DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 4-5, and 12-13 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1 and 3-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome a majority of objections and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed October 10, 2025. However, a Drawing objection, in view of Applicant’s Remarks filed December 11, 2025, and an unaddressed 112(b) rejection are maintained and are as set forth below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "the cap and the housing are configured to be actuated with pliers" in claim 6 and "depressing the cap of the fastener comprises depressing the cap with a plier" in claim 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 18, “a first cap end” should read “the first cap end”
In claims 1 and 13, lines 44 and 39, respectively, “the other” should read “an other”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recites the limitation "the main body" in lines 16, 16, and 17, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claims 1, 12, and 13 will be read as “a main body”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first cap" in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 1 will be read as “a first cap”.
Claims 1 and 12 recites the limitation "the external threads" in lines 44-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claims 1 and 12 will be read as “the external threads of at least one of the first shaft end and the second shaft end” and “the external threads of the first and second threaded ends”, respectively.
Claims 3-11 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the two tapered sections" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 17 will be read as “the first and second tapered sections”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the external threads" in lines 39-40. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 13 will be read as “the external threads of at least one of the first shaft end and the second shaft end”.
Claims 14-20 are rejected as being dependent on, and failing to cure the deficiencies of, rejected independent claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mess (US3943817A), hereinafter "Mess".
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Mess teaches a fastener (Figs 1-2, bolt 10) for engaging a threaded opening (see Figs 6-7, Col 4, lines 23-44, Mess indicates bolt 10 can be threaded into a complementary threaded nut or bore), the fastener (10) comprising:
a first shaft element (see Fig 2, segments 12, Col 4, lines 23-44, Mess indicates three substantially identical bolt segments 12) extending (see Fig 2) along a shaft axis (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an axis of bolt 10 as along a shaft axis) from a first cap end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of segment 12 adjacent portion 25 as a first cap end) to a first shaft end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of segment 12 distal portion 25 as a first shaft end) and having a partially cylindrical shape (see Figs 1-2);
a second shaft element (see Fig 2, segments 12, Col 4, lines 23-44, Mess indicates three substantially identical bolt segments 12) extending (see Fig 2) along the shaft axis (see Fig 2) from a second cap end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of segment 12 adjacent portion 25 as a second cap end) to a second shaft end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of segment 12 distal portion 25 as a second shaft end) and having a partially cylindrical shape (see Figs 1-2), the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) disposed alongside (see Fig 2) and parallel (see Fig 2) the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12);
an internal alignment shaft (Fig 2, member 14) extending (see Fig 2) along the shaft axis (see Fig 2) and surrounded (see Figs 5-7) by a central cavity (Fig 5, bore 30, Col 4, line 65 - Col 5, line 9), wherein the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) are oriented (see Fig 2) about the central cavity (30) and the central cavity (30) is defined by a first internal surface (see Fig 5, Col 4, line 65 - Col 5, line 9, Examiner notes segments 12 possess inner surfaces which together define a central bore 30 as defined by a first internal surface) of the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and a second internal surface (see Fig 5, Col 4, line 65 - Col 5, line 9, Examiner notes segments 12 possess inner surfaces which together define a central bore 30 as a second internal surface) of the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12), the internal alignment shaft (14) comprising two tapered sections (Fig 4, step 45 and end 47, Col 5 lines 20-31) oriented (see Fig 4) along and extending radially outward (see Figs 3-4, Examiner notes step 45 and end 47 having a larger diameter than a central portion of portion 40 between slots 61 as extending radially outward) from a central body (see Fig 4, Examiner notes the central portion of portion 40 between slots 61 as from a central portion) of the internal alignment shaft (14) and which guide (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) a lateral movement (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) of the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) relative to the internal alignment shaft (14), the two tapered sections (45 and 47) separated axially (see Fig 4) by a portion (see Fig 4, Examiner notes the central portion of portion 40 between slots 61 as by a portion) of the main body (Fig 4, section 43) narrower (see Figs 3-4) than either of the two tapered sections (45 and 47), each of the two tapered sections (45 and 47) being laterally wider (see Fig 4) than the central body (see Fig 4) and widest (see Fig 2, Col 5 lines 20-31, Examiner notes frusto-conical as being laterally widest) nearest (see Fig 2) a first cap end (see Fig 5) and laterally narrowest (see Fig 2, Col 5 lines 20-31, Examiner notes frusto-conical as being laterally narrowest) nearest (see Fig 2) the first shaft end (see Fig 5), wherein the first (see Fig 2, 12) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2, 12) are axially translatable (see Figs 6-7) relative to the internal alignment shaft (14) between:
a retracted position (see Fig 7) wherein the first (see Fig 2, 12) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2, 12) are axially retracted (see Fig 7) toward the first cap (Fig 7, boss 50) and forced laterally apart (see Fig 7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) by the two tapered sections (45 and 47); and
an extended position (see Fig 6) wherein the first (see Fig 2, 12) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2, 12) are extended axially (see Fig 6) beyond an axial extent (see Fig 6) of the internal alignment shaft (14) and not forced laterally apart (see Fig 6, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) by either of the two tapered sections (45 and 47);
a releasable constriction mechanism (Fig 1, members 16) configured to constrict (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) about the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12), and sufficient to move (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) laterally inward (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) toward the internal alignment shaft (14) when the first (see Fig 2, 12) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2, 12) are in the extended position (see Fig 6);
a releasable expansion mechanism (Fig 4, portion 48) configured to allow (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) to move laterally outward away (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) from the internal alignment shaft (14); and
a cap (Fig 4, collar means 51) configured to move axially (see Figs 6-7) along the shaft axis (see Fig 2), and further configured to engage (see Figs 6-7) the first cap end (see Fig 5) of the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second cap end (see Fig 5) of the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) such that the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) move axially (see Figs 6-7) relative to the internal alignment shaft (14);
wherein at least a portion (see Fig 5, Col 4, lines 23-44) of at least one (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 23-44) of the first shaft end (see Fig 5) and the second shaft end (see Fig 5) comprises external threads (Fig 2, threads 18), and
wherein one (45) of the two tapered sections (45 and 47) is situated coaxially (see Figs 6-7) within the releasable expansion mechanism (48) and proximate (see Figs 6-7) the releasable constriction mechanism (16), while the other (47) of the two tapered sections (45 and 47) axially overlaps (see Figs 6-7) the external threads (18), and
wherein the releasable expansion mechanism (48) is sufficient to move (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) the first (see Fig 2, 12) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2, 12) from the extended position (see Fig 6) to the retracted position (see Fig 7), absent an outside force (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) on the cap (51).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the two tapered sections (45 and 47) are approximately conical in shape (see Fig 2, Col 5 lines 20-31, Mess indicates frusto-conical).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first shaft end (see Fig 5) comprises a threaded section (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an external section of segments 12 distal portion 25 having threads 18 as comprises a threaded section) and the second shaft end (see Fig 5) comprises an unthreaded section (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an internal section of segments 12 distal portion 25 excluding threads 18 as comprises an unthreaded section).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 1 and further teaches comprising a locking mechanism (Fig 2, portion 25, Col 5, lines 32-40, Examiner notes collar means 51 will restrict the travel of wedge member 14 when it is inserted by abutting against the top surface of the bolt section heads 25 as comprising a locking mechanism).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 8 and further teaches wherein the locking mechanism (25) comprises one of: a thumbscrew (see Fig 2, Col 4, lines 60-64, Examiner notes, head sections 25 define, overall, a hexagonal head as a thumbscrew) and a hex nut.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mess.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 1 but fails to teach wherein the internal alignment shaft further comprises a cross bar oriented perpendicular to the central body and situated axially between the two tapered sections, and which is configured to axially and laterally engage the first shaft element and the second shaft element via a first slot in the first shaft element and a second slot in the second shaft element. (see Figs 6-7, Col 6, lines 28-36, Examiner notes Mess indicates that in order to limit the travel of wedge member 14 in bore 30, pins 60 can be placed in each of the bolt segments 12, and slots 61 placed in those portions of wedge member 14 which face the bolt segments 12).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the internal alignment shaft further comprises a cross bar oriented perpendicular to the central body and situated axially between the two tapered sections, and which is configured to axially and laterally engage the first shaft element and the second shaft element via a first slot in the first shaft element and a second slot in the second shaft element, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C). The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate optimizing the bolt for manufacturing and assembly, e.g. tooling, assembly sequences, etc.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mess, in view of Myers (US3158059A), hereinafter "Myers".
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 1 but fails to teach further comprising a housing which surrounds the first cap end and the second cap end, extends along the shaft axis to the first shaft end and the second shaft end, and is configured to receive the cap, wherein the internal alignment shaft is fixed relative to the housing and the first and second shaft elements are axially translatable relative to the housing, wherein the housing encloses one of the two tapered sections.
However, Myers teaches it is known in the art to provide a housing (Fig 1, shell 10) which surrounds (see Fig 1) the first cap end (see Fig 1, Examiner notes head 22 of segment 17 as the first cap end) and the second cap end (see Fig 1, Examiner notes head 22 of segment 18 as the second cap end), extends (see Fig 1) along the shaft axis (see Fig 1) to the first shaft end (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an end of segment 17 distal head 22 as the first shaft end) and the second shaft end (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an end of segment 18 distal head 22 as the second shaft end), and is configured to receive (see Fig 1) the cap (Fig 1, button 27), wherein the internal alignment shaft (Fig 1, plunger 25) is fixed relative (see Figs 1-2, Col 1, line 70 - Col 2, line 14, Examiner notes the plunger 25 is longitudinally fixed as is fixed relative) to the housing (10) and the first (Fig 1, segment 17) and second shaft elements (Fig 1, segment 18) are axially translatable (see Figs 1-2) relative to the housing (10), wherein the housing (10) encloses (see Fig 1) one (see Fig 1) of the two tapered sections (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a tapered section adjacent rim 28 of plunger 25 and enlargement 26 as the two tapered sections).
Therefore, as evidenced by Myers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped housing which surrounds the first cap end and the second cap end, extends along the shaft axis to the first shaft end and the second shaft end, and is configured to receive the cap, wherein the internal alignment shaft is fixed relative to the housing and the first and second shaft elements are axially translatable relative to the housing, wherein the housing encloses one of the two tapered sections as taught by Myers to Mess. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate ease of operation of the bolt, e.g. improving use of the bolt from an expanded state to a collapsed state and vice versa.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, modified Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 5 and further teaches wherein the cap (51) and the housing (Myers, 10) are configured to be actuated with pliers (capable of being actuated with pliers, i.e. this is a function recitation).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Mess teaches a fastener (Figs 1-2, bolt 10) for engaging a threaded opening (see Figs 6-7, Col 4, lines 23-44, Mess indicates bolt 10 can be threaded into a complementary threaded nut or bore), the fastener (10) comprising:
a first shaft element (see Fig 2, segments 12, Col 4, lines 23-44, Mess indicates three substantially identical bolt segments 12) extending (see Fig 2) along a shaft axis (see Fig 2, Examiner notes an axis of bolt 10 as along a shaft axis) from a first cap end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of segment 12 adjacent portion 25 as a first cap end) to a first threaded end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of segment 12 distal portion 25 as a first threaded end) and having a partially cylindrical shape (see Figs 1-2), wherein at least a portion (see Fig 5, Col 4, lines 23-44) of the first threaded end (see Fig 5) comprises external threads (see Fig 2, threads 18);
a second shaft element (see Fig 2, segments 12, Col 4, lines 23-44, Mess indicates three substantially identical bolt segments 12) extending (see Fig 2) along the shaft axis (see Fig 2) from a second cap end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of segment 12 adjacent portion 25 as a second cap end) to a second threaded end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of segment 12 distal portion 25 as a second threaded end) and having a partially cylindrical shape (see Figs 1-2), wherein at least a portion (see Fig 5, Col 4, lines 23-44) of the second threaded end (see Fig 5) comprises external threads (see Fig 2, threads 18), the second shaft element (see Fig 5) disposed alongside (see Fig 5) and parallel (see Fig 5) the first shaft element (see Fig 5);
an internal alignment shaft (Fig 2, member 14) extending (see Fig 2) along the shaft axis (see Fig 2) and surrounded (see Figs 5-7) by a central cavity (Fig 5, bore 30, Col 4, line 65 - Col 5, line 9), wherein the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) are oriented (see Fig 2) about the central cavity (30) and the central cavity (30) is defined by a first internal surface (see Fig 5, Col 4, line 65 - Col 5, line 9, Examiner notes segments 12 possess inner surfaces which together define a central bore 30 as defined by a first internal surface) of the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and a second internal surface (see Fig 5, Col 4, line 65 - Col 5, line 9, Examiner notes segments 12 possess inner surfaces which together define a central bore 30 as a second internal surface) of the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12), the internal alignment shaft (14) comprising first and second tapered sections (Fig 4, step 45 and end 47, Col 5 lines 20-31) oriented (see Fig 4) along and extending radially outward (see Figs 3-4, Examiner notes step 45 and 47 having a larger diameter than a central portion of portion 40 between slots 61 as extending radially outward) from a central body (see Fig 4, Examiner notes the central portion of portion 40 between slots 61 as from a central body) of the internal alignment shaft (14), the first and second tapered sections (45 and 47) separated axially (see Fig 4) by a portion (see Fig 4, Examiner notes the central portion of portion 40 between slots 61 as by a portion) of the main body (Fig 4, section 43) narrower (see Figs 3-4) than either of the two tapered sections (45 and 47), each of the first and second tapered sections (45 and 47) being laterally wider (see Fig 4) than the central body (see Fig 4) and widest (see Fig 2, Col 5 lines 20-31, Examiner notes frusto-conical as being laterally widest) nearest (see Fig 2) the first cap end (see Fig 5) and laterally narrowest (see Fig 2, Col 5 lines 20-31, Examiner notes frusto-conical as being laterally narrowest) nearest (see Fig 2) the first threaded end (see Fig 5);
at least one radial spring (Fig 1, members 16) configured to constrict (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) about the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) such that the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) move laterally inward (see Figs 6-7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) toward the internal alignment shaft (14);
a cap (Fig 4, collar means 51) configured to move axially (see Figs 6-7) along the shaft axis (see Fig 2), and further configured to engage (see Figs 6-7) the first cap end (see Fig 5) of the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second cap end (see Fig 5) of the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) such that the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) move axially (see Figs 6-7) relative to the internal alignment shaft (14); and
wherein the first (see Fig 2, 12) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2, 12) are axially translatable (see Figs 6-7) relative to the internal alignment shaft (14) between two positions (see Figs 6-7):
a retracted state (see Fig 7) wherein the first (see Fig 2, 12) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2, 12) are axially retracted (see Fig 7) toward the first cap end (see Fig 5) and forced laterally apart (see Fig 7, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) by the first and second tapered sections (45 and 47); and
an extended state (see Fig 6) wherein the first (see Fig 2, 12) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2, 12) are extended axially (see Fig 6) beyond an axial extent (see Fig 6) of the internal alignment shaft (14) and not forced laterally apart (see Fig 6, Col 5, line 41 - Col 6, line 36) by either of the first and second tapered sections (45 and 47).
Mess fails to teach at least one compression spring configured to allow the first shaft element and the second shaft element to move laterally outward away from the internal alignment shaft, a housing which surrounds the first cap end, the second cap end, the first tapered section, and not the second tapered section, and extends along the shaft axis to an axial extent defined by a shaft opening disposed axially between the first tapered section and the external threads and is configured to receive the cap, and wherein the at least one radial spring and the at least one compression spring are situated within the housing.
However, Myers teaches it is known in the art to provide at least one compression spring (Fig 1, spring 30) configured to allow (see Figs 1-2, Col 1, line 70 - Col 2, line 14) the first shaft element (Fig 1, segment 17) and the second shaft element (Fig 1, segment 18) to move laterally outward away (see Figs 1-2, Col 1, line 70 - Col 2, line 14) from the internal alignment shaft (Fig 1, plunger 25), a housing (Fig 1, shell 10) which surrounds (see Fig 1) the first cap end (see Fig 1, Examiner notes head 22 of segment 17 as the first cap end), the second cap end (see Fig 1, Examiner notes head 22 of segment 18 as the second cap end), the first tapered section (see Fig 1, Examiner notes a tapered section adjacent rim 28 of plunger 25 as the first tapered section), and not (see Fig 1) the second tapered section (Fig 1, enlargement 26), and extends (see Fig 1) along the shaft axis (see Fig 1) to an axial extent (see Fig 1) defined by the shaft opening (Fig 1, bore 11) disposed axially (see Fig 1) between the first tapered section (see Fig 1) and the external threads (Fig 1, threads 19) and is configured to receive (see Fig 1) the cap (Fig 1, button 27), and wherein the at least one radial spring (Fig 1, ring 38) and the at least one compression spring (30) are situated (see Fig 1) within the housing (10).
Therefore, as evidenced by Myers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine at least one compression spring configured to allow the first shaft element and the second shaft element to move laterally outward away from the internal alignment shaft, a housing which surrounds the first cap end, the second cap end, the first tapered section, and not the second tapered section, and extends along the shaft axis to an axial extent defined by a shaft opening disposed axially between the first tapered section and the external threads and is configured to receive the cap, and wherein the at least one radial spring and the at least one compression spring are situated within the housing as taught by Myers to Mess. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate ease of operation of the bolt, e.g. improving use of the bolt from an expanded state to a collapsed state and vice versa.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mess, in view of Becker (US3266364A), hereinafter "Becker".
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the releasable constriction mechanism (16) comprises one or more radial springs (see Fig 1, Col 4, lines 45-59, Examiner notes two elastic members is illustrated as comprises one or more radial springs) situated radially outward (see Fig 1) from the first shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2, 12) with respect to the shaft axis (see Fig 2) but fails to teach the releasable expansion mechanism comprises one or more compression springs situated radially outward from the one or more radial springs with respect to the shaft axis.
However, Becker teaches it is known in the art to provide the releasable expansion mechanism (Fig 1, spring 52, Col 4, line 37 - Col 5, line 6) comprises one or more compression springs (see Fig 1) situated radially outward (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an inner diameter of spring 52 being greater than an inner diameter of spring 60 as situated radially outward) from the one or more radial springs (Fig 1, spring 60) with respect to the shaft axis (see Fig 1).
Therefore, as evidenced by Becker, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped handle member, button, and releasable expansion mechanism comprising one or more compression springs situated radially outward from the one or more radial springs with respect to the shaft axis as taught by Becker to Mess. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate quickly releasing the bolt from an internally threaded socket by pushing the push-button (Becker, Col 4, line 37 - Col 5, line 6).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, modified Mess teaches the fastener (10) of claim 10 and further teaches wherein the fastener (10) is configured to be hand actuated (capable of being hand actuated, i.e. this is a functional recitation).
Claim(s) 13-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjork (US3159075A), hereinafter "Bjork", in view of Myers and Hardinge (US2381050A), hereinafter "Hardinge".
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Bjork teaches a method (Col 3, lines 17-32) of fastening (Col 3, lines 17-32, Examiner notes to install the bolt as fastening) to a second workpiece (Col 3, lines 17-32, Examiner notes the mating threaded cavity or nut as a second workpiece), the method (Col 3, lines 17-32) comprising:
depressing (Col 3, lines 17-32) a cap (Fig 3, cap 46) of a fastener (Fig 2, bolt 10), thereby engaging (Col 3, lines 17-32, Examiner notes press shank segments 14 radially inward toward the axis of the bolt as engaging) a first cap end (see Fig 5, Col 2, line 19-25, Examiner notes an end of segment 14 having surface 26 and segment 28 as a first cap end) of a first shaft element (see Fig 2, segments 14, Col 2, lines 14-18, Bjork indicates three shank segments) of the fastener (10) and a second cap end (see Fig 5, Col 2, lines 19-25, Examiner notes an end of segment 14 having surface 26 and segment 28 as a second cap end) of a second shaft element (see Fig 2, segments 14, Col 2, lines 14-18, Bjork indicates three shank segments) of the fastener (10), wherein:
the first shaft element (see Fig 2) extends from the first cap end (see Fig 5) to a first shaft end (see Fig 5, Col 2, lines 19-25, Examiner notes an end of segment 14 having way 18 and segment 22 as a first shaft end) and has a partially cylindrical shape (see Figs 2-3);
the second shaft element (see Fig 2) extends from the second cap end (see Fig 5) to a second shaft end (see Fig 5, Col 2, lines 19-25, Examiner notes an end of segment 14 having way 18 and segment 22 as a second shaft end) and has a partially cylindrical shape (see Figs 2-3), and is disposed alongside (see Figs 2-3) and parallel (see Figs 2-3) the first shaft element (see Fig 2); and
at least a portion (see Fig 5) of at least one (see Fig 5) of the first shaft end (see Fig 5) and the second shaft end (see Fig 5) comprises external threads (see Figs 2 and 5, Col 2, lines 14-18);
moving (Col 3, lines 17-32) the first shaft element (see Fig 2) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2) along tapered sections (Fig 3, surfaces 44 and 50) that extend radially outward (see Fig 3) from a cylindrical body (see Fig 4, Examiner notes a cylindrical body of plunger 16 between surfaces 44 and 50 as from a cylindrical body) of an internal alignment shaft (Fig 2, plunger 16) of the fastener (10), the tapered sections (44 and 50) separated axially (see Fig 3) by a portion (see Figs 3-4, Examiner notes a portion of the cylindrical body of plunger 16 between surfaces 44 and 50 as by a portion) of the main body (see Fig 3, Examiner notes plunger 16 as the main body) narrower (see Fig 3) than either of the two tapered sections (44 and 50), wherein the tapered sections (44 and 50) guide movement (see Fig 3, Col 2, lines 37-55) of the first shaft element (see Fig 2) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2) both laterally and axially (Col 3, lines 1-32) relative to the internal alignment shaft (16) with respect to a shaft axis (see Figs 2-3, Examiner notes a longitudinal axis of bolt 10 as a shaft axis) along which the first shaft element (see Fig 2), the second shaft element (see Fig 2), and the internal alignment shaft (16) extend;
constricting (Col 3, lines 17-32), with a releasable constriction mechanism (Fig 3, O-ring 56), the first shaft element (see Fig 2) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2) such that the first shaft element (see Fig 2) and the second shaft element (see Fig 2) move laterally inward (Col 3, lines 17-32) toward the internal alignment shaft (16), guided (see Fig 3, Col 2, lines 37-55) by the tapered sections (44 and 50) of the internal alignment shaft (16);
inserting (Col 3, lines 17-32) the first shaft end (see Fig 5) and the second shaft end (see Fig 5) into a second opening (Col 3, lines 17-32, Examiner notes the mating threaded cavity or nut as having a second opening) of the second workpiece (Col 3, lines 17-32);
releasing (Col 3, lines 17-32) the cap (46), thereby disengaging (Col 3, lines 1-32) the first cap end (see Fig 5) and the second cap end (see Fig 5) and causing a housing (see Fig 3, Col 2, lines 56-64, Examiner notes segments 22 of shank segments 14 form spring cavity 24 as the housing) and the internal alignment shaft (16) to move axially (Col 3, lines 17-32), relative to the first (see Fig 2) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2);
allowing (Col 3, lines 1-6), with a releasable expansion mechanism (Fig 3, spring 38), the first shaft element (see Fig 2) to be forced laterally apart (see Fig 3, Col 3, lines 1-6) from the second shaft element (see Fig 2) by the tapered sections (44 and 50) of the internal alignment shaft (16); and
engaging (Col 3, lines 17-32) threads (Col 3, lines 17-32, Examiner notes threadable contact with the threads of the cavity or nut as threads) within the second opening (Col 3, lines 17-32) with the portion (see Fig 5) of at least one (see Fig 5) of the first shaft end (see Fig 5) and the second shaft end (see Fig 5) comprising external threads (see Figs 2 and 5, Col 2, lines 14-18),
wherein one (44) of the two tapered sections (44 and 50) is situated coaxially (see Fig 3) within the releasable expansion mechanism (38) and proximate (see Fig 3) the releasable constriction mechanism (56), while the other (50) of the two tapered sections (44 and 50) axially overlaps (see Fig 3, Col 3, lines 17-32, Examiner notes the user would press down end 58 of plunger 16 as axially overlaps) the external threads (see Figs 2 and 5, Col 2, lines 14-18).
Bjork fails to teach fastening a first workpiece to a second workpiece, tapered sections of an internal alignment shaft of the fastener that are widest at an axial end nearest the cap of the fastener, inserting the first shaft end and the second shaft end through a first opening of the first workpiece and into a second opening of the second workpiece which is situated adjacent to the first opening, and causing the housing and the internal alignment shaft to move axially toward the first workpiece, relative to the first and second shaft elements.
However, Myers teaches it is known in the art to provide fastening (see Fig 1, Col 2, lines 33-40) a first workpiece (Fig 1, plate 36) to a second workpiece (Fig 1, socket 21) and inserting the first shaft end (Fig 1, segment 17) and the second shaft end (Fig 1, segment 18) through a first opening (see Fig 1, Examiner notes an opening of plate 36 as a first opening) of the first workpiece (36) and into a second opening (see Fig 1, Examiner notes threads 20 of socket 21 as a second opening) of the second workpiece (21) which is situated adjacent (see Fig 1) to the first opening (see Fig 1).
Therefore, as evidenced by Myers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped first workpiece as taught by Myers to Bjork. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate providing attachment between two components based on application and requirements, e.g. providing plates and a releasable fastener to engage internal threads to prevent separation of plates (Myers, Col 2, lines 33-40).
Bjork, in view of Myers teaches the housing (see Fig 3) and the internal alignment shaft (16) move axially (Col 3, lines 17-32) toward the first workpiece (36), relative to the first (see Fig 2) and second shaft elements (see Fig 2) but fails to teach tapered sections of an internal alignment shaft of the fastener that are widest at an axial end nearest the cap of the fastener.
However, Hardinge teaches it is known in the art to provide a tapered section (Fig 5, tapered end 28) of an internal alignment shaft (Fig 5, screw 26) of the fastener (see Fig 5) that is widest (see Fig 5) at an axial end (see Fig 5, Examiner notes an end of tapered end 28 distal split 25 as an axial end) nearest (see Fig 5) the cap (Fig 5, flange 15) of the fastener (see Fig 5).
Therefore, as evidenced by Hardinge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tapered surfaces of modified Bjork to be widest at an axial end nearest the cap of the fastener as taught by Hardinge. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to facilitate optimizing the bolt for manufacturing and assembly, e.g. tooling, assembly sequences, etc.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, modified Bjork teaches the method (Col 3, lines 17-32) of claim 13 and further teaches comprising locking (Col 3, lines 7-32) the fastener (10) within the first opening (Myers, see Fig 1) and the second opening (Col 3, lines 7-32) with a locking mechanism (see Figs 1-3, head 12, Col 2, line 69 - Col 3, line 16, Examiner notes when the bolt 10 is in its expanded position, shank segment heads 32 fit snugly against surface 54 of bolt 12 as a locking mechanism).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, modified Bjork teaches the method (Col 3, lines 17-32) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein depressing (Col 3, lines 17-32) the cap (46) of the fastener (10) comprises hand-depressing (Col 3, lines 17-32, Examiner notes the user would press down end 58 of plunger 16 as hand-depressing) the cap (46).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood, modified Bjork teaches the method (Col 3, lines 17-32) of claim 13 and further teaches comprising depressing (Col 3, lines 17-32) the cap (46) of the fastener (10) to disengage (Col 3, lines 17-32) the threads (Col 3, lines 17-32) within the second opening (Col 3, lines 17-32).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood, modified Bjork teaches the method (Col 3, lines 17-32) of claim 13 and further teaches comprising removing (Col 3, lines 17-32) the fastener (10) from the first opening (Myers, see Fig 1) and the second opening (Col 3, lines 17-32).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjork, in view of Myers, Hardinge, and Smith (US20110110746A1), hereinafter "Smith".
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, modified Bjork teaches the method (Col 3, lines 17-32) of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the locking mechanism (12) is a hex nut (see Figs 1-3) but fails to teach locking the fastener comprises tightening the locking mechanism with a threaded cap opening disposed in the cap such that the locking mechanism abuts the internal alignment shaft.
However, Smith teaches it is known in the art to provide locking (Paragraphs 0039-0040) the fastener (Fig 11, fastener 220) comprises tightening (see Figs 11 and 14, Examiner notes threaded fastener 112 inserted into threaded aperture 120 as tightening) the locking mechanism (see Fig 11, Examiner notes at least threaded fastener 112, button 308, and locking member 400 as the locking mechanism) with a threaded cap opening (see Figs 11 and 14, Examiner notes an opening of button 308 in which threaded fastener 112 extends through as threaded cap opening) disposed in the cap (Fig 11, button 308) such that the locking mechanism (see Fig 11) abuts (see Figs 11 and 14, Paragraph 0036) the internal alignment shaft (Fig 11, body 244).
Therefore, as evidenced by Smith, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine locking the fastener comprises tightening the locking mechanism with a threaded cap opening disposed in the cap such that the locking mechanism abuts the internal alignment shaft as taught by Smith to modified Bjork. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to selectively prevent actuation of the fastener so that the threaded segments are not retracted or collapsed (Smith, Paragraphs 0039-0040).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, modified Bjork teaches the method (Col 3, lines 17-32) of claim 15 and further teaches wherein tightening (Smith, see Figs 11 and 14) the locking mechanism (Smith, see Figs 11 and 14) comprises hand-tightening (Smith, Paragraphs 0030 and 0036) the locking mechanism (Smith, see Figs 11 and 14).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjork, in view of Myers, Hardinge, and Saint Martin (US6076437A), hereinafter "Saint Martin".
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, modified Bjork teaches the method (Col 3, lines 17-32) of claim 13 and further teaches wherein depressing (Col 3, lines 17-32) the cap (46) of the fastener (10) comprises depressing (Col 3, lines 17-32) the cap (46) but fails to teach with a plier.
However, Saint Martin teaches it is known in the art to provide depressing (see Figs 10-11, Col 9, lines 4-34) the cap (Figs 10-11, element 27) with a plier (see Figs 10-11, Col 9, lines 4-32, Saint Martin indicates pliers).
Therefore, as evidenced by Saint Martin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an adequately sized and shaped plier as taught by Saint Martin to modified Bjork. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to provide a tool to aid in assembly/disassembly to optimize the assembly/disassembly process, e.g. assembly/disassembly time, mistake-proofing assembly/disassembly steps, etc.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Objections to the Drawings on Pg 9 of Applicant’s Remarks filed December 11, 2025, Applicant argues that ¶ 0028 of the present Specification identifies the relevant structures of the claimed cap – namely, housing lip 58 and closed end 28 – which are illustrated at least in Fig 1a and respectfully requests the objections to the drawings be withdrawn. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes as previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed October 10, 2025 and as set forth above, the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Applicant's arguments filed December 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claims 1, 12, and 13 on Pgs 12-13 of Applicant’s Remarks filed December 11, 2025, Applicant indicates claims 1, 12, and 13 have been amended and argues that none of the references contemplate positioning one such tapered region in an axial overlap with threading, and the other – at an axial separation from the first – either coaxially within a releasable expansion mechanism and proximate a releasable constriction mechanism (claims 1, 12) or within a housing that contains such mechanisms but not the other tapered region (claim 13). As best understood, the Examiner respectfully disagrees as set forth above.
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675