DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/14/2023 and 04/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of a protrusion and a corresponding groove of the stack pieces must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification filed on 08/16/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumgartner et al. (US 2015/0079444 A1; hereinafter “Baumgartner”).
Regarding claim 1, Baumgartner discloses a battery cooling fin (heat dissipation element 14a) contacting side surfaces of cylindrical battery cells (as shown in Fig 3) to increase thermal conductivity (as indicated by the term “heat dissipation element”), the battery cooling fin comprising:
a body portion extending in a first direction in which the cylindrical battery cells are arranged (as shown in annotated Fig 5 below);
two side portions formed on both sides of the body portion (as shown in annotated Fig 5 below);
support portions contacting an inner wall surface of a battery housing (heat radiation elements 18a form inner wall surfaces of the housing, as shown in Fig 3) and formed at both ends of the side portions (as shown in annotated Fig 5 below),
wherein at least one of the two side portions includes contact grooves formed in a shape corresponding to the side surfaces of the cylindrical battery cells (as shown in annotated Fig 5 below).
Regarding claim 4, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner further discloses that the contact grooves are formed to be spaced apart from each other at a predetermined distance along the first direction in which the side portions extend (as shown in Fig 5).
Regarding claim 5, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner further discloses that the contact grooves are formed on both of the side portions (as shown in Fig 5).
Regarding claim 7, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner further discloses that hollows (channels 84b) are formed in the center of the body portion (as shown in Fig 7).
Regarding claim 11, Baumgartner discloses a battery cooling system (rechargeable battery 10) comprising:
two end cooling fins (housing arrangements 66) disposed at both ends of a battery cell array including cylindrical battery cells (as shown in Fig 5), each of the two end cooling fins including two side portions and support portions formed at both ends of the two side portions (as shown in annotated Fig 5 above, but for the corresponding “66” structures), the support portions contacting an inner wall surface of a battery housing (heat radiation elements 18a form inner wall surfaces of the housing, as shown in Fig 3), wherein contact grooves are formed on only one of the two side portions (as shown in annotated Fig 5 above, but for the corresponding “66” structures); and
plates (heat radiation elements 18a) contacting the support portions formed at both ends of each end cooling fin (as shown in Fig 3).
Regarding claim 12, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner further discloses at least one central cooling fin (heat dissipation element 14a) disposed inside the battery cell array with contact grooves formed on both of two side portions of the at least one central cooling fin (as shown in annotated Fig 5 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner et al. (US 2015/0079444 A1; hereinafter “Baumgartner”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Siegler et al. (US 2019/0363410 A1; hereinafter “Siegler”).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner discloses that the side surfaces of the cylindrical battery cells and one of the side portions are coupled (as shown in Fig 3), but does not explicitly disclose how the battery cells are coupled, and therefore does not explicitly disclose a coupling part that includes a thermally conductive interface material.
Siegler teaches an externally cooled battery housing (Title/Abstract). Siegler teaches that thermal coupling may be achieved via e.g. press-fit connectors, thermal adhesives, or other coupling mechanisms ([0032]).
Baumgartner and Siegler are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to routinely utilize a thermal adhesive to couple the side surfaces of the cylindrical battery cells and the side portions of the cooling fins of Baumgartner, as suggested by Siegler, as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known component for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner et al. (US 2015/0079444 A1; hereinafter “Baumgartner”), as applied to claims 1 or 4 above.
Regarding claim 6, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner further discloses that the contact grooves are formed on one of the side portions (as shown in annotated Fig 5 above, but corresponding to housing arrangement 66), and discloses that the other of the side portions does not have contact grooves formed (as shown in annotated Fig 5 above), but does not reasonably disclose that the other of the side portions is formed to be flat.
Baumgartner is analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to routinely design the “other of the side portions” of the outer cooling fins of Baumgartner to be flat and conform with the inner surfaces of the housing (as shown in Fig 3), as doing so is simple matter of routine engineering, absent any persuasive evidence of such structure being significant (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Regarding claim 8, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner further discloses that one of the side portions is a plate, on which the contact grooves are formed (as shown in annotated Fig 5 above), but does not appear to be concerned with the particular dimensions of the battery system, and therefore dose not disclose a uniform thickness of 2 mm or more.
Baumgartner is analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to routinely design the cooling fins of Baumgartner to have a thickness of 2 mm or more, as doing so is simple matter of routine engineering, absent any persuasive evidence of such dimensions being significant (see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 9, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner discloses the one of the side portions has a height corresponding with a height of the each of the cylindrical battery cells (as shown in Fig 5), but does not explicitly disclose a height that is 75% or more and less than 100% of the battery cells.
Baumgartner is analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the disclosed corresponding heights are so close to “less than 100%” that the skilled artisan would expect the disclosed system to have the same properties as the Instant Invention, absent any demonstration of criticality to the claimed range (see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumgartner et al. (US 2015/0079444 A1; hereinafter “Baumgartner”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Murakami et al. (US 2017/0301964 A1; hereinafter “Murakami”).
Regarding claim 10, Baumgartner discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Baumgartner does not disclose that one of the side portions includes tow or more stack pieces stacked in a height direction, and each of the stack pieces has a protrusion or a groove formed at an upper or lower end thereof such that the protrusion and the groove are fitted to each other.
Murakami teaches a battery pack and heat dissipating holder (Title/Abstract). Murakami teaches that the heat dissipating holder (22/23) is a stacked body made of thermally conductive plates (31) and thermally conductive insulating rubber (24) ([0079]). Murakami further teaches that each of the layers are connected via protrusions (33) and corresponding grooves (37) (as shown in Fig 7). Murakami teaches that such a layered structure may prevent short circuits between the battery cells and the exterior ([0082]).
Baumgartner and Murakami are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery cooling.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the stacked structure of Murakami as the cooling fin system of Baumgartner with the reasonable expectation that doing so would prevent short circuits between the battery cells and the exterior, as suggested by Murakami.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The present invention is related to, inter alia, a battery cooling system wherein fastening portions are formed on each of both side of at least one central cooling fin.
Baumgartner et al. (US 2015/0079444 A1; hereinafter “Baumgartner”) is considered to be the closest relevant prior art to dependent claim 13. Baumgartner discloses most of the claim limitations as set forth above. Specifically, Baumgartner discloses a fastening portion formed between the contact grooves (84b, as shown in Fig 7), and that the central cooling fin is coupled to another central cooling fin (as shown in Fig 3).
However, Baumgartner does not disclose, teach, fairly suggest, nor render obvious the recited fastening portions being formed on each of both sides of the central cooling fins. To the contrary, Baumgartner explicitly discloses that the fastening portions are formed in the center of the “body portion” and explicitly discloses spacing between the cooling fins so as to accommodate the cylindrical battery cells (as shown in Fig 3). Accordingly, there does not appear to be any reasonable basis for the skilled artisan to abandon the structure of Baumgartner and be directed towards fastening portions on the sides of the cooling fins because the structure is already securely coupled and sized appropriately for cylindrical battery cells.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hasegawa (US 2016/0359210 A1) discloses a cell black and cell module.
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 12/14/2025