DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), set forth in the Office Action mailed 04/08/26, is hereby withdrawn due to amendments made by the Applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadota et al. (WO 2020/204045); “Kadota”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 1, Kadota teaches a surface acoustic wave device (figure 2) comprising:
a piezoelectric substrate (11); and
an interdigital transducer electrode (12) embedded in a surface of the piezoelectric substrate (11) to support a high-order mode of a surface acoustic wave (Abstract: “higher-order mode surface acoustic waves”) having a wavelength λ (inherent property of acoustic waves) and a phase velocity greater than 8,000 m/s (Figure 16A and associated description. “As shown in FIG 16A, the phase velocity was about 10,000 to 11,500 m/s”. Also, see phase velocities in figure 18.), the high-order mode including a third-order mode (Description of figure 2: “… the high-order mode ( … tertiary mode)”. Also, see phase velocities in figure 18.) in a frequency range between 3.6 GHz and 4.9 GHz (Abstract and description of figure 2: “high-order mode surface acoustic wave device … in a high frequency band of 3.8 GHz or higher”).
As for claim 3, Kadota teaches wherein the phase velocity is at least 9,000 m/s (Figure 16A and associated description. “As shown in FIG 16A, the phase velocity was about 10,000 to 11,500 m/s”. Also, see phase velocities in figure 18.).
Regarding claim 4, Kadota teaches wherein the interdigital transducer electrode includes an upper surface that is approximately coplanar with the surface of the piezoelectric substrate (Figure 2a, 2d, 2f).
As for claim 5, Kadota teaches wherein the piezoelectric substrate includes LiNbO3 (Description of figure 2: “The piezoelectric substrate 11 is composed of … LiNbO3”) crystal having Euler angles (φ, θ, ψ) (Description of figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Kadota teaches wherein the angle θ is in a range 100 degrees<θ<150 degrees (See figures 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 19, 20).
Regarding claim 7, Kadota teaches wherein the interdigital transducer electrode is formed from aluminum, molybdenum, copper, tungsten or platinum (Description of figure 10 teaches the electrode 12 being formed from Al, Mo, Cu, W, Pt, Ti, Mg alloy, Ta, Hf).
As for claim 8, Kadota teaches wherein the interdigital transducer electrode is formed from copper (Description of figure 9: “The blind electrode 12 is composed of a Cu electrode”).
Regarding claim 9, Kadota teaches wherein the copper interdigital transducer electrode has a thickness in a range of 0.16λ to 0.24λ (See description of figures 9 and 13a).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Kadota teaches a silicon dioxide (SiO2) layer (13) implemented over the piezoelectric substrate (11) and the interdigital transducer electrode (12), the layer (13) configured to provide improved temperature coefficient of frequency property of the surface acoustic wave device (10).
As for claim 12, Kadota teaches wherein the layer (13) has a first surface that is coplanar with the upper surface of the interdigital transducer electrode and the surface of the piezoelectric substrate (“Further, in addition to the configuration of FIG. 2D, the thin film 13 may be formed on the surface of the piezoelectric substrate 11 as shown in FIG. 2B.”).
As for claim 13, Kadota teaches wherein the layer (13) has a second surface parallel to the first surface to define a thickness of the layer (See thickness in figure 2).
Regarding claim 14, Kadota teaches wherein the interdigital transducer electrode (12) is formed from copper and has a thickness in a range of 0.24λ to 0.5λ (See description of figure 9: “The blind electrode 12 is composed of a Cu electrode having a thickness of 0.24λ.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 22-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadota in view of Hiramatsu et al. (US 2021/0126616; “Hiramatsu”; reference of record).
Regarding claim 15, Kadota teaches a surface acoustic wave device (figure 2) comprising:
a piezoelectric substrate (11); and
an interdigital transducer electrode (12) embedded in a surface of the piezoelectric substrate (11) to support a high-order mode of a surface acoustic wave (Abstract: “higher-order mode surface acoustic waves”) having a wavelength λ (inherent property of acoustic waves) and a phase velocity greater than 8,000 m/s (Figure 16A and associated description. “As shown in FIG 16A, the phase velocity was about 10,000 to 11,500 m/s”. Also, see phase velocities in figure 18.), the high-order mode including a third-order mode (Description of figure 2: “… the high-order mode ( … tertiary mode)”. Also, see phase velocities in figure 18.) in a frequency range between 3.6 GHz and 4.9 GHz (Abstract and description of figure 2: “high-order mode surface acoustic wave device … in a high frequency band of 3.8 GHz or higher”).
.
Kadota fails to teach the surface acoustic wave device being part of a radio-frequency filter comprising: an input node for receiving a signal and an output node for providing a filtered signal.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a SAW device as a radio-frequency filter comprising an input node and an output node. For example, see figures 10-13 and para. [0102]-[0110] of Hiramatsu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the SAW device of Kadota as part of a radio-frequency filter comprising an input node and an output node because such a modification would have been implementing a well-known application of a SAW device.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Kadota teaches a silicon dioxide (SiO2) layer (13) implemented over the piezoelectric substrate (11) and the interdigital transducer electrode (12), the layer (13) configured to provide improved temperature coefficient of frequency property of the surface acoustic wave device (10).
As for claim 24, Kadota teaches wherein the layer (13) has a first surface that is coplanar with the upper surface of the interdigital transducer electrode and the surface of the piezoelectric substrate (“Further, in addition to the configuration of FIG. 2D, the thin film 13 may be formed on the surface of the piezoelectric substrate 11 as shown in FIG. 2B.”).
Regarding claim 26, Kadota teaches a surface acoustic wave device (figure 2) comprising:
a piezoelectric substrate (11); and
an interdigital transducer electrode (12) embedded in a surface of the piezoelectric substrate (11) to support a high-order mode of a surface acoustic wave (Abstract: “higher-order mode surface acoustic waves”) having a wavelength λ (inherent property of acoustic waves) and a phase velocity greater than 8,000 m/s (Figure 16A and associated description. “As shown in FIG 16A, the phase velocity was about 10,000 to 11,500 m/s”. Also, see phase velocities in figure 18.), the high-order mode including a third-order mode (Description of figure 2: “… the high-order mode ( … tertiary mode)”. Also, see phase velocities in figure 18.) in a frequency range between 3.6 GHz and 4.9 GHz (Abstract and description of figure 2: “high-order mode surface acoustic wave device … in a high frequency band of 3.8 GHz or higher”).
Kadota fails to teach the surface acoustic wave device being part of a radio-frequency module comprising: a packaging substrate configured to receive a plurality of components; a radio-frequency circuit implemented on the packaging substrate and configured to support either or both of transmission and reception of signals; and a radio-frequency filter configured to provide filtering for at least some of the signals.
However, it is well-known to those of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a SAW device as part of a radio-frequency module comprising: a packaging substrate configured to receive a plurality of components; a radio-frequency circuit implemented on the packaging substrate and configured to support either or both of transmission and reception of signals; and a radio-frequency filter configured to provide filtering for at least some of the signals. For example, see figures 10-13 and para. [0102]-[0110] of Hiramatsu.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the SAW device of Kadota as part of a radio-frequency module comprising: a packaging substrate configured to receive a plurality of components; a radio-frequency circuit implemented on the packaging substrate and configured to support either or both of transmission and reception of signals; and a radio-frequency filter configured to provide filtering for at least some of the signals because such a modification would have been implementing a well-known application of a SAW device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s comments directed to the rejection of claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadota and the rejection of claims 15, 16, 22-24, and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadota in view of Hiramatsu, Applicant argues Kadota and Hiramatsu fail to teach the added limitation “the high-order mode including a third-order mode in a frequency range between 3.6 GHz and 4.9 GHz”.
As discussed above in the rejections of claims 1, 15, and 26, Kadota teaches the high-order mode including a third-order mode (Description of figure 2: “… the high-order mode ( … tertiary mode)”. Also, see phase velocities in figure 18.) in a frequency range between 3.6 GHz and 4.9 GHz (Abstract and description of figure 2: “high-order mode surface acoustic wave device … in a high frequency band of 3.8 GHz or higher”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEVI GANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 July 21, 2026