DETAILED ACTION
Claims 9-26 are pending and under consideration in this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, as well as each of the dependent claims, recites a suppressant formulation. However, it is unclear from the text of the claim what exactly this formulation is suppressing. Accordingly, it is not possible to determine which formulations would meet the limitations of the claims because it is unclear what type of suppressing properties the formulation must include.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 13-18, 22-23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5352444 (“Cox”).
Regarding claim 9, Cox teaches a method of treating biomass waste (see e.g. column 9, lines 26-30). The method includes providing a formulation that can comprise at least one free-radical scavenger (see e.g. col. 18, lines 36-40, showing that the composition includes N and S radical scavengers). The formulation is then applied to the biomass waste to produce a treated biomass (see e.g. col. 17, lines 17-23). Cox teaches that the formulation is applied to the biomass waste, which means that the biomass waste has been isolated. Although Cox does not specifically teach that applying the formulation to the biomass waste reduces the self-exothermicity of the biomass waste, the instant application indicates that using a radical scavenger as taught by Cox does in fact reduce self-exothermicity (see e.g. instant specification at paragraph [0012]).
Regarding claim 13, Cox teaches that the biomass waste can be transported to a disposal site (see e.g. col. 3, lines 57-62).
Regarding claim 14, Cox teaches that the formulation can be applied in repeated treatments over long periods of time (see e.g. col. 29, lines 32-49). Cox further teaches that the formulation can be applied on waste already disposed of in a landfill (see e.g. col. 29, line 66 to col. 30, line 4).
Regarding claim 15, Cox teaches that the waste can be transported using pipelines or augers (see e.g. col. 17, lines 20-21).
Regarding claim 16, Cox teaches that the waste can be transported using a vehicle such as a truck (see e.g. col. 17, lines 20-21).
Regarding claim 17, Cox teaches that the containers can be treated with the formulation, which, because the containers are reusable, would occur prior to adding the waste (see e.g. col. 17, lines 18-21).
Regarding claim 18, Cox teaches that the waste can be dewatered (see e.g. col. 6, lines 27-30).
Regarding claim 22, Cox teaches that the formulation can include water or an organic solvent (see e.g. col. 16, lines 63-66).
Regarding claim 23, Cox specifically teaches that the solvent can be propylene glycol, which has a flash point of over 100 °F (see e.g. col. 28, lines 6-12).
Regarding claim 25, Cox teaches that the radical scavengers can comprise more than 2% of the formulation, which overlaps with the claimed range (see e.g. col. 18, lines 36-40). When water is used as the solvent, it is in an amount of 10-99.1%, which includes the entirety of the claimed range (see e.g. col. 28, line 8).
Regarding claim 26, Cox teaches that, in certain embodiments, a carboxylic acid can be included in the formulation (see e.g. col. 15, lines 62-65). As recited in claim 26, carboxylic acids are considered metal deactivators.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cox as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of US 5695650 (“Held”).
Regarding claim 19, Cox teaches the limitations of claim 18, including the importance of dewatering the waste to reduce volume. Cox does not specifically teach that the dewatering comprises a first and second dewatering step. However, Held teaches a method for removing water from biomass waste (see e.g. col. 1, lines 21-30). Held teaches that, after initial dewatering, the waste still retains about 65-85% water and that this water can be reduced by a subsequent dewatering step (see e.g. col. 1, lines 59-65). Accordingly, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a two-step dewatering process as taught by Held in order to remove further water from the biomass waste.
Regarding claim 20, Held teaches that the water removed is returned to the wastewater treatment facility (see e.g. col. 4, lines 32-34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12, 21, and 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 10 recites that the formulation comprises and organic carbonate solvent. Similarly, claim 24 recites specific carbonate solvents used with the formulation. Cox does not teach or fairly suggest the use of any carbonate solvent. Claims 11-12 depend from claim 10 and are allowable over the prior art for the same reason.
Claim 21 recites a list of specific radical scavengers used in the formulation. These radical scavengers are fundamentally different from the types of radical scavengers disclosed by Cox, which are limited to metal compounds (see e.g. col. 22, lines 38-41). There is no teaching or suggestion in Cox that would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to use the organic based radical scavengers recited in claim 21.
Conclusion
/E.S.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736