DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/203,231 filed on 05/30/2023.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
3. This office action is based upon claims received on 04/29/2026, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 12, 21-37 are cancelled.
-Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 14, 18, 19, 20 are amended.
-Claims 1- 11, 13-20 are pending.
-Claims 1- 11, 13-20 are rejected.
Priority
5. Acknowledgment is made of a continuation of PCT/CN21/71823 filed 01/14/2021.
Response to Amendments/Remarks
6. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 9-11, filed on 04/29/2026, with respect to Claim Objections have been considered in light of applicant’s claim amendments, remarks and claims as presented. Claim objections pertaining to Claims 3, 11 are withdrawn.
7. Applicant's remarks/arguments, see page 9-11, filed on 04/29/2026, with respect to REMARKS/ARGUMENTS, Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 & 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are not persuasive and are moot because the arguments do not apply to the grounds of rejection including new grounds of rejection, being used in the current rejection. Applicant amends claims which now require a scope with claim limitations previously presented in the alternative and not required together.
Furthermore, remarks with respect to any applicable Dependent Claims have been considered, and are not persuasive and are moot for the same reasons noted above, and are not persuasive at least via dependency to the independent claims and via individual rejections addressing the specific claims.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
A. Applicant in applicant’s remarks, utilizing independent claim 1 (i.e. also representing claim 19, 20), indicates:
see page 9 (ln 24-25 ) that : “Lee fails to disclose or teach the criterion "a cell with a longest valid time" as recited in amended claim 1”,
B. To the extent this office action continues to rely on LEE et. al (US 20220167221 A1) i.e. “LEE” for the rejection of Claim 1 (i.e. also representative of parallel features in other independent claims 19, 20), the office respectfully contends applicant’s remarks or arguments directed to LEE are not persuasive, since LEE teaches subject claim limitation of applicant’s contention as follows:
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) LEE discloses: A method (LEE – FIG. 16 & ¶ 0342 […] a method for selection of NTN cells to perform CHO among multiple cells satisfying the condition);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses: i.e. procedure reads on: A method.
performed by a wireless communication device, (LEE – FIG. 16 & ¶0343 […] a UE is provided with CHO configuration and if multiple NTN cells simultaneously satisfy the CHO triggering condition, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses per ¶0343 i.e. UE may select the cell reads on: performed by a wireless communication device .
the method comprising: obtaining configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0344 […] step 1601, a UE may acquire CHO configuration. For example, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses i.e. per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: the method comprising: obtaining . where per ¶0344, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration by reads on: configuration information.
based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0345 […] CHO configuration may include list of candidate cells to execute CHO; ¶0346] […] each candidate cell in the CHO configuration may be configured with CHO triggering condition; ¶0347 […] in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured; ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured; ¶0349[…] absolute validity time period may include minimum absolute time threshold and/or maximum absolute time threshold; ¶0350 step 1602, the UE may perform measurement on cells […]; ¶0351 […] step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition […] if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition );
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: based on the configuration information.
selecting at least one (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0347 see above; ¶0348 See above; ¶0351 See above; ¶0352 […] CHO triggering condition for a cell is satisfied if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. i.e. step 1603, the UE may select reads on: selecting. Furthermore i.e. per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured and per ¶0351 i.e. select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells, where furthermore per ¶0347 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured and ¶0352 i.e. if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell i.e. a criterion can be i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period configured, i.e. cell quality threshold configured reads on: at least one criterion.
from among following criteria (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a cell with a longest valid time (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above);
Which the office action respectfully contends and notes discloses i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: a cell with a longest valid time remaining. The office action respectfully contends longest remaining absolute validity time period is a specific form of limitation a longest valid time and therefore longest remaining absolute validity time period continues to teach the subject limitation.
C. Based at least on the teachings of LEE presented above, applicant’s remarks pertaining to claim 1 (i.e. also representative of parallel features in other independent claims 19, 20) are not persuasive since LEE contrary to applicant’s remarks continues to disclose the subject claim limitation of applicant’s contention. Applicant is respectfully directed to the grounds of rejection including new grounds of rejection of claims submitted, including Claim 1, 19, 20.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (see Office Action).
Claim Objections
8. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding claim 1 – Claim 1 recites “selecting at least one criterion from among following criteria:
a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device,
a cell with a longest valid time
,
,
ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion”.
The office action notes limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight and where limitations subsequent to “or” such as “ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion” are subject to interpretation of not being required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight.
This office action interprets the placement of “or” as a possible inadvertent typographical error associated with amendments made by applicant.
Should applicant contend otherwise, and for verification purposes, applicant is requested to appropriately address, amend as applicable, applicant’s intent and objective for the claim language noted. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
10. Claims 1-2, 5, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LEE et. al (US 20220167221 A1) i.e. “LEE”.
Regarding Claim 1. (Currently Amended) LEE discloses: A method (LEE – FIG. 16 & ¶ 0342 […] a method for selection of NTN cells to perform CHO among multiple cells satisfying the condition; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. procedure reads on: A method)
performed by a wireless communication device (LEE – FIG. 16 & ¶0343 […] a UE is provided with CHO configuration and if multiple NTN cells simultaneously satisfy the CHO triggering condition, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0343 i.e. UE may select the cell reads on: performed by a wireless communication device ),
the method comprising: obtaining configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0344 […] step 1601, a UE may acquire CHO configuration. For example, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: the method comprising: obtaining . where per ¶0344, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration by reads on: configuration information);
based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0345 […] CHO configuration may include list of candidate cells to execute CHO; ¶0346] […] each candidate cell in the CHO configuration may be configured with CHO triggering condition; ¶0347 […] in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured; ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured; ¶0349[…] absolute validity time period may include minimum absolute time threshold and/or maximum absolute time threshold; ¶0350 step 1602, the UE may perform measurement on cells […]; ¶0351 […] step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition […] if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: based on the configuration information),
selecting at least one (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0347 see above; ¶0348 See above; ¶0351 See above; ¶0352 […] CHO triggering condition for a cell is satisfied if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. i.e. step 1603, the UE may select reads on: selecting. Furthermore i.e. per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured and per ¶0351 i.e. select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells, where furthermore per ¶0347 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured and ¶0352 i.e. if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell i.e. a criterion can be i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period configured, i.e. cell quality threshold configured reads on: at least one criterion)
from among following criteria (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
a cell with a longest valid time (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: a cell with a longest valid time remaining),
,
,
ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see above; ¶0352 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time and where per ¶0352 i.e. CHO triggering condition for a cell is satisfied if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell reads on: ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion from a selected at least one criterion including i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period configured, i.e. cell quality threshold configured.
Furthermore per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells also reads on: ranking a plurality of candidate cells in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO. Furthermore i.e. per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured, and furthermore that per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may i.e. select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion i.e. included in the CHO triggering condition where in this case a selected criterion is i.e. absolute validity time period configured in the CHO);
and selecting (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
reselecting(note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) one of the plurality of candidate cells having a highest rank among the plurality of candidate cells (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select reads on: and selecting i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell reads on: one of , i.e. with longest remaining absolute validity time period i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: the plurality of candidate cells Per ¶0351 i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among reads on: having a highest rank, per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: among the plurality of candidate cells ).
Regarding Claim 2. (Previously Presented) Lee discloses: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LEE discloses: further comprising: based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0345 See Claim 1; ¶0348 See Claim 1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0350 See claim 1; ¶0351 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: further comprising: based on the configuration information), performing at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
determining the plurality of candidate cells for selection (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
reselection (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0345 See Claim 1; ¶0348 See Claim 1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0350 See claim 1; ¶0351 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: determining the plurality of candidate cells for selection);
and adjusting the ranking of the plurality of candidate cells (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see Claim 1; ¶0352 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO reads on: and adjusting the ranking of the plurality of candidate cells) .
Regarding Claim 5. (Original) Lee discloses: The method of claim 2,
furthermore LEE discloses: wherein the configuration information is broadcast as system information (note: limitations separated by or subsequent to recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by or subsequent to recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) provided via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling (LEE FIG. 13 & FIG. 16 & ¶0305 […] In the CHO procedure, the network can configure multiple candidate cells with CHO triggering condition to UE via RRC dedicated signalling; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to FIG. 16 acquiring CHO configuration, i.e. per ¶0305 i.e. the network can configure multiple candidate cells with CHO triggering condition to UE via RRC dedicated signalling reads on: wherein the configuration information is provided via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling).
Regarding Claim 19. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses: A non-transitory machine-readable media, having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to (LEE FIG. 5 & ¶0105 […] The memory 104 is operatively coupled with the processor 102 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 102. The memory 104 may include ROM, RAM, flash memory, memory card, storage medium and/or other storage device; FIG. 16 & ¶0343 […] a UE is provided with CHO configuration and if multiple NTN cells simultaneously satisfy the CHO triggering condition, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the UE of FIG. 16 & ¶0343, per FIG. 5 & ¶0105 i.e. The memory 104 may include ROM, RAM, flash memory, memory card reads on: A non-transitory machine-readable media , where i.e. The memory 104 is operatively coupled with the processor 102 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 102 reads on: having instructions stored on the machine-readable media, the instructions configured to, when executed, cause a machine to):
(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19) obtain configuration information; based on the configuration information, select at least one criterion from among following criteria: a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and a wireless communication device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), a cell with a longest valid time(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), a cell with a longest serving time (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a cell with a longest remaining serving time (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight); rank a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion; and select or(note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) reselect one of the plurality candidate cells having a highest rank among the plurality of candidate cells(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 19).
Regarding Claim 20. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses: A wireless communication device (LEE – FIG. 16 & ¶0343 See claim 1; Per ¶0343 i.e. a UE is provided reads on: A wireless communication device with CHO configuration and if multiple NTN cells simultaneously satisfy the CHO triggering condition, the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period),
comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to(LEE FIG. 5 & ¶0105 […] The memory 104 is operatively coupled with the processor 102 and stores a variety of information to operate the processor 102. The memory 104 may include ROM, RAM, flash memory, memory card, storage medium and/or other storage device; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: as applied to the UE of FIG. 16 & ¶0343, per FIG. 5 & ¶0105 i.e. The memory 104 may include ROM, RAM, flash memory, memory card , where i.e. The memory 104 is operatively coupled with the processor 102 and stores a variety of information reads on: comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions to operate the processor 102 reads on: and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to):
(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20) obtain configuration information; based on the configuration information, select at least one (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) criterion from among following criteria: a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: a cell with a longest valid time remaining), a cell with a longest serving time(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), or (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” and separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight); rank a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on [[the]] a selected at least one criterion; and select or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) reselect one of the plurality candidate cells having a highest rank among the plurality of candidate cells (See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
12. Claim 3, 6, 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of YOU et al. (US 20230125129 A1), i.e. “YOU”.
Regarding Claim 3. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses: The method of claim 2,
furthermore LEE discloses: wherein: the wireless communication device determines the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0344 See claim 1; ¶0345 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: wherein: the wireless communication device determines and per ¶0345 i.e. CHO configuration may include list of candidate cells to execute CHO reads on: the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information);
and the configuration information comprises
a range (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: and the configuration information comprises a range of a remaining absolute validity time period );
Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): configuration information comprises: a range to best cell for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (RangeTo BestCellNTN), wherein only cells having a ranking within RangeTo BestCellNTN are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells;
YOU teaches: wherein: the wireless communication device determines the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information (YOU - FIG. 4 & ¶0088 […] 401, a network device transmits first indication information to a terminal. Herein, the first indication information indicates type information of a first parameter and type information of a second parameter, […] configured for the terminal to perform cell selection; ¶0096 […] 402, the terminal determines the first parameter and the second parameter of each of a plurality of first candidate cells based on the first indication information; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0096 i.e. 402, the terminal determines the first parameter and the second parameter of each of a plurality of first candidate cells reads on: wherein: the wireless communication device determines the plurality of candidate cells, where per ¶0096 i.e. based on the first indication information reads on: based on the configuration information where per ¶0088 i.e. 401, a network device transmits first indication information i.e. first indication information indicates type information of a first parameter and type information of a second parameter i.e. configured for the terminal to perform cell selection )
and the configuration information comprises
a range to best cell for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (RangeTo BestCellNTN), wherein only cells having a ranking within RangeTo BestCellNTN are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells (YOU - FIG. 4 & ¶0100 […] in one possible implementation, the terminal may determine the first candidate cells based on an R criterion. Optionally, the terminal may calculate a Rn value of at least one neighbor cell based on the R criterion, and determine the corresponding cells with the Rn value within a rangeToBestCell (the best cell range) as the first candidate cells. Optionally, the terminal may calculate a Rn value of at least one neighbor cell and a Rs value of the current serving cell of the terminal based on the R criterion, and determine the corresponding cells with the Rn value greater than the Rs value as the first candidate cells; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0100 i.e. the terminal may determine the first candidate cells based on an R criterion. Optionally, the terminal may calculate a Rn value of at least one neighbor cell based on the R criterion, and determine the corresponding cells with the Rn value within a rangeToBestCell (the best cell range) reads on: and the configuration information comprises: a range to best cell for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (RangeTo BestCellNTN) . Furthermore, per ¶0100 i.e. the terminal may calculate a Rn value of at least one neighbor cell based on the R criterion, and determine the corresponding cells with the Rn value within a rangeToBestCell (the best cell range) as the first candidate cells reads on: wherein only cells having a ranking within RangeTo BestCellNTN are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells ) [[;]]
;
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with teachings of YOU, since YOU enables terminal to screen candidate cells according to the type information of various parameters, so that the terminal accesses the optimal cell, thus ensuring the reliability of cell selection by the terminal and avoiding the ping-pong effect (YOU - ¶0086).
Regarding Claim 6. (Currently Amended) LEE discloses: The method of claim 1,
furthermore LEE discloses: further comprising: calculating a value of the selected at least one criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see above; ¶0352 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: further comprising: calculating a value of the selected at least one criterion among the multiple cells);
Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): obtaining a value of the selected at least one criterion;
YOU teaches: further comprising: obtaining (YOU – FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0049[…] the first parameter may be any one or more of: channel quality of the cell, location information of the terminal, a type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell, a deployment scenario of the satellite covering the communication range of the cell, a type of the cell and a number of beams meeting a preset threshold in the cell ; ¶0088 See claim 3; ¶0096 See claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0088 i.e. 401, a network device transmits first indication information to a terminal. Herein, the first indication information indicates type information of a first parameter where per ¶0049 i.e. first parameter may be any one or more of: a type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell reads on: further comprising: obtaining at least one of ephemeris information. Furthermore per ¶0096 […] 402, the terminal determines the first parameter and the second parameter of each of a plurality of first candidate cells reads on: associated with a plurality of candidate satellites of a non-terrestrial network (NTN) );
and based the (YOU – FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0066 […] the type information of the first parameter instructs the terminal to determine the location information of the terminal. Herein, the location information of the terminal may be determined based on a distance between the terminal and a reference point (cell center). After obtaining the first indication information, for each of at least one first candidate cell, the terminal determines the weight corresponding to the first candidate cell based on the ‘distance from the reference point’ corresponding to the first candidate cell. It is assumed that there are four first candidate cells, which are represented as a cell 1, a cell 2, a cell 3 and a cell 4, respectively. The ‘distances from the reference points (cell centers)’ corresponding to the cell 1, the cell 2, the cell 3 and the cell 4 are D1, D2, D3 and D4, respectively. The terminal may also obtain the correspondences between the distances between the terminal and the reference points (cell centers) and the weights as shown in Table 2. […] and based on the ‘distances from the reference points (cell centers)’ corresponding to the cell 1, the cell 2, the cell 3 and the cell 4, the weights of these four first candidate cells are determined to be 0.5, 0.75, 0.75, and 0.25, respectively; ¶0067 […] the type information of the first parameter instructs the terminal to determine the type of the satellite covering the communication range of the cell. After obtaining the first indication information, for each of at least one first candidate cell, the terminal determines the weight corresponding to the first candidate cell based on the determined type of the satellite covering the first candidate cell[ […] The types of satellites corresponding to the cell 1, the cell 2, the cell 3 and the cell 4 are a GEO satellite, an LEO satellite. ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0067 i.e. the type information of the first parameter instructs the terminal to determine the type of the satellite covering the communication range of the cell reads on: and based the at least one of the ephemeris information, and furthermore per ¶0067 i.e. After obtaining the first indication information, for each of at least one first candidate cell, the terminal determines the weight corresponding to the first candidate cell which per ¶0066 i.e. the weights of these four first candidate cells are determined to be 0.5, 0.75, 0.75, and 0.25 reads on: calculating a value . Furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. the type information of the first parameter instructs the terminal to determine the location information of the terminal. Herein, the location information of the terminal may be determined based on a distance between the terminal and a reference point (cell center) i.e. distances from the reference points (cell centers)’ corresponding to the cell 1, the cell 2, the cell 3 and the cell 4 are D1, D2, D3 and D4 reads on: of the selected at least one criterion for which weights are determined from the i.e. the type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with teachings of YOU, since YOU enables terminal to screen candidate cells according to the type information of various parameters, so that the terminal accesses the optimal cell, thus ensuring the reliability of cell selection by the terminal and avoiding the ping-pong effect (YOU - ¶0086).
Regarding Claim 7. (Original) LEE in view of YOU teaches: The method of claim 6,
furthermore YOU teaches: wherein the ephemeris information comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight): orbital parameters associated with the plurality of candidate satellites (YOU – FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0049[…] the first parameter may be any one or more of: channel quality of the cell, location information of the terminal, a type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell, a deployment scenario of the satellite covering the communication range of the cell, a type of the cell and a number of beams meeting a preset threshold in the cell ; ¶0088 See claim 3; ¶0096 See claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0088 i.e. 401, a network device transmits first indication information to a terminal. Herein, the first indication information indicates type information of a first parameter where per ¶0049 i.e. first parameter may be any one or more of: a type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell reads on: wherein the ephemeris information comprises at least one of: and i.e. where per ¶0067 Type of Satellite are LEO, GEO orbital parameters associated with the plurality of candidate satellites ), adjustments to the orbital parameters(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), orbital state vectors associated with the plurality of candidate satellites(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), cell information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), beam information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), an association between the cell information and the orbital parameters and the orbital state vectors(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight), and an association between the cell information and the beam information(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee in view of YOU, further with the teachings of YOU, since YOU enables terminal to screen candidate cells according to the type information of various parameters, so that the terminal accesses the optimal cell, thus ensuring the reliability of cell selection by the terminal and avoiding the ping-pong effect (YOU - ¶0086).
13. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of DONG et al. (US 20230089127 A1), i.e. “DONG”.
Regarding Claim 4. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses: The method of claim 2,
furthermore Lee discloses: wherein: the wireless communication device adjusts the ranking of the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see Claim 1; ¶0352 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO reads on: wherein: the wireless communication device adjusts the ranking of the plurality of candidate cells, and per ¶0347 i.e. ¶0347 […] in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured and per ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: based on the configuration information );
and the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0353 See Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: and the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value, where longest remaining absolute validity time period determined from the difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and i.e. the predetermined absolute validity time period i.e. maximum absolute time threshold).
While Lee discloses a predetermined adjustment value as noted herein above, where per ¶0351 where longest remaining absolute validity time period per ¶0353 is determined from the difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and i.e. the predetermined absolute validity time period i.e. maximum absolute time threshold, assuming arguendo “predetermined” is implied, and that
Lee does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): a predetermined adjustment value and a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocellCenter are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value
DONG teaches: configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value (DONG FIG. 4 & ¶0056 […] step S31, the terminal determines R values of a plurality of cells including neighboring cells and a serving cell based on R-criteria for cell reselection; ¶0058 […] There are neighboring cells with the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell, that is, the determined neighboring cell R value is higher than the serving cell R value, and these neighboring cells satisfy S-criteria for cell reselection, the terminal needs to combine Dref and Dmeasure to determine whether to reselect to the neighboring cell. For example, the terminal selects a neighboring cell where Dref≥Dmeasure from neighboring cells with the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell ; ¶0062 […] when the cell reselection is performed based on Dref and Dmeasure of the serving cell, in response to Dref≥Dmeasure of the serving cell, it resides in the serving cell. In response to Dref<Dmeasure of the serving cell, the neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected as the reselected cell among the neighboring cells with the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0056 step S31, the terminal determines R values of a plurality of cells including neighboring cells and a serving cell based on R-criteria for cell reselection reads on: and the configuration information comprises , where per ¶0062 i.e. neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected as the reselected cell among the neighboring cells with i.e. the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell reads on: a predetermined adjustment value i.e. based upon predetermined R value based criteria i.e. the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell used to determine neighbor cell selection )
and a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center (ThreshDistanceTocellCenter) (DONG FIG. 4 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0058 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0062 i.e. when the cell reselection is performed based on Dref and i.e. Dref<Dmeasure of the serving cell i.e. cell reselection is performed based on Dref reads on: and a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center (ThreshDistanceTocellCenter) , the neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected as the reselected cell among the neighboring cells with the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell )
wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocellCenter are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value(DONG FIG. 4 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0058 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0062 when the cell reselection is performed based on Dref and Dmeasure of the serving cell, in response to Dref≥Dmeasure of the serving cell, it resides in the serving cell. In response to Dref<Dmeasure of the serving cell, the neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected reads on: wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocellCenter are decreased i.e. in order of largest R value. Furthermore per ¶0062 i.e. In response to Dref<Dmeasure of the serving cell, the neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected as the reselected cell among the neighboring cells with i.e. the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell reads on: by the predetermined adjustment value comprising the difference of predetermined R values i.e. the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with teachings of DONG, since DONG enables procedures including cell reselection, where the cell can provide good network services to the terminal, when an actual distance between the terminal and a center of the cell being less than the reference distance threshold (DONG - ¶0034).
14. Claim 8-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of YOU, further in view of ROY et al. (US 20230102334 A1), i.e. “ROY”.
Regarding Claim 8. (Original) LEE in view of YOU teaches: The method of claim 7,
furthermore YOU teaches: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in the wireless communication device (FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0063 […] the first indication information may be pre-configured, such as specified by a communication protocol ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0063 i.e. the first indication information may be pre-configured which includes i.e. ¶0049 i.e. first parameter i.e. a type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell reads on: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in the wireless communication device )
Lee in view of YOU does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): pre-configured in the wireless communication device via Non Access Stratum (NAS) signaling or pre-configured in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) contained in the wireless communication device.
ROY teaches: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in the wireless communication device via Non Access Stratum (NAS) signaling (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
pre-configured in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) contained in the wireless communication device (ROY - ¶0020 […] The assistance information can include satellite's long term ephemeris in the format of Position Velocity (PV) information or details of satellite's other orbital parameters. The ephemeris information can either be provisioned, e.g. pre-provisioned, to UE 110 using USIM, or be provided to UE 110 using System Information Broadcast, e.g., SIB-9 or a dedicated NTN-specific SIB.; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0020 i.e. The ephemeris information can either be provisioned, e.g. pre-provisioned, to UE 110 using USIM reads on: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) contained in the wireless communication device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee in view of YOU, with the teachings of ROY, since ROY enables providing satellite's assistance, e.g., next cell information, e.g., candidate cell ID, to the UE, and cell reselection in RRC Idle mode NTN can be improved (ROY- ¶0020 ).
Regarding Claim 9. (Currently Amended) Lee in view of YOU and ROY teaches: The method of claim 8,
furthermore ROY teaches: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information (ROY FIG. 3 & ¶0020 See claim 8; ¶0025 […] The LEO-NTN can provide the ephemeris information to the UE. Satellites transmit information about their location (current and predicted), timing and condition by using as ephemeris data. […] and information about the time and status of the entire satellite constellation, called the almanac. The ephemeris data can also be used to predict future satellite conditions (for a given place and time) providing a tool for planning when (or when not) to schedule GPS data collection; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0020 i.e. The ephemeris information can i.e. be provided to UE 110 using System Information Broadcast, e.g., SIB-9 or a dedicated NTN-specific SIB reads on: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information per ¶0020 i.e. provide the ephemeris information to the UE. Satellites transmit information about their location (current and predicted), timing and condition by using as ephemeris data where FIG. 3 shows coverage time and position or coverage time i.e. using System Information Broadcast, e.g., SIB-9 or a dedicated NTN-specific SIB reads on: is broadcast as system information signaling by the NTN ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee in view of YOU and ROY, further with the teachings of ROY, since ROY enables providing satellite's assistance, e.g., next cell information, e.g., candidate cell ID, to the UE, and cell reselection in RRC Idle mode NTN can be improved (ROY- ¶0020 ).
15. Claims 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG et. al (US 20230209413 A1) i.e. “JUNG” in view of LEE, further in view of DONG.
Regarding Claim 10. (Currently Amended) JUNG teaches: A method (JUNG – FIG. 7 & ¶) 0162 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. procedure reads on: A method)
performed by a wireless communication device operating in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (JUNG – FIG. 7 & ¶0163 […] performing a satellite cell reselection procedure by the terminal; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. performing […] procedure by the terminal reads on: performed by a wireless communication device FIG. 7 depicts NTN UE and NTN GNB or Satellite reads on: in a non-terrestrial network (NTN) ),
the method comprising: obtaining configuration information associated with a plurality of candidate cells of the NTN (JUNG FIG. 7 & ¶0172 […] operation 7-25, the terminal 7-01 may acquire/receive system information (for example, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, etc.) broadcasted by the NTN gNB or the satellite cell 7-02 to perform the cell reselection procedure. […] in addition to the information specified in the above-described embodiment, the NTN gNB or the satellite cell 7-02 may broadcast the following information through the existing system information or new system information. ¶0173 Ephemeris information of a serving (satellite) cell (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) ¶0174 Ephemeris information of neighbor (satellite) cells in a predetermined NR frequency (for example, SIB3, SIB4, or new SIB) ¶0175 The ephemeris information may include a (satellite) cell identifier (for example, PCI) which can identify a mapped (satellite) cell. ¶0176 A predetermined distance threshold value (D serving) between the terminal and a serving (satellite) cell, and an offset value (Qoffset.sub.location, serving) (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) ¶0177 For the Qoffset.sub.location, serving, if a distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite) cell has a value smaller than Dserving or a value equal to or smaller than Dserving, the terminal may apply the Qoffset.sub.location, serving when driving a serving cell ranking; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0172 i.e. operation 7-25, the terminal 7-01 may acquire/receive system information (for example, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5, etc.) broadcasted by reads on: the method comprising: obtaining from the NTN gNB or the satellite cell 7-02. Where per ¶0172 i.e. acquire/receive system information (for example, SIB3, SIB4, SIB5; per ¶0173 Ephemeris information of a serving (satellite) cell (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) Per ¶0174 Ephemeris information of neighbor (satellite) cells in a predetermined NR frequency (for example, SIB3, SIB4, or new SIB); […] ¶0176 A predetermined distance threshold value (D serving) between the terminal and a serving (satellite) cell, and an offset value (Qoffset.sub.location, serving) (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) reads on: configuration information. per ¶0173 Ephemeris information of a serving (satellite) cell (for example, SIB2 or new SIB) Per ¶0174 Ephemeris information of neighbor (satellite) cells in a predetermined NR frequency (for example, SIB3, SIB4, or new SIB) reads on: associated with a plurality of candidate cells of the NTN ),
each of the plurality of candidate cells associated with a respective one of a plurality of candidate satellites (JUNG FIG. 7 & ¶0172 See above, ¶0173 See above, ¶0175 See above, ¶0176 See above, ¶0177 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0173 Ephemeris information of a serving (satellite) cell & Per ¶0174 Ephemeris information of neighbor (satellite) cells reads on: each of the plurality of candidate cells i.e. serving (satellite) cell, neighbor (satellite) cells reads on: associated with a respective one of a plurality of candidate satellites );
and based on the configuration information (JUNG FIG. 7 & ¶0141 […] The serving cell rank and the neighbor cell rank may be obtained according to Equation 2 […] ; ¶0192 […] When the terminal according to an embodiment of the disclosure needs to derive a cell ranking […]; ¶0194 […] Alternatively, if the distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite) cell has a value greater than a distance threshold value (for example, Dserving) or has a value equal to or greater than a distance threshold value, Qoffset.sub.location, […] in this case, R.sub.s may be derived according to the equation for R.sub.s in Equation 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0194 i.e. If the distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite) cell has a value smaller than a distance threshold value (for example, Dserving) for equation 3 or if the distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite) cell has a value greater than a distance threshold value (for example, Dserving) or has a value equal to or greater than a distance threshold value) for equation 2 i.e. ranking, based on utilizing Deserving reads on: based on the configuration information performing per ¶0192 i.e. derive a cell ranking or per ¶0141 & ¶0194 i.e. serving cell rank and the neighbor cell rank may be obtained according to Equation 2),
ranking of the plurality of candidate cells for cell selection or reselection (JUNG FIG. 7 & ¶0197 See claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0197 i.e. operation 7-35, the terminal 7-01 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may perform […] perform reselection by selecting the highest ranked cell from among cells reads on: ranking of the plurality of candidate cells for cell selection or reselection satisfying the distance condition using the ranking processes).
JUNG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (Note: please see italicized portions): adjusting a ranking of the plurality of candidate cells;
LEE teaches: obtaining configuration information associated with a plurality of candidate cells of the NTN (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0342 See claim 1; ¶0344 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: the method comprising: obtaining . where per ¶0344, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration by reads on: configuration information, and per ¶0345 […] CHO configuration may include list of candidate cells to execute CHO reads on: associated with a plurality of candidate cells, where CHO configuration is in association with per ¶0342 i.e. a method for selection of NTN cells to perform CHO among multiple cells reads on: of the NTN );
and based on the configuration information, adjusting a ranking of the plurality of candidate cells for cell selection (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 see Claim 1; ¶0352 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0347 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, cell quality threshold may be configured and per ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: based on the configuration information and i.e. Per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO reads on: adjusting a ranking of the plurality of candidate cells, where per ¶0351 i.e. the UE may select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: for cell selection ) or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
reselection(note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight),
wherein the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim1; ¶0349 See claim 1; ¶0353 See Claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: and the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value, where longest remaining absolute validity time period determined from the difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and i.e. the predetermined absolute validity time period i.e. maximum absolute time threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG with teachings of LEE, since LEE enables procedures that a wireless device may perform conditional handover to the NTN cell efficiently (LEE - ¶0014).
While JUNG in view of LEE teaches: A method performed by a wireless communication device operating in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the method comprising: obtaining configuration information associated with a plurality of candidate cells of the NTN, each of the plurality of candidate cells associated with a respective one of a plurality of candidate satellites; and based on the configuration information, adjusting a ranking of the plurality of candidate cells for cell selection or reselection, wherein the configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value,
And while furthermore Lee teaches: a predetermined adjustment value as noted herein above, where per ¶0351 where longest remaining absolute validity time period per ¶0353 is determined from the difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and i.e. the predetermined absolute validity time period i.e. maximum absolute time threshold, assuming arguendo “predetermined” is implied, and that,
JUNG in view of LEE does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): a predetermined adjustment value and a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocellCenter are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value
DONG teaches: configuration information comprises a predetermined adjustment value (DONG FIG. 4 & ¶0056 (See Rejection of Claim 4); ¶0058 (See Rejection of Claim 4); ¶0062 (See Rejection of Claim 4); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0056 step S31, the terminal determines R values of a plurality of cells including neighboring cells and a serving cell based on R-criteria for cell reselection reads on: and the configuration information comprises , where per ¶0062 i.e. neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected as the reselected cell among the neighboring cells with i.e. the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell reads on: a predetermined adjustment value i.e. based upon predetermined R value based criteria i.e. the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell used to determine neighbor cell selection )
and a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center (ThreshDistanceTocellCenter) (DONG FIG. 4 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0058 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0062 i.e. when the cell reselection is performed based on Dref and i.e. Dref<Dmeasure of the serving cell i.e. cell reselection is performed based on Dref reads on: and a threshold of maximum distance to a cell center (ThreshDistanceTocellCenter) , the neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected as the reselected cell among the neighboring cells with the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell )
wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocellCenter are decreased by the predetermined adjustment value (DONG FIG. 4 & ¶0056 See above; ¶0058 see above; ¶0062 See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0062 when the cell reselection is performed based on Dref and Dmeasure of the serving cell, in response to Dref≥Dmeasure of the serving cell, it resides in the serving cell. In response to Dref<Dmeasure of the serving cell, the neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected reads on: wherein rankings of cells whose cell centers having a distance to the wireless communication device greater than ThreshDistanceTocellCenter are decreased i.e. in order of largest R value. Furthermore per ¶0062 i.e. In response to Dref<Dmeasure of the serving cell, the neighboring cell with the largest R value is selected as the reselected cell among the neighboring cells with i.e. the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell reads on: by the predetermined adjustment value comprising the difference of predetermined R values i.e. the R values higher than the R value of the serving cell );
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG in view of LEE with teachings of DONG, since DONG enables procedures including cell reselection, where the cell can provide good network services to the terminal, when an actual distance between the terminal and a center of the cell being less than the reference distance threshold (DONG - ¶0034).
Regarding Claim 13. (Original) JUNG in view of Lee and DONG teaches: The method of claim 10,
(See Rejection of Claim 5, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 13)
furthermore LEE teaches: wherein the configuration information is broadcast as system information(note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) a Radio Resource Control (RRC) signal by the NTN (See Rejection of Claim 5, Claim 13 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 5, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 5 applies similarly to Claim 13).
16. Claim 11, 14, 15, 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG in view of Lee and DONG, further in view of YOU.
Regarding Claim 11. (Previously Presented) JUNG in view of Lee and DONG teaches: The method of claim 10,
(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 11)
furthermore LEE discloses: wherein: the wireless communication device determines the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information; and the configuration information comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) : a range(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 11);
JUNG in view of Lee and DONG does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): configuration information comprises: a range to best cell for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) (RangeTo BestCellNTN), wherein only cells having a ranking within RangeTo BestCellNTN are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells;
YOU teaches: wherein: the wireless communication device determines the plurality of candidate cells based on the configuration information; and the configuration information comprises at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight) : a range to best cell for the NTN (RangeToBestceIINTN) wherein only cells having a ranking within RangeToBestceIINTN are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 11);
a threshold of remaining valid time of a cell (ThreshRemainingVT) wherein only cells having a remaining valid time greater than ThreshRemainingVT) are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight); and a threshold of remaining serving time of a cell (ThreshservingT) wherein only cells having a remaining serving time greater than ThreshRemainingST) are selected as candidate cells in the plurality of candidate cells(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG in view of Lee and DONG with teachings of YOU, since YOU enables terminal to screen candidate cells according to the type information of various parameters, so that the terminal accesses the optimal cell, thus ensuring the reliability of cell selection by the terminal and avoiding the ping-pong effect (YOU - ¶0086)
(See Rejection of Claim 3, Claim 11 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 3, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 3 applies similarly to Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 14. (Currently Amended) JUNG in view of Lee and DONG teaches: The method of claim 10,
furthermore LEE discloses: further comprising: obtaining (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0344 See claim 1; ¶0348 See claim 1; ¶0349 see claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0344 a UE may acquire CHO configuration reads on: further comprising: obtaining. where per ¶0344, the UE may be provided with CHO configuration and per ¶0348 […] in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites);
based on the
(See Rejection of Claim 1, Claim 14 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 14)
determining at least one (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) criterion (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See Claim 1; ¶0353 see claim 2; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0353 i.e. remaining absolute validity time period is time difference between the measured time point of the cell quality and maximum absolute time threshold reads on: and based the information per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: determining at least one criterion) from among the following criteria(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight):
a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a cell with a shortest distance between a satellite and the wireless communication device(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a cell with a longest valid time(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a cell with a longest serving time(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
a cell with a longest remaining valid time(LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: a cell with a longest remaining valid time); and a cell with a longest remaining serving time(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one ” or separated by the recitation “and” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight);
ranking the plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on the at least one criterion and the configuration information (LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0348 See claim 1; ¶0351 See Claim 1; ¶0352 See Claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. per ¶0351 if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time and where per ¶0352 i.e. CHO triggering condition for a cell is satisfied if measured cell quality of the cell is higher than the configured cell quality threshold and the measured time point of the cell is within the absolute validity time period of the cell reads on: ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on the at least one criterion from a selected at least one criterion including i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period configured, i.e. cell quality threshold configured.
Furthermore per ¶0351 the UE may i.e. select the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among the multiple cells also reads on: ranking a plurality of candidate cells based at least in part on the at least one criterion in that i.e. UE further adjusts ranking and performs ranking of cells initially ranked by i.e. cell quality threshold configured in CHO. Furthermore i.e. per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured, and furthermore that per ¶0351 i.e. if multiple cells satisfy the CHO triggering condition at a same time, the UE may i.e. select the cell with i.e. longest remaining absolute validity time period reads on: based at least in part on a selected at least one criterion i.e. included in the CHO triggering condition where in this case a selected criterion is i.e. absolute validity time period configured in the CHO. Furthermore that per ¶0348 i.e. in the CHO triggering condition, absolute validity time period may be configured reads on: and the configuration information );
and selecting (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
reselecting (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) one of the plurality candidate cells having a highest rank among the plurality of candidate cells(LEE FIG. 16 & ¶0351 See Claim 1 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: i.e. Per ¶0351 i.e. step 1603, the UE may select reads on: and selecting i.e. step 1603, the UE may select the cell reads on: one of , i.e. with longest remaining absolute validity time period i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: the plurality of candidate cells Per ¶0351 i.e. the cell with longest remaining absolute validity time period among reads on: having a highest rank, per ¶0351 i.e. among the multiple cells satisfying the CHO triggering condition reads on: among the plurality of candidate cells ).
JUNG in view of Lee and DONG does not appear to explicitly disclose or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): obtaining associated with the plurality of candidate satellites based on the
YOU teaches: obtaining (YOU – FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0049 See claim 6 ; ¶0088 See claim 3; ¶0096 See claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0088 i.e. 401, a network device transmits first indication information to a terminal. Herein, the first indication information indicates type information of a first parameter where per ¶0049 i.e. first parameter may be any one or more of: a type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell reads on: obtaining ephemeris information. Furthermore per ¶0096 […] 402, the terminal determines the first parameter and the second parameter of each of a plurality of first candidate cells reads on: associated with the plurality of candidate satellites );
based on the
determining at least one (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) criterion: (YOU – FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0066 See claim 3; ¶0067 See claim 3 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0067 i.e. the type information of the first parameter instructs the terminal to determine the type of the satellite covering the communication range of the cell reads on: and based the at least one of the ephemeris information, and furthermore per ¶0067 i.e. After obtaining the first indication information, for each of at least one first candidate cell, the terminal determines the weight corresponding to the first candidate cell which per ¶0066 i.e. the type information of the first parameter instructs the terminal to determine the location information of the terminal. Herein, the location information of the terminal may be determined based on a distance between the terminal and a reference point (cell center) i.e. distances from the reference points (cell centers)’ corresponding to the cell 1, the cell 2, the cell 3 and the cell 4 are D1, D2, D3 and D4 reads on: determining at least one at least one criterion: for which weights are determined from the i.e. the type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell )
a cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device (YOU ¶0066 See Claim 3 ; Herein, D1 is between 500 m and 1000 m, D2 is between 100m and 500 m, D3 is between 100 m and 500 m, and D4 is above 1000 m i.e. D2 is between 100m and 500 m, D3 is between 100 m and 500 m reads on: cell with a shortest distance between a cell center and the wireless communication device);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG in view of Lee and DONG with teachings of YOU, since YOU enables terminal to screen candidate cells according to the type information of various parameters, so that the terminal accesses the optimal cell, thus ensuring the reliability of cell selection by the terminal and avoiding the ping-pong effect (YOU - ¶0086)
Regarding Claim 15. (Original) JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU teaches: The method of claim 14,
(See Rejection of Claim 7, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 15)
furthermore YOU teaches: wherein the ephemeris information comprises at least one of: orbital parameters associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, adjustments to the orbital parameters, orbital state vectors associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, cell information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, beam information associated with the plurality of candidate satellites, an association between the cell information and the orbital parameters and the orbital state vectors, and an association between the cell information and the beam information.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU, further with the teachings of YOU, since YOU enables terminal to screen candidate cells according to the type information of various parameters, so that the terminal accesses the optimal cell, thus ensuring the reliability of cell selection by the terminal and avoiding the ping-pong effect (YOU - ¶0086).
(See Rejection of Claim 7, Claim 15 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 15).
Regarding Claim 18. (Currently Amended) JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU teaches: The method of claim 14,
furthermore YOU teaches: wherein the at least one criterion is selected based on the configuration information, and the at least one criterion is determined based on at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the ephemeris information (YOU – FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0066 See claim 3; ¶0067 See claim 3 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0067 i.e. After obtaining the first indication information, for each of at least one first candidate cell, the terminal determines the weight corresponding to the first candidate cell which per ¶0066 i.e. the type information of the first parameter instructs the terminal to determine the location information of the terminal. Herein, the location information of the terminal may be determined based on a distance between the terminal and a reference point (cell center) i.e. distances from the reference points (cell centers)’ corresponding to the cell 1, the cell 2, the cell 3 and the cell 4 are D1, D2, D3 and D4 reads on: wherein the at least one criterion is selected for which weights are determined from the i.e. the type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell . Furthermore i.e. per ¶0088 i.e. 401, a network device transmits first indication information to a terminal. Herein, the first indication information indicates type information of a first parameter where per ¶0049 i.e. first parameter may be any one or more of: a type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell reads on: based on the configuration information. Furthermore per ¶0066 i.e. the type information of the first parameter instructs the terminal to determine the location information of the terminal the location information of the terminal may be determined based on a distance between the terminal and a reference point (cell center) i.e. the type information of the first parameter reads on: and the at least one criterion is determined based on at least one of the ephemeris information )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU, further with the teachings of YOU, since YOU enables terminal to screen candidate cells according to the type information of various parameters, so that the terminal accesses the optimal cell, thus ensuring the reliability of cell selection by the terminal and avoiding the ping-pong effect (YOU - ¶0086).
17. Claim 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU, further in view of ROY.
Regarding Claim 16. (Previously Presented) JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU teaches: The method of claim 15,
furthermore YOU teaches: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in a user equipment (UE) (YOU -FIG. 3 & FIG. 4 & ¶0063 See claim 8 ; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0063 i.e. the first indication information may be pre-configured which includes i.e. ¶0049 i.e. first parameter i.e. a type of a satellite covering a communication range of the cell reads on: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in a user equipment (UE))
JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. see italicized portions): pre-configured in the wireless communication device via Non Access Stratum (NAS) signaling or pre-configured in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) contained in the wireless communication device.
ROY teaches: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in a user equipment (UE) via Non Access Stratum (NAS) signaling (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or (note: limitations separated by recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
pre-configured in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) contained in the wireless communication device (ROY - ¶0020 See claim 8; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0020 i.e. The ephemeris information can either be provisioned, e.g. pre-provisioned, to UE 110 using USIM reads on: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information is pre-configured in a Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) contained in the wireless communication device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU, with the teachings of ROY, since ROY enables providing satellite's assistance, e.g., next cell information, e.g., candidate cell ID, to the UE, and cell reselection in RRC Idle mode NTN can be improved (ROY- ¶0020 ).
Regarding Claim 17. (Currently Amended) JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU and ROY teaches: The method of claim 16,
(See Rejection of Claim 9, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 17)
furthermore ROY teaches: wherein at least a portion of the ephemeris information
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of JUNG in view of Lee and DONG and YOU and ROY, further with the teachings of ROY, since ROY enables providing satellite's assistance, e.g., next cell information, e.g., candidate cell ID, to the UE, and cell reselection in RRC Idle mode NTN can be improved (ROY- ¶0020 ). (See Rejection of Claim 9, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 9, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 9 applies similarly to Claim 17).
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414