CTNF 18/203,397 CTNF 89385 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by White (US 5331304 A) . Regarding Claim 1: White teaches that a core for a stationary electromagnetic apparatus comprising: a laminated body ( 10, Fig. 4; Col. 5, lines 30-65 ) formed of amorphous metal thin strips ( see claim 1 ); and a holding member ( 46; Fig. 4; col. 9,lines 45-55 ) that holds the laminated body, wherein a width ( not labeled; i.e. width of 46 in Fig. 10 ) of the holding member is {equal to} or more than ( construed from Fig. 4 ) a width (i.e. width of left or right side element 10 in Fig. 4) of metal strips in of the amorphous metal thin strips in a laminating direction ( i.e. horizontal direction in Fig. 4 ). Regarding Claim 2: As applied to claim 1, White teaches that the holding member is formed into a shape (i.e. shape of 46; see Fig. 4) and a size that prevent a compressive stress from being applied (inherently necessary for industrial application) to the laminated body in a laminating direction of the laminated body. Regarding Claim 3: As applied to claim 1, White teaches that the holding member is a member having a U-shaped ( see Fig. 4 ) cross section, and is disposed so as to sandwich an innermost peripheral surface and an outermost peripheral surface of the laminated body (construed from Fig. 4). Regarding Claim 5: As applied to claim 1, White teaches that a silicon steel plate ( 20, 22; Fig. 3; see col. 3 lines 55-60) is disposed on at least one of an innermost peripheral surface and an outermost peripheral surface of the laminated body, and a part of the holding member is fixed to the silicon steel plate ( construed from Fig. 3 ). Regarding Claim 6: As applied to claim 1, White teaches that the holding member is made of an insulating material (i.e. 46 is made of nylon fabric strip which is an insulating materials; see col. 7, lines 35-40 ) or a non-magnetic material. Regarding Claim 7: As applied to claim 1, White teaches that a soundproof material (38, Fig. 5; where 38 is adhesive which is a sealant and can be used as sound proof material; see col. 7, lines 65-68) is disposed between the laminated body and the holding member. Regarding Claim 8: As applied to claim 5, White teaches that both end surfaces of the holding member are inserted between the laminated body and the silicon steel plate (see Fig. 4) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White in view of Chenoweth (US 4893400 A) . Regarding Claim 4: As applied to claim 1, White teaches that the laminated body is formed in a rectangular shape ( see Fig. 10) by laminating a plurality of the amorphous metal thin strips, and forms a closed magnetic circuit by joining both ends of the laminated body in an overlapping manner, except the holding member is mounted on corner portions of the laminated body having a rectangular shape . However, Chenoweth teaches that the holding member ( 10, Fig. 2; see abstract ) is mounted on corner portions of the laminated body having a rectangular shape ( construed from Fig. 2 ). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the holding member is mounted on corner portions of the laminated body having a rectangular shape to provide transformers having amorphous metal cores repairable, so that if a coil of the transformer is defective it can be replaced without damaging the amorphous metal core (see col. 1, lines 40-45) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form 892 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Kazi Hossain whose telephone number is 571-272-8182. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from Monday to Thursday 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at https:/www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Shawki Ismail can be reached on 571-272-3985. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent- center for more information about Patent Center and https:/www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KAZI HOSSAIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/203,397 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/203,397 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/203,397 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 18/203,397 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837