DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 10 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9, 11 and 14-16 are amended.
Claims 1-9 and 11-16 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dow (US 6723050 B2) in view of Ustuner (US 6309356 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Dow teaches an ultrasonic probe having a plurality of array elements[Abstract; #12 in fig 1 is an ultrasonic array ];
a transmitting and receiving control circuit configured to control the ultrasonic probe to transmit ultrasonic waves to a region of interest and receive ultrasonic echoes of the transmitted ultrasonic waves, to obtain channel echo data[Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has control to transmit and receive ultrasonic waves];
a processor configured to generate an ultrasonic image according to the channel echo data[Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has control to transmit and receive ultrasonic waves and signal processor #22];
and a display configured to display the ultrasonic image[#40 in Fig 1];
wherein, the transmitting and receiving control circuit is configured to[Fig | shows the control system]:
control the ultrasonic probe to transmit the ultrasonic waves at a plurality of steering angles to the region of interest, respectively[Abstract has beam steering in various angles; Claim 19 and Col 1; Lines 10-20 and Col 2 Lines 40-45 has beam steering meaning steering angles]; and
control the ultrasonic probe to receive the ultrasonic echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted at the plurality of steering angles, to(intended use no patentable weight) obtain multiple groups of channel echo data that are at the plurality of steering angles, wherein each group of channel echo data is obtained by the ultrasonic echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted at one of the plurality of steering angles[Abstract, Fig 1, Col2; Lines 30-55 has receiving of echos. Claim 1 has echos along scanlines angularly arrayed with respect to each other]; and
wherein, the processor is configured to[Fig 1 has processor and beamformer and various other circuits]:
obtain a scan mode[Claim 18 has linear array and cartesian coordinate system meaning it is a scan mode] …..
beam-form the multiple groups of channel echo data with the same receiving-line grid comprising a plurality of grid points to obtain multiple groups of beam-formed data, [Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming and combining of echos along receiving scanlines; See also claim 1];
and generate the ultrasonic image based on the multiple groups of beam-formed data[Fig 1 has display of image on display #40]
Dow does not explicitly teach determine a same receiving-line grid corresponding to the plurality of steering angles based on the obtained scan mode
Ustuner teaches determine a same receiving-line grid corresponding to the plurality of steering angles based on the obtained scan mode[Fig 56, 57 and Col 14 Lines 35-45 has grid with angles for receive scan lines; Claim 2 has different steering angles with receiving based on steering angles. Claim 25 has simultaneous waves with different steering angles meaning received waves contain different steering angles. Abstract has image synthesized by adding component beams for each image point meaning. Col 1, Lines 10-25 has multiple receive events/receive signals per scan line meaning different steering angles]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the image processing of Dow with the scan mode along receive line grids of Ustner in order to image locations along various scan lines.
Regarding claim 7, Dow teaches transmitting, via an ultrasonic probe, ultrasonic waves at a plurality of steering angles to a region of interest, respectively[Fig 1 has ultrasonic probe; Abstract has beam steering in various angles; Claim 19 and Col 1; Lines 10-20 and Col 2 Lines 40-45 has beam steering meaning steering angles];
receiving, via the ultrasonic probe, ultrasonic echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted at the plurality of steering angles, to obtain multiple groups of channel echo data that are at the plurality of steering angles, wherein each group of channel echo data is obtained by the ultrasonic echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted at one of the plurality of steering angles;[Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has receiving of echos. Claim 1 has echos along scanlines angularly arrayed with respect to each other]
obtaining a scan mode[Claim 18 has linear array and cartesian coordinate system meaning it is a scan mode] and …..
beam-forming the multiple groups of channel echo data with a same receiving-line grid comprising a plurality of grid points to obtain multiple groups of beam-formed data, [ Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming and combining of echos along receiving scanlines; See also claim 1];
and generating an ultrasonic image based on the multiple groups of beam-formed data[Fig 1 has display of image on display #40].
Dow does not explicitly teach determining a same receiving-line grid corresponding to the plurality of steering angles based on the obtained scan mode;
Ustuner teaches determine a same receiving-line grid corresponding to the plurality of steering angles based on the obtained scan mode[Fig 56, 57 and Col 14 Lines 35-45 has grid with angles for receive scan lines; Claim 2 has different steering angles with receiving based on steering angles. Claim 25 has simultaneous waves with different steering angles meaning received waves contain different steering angles. Abstract has image synthesized by adding component beams for each image point meaning. Col 1, Lines 10-25 has multiple receive events/receive signals per scan line meaning different steering angles]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the image processing of Dow along receive line grids of Ustner in order to image locations along various scan lines.
Regarding claim 16, Dow discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising a program, which when executed by a processor, causes the processor to[Fig 1 has processor]:
obtain a scan mode[Claim 18 has linear array and cartesian coordinate system meaning it is a scan mode] and …..
beam-form multiple groups of channel echo data with a same receiving-line grid comprising a plurality of grid points to obtain multiple groups of beam-formed data[ Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming and combining of echos along receiving scanlines; See also claim 1],
the multiple groups of channel echo data being obtained by transmitting ultrasonic waves at a plurality of steering angles and receiving ultrasonic echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted at the plurality of steering angles[Abstract has beam steering in various angles; Claim 19 and Col 1; Lines 10-20 and Col 2 Lines 40-45 has beam steering meaning steering angles to transmit and receive ultrasonic waves],
and each group of channel echo data being obtained by the ultrasonic echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted at one of the plurality of steering angles[Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming and combining of echos along receiving scanlines; See also claim 1],
and generate an ultrasonic image based on the multiple groups of beam-formed data[Fig 1 has display of image on display #40].
Dow does not explicitly teach determine a same receiving-line grid corresponding to a plurality of steering angles based on the obtained scan mode;
Ustuner teaches determine a same receiving-line grid corresponding to a plurality of steering angles based on the obtained scan mode[Fig 56, 57 and Col 14 Lines 35-45 has grid with angles for receive scan lines; Claim 2 has different steering angles with receiving based on steering angles. Claim 25 has simultaneous waves with different steering angles meaning received waves contain different steering angles. Abstract has image synthesized by adding component beams for each image point meaning. Col 1, Lines 10-25 has multiple receive events/receive signals per scan line meaning different steering angles]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the image processing of Dow along receive line grids of Ustner in order to image locations along various scan lines.
Regarding claim 2, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein, for one grid point of the same receiving-line grid for one steering angle, the processor is configured to: determines a receiving aperture based on a physical spatial position of the one grid point and the one steering angle[Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming along certain scanlines and each scanline has steering meaning selection based on angle];
and beam-form, based on the determined receiving aperture, the group of channel echo data obtained by the ultrasonic echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted at the one steering angle[Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming along certain scanlines and each scanline has steering meaning beamforming based on angle; Claim 1 also has echo signals based along angularly arrayed scanline].
Regarding claim 3, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein the processor determining the receiving aperture based on the physical spatial position of the one grid point and the one steering angle comprises: determining an intersection point of a straight line passing through the physical spatial position of the one grid point and forming an angle equal to the one steering angle with respect to a normal of the ultrasonic probe with the ultrasonic probe[Figs 6,7,8,9 deal with lines and intersections and angles based on the view; Col 3; Lines 25-30 and Col 5, Lines 25-35 for intersections See also Claim 13 concerning intersections];
and determining the receiving aperture based on the intersection point. [Figs 6,7,8,9 deal with lines and intersections and angles based on the view; Col 3; Lines 25-30 and Col 5, Lines 25- 35 for intersections See also Claim 13 concerning intersections].
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein the processor is further configured to perform a spatial compounding on the multiple groups of beam-formed data obtained by the beam-forming with the same receiving-line grid. [Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming and combining of echos along receiving scanlines meaning it is a spatial compounding of data with the same receiving line grid; See also claim 1].
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein the same receiving-line grid is a receiving-line grid corresponding to steering angles being 0. [Fig 5, Col 3 lines 40-55 has various angles meaning if only one slice say #64 is considered the steering angle is zero].
Regarding claim 6, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein, the processor generating the ultrasonic image based on the multiple groups of beam-formed data comprises: performing digital scan conversion on the beam-formed data to obtain ultrasonic image pixel data for display[Claim 5 has rendering pixels for the display by volume renderer meaning image pixel data is made from the scan to display the image];
and the display is configured to display the ultrasonic image pixel data. [Fig | had display #40 to show the image].
Regarding claim 8, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein beam-forming the multiple groups of channel echo data with receiving-line grid comprising a plurality of grid points comprises: for one grid point of the receiving-line grid for one steering angle: determining a receiving aperture based on a physical spatial position of the one grid point and the one steering angle[Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming along certain scanlines and each scanline has steering meaning selection based on angle];
and beam-forming, based on the determined receiving aperture, the group of channel echo data obtained by the ultrasonic echoes of the ultrasonic waves transmitted at the one steering angle. [Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming along certain scanlines and each scanline has steering meaning beamforming based on angle; Claim 1 also has echo signals based along angularly arrayed scanline].
Regarding claim 9, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein determining the receiving aperture based on the physical spatial position of the one grid point and the one steering angle comprises: determining an intersection point of a straight line passing through the physical spatial position of the one grid point and forming an angle equal to the one steering angle with respect to a normal of the ultrasonic probe with the ultrasonic probe[Figs 6,7,8,9 deal with lines and intersections and angles based on the view; Col 3; Lines 25-30 and Col 5, Lines 25-35 for intersections See also Claim 13 concerning intersections];
and determining the receiving aperture based on the intersection point. [Figs 6,7,8,9 deal with lines and intersections and angles based on the view; Col 3; Lines 25-30 and Col 5, Lines 25- 35 for intersections See also Claim 13 concerning intersections].
Regarding claim 11, Dow, as modified, teaches the same receiving-line grid is a receiving-line grid under a Cartesian coordinate system when the scan mode is a linear array scan mode[Claim 18 has linear array and cartesian coordinate system and converting between them];
or the same receiving-line grid is a receiving-line grid under a polar coordinate system when the scan mode is a convex array scan mode or a sector scan mode. [Claim 11 has conversion from sector scan; Title, Abstract, Claim 4 have polar coordinate system].
Regarding claim 14, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein performing the spatial compounding on the multiple groups of beam-formed data obtained by the beam-forming with the same receiving-line grid comprises: for one grid point of the same receiving-line grid, performing the spatial compounding on the multiple groups of beam-formed data by averaging, weighted averaging, taking a maximum value or taking a median value. [Abstract, Fig 1, Col 2; Lines 30-55 has beamforming and combining of echos along receiving scanlines meaning it is a spatial compounding of data with the same receiving line grid; See also claim 1; See Col 3 Lines 35 -40, Col 4, Lines 25-35 and Claim 3 for averaging].
Regarding claim 15, Dow, as modified, teaches wherein generating the ultrasonic image based on the multiple groups of beam-formed data comprises: performing a digital scan conversion on the beam- formed data to obtain ultrasonic image pixel data for display. [Claim 5 has rendering pixels for the display by volume renderer meaning image pixel data is made from the scan to display the image].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645