DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1, 3, 7, 9, 13-14, 16 and 20 have been amended.
Claims: 2, 4-6, 8, 10-12, 15 and 17-19 have not been amended.
EXAMINER’S NOTES:
The examiner notes that the previous claim objections for claims 13 and 20 indicated on pages 2-3 of the previous office action filed on 10/07/25 has been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s current amendments.
In addition, the examiner notes that the applicant’s current amendments have changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 for failing to disclose “distinct platforms that respectively represent distinct network standard technologies” have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims 13 and 20 are objected as allowable because the closest prior art found fails to disclose, teach or suggest either alone or render obvious in a combined teachings of the prior art, the uniquely distinct features in the specific order, structure and combination of limitations together as a whole of the limitations recited in the dependent claims in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims in between
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIN et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0282058 herein after referenced as Jin058) in view of Jin et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0068449 herein after referenced a Jin449).
Regarding claim 1, Jin058 discloses:
A computing system performing mobility management entity functions, the computing system comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: (Jin058, [0103]-[0104] discloses a core network device (i.e. reads on computing system) is configured to provide user connection and perform user management and service carrying and for example, user connection establishment includes function such as mobility management (i.e. reads on performing mobility management entity functions) and paging and discloses the core network device may include an access and mobility management function AMF network element and is mainly responsible for signaling processing that is control plane functions including access control, mobility management, attachment and detachment and other function; Jin058, [0187] discloses the core network device performs releasing the rejected session is specifically the core network device releases a context corresponding to the session and for example, an AMF network element instructs an SMF network element to release the context corresponding to the session; Jin058, Fig. 18 & [0390] discloses the core network device include a processor and a transceiver and the processor is configured to execute the application program code stored in the memory to implement actions performed by the core network device).
classify one or more sessions of a user equipment; receive an indication to transfer from a first platform to a second platform, (Jin058, [0238] discloses the source base station and the core network device can communicate with each other and the first handover request (i.e. reads on receive an indication) is used to request to hand over (i.e. reads on to transfer) the session of the terminal device (i.e. reads on a user equipment) from the source base station (i.e. reads on from a first platform) to the target base station (i.e. reads on to a second platform) and the first handover request includes information about the target base station and an identifier of a session requested to be handed over and the core network device may determine (i.e. reads on classify) by using the identifier of the session requested to be handed over, a session to be handed over (i.e. reads on one or more sessions of a user equipment) and there may be one or more sessions requested to be handed over and different sessions may correspond to different network slices; Jin058, [0257] discloses the core network device may classify the sessions requested by the source base station to be handed over into a first session and a second session and a network slice corresponding to the first session is supported by the target base station and a network slice corresponding to the second session is not supported by the target base station; Jin058, [0101] discloses a terminal device may be a user equipment UE).
(Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system (i.e. reads on distinct network standard technologies) and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system).
based on session classification, identify transferable and non-transferable sessions; (Jin058, [0257] discloses the core network device may classify the sessions (i.e. reads on based on session classification, identify) requested by the source base station to be handed over into a first session and a second session and a network slice corresponding to the first session is supported (i.e. reads on transferrable sessions) by the target base station and a network slice corresponding to the second session is not supported (i.e. reads on non-transferrable sessions) by the target base station; Jin058, [0179]-[0180] discloses the path switch request includes the identifier of the session that is accepted by the target base station and the core network device performs path switching on the accepted session (i.e. reads on transferrable sessions) and discloses the path switch request may further include the identifier of the session that is rejected by the target base station so that the core network device performs releasing or deactivating the rejected session (i.e. reads on non-transferrable sessions); Jin058, [0151] discloses when the target base station supports the network slice corresponding to the session B4, if the target base station can further allocate a resource for the corresponding network slice to the session B4, the target base station determines that the session B4 is an accepted session; Jin058, [0252] discloses the core network device may determine that the target base station does not support the network slice corresponding to the session requested to be handed over and the core network sends the first handover response message to the source base station and the first handover response message may be a first handover failure message that includes reject indication information used to indicate that the target base station does not support network slices corresponding to all the sessions requested to be handed over; Jin058, [0251] discloses the session requested to be handed over is set to a session E1 and the core network device may determine whether the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station includes indication information of a second network slice corresponding to the session E1 and If the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station includes the indication information of the second network slice corresponding to the session E1, it indicates that the target base station supports a network slice corresponding to the session E1 and If the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station does not include the indication information of the second network slice corresponding to the session E1, it indicates that the target base station does not support the network slice corresponding to the session E1; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the core network device identifies the sessions as accepted and transferrable or rejected and non-transferrable based on a classification indicating whether the target base station supports the requested sessions).
send a response signal indicating transferable sessions; (Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message (i.e. reads on send a response signal) to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session (i.e. reads on indicating transferable sessions) for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin058, [0253] discloses if the target base station supports network slices corresponding to all or some sessions, the core network device sends a second handover request to the target base station; Jin058, [0256] discloses the second handover request includes session identifiers of all sessions requested by the source base station to be handed over and indication information of a network slice corresponding to each session; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session).
and deactivate the non-transferable sessions (Jin058, [0180] discloses the path switch request may further include the identifier of the session that is rejected by the target base station so that the core network device performs releasing or deactivating the rejected session (deactivate the non-transferrable sessions); Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session).
Jin058 discloses classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable as well as disclosing various types of systems including 5G, LTE or 3G but fails to explicitly recite that said handover is between different types of systems “wherein the first platform and the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies”.
In a related field of endeavor, Jin449 discloses:
wherein the first platform and the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies (Jin449, [0122] discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system (i.e. reads on wherein the first platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies), and the second communications system is a 4G communications system (i.e. reads on wherein the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies). In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session; Jin449, [0121] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system; Jin449, [0214]-[0215] discloses the established PDU session is classified into a first PDU session and a second PDU session, The first PDU session is a PDU session capable of being handed over from the first communications system (for example, 5G) to the second communications system for example. 4G, or a PDU session that supports interworking. The first PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions. Different from the first PDU session, the second PDU session is a PDU session incapable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G, or a PDU session that does not support interworking. Similarly, the second PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions and discloses This design allows the UE to learn whether the established PDU session is capable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Jin058 to incorporate the teachings of Jin449 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to implement the transferring and handover of the various sessions via different systems (Jin449, [0121]-[0122]) and to allow the UE to learn whether a session is capable of being handed over from the first communication system to the second communication system (Jin449, [0214]-[0215]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable as taught by Jin058) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable, wherein the source system and the target systems are different types of systems such as 4G to 5G or 5G to 4G as taught by Jin449) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable (i.e. as taught by both Jin058 & Jin449) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 2, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The computing system as defined in claim 1, the operations further comprising: (see claim 1).
transferring transferable sessions to the second platform (Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session; Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin449, [0214] discloses the established PDU session is classified into a first PDU session and a second PDU session, The first PDU session is a PDU session capable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system for example. 4G, or a PDU session that supports interworking. The first PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions. Different from the first PDU session, the second PDU session is a PDU session incapable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G, or a PDU session that does not support interworking. Similarly, the second PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions).
Regarding claim 3, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The computing system as defined in claim 2 (see claim 2).
wherein the deactivating of non-transferable sessions occurs substantially simultaneously with the transferring of transferable sessions (Jin058, [0016] discloses receiving by a core network device a path switch request from a target base station, where the path switch request includes an identifier of a session that is accepted by the target base station and an identifier of a session that is rejected by the target base station and performing by the core network device, path switching on the accepted session and performing deactivating or releasing the rejected session and sending by the core network device, a path switch request response message to the target base station, where the pat switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session; Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the path switching and the deactivating of the sessions occurs substantially simultaneously as the core network device performs both the path switching and deactivating in response to receiving the path switch request that indicates both transferrable and non-transferrable sessions).
Regarding claim 4, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The computing system as defined in claim 1 (see claim 1).
wherein the first platform operates on 4G technology and the second platform operates on 2G or 3G technology (Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system; Jin449, [0121]-[0122] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system and discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system, and the second communications system is a 4G communications system. In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the source base station and target base station indicated in the invention may correspond to different base stations in different system including a 4G LTE base station for a source base station and a 3G base station or 5G base station for a target base station or vice versa).
Regarding claim 5, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The computing system as defined in claim 1 (see claim 1).
wherein the first platform operates on 4G technology and the second platform operates on 5G technology (Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system; Jin449, [0121]-[0122] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system and discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system, and the second communications system is a 4G communications system. In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the source base station and target base station indicated in the invention may correspond to different base stations in different system including a 4G LTE base station for a source base station and a 3G base station or 5G base station for a target base station or vice versa).
Regarding claim 7, Jin058 discloses:
A method of transferring sessions of a user equipment comprising: (Jin058, [0238] discloses the source base station and the core network device can communicate with each other and the first handover request is used to request to hand over the session (i.e. reads on transferring sessions) of the terminal device (i.e. reads on a user equipment) from the source base station to the target base station; Jin058, [0101] discloses a terminal device may be a user equipment UE).
classifying one or more sessions of the user equipment; receiving an indication to transfer from a first platform to a second platform, (Jin058, [0238] discloses the source base station and the core network device can communicate with each other and the first handover request (i.e. reads on receiving an indication) is used to request to hand over (i.e. reads on to transfer) the session of the terminal device (i.e. reads on the user equipment) from the source base station (i.e. reads on from a first platform) to the target base station (i.e. reads on to a second platform) and the first handover request includes information about the target base station and an identifier of a session requested to be handed over and the core network device may determine (i.e. reads on classifying) by using the identifier of the session requested to be handed over, a session to be handed over (i.e. reads on one or more sessions of a user equipment) and there may be one or more sessions requested to be handed over and different sessions may correspond to different network slices; Jin058, [0257] discloses the core network device may classify the sessions requested by the source base station to be handed over into a first session and a second session and a network slice corresponding to the first session is supported by the target base station and a network slice corresponding to the second session is not supported by the target base station; Jin058, [0101] discloses a terminal device may be a user equipment UE).
(Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system (i.e. reads on distinct network standard technologies) and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system).
based on session classification, identifying transferable and non-transferable sessions; (Jin058, [0257] discloses the core network device may classify the sessions (i.e. reads on based on session classification, identifying) requested by the source base station to be handed over into a first session and a second session and a network slice corresponding to the first session is supported (i.e. reads on transferrable sessions) by the target base station and a network slice corresponding to the second session is not supported (i.e. reads on non-transferrable sessions) by the target base station; Jin058, [0179]-[0180] discloses the path switch request includes the identifier of the session that is accepted by the target base station and the core network device performs path switching on the accepted session (i.e. reads on transferrable sessions) and discloses the path switch request may further include the identifier of the session that is rejected by the target base station so that the core network device performs releasing or deactivating the rejected session (i.e. reads on non-transferrable sessions); Jin058, [0151] discloses when the target base station supports the network slice corresponding to the session B4, if the target base station can further allocate a resource for the corresponding network slice to the session B4, the target base station determines that the session B4 is an accepted session; Jin058, [0252] discloses the core network device may determine that the target base station does not support the network slice corresponding to the session requested to be handed over and the core network sends the first handover response message to the source base station and the first handover response message may be a first handover failure message that includes reject indication information used to indicate that the target base station does not support network slices corresponding to all the sessions requested to be handed over; Jin058, [0251] discloses the session requested to be handed over is set to a session E1 and the core network device may determine whether the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station includes indication information of a second network slice corresponding to the session E1 and If the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station includes the indication information of the second network slice corresponding to the session E1, it indicates that the target base station supports a network slice corresponding to the session E1 and If the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station does not include the indication information of the second network slice corresponding to the session E1, it indicates that the target base station does not support the network slice corresponding to the session E1; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the core network device identifies the sessions as accepted and transferrable or rejected and non-transferrable based on a classification indicating whether the target base station supports the requested sessions).
sending a response signal indicating transferable sessions; (Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message (i.e. reads on sending a response signal) to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session (i.e. reads on indicating transferable sessions) for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin058, [0253] discloses if the target base station supports network slices corresponding to all or some sessions, the core network device sends a second handover request to the target base station; Jin058, [0256] discloses the second handover request includes session identifiers of all sessions requested by the source base station to be handed over and indication information of a network slice corresponding to each session; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session).
and deactivating the non-transferable sessions (Jin058, [0180] discloses the path switch request may further include the identifier of the session that is rejected by the target base station so that the core network device performs releasing or deactivating the rejected session (deactivating the non-transferrable sessions); Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session).
Jin058 discloses classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable as well as disclosing various types of systems including 5G, LTE or 3G but fails to explicitly recite that said handover is between different types of systems “wherein the first platform and the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies”.
In a related field of endeavor, Jin449 discloses:
wherein the first platform and the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies (Jin449, [0122] discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system (i.e. reads on wherein the first platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies), and the second communications system is a 4G communications system (i.e. reads on wherein the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies). In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session; Jin449, [0121] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system; Jin449, [0214]-[0215] discloses the established PDU session is classified into a first PDU session and a second PDU session, The first PDU session is a PDU session capable of being handed over from the first communications system (for example, 5G) to the second communications system for example. 4G, or a PDU session that supports interworking. The first PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions. Different from the first PDU session, the second PDU session is a PDU session incapable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G, or a PDU session that does not support interworking. Similarly, the second PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions and discloses This design allows the UE to learn whether the established PDU session is capable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Jin058 to incorporate the teachings of Jin449 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to implement the transferring and handover of the various sessions via different systems (Jin449, [0121]-[0122]) and to allow the UE to learn whether a session is capable of being handed over from the first communication system to the second communication system (Jin449, [0214]-[0215]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable as taught by Jin058) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable, wherein the source system and the target systems are different types of systems such as 4G to 5G or 5G to 4G as taught by Jin449) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable (i.e. as taught by both Jin058 & Jin449) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 8, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The method as defined in claim 7, further comprising: (see claim 7).
transferring transferable sessions to the second platform (Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session; Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin449, [0214] discloses the established PDU session is classified into a first PDU session and a second PDU session, The first PDU session is a PDU session capable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system for example. 4G, or a PDU session that supports interworking. The first PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions. Different from the first PDU session, the second PDU session is a PDU session incapable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G, or a PDU session that does not support interworking. Similarly, the second PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions).
Regarding claim 9, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The method as defined in claim 8 (see claim 8).
wherein the deactivating of non-transferrable sessions occurs substantially simultaneously with the transferring of transferable sessions (Jin058, [0016] discloses receiving by a core network device a path switch request from a target base station, where the path switch request includes an identifier of a session that is accepted by the target base station and an identifier of a session that is rejected by the target base station and performing by the core network device, path switching on the accepted session and performing deactivating or releasing the rejected session and sending by the core network device, a path switch request response message to the target base station, where the pat switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session; Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the path switching and the deactivating of the sessions occurs substantially simultaneously as the core network device performs both the path switching and deactivating in response to receiving the path switch request that indicates both transferrable and non-transferrable sessions).
Regarding claim 10, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The method as defined in claim 7 (see claim 7).
wherein the first platform operates on 4G technology and the second platform operates on 2G or 3G technology (Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system; Jin449, [0121]-[0122] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system and discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system, and the second communications system is a 4G communications system. In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the source base station and target base station indicated in the invention may correspond to different base stations in different system including a 4G LTE base station for a source base station and a 3G base station or 5G base station for a target base station or vice versa).
Regarding claim 11, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The method as defined in claim 7 (see claim 7).
wherein the first platform operates on 4G technology and the second platform operates on 5G technology (Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system; Jin449, [0121]-[0122] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system and discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system, and the second communications system is a 4G communications system. In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the source base station and target base station indicated in the invention may correspond to different base stations in different system including a 4G LTE base station for a source base station and a 3G base station or 5G base station for a target base station or vice versa).
Regarding claim 14, Jin058 discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions for transferring sessions (Jin058, [0257] discloses the core network device may classify the sessions (i.e. reads on sessions)requested by the source base station to be handed over (i.e. reads on transferring) into a first session and a second session and a network slice corresponding to the first session is supported by the target base station and a network slice corresponding to the second session is not supported by the target base station; Jin058, Fig. 18 & [0390] discloses the core network device include a processor and a transceiver and the processor is configured to execute the application program code stored in the memory to implement actions performed by the core network device).
in conjunction with performing mobility management entity functions, the instructions when executed by one or more processors of a computing device, cause the computing device to perform a method comprising: (Jin058, [0103]-[0104] discloses a core network device is configured to provide user connection and perform user management and service carrying and for example, user connection establishment includes function such as mobility management (i.e. reads on performing mobility management entity functions) and paging and discloses the core network device may include an access and mobility management function AMF network element and is mainly responsible for signaling processing that is control plane functions including access control, mobility management, attachment and detachment and other function; Jin058, [0187] discloses the core network device performs releasing the rejected session is specifically the core network device releases a context corresponding to the session and for example, an AMF network element instructs an SMF network element to release the context corresponding to the session; Jin058, Fig. 18 & [0390] discloses the core network device include a processor and a transceiver and the processor is configured to execute the application program code stored in the memory to implement actions performed by the core network device).
classifying one or more sessions of the user equipment; receiving an indication to transfer from a first platform to a second platform, (Jin058, [0238] discloses the source base station and the core network device can communicate with each other and the first handover request (i.e. reads on receiving an indication) is used to request to hand over (i.e. reads on to transfer) the session of the terminal device (i.e. reads on a user equipment) from the source base station (i.e. reads on from a first platform) to the target base station (i.e. reads on to a second platform) and the first handover request includes information about the target base station and an identifier of a session requested to be handed over and the core network device may determine (i.e. reads on classifying) by using the identifier of the session requested to be handed over, a session to be handed over (i.e. reads on one or more sessions of a user equipment) and there may be one or more sessions requested to be handed over and different sessions may correspond to different network slices; Jin058, [0257] discloses the core network device may classify the sessions requested by the source base station to be handed over into a first session and a second session and a network slice corresponding to the first session is supported by the target base station and a network slice corresponding to the second session is not supported by the target base station; Jin058, [0101] discloses a terminal device may be a user equipment UE).
(Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system (i.e. reads on distinct network standard technologies) and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system).
based on session classification, identifying transferable and non-transferable sessions; (Jin058, [0257] discloses the core network device may classify the sessions (i.e. reads on based on session classification, identify) requested by the source base station to be handed over into a first session and a second session and a network slice corresponding to the first session is supported (i.e. reads on transferrable sessions) by the target base station and a network slice corresponding to the second session is not supported (i.e. reads on non-transferrable sessions) by the target base station; Jin058, [0179]-[0180] discloses the path switch request includes the identifier of the session that is accepted by the target base station and the core network device performs path switching on the accepted session (i.e. reads on transferrable sessions) and discloses the path switch request may further include the identifier of the session that is rejected by the target base station so that the core network device performs releasing or deactivating the rejected session (i.e. reads on non-transferrable sessions); Jin058, [0151] discloses when the target base station supports the network slice corresponding to the session B4, if the target base station can further allocate a resource for the corresponding network slice to the session B4, the target base station determines that the session B4 is an accepted session; Jin058, [0252] discloses the core network device may determine that the target base station does not support the network slice corresponding to the session requested to be handed over and the core network sends the first handover response message to the source base station and the first handover response message may be a first handover failure message that includes reject indication information used to indicate that the target base station does not support network slices corresponding to all the sessions requested to be handed over; Jin058, [0251] discloses the session requested to be handed over is set to a session E1 and the core network device may determine whether the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station includes indication information of a second network slice corresponding to the session E1 and If the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station includes the indication information of the second network slice corresponding to the session E1, it indicates that the target base station supports a network slice corresponding to the session E1 and If the indication information of the first supported network slice of the target base station does not include the indication information of the second network slice corresponding to the session E1, it indicates that the target base station does not support the network slice corresponding to the session E1; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the core network device identifies the sessions as accepted and transferrable or rejected and non-transferrable based on a classification indicating whether the target base station supports the requested sessions).
sending a response signal indicating transferable sessions; (Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message (i.e. reads on send a response signal) to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session (i.e. reads on indicating transferable sessions) for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin058, [0253] discloses if the target base station supports network slices corresponding to all or some sessions, the core network device sends a second handover request to the target base station; Jin058, [0256] discloses the second handover request includes session identifiers of all sessions requested by the source base station to be handed over and indication information of a network slice corresponding to each session; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session).
and deactivating the non-transferable(Jin058, [0180] discloses the path switch request may further include the identifier of the session that is rejected by the target base station so that the core network device performs releasing or deactivating the rejected session (deactivate the non-transferrable sessions); Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session).
Jin058 discloses classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable as well as disclosing various types of systems including 5G, LTE or 3G but fails to explicitly recite that said handover is between different types of systems “wherein the first platform and the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies”.
In a related field of endeavor, Jin449 discloses:
wherein the first platform and the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies (Jin449, [0122] discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system (i.e. reads on wherein the first platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies), and the second communications system is a 4G communications system (i.e. reads on wherein the second platform respectively represent distinct network standard technologies). In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session; Jin449, [0121] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system; Jin449, [0214]-[0215] discloses the established PDU session is classified into a first PDU session and a second PDU session, The first PDU session is a PDU session capable of being handed over from the first communications system (for example, 5G) to the second communications system for example. 4G, or a PDU session that supports interworking. The first PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions. Different from the first PDU session, the second PDU session is a PDU session incapable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G, or a PDU session that does not support interworking. Similarly, the second PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions and discloses This design allows the UE to learn whether the established PDU session is capable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Jin058 to incorporate the teachings of Jin449 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to implement the transferring and handover of the various sessions via different systems (Jin449, [0121]-[0122]) and to allow the UE to learn whether a session is capable of being handed over from the first communication system to the second communication system (Jin449, [0214]-[0215]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable as taught by Jin058) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable, wherein the source system and the target systems are different types of systems such as 4G to 5G or 5G to 4G as taught by Jin449) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of classifying sessions to be transferred or handed over from a source system to a target system as transferable or non-transferable (i.e. as taught by both Jin058 & Jin449) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 15, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium as defined in claim 14 wherein the method further comprises: (see claim 14).
transferring transferable sessions to the second platform (Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session; Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin449, [0214] discloses the established PDU session is classified into a first PDU session and a second PDU session, The first PDU session is a PDU session capable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system for example. 4G, or a PDU session that supports interworking. The first PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions. Different from the first PDU session, the second PDU session is a PDU session incapable of being handed over from the first communications system for example, 5G to the second communications system for example, 4G, or a PDU session that does not support interworking. Similarly, the second PDU session is not limited to one PDU session and may include a plurality of PDU sessions).
Regarding claim 16, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium as defined in claim 15 (see claim 15).
wherein the deactivating operation of non-transferrable sessions occurs substantially simultaneously with the transfer of transferable sessions (Jin058, [0016] discloses receiving by a core network device a path switch request from a target base station, where the path switch request includes an identifier of a session that is accepted by the target base station and an identifier of a session that is rejected by the target base station and performing by the core network device, path switching on the accepted session and performing deactivating or releasing the rejected session and sending by the core network device, a path switch request response message to the target base station, where the pat switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed; Jin058, [0185] discloses the core network device performs path switching on an accepted session and performs deactivating or releasing a rejected session; Jin058, [0191] discloses the core network device sends the path switch request response message to the target base station and the path switch request response message includes an identifier of a session for which path switch has been successfully completed. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the path switching and the deactivating of the sessions occurs substantially simultaneously as the core network device performs both the path switching and deactivating in response to receiving the path switch request that indicates both transferrable and non-transferrable sessions).
Regarding claim 17, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium as defined in claim 14 (see claim 14).
wherein the first platform operates on 4G technology and the second platform operates on 2G or 3G technology (Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system; Jin449, [0121]-[0122] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system and discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system, and the second communications system is a 4G communications system. In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the source base station and target base station indicated in the invention may correspond to different base stations in different system including a 4G LTE base station for a source base station and a 3G base station or 5G base station for a target base station or vice versa).
Regarding claim 18, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium as defined in claim 14 (see claim 14).
wherein the first platform operates on 4G technology and the second platform operates on 5G technology (Jin058, [0102] discloses the access network may include various forms of base station and in systems in which different radio access technologies are used, a device with a base station function may have different names and for example, the device is referred to as a gNB in a 5G system and is referred to as a eNB in an LTE system or is referred to as a NodeB in a 3G system; Jin449, [0121]-[0122] discloses The inter-communications-system handover method, the device, and the system provided in the embodiments of this application are mainly used for handing over a first session of UE in a first communications system from the first communications system to a second communications system. Essentially, handing over the first session is to create a second session in the second communications system and delete the original first session, where the second session corresponds to the first session. In addition, a third session of the UE incapable of being handed over from the first communications system to the second communications system needs to be deleted from the first communications system and discloses The first communications system may be a 5G communications system, and the second communications system is a 4G communications system. In this case, the first session is a PDU session, and the second session is a PDN connection. Alternatively, the first communications system is a 4G communications system, the second communications system is a 5G communications system, the first session is a PDN connection, and the second session is a PDU session. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the combination of the cited teachings together as a whole that the source base station and target base station indicated in the invention may correspond to different base stations in different system including a 4G LTE base station for a source base station and a 3G base station or 5G base station for a target base station or vice versa).
Claim(s) 6, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIN et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0282058 herein after referenced as Jin058) in view of Jin et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0068449 herein after referenced a Jin449) and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US Patent Publication 2020/0329420 herein after referenced as Ishikawa).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 12 and claim 19, Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses:
The computing system as defined in claim 1 wherein the classifying operation further comprises: (see claim 1) and The method as defined in claim 7 wherein the classifying operation further comprises: (see claim 7) and The non-transitory computer-readable medium as defined in claim 14 wherein the classifying operation of the method further comprises: (see claim 14).
Jin058 in view of Jin449 discloses a core network device that manages mobility that determines a service for a user equipment but fails to explicitly disclose the selection of gateways and therefore fails to disclose “conducting a domain name service query to determine service parameters of different gateways.”
In a related field of endeavor, Ishikawa discloses:
conducting a domain name service query to determine service parameters of different gateways (Ishikawa, [0066]-[0067] discloses the MME transmits DNS query on APN/NAPTR as an inquiry of P-GW candidates to the DNS and the DNS query on APN / APTR includes APN FQDN and a service parameter; Ishikawa, [0071] discloses the MME receives a reply of a P-GW group list from the DNS and selects a P-GW; Ishikawa, [0039] discloses the communication control apparatus transmits an address inquiry signal to the DNS in order to acquire an IP address of the GW to which the user equipment is caused to be connected and the address inquiry signal includes a name such as FQDN of the connection destination and a parameter indicating present or absence of a 5G function; Ishikawa, [0027] discloses the communication control apparatus is a node that performs mobility control; Ishikawa, [0010] discloses the invention provides a technique that makes it possible to cause a user equipment to connect to an appropriate gateway having a specific function and a gateway not having the specific function).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Jin058 in view of Jin449 to incorporate the teachings of Ishikawa for the purpose of providing the system with a means to allow the system to utilize a technique that makes it possible to cause a user equipment to connect to an appropriate gateway having a specific function and a gateway not having the specific function (Ishikawa, [0010]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of a core network device that manages mobility that determines a service for a user equipment as taught by Jin) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a core network device that manages mobility that determines a service for a user equipment, wherein the process of providing a service includes selecting an appropriate gateway based on a DNS query as taught by Ishikawa) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of a core network device that manages mobility that determines a service for a user equipment (i.e. as taught by Jin & Ishikawa) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645