DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7-12, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong (US 2023/0379676 A1) in view of Yamada (US 2017/0026778 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Zhong ‘676 teaches, an apparatus for nearby wireless device connection([0102]-[0106] and Figs. 1-2, electronic device 200 for connecting with mobile device 110), the apparatus comprising: a memory configured to store information of a nearby device having a pairing history( [0102], [0137], [0178] and Figs. 2, 6-7, electronic device 200 comprising a memory for storing historical pairing information of the mobile device 110); a processor configured to monitor reception of a pairing mode operation command([0160], [0171] and Figs. 2, 6-7, electronic device 200 comprising a processor for receiving/monitor pairing mode command from a user input),
generate a message based on whether the pairing mode operation command is received, wherein the processor is configured to([0166]-[0168] and Fig. 7, generating a pairing message in response to receiving paring request/command) in response to the pairing mode operation command being not received, generate the message to include an account key of the nearby device having the pairing history([0178], ([0181], [0182], generating a message that includes a digital key without the paring command being received) ; and
a communication module configured to broadcast the message under control of the processor([0166]–[0168], [0178], Figs. 2, 6-7, electronic device 200 broadcasting a response message). Zhong ‘676 further teaches, in response to the pairing mode operation command being received, generate the message to include pass key([0167], [0168], in response to paring instruction the ECU generates random number pass key).
Zhong ‘676 does not explicitly teach, generate the message to include a universal key
Yamada ‘778, generate the message to include a universal key ([0040], [0091], [0101], generating a message comprising global shared key (universal key) when user intention to pair a new device is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Zhong ‘676, by incorporating the teaching of Yamada ‘778, since such modification would provide a way to manage connections to wireless devices without sacrificing connection security and speed of the connection, as suggested by Yamada ‘778([0004], [0005]).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, the combination of Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 taches all of the claim limitations Zhong ‘676 further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to control the communication module to transmit a physical address of the nearby device having the pairing history associated with an account of an operating system of the nearby device ([0147], [0170], sending the MAC address (physical address) of the near device/module to the mobile terminal).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the combination of Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 taches all of the claim limitations Zhong ‘676 further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to generate the message based on detecting a remote control of a vehicle from a user before the user boards the vehicle([0160]–[0161], [0178], Figs. 2, 6-7, electronic device 200 generating paring response message based on detecting mobile device 110 approaching the vehicle associated with electronic device 200).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, the combination of Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 taches all of the claim limitations Zhong ‘676 further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to: calculate a degree of attenuation based on an attenuation calculation algorithm( [0193]-[0196] and Fig. 8, monitoring and calculating transmission from the electronic device); adjust a Tx power of a signal transferred to the nearby device through a communication module of a vehicle in proportion to the degree of attenuation([0193]-[0196] and Fig. 8, electronic device 200 adjusting transmit power based on the monitoring); and include information on the Tx power in the message([0193]-[0196] and Fig. 8, electronic device 200 adjusting transmit power of the broadcasted messages).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, the combination of Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 taches all of the claim limitations, Zhong ‘676 further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the degree of attenuation based on a size of the vehicle ([0193]-[0197] and Fig. 8, electronic device 2300 adjusting the transmit power based on the desired coverage area size).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, the combination of Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 taches all of the claim limitations Zhong ‘676 further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the degree of attenuation based on a degree of opening of an interior of the vehicle ([0132]-[0134], adjusting the transmutation power of the modules based on opening of door/trunk of the vehicle).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, the combination of Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 taches all of the claim limitations Zhong ‘676 further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to adjust the degree of attenuation based on a number of passengers in the vehicle ([0132]-[0134], adjusting the transmutation power based on occupation of the vehicle, by detecting opening and closing of the vehicle’s door).
Claims 3, 4, 6, 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 as applied to claim above, and further in view of Chen(US 2022/0210851A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, the combination of Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 taches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the processor is configured to: determine that an automatic connection attempt is performed with respect to the nearby device; and stop the automatic connection attempt and generate the message after a period of attempting the automatic connection elapses beyond a preset first period.
Chen ‘851 teaches, wherein the processor is configured to: determine that an automatic connection attempt is performed with respect to the nearby device([0098], [0099], [0126], attempting to connect with slave device automatically); and stop the automatic connection attempt and generate the message after a period of attempting the automatic connection elapses beyond a preset first period([0098], [0099], [0126] when connection attempt fails attempting to connect via classic paring manner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Zhong ‘676, by incorporating the teaching of Chen ‘851, since such modification would provide a method and apparatus for quickly pairing a dual-mode Bluetooth device, as suggested by Chen ‘851([0004).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the combination of Zhong ‘676, Yamada ‘778 and Chen ‘851 taches all of the claim limitations, Yamada ‘778 further teaches, wherein the processor is configured to generate the message after determining whether there is an excess of a number of nearby devices that can be connected to a vehicle([([0040], [0091], [0101], generating a message comprising global shared key (universal key) when a device to be paired ins nearby).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the combination of Zhong ‘676 and Yamada ‘778 taches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the processor is configured to: perform an operation in a connectable-on mode capable of responding to a connection request from the nearby device when connection with the nearby device fails; and attempt to directly connect to the nearby device based on an address of the nearby device when there is no connection request from the nearby device for a preset second period.
Chen ‘851 teaches, wherein the processor is configured to: perform an operation in a connectable-on mode capable of responding to a connection request from the nearby device when connection with the nearby device fails([0098], [0099], [0126] when connection attempt fails); and attempt to directly connect to the nearby device based on an address of the nearby device when there is no connection request from the nearby device for a preset second period([0098], [0099], [0126] when connection attempt fails attempting to connect via classic paring manner).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Zhong ‘676, by incorporating the teaching of Chen ‘851, since such modification would provide a method and apparatus for quickly pairing a dual-mode Bluetooth device, as suggested by Chen ‘851([0004).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AWET HAILE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474