/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 12, “the includes a cover” should read ---the detachable unit includes a cover---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikuta (US20040140163A1) in view of Lee (KR20160144173A).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 12, Ikuta discloses a fishing reel, comprising: a reel body (1; Figures 1-3); a detachable unit (13, 70) detachable from the reel body (1), the detachable unit (13, 70) including a cover (wall 13a, cylindrical portion of 13, and bearing portion 14, provide cover for interior components) cable of covering an interior of the reel body (1); and a power supply unit (57; Figure 14A) disposed in the detachable unit (13, 70), the power supply unit (57) configured to supply the received electric power to an electrical device (55, 41) disposed in the reel body (1), but fails to teach the power supply unit configured to receive electric power wirelessly transmitted from an external wireless power supply device; wherein the power supply unit comprises a power-receiving unit configured to receive the electric power wirelessly transmitted from the external wireless power supply device.
Lee teaches a similar wireless power transmission apparatus for any type of device including fishing gear and further teaches the power supply unit (200; Figure 1) configured to receive electric power wirelessly transmitted from an external wireless power supply device (100); wherein the power supply unit (200) comprises a power-receiving unit (210) configured to receive the electric power wirelessly transmitted from the external wireless power supply device (100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Ikuta to include the power supply unit of Lee in order to continuously supply power and provide charge to the power sources in the fishing reel for continuous operation and to prevent removal and replacement of depleted power sources.
Regarding claim 3, Ikuta discloses the above fishing reel and further teaches an operation unit (55; Figure 7; ¶0097) disposed in the reel body (1), the operation unit (55) configured to receive the electric power supplied by the power supply unit (57), and configured to perform operations corresponding to prescribed functions (¶0105; Step S3, brake mode selection; Figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, Ikuta discloses the above fishing reel, but fails to teach wherein the operation unit is configured to operate when the power supply unit is receiving the electric power wirelessly transmitted from the external wireless power supply device.
Lee teaches a similar wireless power transmission apparatus for any type of device including fishing gear and further teaches wherein the operation unit (microprocessor; page 11, last paragraph) is configured to operate when the power supply unit (200) is receiving the electric power wirelessly transmitted from the external wireless power supply device (100; page 11, last paragraph – page 12, first paragraph, during power transfer in charging state, the microprocessor on the electronic device may display charging completion time; wireless power receiver 200 may detect change in operating state of the electronic device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Ikuta to include the operation unit as taught by Lee in order to continuously operate the fishing reel of Ikuta without stopping or shutting down.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikuta, in view of Lee, and in further view of Nakagawa (JP2005270017A).
Regarding claims 5-6, Ikuta discloses the above fishing reel, but fails to teach wherein the operation unit has a communication unit configured to communicate with an external communication device; wherein the communication unit is configured to communicate wirelessly with the external communication device.
Nakagawa teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches wherein the operation unit (73, 74, 77, 78; Figure 8) a communication unit (74) configured to communicate with an external communication device (80); wherein the communication unit (74) is configured to communicate wirelessly with the external communication device (80). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Ikuta to include the communication unit as taught by Nakagawa in order to allow a navigator to watch the fishing information display and communicate with the fishing reel away from the angler.
Regarding claim 8, Ikuta discloses the above fishing reel, but fails to teach wherein the operation unit has a data transmission control unit configured to cause the external communication device connected to the communication unit by communication to transmit data to be stored in a storage unit.
Nakagawa teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches wherein the operation unit (73, 74, 77, 78) has a data transmission control unit (78, 73; Figure 8) configured to cause the external communication device (80) connected to the communication unit (74) by communication to transmit data to be stored in a storage unit (78; page 10-11, the external communication device 80,90 sends/receives data to and from the reel storage unit through the communication units). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Ikuta to include the data transmission control unit as taught by Nakagawa in order to allow the user to control and store parameters into the reel from a distance.
Regarding claim 9, modified Ikuta discloses the above fishing reel and further teaches wherein the detachable unit (13, 70) includes the operation unit (55) in a watertight structure (¶0018). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Ikuta to include wherein the detachable unit includes the communication unit 74 of Nakagawa, since the communication unit of Nakagawa is provided within the second body part, in order to allow for quick and easy maintenance without having to disassemble main components of the fishing reel.
Regarding claim 10, Ikuta discloses the above fishing reel and further teaches the reel body (1) includes a first body part (9; Figure 2) configured to hold a first end of a spool shaft (20) so as to be rotatable and to which a handle shaft (30) is attached, and a second body part (8) configured to hold a second end of the spool shaft (20) so as to be rotatable, and the detachable unit (13, 70) is disposed in the second body part (8).
Regarding claim 11, Ikuta discloses a detachable unit (13) of a fishing reel configured to be attached to/detached from a reel body (1) of a fishing reel, comprising: a watertight housing (6, 8, 13; Figures 1 and 3; ¶0018) and a cover (wall 13a, cylindrical portion of 13, and bearing portion 14, provide cover for interior components) covering an interior of the reel body (1); and including a power supply unit (57; Figure 14A) disposed in the water tight housing (6, 8, 13), the power supply unit (57) configured to receive electric power (¶0097; electric generation from the brake unit 40), an operation unit (55; Figure 7; ¶0097) configured to receive the electric power supplied from the power supply unit (57) and perform operations corresponding to prescribed functions (¶0105; Step S3, brake mode selection; Figure 8), but fails to teach the power supply unit configured to receive electric power wirelessly transmitted from an external wireless power supply device and a communication unit configured to communicate with an external communication device.
Lee teaches a similar wireless power transmission apparatus for any type of device including fishing gear and further teaches the power supply unit (200; Figure 1) configured to receive electric power wirelessly transmitted from an external wireless power supply device (100). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Ikuta to include the power supply unit as taught by Lee in order to continuously supply power and provide charge to the power sources in the fishing reel for continuous operation and to prevent removal and replacement of depleted power sources.
Nakagawa teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches a communication unit (74; Figure 8) configured to communicate with an external communication device (80). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Ikuta to include the communication unit as taught by Nakagawa in order to allow a navigator to watch the fishing information display and communicate with the fishing reel away from the angler.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikuta, in view of Lee, in view of Nakagawa, and in further view of Kitajima (JP2014161240A).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ikuta discloses the above fishing reel, but fails to teach wherein the operation unit includes a parameter setting unit configured to acquire parameter setting information indicating contents of parameter settings transmitted from an external communication device communicatively connected to the communication unit and set prescribed parameters for the fishing reel based on the acquired parameter setting information.
Kitajima teaches a similar fishing reel and further teaches wherein the operation unit (20, 24, 19b; Figure 2) includes a parameter setting unit (19b, 24) configured to acquire parameter setting information indicating contents of parameter settings transmitted from an external communication device (4) communicatively connected to the communication unit (28) and set prescribed parameters for the fishing reel (1) based on the acquired parameter setting information (page 7, lines 16-22, switching between speed mode and tension mode can be performed by predetermined operation of the operation key unit 42 of the external communication device 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fishing reel of Ikuta to include the parameter setting unit as taught by Kitajima in order to allow the user to select a preference of settings and reel operation to improve the fishing experience.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 11-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, in the last three lines of page 5, in pages 6-7, and first two lines of page 8, the applicant argued that the disclosure of Nakagawa fails to teach a detachable unit detachable from the reel body, the detachable unit including a cover capable of covering an interior of the reel body, and a power supply unit disposed in the detachable unit and further argued that the disclosure of Ikuta teaches a power supply unit that is not removable and is disposed on the spool mechanism and not the spool support portion, therefore it would not be obvious to combine Nakagawa with the teaching of Ikuta. The applicant further argued that the cited art fails to teach a detachable unit configured to be attached to/detached from a reel body of a fishing reel, comprising a watertight housing and a cover capable of covering an interior of the reel body, and a power supply unit disposed in the water tight housing, the power supply unit configured to receive electric power wirelessly transmitted from an external wireless power supply device. The applicant further argued that the cited art fails to teach the power supply unit comprising a power-receiving unit configured to receive the electric power wirelessly transmitted from the external wireless power supply device, and the power supply unit configured to supply power to an electrical device disposed in the reel body; and an operation unit disposed in the reel body, the operation unit configured to receive the electric power supplied by the power supply unit, and configured to perform operations corresponding to prescribed functions.
The examiner agrees that the disclosure fails to teach a detachable unit detachable from the reel body, the detachable unit including a cover capable of covering an interior of the reel body, and a power supply unit disposed in the detachable unit, however the examiner construed that the disclosure of Ikuta teaches the limitations of the fishing reel including a detachable unit consisting of a spool support portion 13 that is detachably mounted on the reel side plate 8 which includes wall portions that cover the interior portion of the reel body. Additionally, the power supply unit 57 is attached to the circuit board 70 which is fixedly attached to the detachable support portion 13. The examiner further construed that the disclosure of Ikuta teaches a watertight housing that includes housing assembly 6,8,13 for the circuit board 70 and a cover capable of covering an interior of the reel body, and a power supply unit disposed in the water tight housing, the power supply unit configured to supply power to an electrical device (such as the controller 55) disposed in the reel body, and an operation unit disposed in the reel body, the operation unit 55 configured to receive the electric power supplied by the power supply unit, and configured to perform operations corresponding to prescribed functions, however, the examiner agrees that the disclosure of Ikuta fails to teach the power supply unit comprising a power-receiving unit configured to receive the electric power wirelessly transmitted from the external wireless power supply device. However, the examiner construed that the disclosure of Lee teaches the power supply unit comprising a power-receiving unit configured to receive the electric power wirelessly transmitted from the external wireless power supply device, as described above. Thus, contradicting to applicant’s assertions, such amendment does not overcome the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references listed on form PTO-892 are cited for their relevance to the disclosed invention and demonstration of the state of the art.
/H.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654