operating in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (JUNG – FIG. 7 & ¶0163 […] performing a satellite cell reselection procedure by the terminal; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. performing […] procedure by the terminal reads on: performed by a wireless communication device FIG. 7 depicts NTN UE and NTN GNB or Satellite reads on: in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ),
the method comprising: obtaining configuration information associated with a plurality of candidate cells of the NTN (JUNG FIG. 7 & ¶0172 See claim 1, ¶0173 See claim 1, ¶0175 See claim 1, ¶0176 See claim 1, ¶0177 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0172 i.e. operation 7-25, the terminal 7-01 may acquire/receive system information (for example, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, etc.) broadcasted by reads on: the method comprising: obtaining from the NTN gNB or the satellite cell 7-02. Where per ¶0172 i.e. acquire/receive system information (for example, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5; per ¶0173 Ephemeris information of a serving (satellite) cell (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) Per ¶0174 Ephemeris information of neighbor (satellite) cells in a predetermined NR frequency (for example, SIB3, SIB4, or new SIB); […] ¶0176 A predetermined distance threshold value (D serving) between the terminal and a serving (satellite) cell, and an offset value (Qoffset.sub.location, serving) (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) reads on: configuration information. per ¶0173 Ephemeris information of a serving (satellite) cell (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) Per ¶0174 Ephemeris information of neighbor (satellite) cells in a predetermined NR frequency (for example, SIB3, SIB4, or new SIB) reads on: associated with a plurality of candidate cells of the NTN ),
each of the plurality of candidate cells associated with a respective one of a plurality of candidate satellites (JUNG FIG. 7 & ¶0172 […] operation 7-25, the terminal 7-01 may acquire/receive system information (for example, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, etc.) broadcasted by the NTN gNB or the satellite cell 7-02 to perform the cell reselection procedure. […] in addition to the information specified in the above-described embodiment, the NTN gNB or the satellite cell 7-02 may broadcast the following information through the existing system information or new system information. ¶0173 Ephemeris information of a serving (satellite) cell (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) ¶0174 Ephemeris information of neighbor (satellite) cells in a predetermined NR frequency (for example, SIB3, SIB4, or new SIB) ¶0175 The ephemeris information may include a (satellite) cell identifier (for example, PCI) which can identify a mapped (satellite) cell. ¶0176 A predetermined distance threshold value (D serving) between the terminal and a serving (satellite) cell, and an offset value (Qoffset.sub.location, serving) (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) ¶0177 For the Qoffset.sub.location, serving, if a distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite) cell has a value smaller than Dserving or a value equal to or smaller than Dserving, the terminal may apply the Qoffset.sub.location, serving when driving a serving cell ranking;; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0173 Ephemeris information of a serving (satellite) cell & Per ¶0174 Ephemeris information of neighbor (satellite) cells reads on: each of the plurality of candidate cells i.e. serving (satellite) cell, neighbor (satellite) cells reads on: associated with a respective one of a plurality of candidate satellites );
and based on the configuration information (JUNG FIG. 7 & ¶0141 […] The serving cell rank and the neighbor cell rank may be obtained according to Equation 2 […] ; ¶0192 […] When the terminal according to an embodiment of the disclosure needs to derive a cell ranking […]; ¶0194 […] Alternatively, if the distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite) cell has a value greater than a distance threshold value (for example, Dserving) or has a value equal to or greater than a distance threshold value, Qoffset.sub.location, […] in this case, R.sub.s may be derived according to the equation for R.sub.s in Equation 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0194 i.e. If the distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite) cell has a value smaller than a distance threshold value (for example, Dserving) for equation 3 or if the distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite) cell has a value greater than a distance threshold value (for example, Dserving) or has a value equal to or greater than a distance threshold value) for equation 2 i.e. ranking, based on utilizing Deserving reads on: based on the configuration information performing per ¶0192 i.e. derive a cell ranking or per ¶0141 & ¶0194 i.e. serving cell rank and the neighbor cell rank may be obtained according to Equation 2),
ranking of the plurality of candidate cells for cell selection or reselection (JUNG FIG. 7 & ¶0197 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0197 i.e. operation 7-35, the terminal 7-01 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may perform […] perform reselection by selecting the highest ranked cell from among cells reads on: ranking of the plurality of candidate cells for cell selection or reselection satisfying the distance condition using the ranking processes).
JUNG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (Note: please see italicized portions): adjusting a ranking of the plurality of candidate cells;
LEE teaches: obtaining configuration information associated with a plurality of candidate cells of the NTN (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0342 See claim 1; ¶0344 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: the method comprising: obtaining . where per ¶0344, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration by reads on: configuration information, and per ¶0345 […] CHO configuration may include list of candidate cells to execute CHO reads on: associated with a plurality of candidate cells, where CHO configuration is in association with per ¶0342 i.e. a method for selection of NTN cells to perform CHO among multiple cells reads on: of the NTN );
and based on the configuration information, adjusting a ranking of the plurality of candidate cells for cell selection (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see Claim 1; ¶0352 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0347 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured and per ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: based on the configuration information and i.e. Per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO reads on: adjusting a ranking of the plurality of candidate cells, where per ¶0351 i.e. the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: for cell selection ) or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
reselection(note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
(See Rejection of Claim 4, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 10)
wherein the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0353 See Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: and the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value, where longest remaining absolute validity time period determined from the difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and i.e. the predetermined absolute validity time period i.e. maximum absolute time threshold) and at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight): a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingvT) (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0353 See Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured, and per ¶0349 absolute validity time period may include minimum absolute time threshold and/or maximum absolute time threshold reads on a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT)), wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time less than ThreshRemainingvT (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See claim 1; ¶0353 see Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time where per ¶0353 i.e. remaining absolute validity time period is i.e. time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold reads on: less than ThreshRemainingVT and per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: in the plurality of candidate cells i.e. from the cells in the CHO configuration) are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value(LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See claim 1; ¶0353 see Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value i.e. the ranking of cells above quality threshold are decreased based upon the i.e. with longest remaining absolute validity time period);
a threshold of remaining serving time of a cell (ThreshRemainingsT), wherein rankings of cells having a remaining serving time less than ThreshRemainingsT are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a threshold of maximum distance to a satellite (ThreshDistaneTosat), wherein rankings of cells associated with respective satellites having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistaneTosat are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center (ThreshDistaneTocellCenter),wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers have a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocelCenter are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG with teachings of LEE, since LEE enables procedures that a wireless device may perform conditional handover to the NTN cell efficiently (LEE - ¶0014).
While JUNG in view of LEE teaches: A method performed by a wireless communication device operating in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the method comprising: obtaining configuration information associated with a plurality of candidate cells of the NTN, each of the plurality of candidate cells associated with a respective one of a plurality of candidate satellites; and based on the configuration information, adjusting a ranking of the plurality of candidate cells for cell selection or reselection, wherein the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value and at least one of: a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingvT), wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time less than ThreshRemainingvT are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value; a threshold of remaining serving time of a cell (ThreshRemainingsT), wherein rankings of cells having a remaining serving time less than ThreshRemainingsT are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value; a threshold of maximum distance to a satellite (ThreshDistaneTosat), wherein rankings of cells associated with respective satellites having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistaneTosat are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value; or a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center (ThreshDistaneTocellCenter),wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers have a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocelCenter are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value,
While Lee discloses a predetermined adjustment value as noted herein above, where per ¶0351 where longest remaining absolute validity time period per ¶0353 is determined from the difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and i.e. the predetermined absolute validity time period i.e. maximum absolute time threshold, assuming arguendo “predetermined” is implied, and that,
JUNG in view of LEE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): a predetermined adjustment value;
Rune teaches: configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value (Rune FIG. 5 & ¶0039 See claim 4 ; ¶0154 See claim 4; ¶0155 See claim 4; ¶0156See claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0039 i.e. the network may configure an offset range reads on: and the configuration information comprises , where per ¶0155 As in the currently specified ranking formulae, a hysteresis and an offset, e.g. Q.sub.hyst and Qoffset, may be used for the channel quality measure, in order to favor the current serving cell and reduce the frequency of cell reselection and ¶0156 Additionally or alternatively, i.e. a hysteresis may be applied to the expected time to be served too reads on: a predetermined adjustment value)
and at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT) (Rune FIG. 5 & ¶0157 See claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0157 i.e. the expected time to be served in the serving cell is less than a configured value reads on a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT)) ,
wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time less than ThreshRemainingVT (Rune FIG. 5 & ¶0156 See Claim 4; ¶0157 See Claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0156 i.e. a hysteresis may be applied to the expected time to be served too, essentially preventing cell reselections to take place based on the expected time to be served i.e. selected cells are ranked lower than serving cell by hysteresis reads on: wherein rankings of cells having a remaining valid time where per ¶0157 i.e. the expected time to be served in the serving cell is less than a configured value where per reads on: less than ThreshRemainingVT) are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value (Rune FIG. 5 & ¶0156 See Claim 4; ¶0157 See Claim 4; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: ¶0156 i.e. a hysteresis may be applied to the expected time to be served too, essentially preventing cell reselections to take place based on the expected time to be served i.e. selected cells are ranked lower than serving cell or decreased by the hysteresis reads on: are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG in view of Lee with teachings of Rune, since Rune enables procedures to serve to reduce the number of cell reselections in RRC_IDLE and RRC_INACTIVE state. This may reduce the amount of overhead in terms of UE measurements and system information reading, thereby saving energy and UE battery lifetime, and also reduces the risk for page misses (Rune - ¶0103).
(See Rejection of Claim 4, Claim 10 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 4, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 4 applies similarly to Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 11. (Currently Amended) JUNG in view of Lee and Rune teaches: The method of claim 10,
(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 11)
wherein: the wireless communication device determines the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information; and the configuration information comprises at least one of: a range to best cell for the NTN (RangeToBestceIINTN) wherein only cells having a ranking within RangeToBestceIINTN are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells; a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT) wherein only cells having a remaining valid time greater than ThreshRemainingVT) are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells; and a threshold of remaining serving time of a cell (ThreshservingT) wherein only cells having a remaining serving time greater than ThreshRemainingST) are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 13. (Original) JUNG in view of Lee and Rune teaches: The method of claim 10,
(See Rejection of Claim 5, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 13)
furthermore LEE discloses: wherein the configuration information is broadcast as system information(note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signal by the NTN (See Rejection of Claim 5, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 13).
Regarding Claim 14. (Currently Amended) JUNG in view of Lee and Rune teaches: The method of claim 10,
furthermore LEE discloses: further comprising: obtaining at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by the recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) ephemeris information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by the recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) and (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by the recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a cell expire time (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0344 See claim 1; ¶0348 See claim 1; ¶0349 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: further comprising: obtaining at least one of. where per ¶0344, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration and per ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: a cell expire time);
based on the at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the ephemeris information (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” or separated by the recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) [[and/]] or the cell expire time,
(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 14)
determining at least one (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See Claim 1; ¶0353 see claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0353 i.e. remaining absolute validity time period is time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold reads on: and based the at least one of the cell expire time per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: determining at least one criterion) from among the following criteria(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a cell with a shortest distance between a satellite and the wireless communication device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a cell with a longest valid time(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a cell with a longest serving time(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a cell with a longest remaining valid time(LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: a cell with a longest remaining valid time); and a cell with a longest remaining serving time(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one ” or separated by the recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
ranking the plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on the at least one criterion and the configuration information(LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim 1; ¶0351 See Claim 1; ¶0352 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time and where per ¶0352 i.e. CHO triggering condition for a cell is satisfied if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell reads on: ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on the at least one criterion from a selected at least one criterion including i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period configured, i.e. cell quality threshold configured.
Furthermore per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells also reads on: ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on the at least one criterion in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO. Furthermore i.e. per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured, and furthermore that per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may i.e. select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion i.e. included in the CHO triggering condition where in this case a selected criterion is i.e. absolute validity time period configured in the CHO. Furthermore that per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: and the configuration information );
and selecting (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
reselecting (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) one of the plurality candidate cells having a highest rank among the plurality of candidate cells(LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See Claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select reads on: and selecting i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell reads on: one of , i.e. with longest remaining absolute validity time period i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: the plurality of candidate cells Per ¶0351 i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among reads on: having a highest rank, per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: among the plurality of candidate cells ).
Regarding Claim 15. (Original) JUNG in view of Lee and Rune teaches: The method of claim 14,
(Claim 15 depends from claim 14, and claim 15 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 14 and not required, and therefore the claim 15 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the ephemeris information comprises at least one of: orbital parameters associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, adjustments to the orbital parameters, orbital state vectors associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, cell information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, beam information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, an association between the cell information and the orbital parameters and the orbital state vectors, and an association between the cell information and the beam information(Claim 15 depends from claim 14, and claim 15 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 14 and not required, and therefore the claim 15 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 16. (Currently Amended) JUNG in view of Lee and Rune teaches: The method of claim 15, (Claim 16 depends from claim 15, and claim 15 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 14 and not required, and therefore the claim 15 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and accordingly at least via dependency Claim 16 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in [[the]] a user equipment (UE. via Non Access Stratum (NAS) signaling or pre-configured in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) contained in the wireless communication device(Claim 16 depends from claim 15, and claim 15 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 14 and not required, and therefore the claim 15 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and accordingly at least via dependency Claim 16 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 17. (Original) JUNG in view of Lee and Rune teaches: The method of claim 16,
(Claim 17 depends from claim 16, and Claim 16 depends from claim 15, and claim 15 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 14 and not required, and therefore the claim 15 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and accordingly at least via dependency Claim 16 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and furthermore accordingly, at least via dependency Claim 17 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information and the cell expire time are broadcast as system information or provided via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling by the NTN (Claim 17 depends from claim 16, and Claim 16 depends from claim 15, and claim 15 limitations associate with and recite “the ephemeris information” which is presented in the alternative in claim 14 and not required, and therefore the claim 15 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and accordingly at least via dependency Claim 16 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required, and furthermore accordingly, at least via dependency Claim 17 limitations are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 18. (Original) JUNG in view of Lee and Rune teaches: The method of claim 14,
furthermore LEE teaches: wherein the at least one criterion is selected based on the configuration information, and the (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the ephemeris information (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) and (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the cell expire time (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above; ¶0353 see claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0353 i.e. remaining absolute validity time period reads on: wherein the at least one criterion , per ¶0351 step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: is selected , and per ¶0353 remaining absolute validity time period is time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold where per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: based on the configuration information per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: and the at least one criterion is determined per ¶0348 in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured and per ¶0353 remaining absolute validity time period is time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold reads on: based on the cell expire time).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MALICK A SOHRAB whose telephone number is (571)272-4347. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
Feb/07/2026
/EDAN ORGAD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414