DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Please note that a certified translation has not been provided.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 recites in line 1, “chamber”. This appears to be a spelling error.
Claim 2 recites “plurality” several times. This appears to be a spelling error.
The applicant is encouraged to check the claims and specification for grammatical errors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the phase change material" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-16 depend therefrom.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the phase change materials" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the preceding claims there is only one phase change material recited. Claims 5-16 depend therefrom.
Claim 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites that the cooling plates have a plurality of chambers and then in line 3 recites that the phase change material fills the chamber. It is not clear which chamber is filled?
Claims 3-16 depend therefrom.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 and 8 of copending Application No. 18383168 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each recites a battery module having a plurality of cells, cooling plate/fin with a phase change material, a cooling channel, and insulation/gap filler.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darbandi et al. (US 2023/0147569) in view of Lindstrom (US 2020/0358057).
Regarding claim 1, Darbandi teaches a battery module #5 having a plurality of cells #10 (see fig. 1, [0052]) and a plurality of cooling plates #20 located between adjacent cells [0056] and a cooling channel [0007, 0044, 0059]. Please note the claim language only requires that the material be coupled to, not directly attached. Darbandi also teaches the use of heat transfer material #21 or 22 [0056].
Darbandi discloses that the cooling plates are connected to lateral connection elements #50/51 that supply cooling fluid through channels formed in the cooling plated, but does not go into specifics as to the composition of the fluid [0059]; however, it is known in the battery art that phase change materials are utilized.
However, Lindstrom also teaches a battery module that contains cooling plates in which the plates #508 comprise conduits within the cooling plate that contain phase change material [0058, 0099, see claim 31] which helps to facilitate heat absorption.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to utilize a phase change material in the cooling plates of Darbandi as taught by Lindstrom to facilitate heat absorption.
Further, MPEP §2144.07 states that a prima facie case of obviousness exists to choose a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the unspecified material of the Darbandi by incorporating the phase material of Lindstrom as a matter of obvious use of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP §2144.07).
Regarding claims 2, Lindstrom teaches the use of channels/conduits (plural) in the cooling plates [0087].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to utilize multiple channels in the cooling plates of Darbandi as taught by Lindstrom to facilitate heat absorption by increasing surface area exposure of the phase material.
Additionally, the location of the channels/chambers is a matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). It is noted that no unexpected results have been set forth in applicant’s specification. MPEP 2144.01
Claim(s) 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darbandi et al. and Lindstrom, as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Nicholls (US 2015/0140366).
Regarding claims 3-5, Nicholls teaches that different types of coolants and the position of the battery cells to in the case has effects on the cooling [0083-93]. Nicholls teaches altering the spacing, amount, flow rate, etc. to achieve the desired cooling.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have adjusted the positioning of the chambers and the type of fluids in the cooling elements of Darbandi as taught by Nicholls in order to achieve the desired cooling results.
The location of the channels/chambers is a matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). It is noted that no unexpected results have been set forth in applicant’s specification. MPEP 2144.01
Regarding claim 6, Darbandi and Lindstrom are silent as to the materials making up the cooling plates.
However, Nicholls, also a batter pack, teaches that cooling plates are known to be made from aluminum [0074].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to utilize aluminum as the material for the colling plates as taught by Nicholls. The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is not patentable. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007); MPEP 2143 B.
Regarding claim 7, Nicholls teaches that different types of coolants and the position of the battery cells to in the case has effects on the cooling [0083-93]. Nicholls teaches altering the spacing, amount, flow rate, etc. to achieve the desired cooling. Additionally, the language of claim 7 does require any channels as it recite a “5 or less”, thus it could be zero. There are no unexpected results noted in the specification.
The amount of cooling channels is based on the desired conditions. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8-11, Nicholls teaches average battery pack size of 160mmx7mmx227mm [0055]; thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the battery art before the effective file date to provide small sized channels to fit within the battery pack dimensions. Additionally, as Nicholls teaches, the cooling plates can be constructed to optimize working conditions and arrive at the desired temperature range. There are no unexpected results noted in the specification.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darbandi et al., Lindstrom, and Nicholls as applied to claim 11 above, in further view of JP 2022042772 (on IDS international search report) or Clifford NPL (9/27/22).
Regarding claims 12-13, JP ‘772 teaches a battery cooling structure in which paraffin is used [0040] that has a phase change at temperature range of 5-20 C.
Additionally, Clifford teaches the use of wax/graphite phase change material in batteries for cooling purposes (see phase change section).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to utilize a paraffin composition in the device of Darbandi et al. as it is a known phase change material utilized in the battery art as a coolant.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darbandi et al., Lindstrom, and Nicholls, JP 2022042772 or Clifford NPL, as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Hwang (US20230198047).
Regarding claim 14, Hwang teaches a battery pack and teaches that a related art battery module may buffer swelling of a battery cell due to swelling by disposing an elastic pad #100 between a plurality of battery cells. A separate cooling member may be disposed between the battery cells to cool the battery cells [0003, 0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to utilize an elastic pad around the cooling plates of Darbandi et al. as taught by Hwang in order to reduce pressure to other battery cells and electrically insulate the cells.
Regarding claim 15, Darbandi teaches the battery device can be surrounded by a housing (i.e. front, rear, side, and lid) [0017]. Darbandi also teaches that the battery module can contain electronics, control units [0017]. Lindstrom teaches that bus bars #302 are a well-known element in battery packs [0077].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darbandi et al., Lindstrom, and Nicholls, JP 2022042772 or Clifford NPL (9/27/22), and Hwang, as applied to claim 15 above, in further view of Ozawa et al. (US 2022/0238939).
Regarding claim 16, it is noted that the present specification does not appear to provide any particular type of material for the thermal conductivity 3W/mk. However, this represents a moderate, commonly used performance level for thermal interface materials for sufficient heat transfer for electronics. As Darbandi utilizes transfer materials, it does not specify which ones.
However, Ozawa discloses a batter pack and explains using thermal interface materials in battery packs is well known and readily utilized. For instance, Ozawa notes that when the thermal conductivity is less than 0.8 W/mK, heat transfer hardly occurs and a rise in the temperature of the battery module. The thermal conductivity of the heat absorbing member is preferably 1.0 W/mK or more and more preferably 1.5 W/mK or more [0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective file date of the present invention to have utilized heat interface material that has a thermal conductivity of 3W/mk or more in order to provide effective heat transfer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US2018/0094846 – teaches phase change materials in battery packs [0024].
US20170222274 see [0011].
/Jennifer Dieterle/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776