DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 8 and 15, recite, “in response to……that a person associated with the device is approaching or inside the vehicle, pairing the device with the vehicle, without using an identity of the person.”
The applicant argues that para. [0059] of the SPEC disclosing the determination of the association of Person 106 and Device 108 using the locations, as support for “without using an identity of the person”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, the examiner submits that para. [0059] of the SPEC discloses: ” For example, the data in the identity of person 106 may include details of device 108 (e.g., MAC ID, etc.), and the data in the details of the device may include the identity of person 106.” The examiner submits that MAC ID (media access control ID) of Device 108 is known to be used for pairing the device. Additionally, para. [0035] of the SPEC discloses: “Thus, appearances of the phrases "example embodiments", "in some embodiments", "in other embodiments," or other similar language, throughout this specification do not necessarily all refer to the same group of embodiments, and the described features, structures, or characteristics may be combined in any suitable manner in one or more embodiments.”
Thus, the examiner submits that “pairing the device with the vehicle, without using an identity of the person” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-4, 6, 8-11, 13, 15-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierfelice et al. (US. Pub. No. 2015/0093993 A1; hereinafter “Pierfelice”) in view of Scott et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0284098 A1; hereinafter “Scott”) and Chmeiseh et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0252410 A; hereinafter “CHMEISEH”)
Regarding claim 1, Pierfelice teaches a method (see Pierfelice, fig. 5), comprising:
in response to detecting that a device associated with a vehicle is in proximity (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 510, para. [0078]) and a person associated with the device is in proximity (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 504, para. [0075]), pairing the device with the vehicle (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 518, para. [0079]).
Pierfelice is silent to teaching that detecting proximity comprising detecting approaching or inside the vehicle; and pairing the device without using an identity of the person.
In the same field of endeavor, Scott teaching a method wherein detecting proximity comprising detecting approaching or inside the vehicle (See Scott, fig. 8, person 16-1, mobile 16-2; fig. 9, zone, para. [0019,41-42]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pierfelice with the teaching of Scott in order to improve antenna performance and vehicle security (see Scott, para. [0002-3]).
The combination of Pierfelice and Scott is silent to teaching that wherein pairing the device without using an identity of the person.
In the same field of endeavor, CHMEISEH teaches a method wherein pairing the device without using an identity of the person (see CHMEISEH, fig. 3, 6, para. [0045,66-67], pairing via QR code without passenger entering code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pierfelice and Scott with the teaching of CHMEISEH in order to provide secure pairings and maintain passenger privacy (see CHMEISEH, para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the determining that the person is approaching the vehicle or is in the vehicle comprises:
analyzing data from a sensor of the vehicle, wherein the data comprises information about an area inside and outside the vehicle (see Pierfelice, para. [0067,72-73], Scott, fig. 8,9).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH teaches the method of claim 1, comprising
in response to detecting that an other device is not proximate to the vehicle but is within pairing distance of the vehicle (see Pierfelice, fig. 1, devices 162,172,182, outside, not inside, para. [0029]) and that the other person associated with the other device is not in the vehicle (see Pierfelice, fig. 1, persons 160,170,182, outside),not pairing the other device with the vehicle (see Pierfelice, para. [0077], ignoring).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH teaches the method of claim 1, comprising:
detecting that a plurality of devices associated with the vehicle are approaching or inside the vehicle (see Pierfelice, fig. 1, 162,172,182, para. [0029]); and
pairing with a device from the plurality of devices that is associated with a person closet to a driver's seat of the vehicle (see Pierfelice, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH teaches the method of claim 1, comprises:
in response to the detecting that the person is approaching the vehicle (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 502,504), reserving the device for pairing (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 508,510, para. [0077], ignoring not associated devices).
Regarding claim 8, Pierfelice teaches a system, comprising:
a processor that executes instructions stored in (see Pierfelice, para. [0054]) a memory (see Pierfelice, para. [0054]) to configured the processor to:
in response to is being detected that a device associated with a vehicle is in proximity (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 510, para. [0078]) and a person associated with the device is in proximity (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 504, para. [0075]), pair the device with the vehicle (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 518, para. [0079]).
Pierfelice is silent to teaching that detecting proximity comprising detecting approaching or inside the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Scott teaching a device wherein detecting proximity comprising detecting approaching or inside the vehicle (See Scott, fig. 8, person 16-1, mobile 16-2; fig. 9, zone, para. [0019,41-42]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pierfelice with the teaching of Scott in order to improve antenna performance and vehicle security (see Scott, para. [0002-3]).
The combination of Pierfelice and Scott is silent to teaching that wherein pairing the device without using an identity of the person.
In the same field of endeavor, CHMEISEH teaches a system wherein pairing the device without using an identity of the person (see CHMEISEH, fig. 3, 6, para. [0045,66-67], pairing via QR code without passenger entering code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pierfelice and Scott with the teaching of CHMEISEH in order to provide secure pairings and maintain passenger privacy (see CHMEISEH, para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 9-11 and 13, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2-4, and 6, respectively.
Regarding claim 15, Pierfelice teaches a computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor (see Pierfelice, para. [0054]), cause the processor to perform:
in response to detecting that a device associated with a vehicle is in proximity (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 510, para. [0078]) and a person associated with the device is in proximity (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 504, para. [0075]), pairing the device with the vehicle (see Pierfelice, fig. 5, 518, para. [0079]).
Pierfelice is silent to teaching that detecting proximity comprising detecting approaching or inside the vehicle.
In the same field of endeavor, Scott teaching a device wherein detecting proximity comprising detecting approaching or inside the vehicle (See Scott, fig. 8, person 16-1, mobile 16-2; fig. 9, zone, para. [0019,41-42]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pierfelice with the teaching of Scott in order to improve antenna performance and vehicle security (see Scott, para. [0002-3]).
The combination of Pierfelice and Scott is silent to teaching that wherein pairing the device without using an identity of the person.
In the same field of endeavor, CHMEISEH teaches a device wherein pairing the device without using an identity of the person (see CHMEISEH, fig. 3, 6, para. [0045,66-67], pairing via QR code without passenger entering code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pierfelice and Scott with the teaching of CHMEISEH in order to provide secure pairings and maintain passenger privacy (see CHMEISEH, para. [0008]).
Regarding claims 16-18, and 20, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claims 2-4, and 6, respectively.
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Nishidai et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0251335 A1; hereinafter “Nishidai”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH is silent to teaching that comprising:
in response to detecting that the person associated with the device is no longer in or approaching the vehicle, and that the device associated with the person remains in the vehicle, unpairing the device.
In the same field of endeavor, Nishidai teaches a method comprising
in response to detecting that the person associated with the device is no longer in or approaching the vehicle (see Nishidai, fig. 10, para. [0068], key 2 is outside), and that the device associated with the person remains in the vehicle (see Nishidai, fig. 10, smartphone 3), unpairing the device (see Nishidai, fig. 10, para. [0068], cancel pair).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH with the teaching of Nishidai in order to provide convenient settings and connections between wireless devices and vehicles (see Nishidai, para. [0004]).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, the dependent claims are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 5.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Seymour et al. (US. Pub. No. 2014/0018000 A1; hereinafter “Seymour”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH teaches the method of claim 1.
The combination of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH is silent to teaching that comprising:
detecting that an other device associated with the vehicle is approaching or inside the vehicle;
detecting that the other device is associated with the person;
determining a higher priority; and
pairing with whichever of the device or the other device has a higher priority.
Seymour teaches a method comprising
detecting that an other device associated with the vehicle is approaching or inside the vehicle (see Seymour, fig. 4, 410, para. [0021-22]);
detecting that the other device is associated with the person (see Seymour, fig. 4, 422, para. [0024]);
determining a higher priority (see Seymour, fig. 4, 430, para. [0025]); and
pairing with whichever of the device or the other device has a higher priority (see Seymour, fig. 4, 432, para. [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Pierfelice, Scott and CHMEISEH with the teaching of Seymour in order to provide convenient selection and connection for wireless devices in vehicles (see Seymour, para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, the dependent claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112 rejection, the applicant argues that the teaching of the association determination between the device and the person by either identity or distance provides support for limitation of “pairing the device with the vehicle without using the identity of the person”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, the examiner submits that the data in the identity of person 106 may include details of device 108 (e.g., MAC ID, etc.). It is well known that pairing two devices using MAC ID of those devices.
Regarding the 103 rejection of the claim 1, the applicant argues that CHMEISEH is silent to teaching “pairing without using the identity of the person”. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Specifically, CHMEISEH teaches a method wherein pairing the device without using an identity of the person (see CHMEISEH, fig. 3, 6, para. [0045,66-67], pairing via QR code without passenger entering code). Here, the examiner submits that QR code is not the identity of the person.
Regarding claim 5, the examiner submits that key 2 is outside reads on the teaching of detecting that the person associated with the device is no longer in or approaching the vehicle, because the key is carried by the person.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEN W HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648