DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-16, 18, 21-24 and 26-27 are pending. Claims 4, 8, 13, 17, 19, 25 and 28-36 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/08/2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carroll et al. (US11489834B1) in view of Tseng et al. (US20130132809A1), Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US20220400137A1) in view of Tseng as discussed below.
Regarding the rejections of claim 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenfeld et al. (US20210097593A1) in view of Gosler (US9076150B1), Applicant argues on page 13 Rosenfeld in view of Gosler fail to disclose, at least, " ... identifying a streamer for livestreaming electronic content; identifying an organization seeking to collaborate with streamers for livestreaming on an organization's website; and matching the streamer and the organization for collaboration based on one or more selection criteria, wherein the selection criteria include engagement metrics of the streamer'' as recited by independent claim 21.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
First, the “streamer for livestreaming” in claim 21 is mapped to the real-time feeds in Rosenfeld (para [0004, 0028]); the “electronic content” in claim 21 is mapped to marketplace information about products and merchants in Rosenfeld (para [0028]).
Rosenfeld discloses "identifying a streamer [direct price feeds] for livestreaming [real-time] electronic content [marketplace information about products and merchants]” by showing in para [0004] comparative prices offered to a customer from direct price feeds arranged with online retailers; para [0028] shows an online marketplace exposes marketplace information about products and merchants in real-time to customers.
Next, Gosler discloses "matching the streamer and the organization for collaboration based on one or more selection criteria, wherein the selection criteria include engagement metrics of the streamer'' by showing in [col 7 lines 3-6] shows the user/buyer 200 wants to purchase a new car at a price of about $20,000 in his city. The RSS feed means 109 performs a matching of the criteria and would find a new car dealer 202 has a matching product and then the online hosting company 104 (e.g., matching the car dealer 202 that has a matching product and the online hosting company 104 for collaboration), sends an RSS feed to the user/buyer 102; Claim 1 in Gosler shows upon such an occurrence, a RSS feed is sent to the user/buyer.
Therefore, Rosenfeld and Gosler combined discloses the language of the claim.
As to any argument not specifically addressed, they are the same as those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US20220400137A1) in view of Tseng et al. (US20130132809A1).
Regarding claim 1, Duan discloses a device [viewer client] comprising (para [0050] shows the target widget may be an advertisement widget, an activity widget, and the like; para [0071] shows the target widget is a widget that has been sent to a designated client; para [0110] shows the live streaming server determines the target widget that needs to be displayed in the client):
a processor and memory (para [0030]);
a display (para [0030]);
at least one user input device (para [0141] shows an input/output (I/O) interface);
computer executable instructions stored in said memory, executable by said processor to display, via the display, a widget (para [0030] the target widget is a widget that has been sent to a designated client),
the widget comprising a streaming element for processing streaming data (para [0046] shows the live streaming server is used to realize forwarding of live messages between the host client and the viewer client and logic processing of widgets in the live streaming room; para [0050] shows the target widget may be triggered when the host or background administrator sends live benefits to the viewers watching the live streaming),
the widget being configured to be in electronic communication with a streaming application [streaming host] (para [0050] shows the target widget may be triggered when the host or background administrator sends live benefits to the viewers watching the live streaming; para [0110] shows the live streaming server determines the target widget that needs to be displayed in the client),
generating the streaming data, through an application programming interface [live streaming server] (para [0046] shows the live streaming server forwarding live messages between the host client and the viewer client),
wherein the widget is associated to the streaming application to provide live streaming by associating the widget to a user account (para [0005] shows determining the target widget according to the user identifier; para [0057] shows the user identifier may be a user account.)
Duan fails to teach:
to display, via the display, a webpage and a widget embedded into the webpage; and
the widget is associated to the streaming application by a unique stream key generated prior to embedment of the widget in the webpage, the unique stream key configured to provide live streaming by associating the widget to a user account.
However, Tseng discloses:
a widget embedded into the webpage (para [0032] shows widgets are embedded in webpage); and
the widget is associated to the application by a unique key generated prior to embedment of the widget in the webpage, the unique key configured to associate the widget to a user account (para [0011] shows widget interaction, which comprises an application server; para para [0015] shows widget personalization; Fig 2 and para [0028] show in step S18, the widget server obtains the user preference key; then the widget server performs compiling to generate a profile-aware widget (e.g., prior to embedment of the widget in the webpage); para [0030] shows the user preferences include account number; para [0032] shows widgets are embedded in webpages.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Duan regarding the widget that meets the user's preferences in order to ensure the live streaming experience of the new user with the teaching of Tseng in order to personalize the widget with the user preference key (Tseng; para [0015, 0028]).
Regarding claim 2, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 1 discloses the unique stream key is embedded into a streaming widget code block associated with the widget (Tseng; Fig 2 and para [0028] show in step S18, the widget server obtains the user preference key; para [0004] shows the fields where the user input data are programmed in the user preference block of the source code of the widget before the widget is compiled), and
the widget is identified by the application programming interface by using the unique stream key such that the application programming interface is configured to route the streaming data generated by the streaming application to the widget (Duan; para [0062] shows in order to ensure the live streaming experience of the new user, the widget that meets the user's preferences may be recommended as the target widget. para [0005] shows determining the target widget according to the user identifier; para [0057] shows the user identifier may be a user account. Tseng; para [0015] shows widget personalization; Fig 2 and para [0028] show in step S18, the widget server obtains the user preference key; para [0030] shows the user preferences include account number.)
Regarding claim 3, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 2 discloses the unique stream key is generated by one or more servers (Tseng; Fig 2 and para [0028] show in step S18, the widget server obtains the user preference key; then the widget server performs compiling to generate a profile-aware widget (e.g., prior to embedment of the widget in the webpage)), and
the unique stream key is embedded into the streaming widget code block associated with the widget by the one or more servers prior to embedment of the streaming widget code block into a source code of the webpage (Tseng; Fig 2 and para [0028] show in step S18, the widget server obtains the user preference key; para [0004] shows the fields where the user input data are programmed in the user preference block of the source code of the widget before the widget is compiled; para [0030] shows the user preferences include account number; para [0032] shows widgets are embedded in webpages.)
Regarding claim 7, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 1 discloses the streaming data comprises video data and/or audio data (Duan; [Abstract] shows a live streaming server; Tseng; para [0004] shows a widget may be directed to videos); and
the widget further comprises a chat element for processing chat data (Duan; para [0046] shows a widget display of live messages between the host client and the viewer client, between the viewer client and the host client, or between the viewer clients.)
Regarding claim 10, Duan discloses a method for providing streaming data, comprising ([Abstract] shows live streaming):
providing a streaming application [streaming host] for generating streaming data (para [0046] shows during the live streaming process, the host may provide live contents to the viewer client with the respective live streaming interface enabled based on the host client with the live streaming interface enabled);
providing an application programming interface for processing the streaming data generated by the streaming application (para [0046] shows during the live streaming process, the host may provide live contents to the viewer client with the respective live streaming interface enabled based on the host client with the live streaming interface enabled); and
providing, via a device display, a widget ([Abstract] shows determining a target widget required for display; para [0030] shows the target widget is a widget that has been sent to a designated client; para [0050] shows the target widget may be an advertisement widget, an activity widget, and the like; para [0110] shows the live streaming server determines the target widget that needs to be displayed in the client),
the widget comprising a streaming element for processing streaming data (para [0046] shows the live streaming server is used to realize forwarding of live messages between the host client and the viewer client and logic processing of widgets in the live streaming room; para [0050] shows the target widget may be triggered when the host or background administrator sends live benefits to the viewers watching the live streaming),
the widget being configured to be in electronic communication with the streaming application through the application programming interface (para [0046] shows during the live streaming process, the host may provide live contents to the viewer client with the respective live streaming interface enabled based on the host client with the live streaming interface enable; para [0050] shows the target widget may be triggered when the host or background administrator sends live benefits to the viewers watching the live streaming),
wherein the widget is associated to the streaming application to provide live streaming by associating the widget to a user account (para [0005] shows determining the target widget according to the user identifier; para [0057] shows the user identifier may be a user account.)
Duan fails to teach:
providing a webpage and a widget embedded into the webpage; and
the widget is associated to the streaming application by a unique stream key generated prior to embedment of the widget in the webpage, the unique stream key configured to provide live streaming by associating the widget to a user account.
However, Tseng discloses:
providing a webpage and a widget embedded into the webpage (para [0032] shows widgets are embedded in webpage); and
the widget is associated to the application by a unique key generated prior to embedment of the widget in the webpage, the unique key configured to associate the widget to a user account (para [0011] shows widget interaction, which comprises an application server; para [0015] shows widget personalization; Fig 2 and para [0028] show in step S18, the widget server obtains the user preference key; then the widget server performs compiling to generate a profile-aware widget (e.g., prior to embedment of the widget in the webpage); para [0030] shows the user preferences include account number; para [0032] shows widgets are embedded in webpages.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Duan regarding the widget that meets the user's preferences in order to ensure the live streaming experience of the new user with the teaching of Tseng in order to personalize the widget with the user preference key (Tseng; para [0015, 0028]).
Regarding claim 11, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 10 discloses the unique stream key is embedded into the widget and the widget is identified by the application programming interface by using the unique stream key such that the application programming interface is configured to route the streaming data generated by the streaming application to the widget (Duan; para [0062] shows the widget that meets the user's preferences may be recommended as the target widget. Tseng; Fig 2 and para [0028] show in step S18, the widget server obtains the user preference key; para [0030] shows the user preferences include account number.)
Regarding claim 12, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 10 discloses generating the unique stream key; and embedding the unique stream key into a streaming widget code block associated with the widget prior to embedment of the streaming widget code block into a source code of the webpage (Tseng; Fig 2 and para [0028] show in step S18, the widget server obtains the user preference key; then the widget server performs compiling to generate a profile-aware widget (e.g., prior to embedment of the widget in the webpage); para [0030] shows the user preferences include account number; para [0032] shows widgets are embedded in webpages; para [0004] shows the fields where the user input data are programmed in the user preference block of the source code of the widget before the widget is compiled).
Regarding claim 16, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 10 discloses the streaming data comprises video data and/or audio data (Duan; [Abstract] shows a live streaming server; Tseng; para [0004] shows a widget may be directed to videos). and
the widget further comprises a chat element for processing chat data (Duan; para [0046] shows a widget display of live messages between the host client and the viewer client, between the viewer client and the host client, or between the viewer clients.)
Claims 5-6, 9, 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carroll in view of Tseng, further in view of Black et al. (US20080098101A1).
Regarding claim 5, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 3 discloses the streaming data is real-time or near real-time streaming data and the real-time or near real-time streaming data are generated by the streaming application and processed by the application programming interface [live streaming server] (Duan; [Abstract] shows the live streaming server comprises a live broadcast interface).
Duan-Tseng fails to teach the application programming interface is configured to format the streaming data generated by the streaming application into a format suitable for display by the widget.
However, Black discloses the application programming interface is configured to format the streaming data generated by the streaming application into a format suitable for display by the widget (para [0085] shows a video transcoder 810 for generating bit-rate targeted data streams and a widget engine 850; para [0087] shows video transcoder 810 includes a transcoder that generates bit-rate targeted data streams in one or more formats including inter alia Microsoft Advanced Streaming Format (WMV), Macromedia Flash VP6 (FLY) and DivX Networks v5.x (AVI).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Duan-Tseng with the teaching of Black in order to generate bit-rate targeted data streams in one or more formats (Black; para [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Duan-Tseng-Black as applied to claim 5 discloses the application programming interface is configured to format the streaming data by changing a bitrate of the streaming data and/or transcoding from one protocol to another protocol prior to transmission of the formatted streaming data to the widget (Black; para [0085] shows a video transcoder 810 for generating bit-rate targeted data streams and a widget engine 850; para [0087] shows video transcoder 810 includes a transcoder that generates bit-rate targeted data streams in one or more formats including inter alia Microsoft Advanced Streaming Format (WMV), Macromedia Flash VP6 (FLY) and DivX Networks v5.x (AVI).)
Regarding claim 9, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 1 fails to teach the device is a mobile device, a point of sale device, a personal computer, a laptop, a tablet, an hand-held device, a wearable device and/or a gaming device.
However, Black discloses the device is a mobile device, a point of sale device, a personal computer, a laptop, a tablet, an hand-held device, a wearable device and/or a gaming device (para [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Duan-Tseng with the teaching of Black in order to view published media on a television 122, a mobile phone 124, a portable player 126, a home computer 128 and other such computing devices that run a web browser (Black; para [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 12 discloses generating the streaming data by the streaming application, the streaming data being real-time or near real-time streaming data (Duan; [Abstract] shows the live streaming server comprises a live broadcast interface).
Duan-Tseng fails to teach formatting, by the application programming interface, the streaming data into a format suitable for display by the widget embedded into the webpage.
However, Black discloses formatting, by the application programming interface, the streaming data into a format suitable for display by the widget (para [0085] shows a video transcoder 810 for generating bit-rate targeted data streams and a widget engine 850; para [0087] shows video transcoder 810 includes a transcoder that generates bit-rate targeted data streams in one or more formats including inter alia Microsoft Advanced Streaming Format (WMV), Macromedia Flash VP6 (FLY) and DivX Networks v5.x (AVI).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Duan-Tseng with the teaching of Black in order to generate bit-rate targeted data streams in one or more formats (Black; para [0087]).
Regarding claim 15, Duan-Tseng-Black as applied to claim 14 discloses: formatting, by the application programming interface, the streaming data by changing a bitrate of the streaming data and/or transcoding from one protocol to another protocol prior to transmission of the formatted streaming data to the widget (Black; para [0085] shows a video transcoder 810 for generating bit-rate targeted data streams and a widget engine 850; para [0087] shows video transcoder 810 includes a transcoder that generates bit-rate targeted data streams in one or more formats including inter alia Microsoft Advanced Streaming Format (WMV), Macromedia Flash VP6 (FLY) and DivX Networks v5.x (AVI).)
Regarding claim 18, Duan-Tseng as applied to claim 10 fails to teach the device is a mobile device, a point of sale device, a personal computer, a laptop, a tablet, an hand-held device, a wearable device and/or a gaming device.
However, Black discloses the device is a mobile device, a point of sale device, a personal computer, a laptop, a tablet, an hand-held device, a wearable device and/or a gaming device (para [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Duan-Tseng with the teaching of Black in order to view published media on a television 122, a mobile phone 124, a portable player 126, a home computer 128 and other such computing devices that run a web browser (Black; para [0031]).
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenfeld et al. (US20210097593A1) in view of Gosler (US9076150B1).
Regarding claim 21, Rosenfeld discloses a system for connecting streamers [feeds] to organizations [online retailers] for the purpose of being streamed on the organization's website, comprising a computer processor; and a computer-readable storage device comprising computer code stored thereon which, when executed by the computer processor, causes the computer processor to perform operations comprising (para [0004] shows comparative prices offered to a customer from direct price feeds arranged with online retailers; para [0028] shows an online marketplace exposes marketplace information about products and merchants in real-time to customers):
identifying a streamer for livestreaming electronic content; identifying an organization seeking to collaborate with streamers for livestreaming on an organization's website (para [0053] shows a customer to search “live menus” of inventories of products of multiple independently operated product portals and merchants (or other sources); para [0086] shows merchants provide to the platform feeds of information about available products).
Rosenfeld fails to teach:
matching the streamer and the organization for collaboration based on one or more selection criteria, wherein the selection criteria include engagement metrics of the streamer.
However, Gosler discloses matching the streamer and the organization for collaboration based on one or more selection criteria [price of about $20,000], wherein the selection criteria include engagement metrics [matching criteria] of the streamer ([col 7 lines 3-6] shows the user/buyer 200 wants to purchase a new car at a price of about $20,000 in his city. The RSS feed means 109 performs a matching of the criteria and would find a new car dealer 202 has a matching product and then the online hosting company 104 seytrewads an RSS feed to the user/buyer 102; Claim 1 shows upon such an occurrence, a RSS feed is sent to the user/buyer.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Rosenfeld with the teaching of Gosler in order to find a matching product based on the user/buyer’s criteria (Gosler; [col 7 lines 3-6]).
Regarding claim 22, Rosenfeld-Gosler as applied to claim 21 discloses the operations further comprise providing a streaming application to the streamer for generating streaming data (Rosenfeld; para [0055] shows many merchants and product portals operate applications that maintain and update one or more types of marketplace information continuously and in real time.)
Regarding claim 23, Rosenfeld-Gosler as applied to claim 22 discloses the operations further comprise providing an application programming interface for processing the streaming data generated by the streaming application (Rosenfeld; para [0072] shows a platform can provide a feed of continuous, real-time data; para [0099] shows an API can poll the point-of-sale (POS) systems for current product information and merchant information).
Regarding claim 24, Rosenfeld-Gosler as applied to claim 23 discloses the operations further comprise providing a widget to the organization for embedment into the organization's website, the widget comprising a streaming element for processing streaming data, the widget being configured to be in electronic communication with a streaming application, generating the streaming data, through an application programming interface (Rosenfeld; para [0016] shows a widget is sent to be embedded in a site. The widget includes user interface elements enabling a user to navigate, sort, filter, and view available units of the given product at the two or more competitor merchants, and corresponding prices.)
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosenfeld in view Gosler, further in view of Carroll.
Regarding claim 26, Rosenfeld-Gosler as applied to claim 24 fails to teach the widget is associate to the steaming application by a unique stream key embedded into the widget and the widget is identified by the application programming interface by using the unique stream key such that the application programming interface is configured to route the streaming data generated by the streaming application to the widget.
However, Carroll discloses the widget is associate to the steaming application by a unique stream key embedded into the widget and the widget is identified by the application programming interface by using the unique stream key such that the application programming interface is configured to route the streaming data generated by the streaming application to the widget ([col 8 lines 1-10] shows code running in the browser (as a browser widget) activates a unique identifying access key ID to stream a piece of content to share via a network; [col 9 lines 22-25] shows each unique identifying access key ID serves as a possible link through which the widget connects to a platform outside of the App).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Rosenfeld-Gosler with the teaching of Carroll in order to invoke the sharing mechanism and specifies the entity or entities they'd like to share with (e.g., by typing the unique identifying access key ID (e.g., & handle) assigned to the entity/entities of interest (Carroll; [col 8 lines 9-12]).
Regarding claim 27, Rosenfeld-Gosler as applied to claim 21 fails to teach generating a unique stream key and embedding the unique stream key into a streaming widget code block associated with the widget prior to embedment of the streaming widget code block into a source code of the organization's website.
However, Carroll discloses generating a unique stream key and embedding the unique stream key into a streaming widget code block associated with the widget prior to embedment of the streaming widget code block into a source code of the organization's website ([col 8 lines 1-10] shows code running in the browser (as a browser widget) activates a unique identifying access key ID to stream a piece of content to share via a network; [col 9 lines 22-25] shows each unique identifying access key ID serves as a possible link through which the widget connects to a platform outside of the App).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Rosenfeld-Gosler with the teaching of Carroll in order to invoke the sharing mechanism and specifies the entity or entities they'd like to share with (e.g., by typing the unique identifying access key ID (e.g., & handle) assigned to the entity/entities of interest (Carroll; [col 8 lines 9-12]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAN DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445