DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, 10, 12, 16, 17 are currently amended.
Claim Objections
In claim 13, consider -- The coping tool of claim 12, wherein dust and debris are generated from the workpiece during a coping operationsuch that the dust and debris travels tangentially from the abrasive disc into the channel of the dust shroud and towards an outlet port that is in fluid communication with a dust collector.
In claim 20, consider -- The coping tool of claim 19, wherein dust and debris are generated from the workpiece during a coping operation such that the dust and debris travels through the channel of the dust shroud and along the airflow toward an outlet port that is in fluid communication with a dust collector.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto (JP 2010269409 A) in view of Segiel (US 20030224707 A1) and as evidenced by Engineering Toolbox (NPL doc U).
With respect to claim 1, A power tool used to perform a coping cut (disk grinder 1, fig. 1, [0045], this can be used for a coping cut, preamble not limiting as intended use see MPEP 2111.02), the power tool comprising:
a main housing (housing 2, fig. 1, [0045]);
a motor disposed within the main housing (brushless motor 6, fig. 2; [0047]);
a drive shaft driven by the motor about a rotational axis (drive shaft 17, fig. 2, [0047,0049]);
a handle extending from the main housing (tail cover 4, fig. 1, is structurally a handle; [0045], as evidenced by how tail cover 104, fig. 10 can be held as in [0004] - see also the attached definition of handle which means “the part by which a thing is held, carried, or controlled”); and
an abrasive disc coupled to and driven by the drive shaft about the rotational axis (abrasive disk 10, fig. 1 [0045-0046]), the abrasive disc having an outer diameter of at least 3 inches (diameter of 100mm in [0046]; 100mm = 3.93 in),
wherein the motor is an outer rotor brushless direct current motor capable of rotating at 4,000 surface feet per minute (the disk rotates at 4300 rpm in [0046], and given an outer circumference of (pi* 3.93in = 12.34 in = 1.02ft) at 4300 rpm, there would be a rotation of (4300 rpm * 1.02 ft = 4386 ft/min at the outer circumference) at 1.5 inch-pounds of torque (max power output of 1400 W as in [0063], as per Engineering Toolbox, page 1, the moment/torque of the motor is T = 30*P/(pi*n_rpm); thus the torque would be (30*1400)/(pi*4300) = 3.11 Nm = 27.52 lb-in), however does not explicitly disclose a dust shroud pivotably coupled to the main housing by a pivot joint defining a pivot axis, the dust shroud is movable away from the abrasive disc about the pivot axis, wherein the pivot axis is parallel to the rotational axis of the drive shaft.
Segiel, in the same field of endeavor, related to power tools (including grinding tools as in [0002]) teaches of a dust shroud (15, fig. 4; [0031]) pivotably coupled to the main housing by a pivot joint defining a pivot axis (coupled at a pivot joint at 19, fig. 4; relative to a main housing 30 at figs. 6 and 9; [0039], it is noted that a drive shaft 52 extends from the housing in fig. 6), the dust shroud is movable away from the abrasive disc about the pivot axis (figs. 7-8 show how the dust shroud 15 pivots relative to [grinding] disk blade 38, [0039]; the tool of Tanimoto is a grinder as noted in [0045] of Tanimoto), wherein the pivot axis is parallel to the rotational axis of the drive shaft (parallel to drive shaft shown in center of rotation in figs. 7-8; the drive shaft 52 is shown relative to disk 38 in fig. 6). Segiel teaches that this arrangement provides for a cover that enables use in cutting wall corners ([0017]), while providing good visibility while collecting dust ([0011-0012]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Tanimoto with the dust shroud arrangement of Segiel, for the purpose of allowing cutting of wall corners, while providing good visibility while collecting dust.
With respect to claim 4, Tanimoto, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, and further teaches: a fan disposed within the main housing between the abrasive disc and the motor, wherein the fan is driven by the drive shaft to induce an airflow (Tanimoto, fan 19, fig. 2; [0049], the fan causes an airflow and is driven by shaft 17 and by motor 6, fig. 2)
With respect to claim 5, Tanimoto, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches: wherein the fan is coupled to the drive shaft (Tanimoto, see arrangement of shaft 17 and fan 19, fig. 2; [0049]).
With respect to claim 6, Tanimoto as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches: wherein the fan is coupled to a spindle of the abrasive disc (Tanimoto, the abrasive disk has a spindle as in [0045], the fan is coupled to a spindle of the abrasive disk, as both are driven by the motor, and indirectly though the overall assembly of the tool).
With respect to claim 7, Tanimoto as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches: wherein the fan is integrated with the abrasive disc (Tanimoto, fan 19 is integrated with abrasive disk 10 in that the elements are arranged together in one tool, as shown in fig. 2; the examiner notes that a fan that is both on the back side of the abrasive disk and in the housing is not shown in the instant disclosure; claim 8 is noted to be dependent on claim 4).
With respect to claim 8, Tanimoto as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4 above, and further teaches: wherein the dust shroud is disposed at least partially around the abrasive disc (Segiel, figs. 7-8 show how the dust shoring 15 is placed relative to [grinding] disk blade 38, [0039]).
With respect to claim 10, Tanimoto as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 above, and further teaches: wherein the dust shroud includes a cut zone opening where the abrasive disc is exposed, allowing a workpiece to pass through and engage the abrasive disc (Segiel, figs. 7-8 show how the dust shroud 15 is pivots relative to [grinding] disk blade 38, [0039] to provide for a cut zone; Segiel, [0017] also describes this motion).
With respect to claim 11, Tanimoto as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 above, and further teaches: wherein the dust shroud includes a movable segment operable to vary a size and/or shape of the cut zone opening (Segiel, figs. 7-8 show how the dust shroud 15 itself (the movable segment or portion of the dust shroud) pivots relative to [grinding] disk blade 38, [0039] to provide for a cut zone [which varies in size depending on how far it is pivoted consistent with instant figs. 25-26; Segiel, [0017] also describes this motion).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto (JP 2010269409 A) in view of Segiel (US 20030224707 A1) and further in view of Schadow (US 20170106520 A1)
With respect to claim 2, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses: a battery (Tanimoto, [0067] - configured to supply power to the motor), however does not explicitly disclose a battery that is removably coupled to the handle and configured to provide power to the motor.
Schadow, in the same field of endeavor, related to power tools ([0034,0078]), teaches of providing a battery as part of a grinding tool (battery 14, fig. 2, [0079]), the battery is removably coupled to the handle (directly or indirectly through the assembly of the tool, battery is push in as in [0083], so it is either reversibly, or irreversibly removable, see [0018]) and configured to provide power to the motor (the battery supplies the tool with electricity, so it can power the motor as in [0007]). Schadow teaches that this provides the tool with flexibility ([0007,0018]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Tanimoto with the battery arrangement taught by Schadow for the purpose of increasing flexibly.
With respect to claim 3, Tanimoto, as modified, teaches the limitations of claim 1 above, however does not explicitly teach a tool chuck on the drive shaft that receives the abrasive disc, such that the drive shaft provides a direct drive from the motor to the abrasive disc.
Schadow, in the same field of endeavor, related to power tools ([0034,0078]), teaches a tool chuck on the drive shaft that receives the abrasive disc (collet 24c, fig. 11a, [0132], that receives a grinding tool) such that the drive shaft provides a direct drive from the motor to the abrasive disc (the drive is by motor electronically commuted [brushless] motor 12c, fig. 11a, which is direct drive as in [0010] without gears, which minimizes wear with high torque). Schadow teaches this arrangement minimizes wear while providing high torque in a compact arrangement by omitting gears ([0010]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Tanimoto with the direct drive shaft of Schadow for the purpose of minimizing wear while providing high torque, and saving space by omitting gears.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimoto (JP 2010269409 A) in view of Segiel (US 20030224707 A1) and further in view of Frech (WO 2007080003 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Tanimoto discloses the limitations of claim 8 above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the airflow induced by the fan flows into the dust shroud, around the abrasive disc, and through an outlet port that is in fluid communication with a dust collector.
Frech, in the same field of endeavor, related to power tools ([0004]), provides for an arrangement wherein the airflow induced by the fan flows into the dust shroud (fan 12, fig. 3; [0042], provides for a cooling air from openings 44, also providing for air flow into the shroud from opens 36, fig. 3), around the abrasive disc (the air flow is positioned around disk 30, fig. 3, [0033]), and through an outlet port that is in fluid communication with a dust collector (to dust collector 14, fig .3, through outlet 36, fig. 3; [0035-0036]). Frech teaches that this arrangement eliminates the need for a separate fan to remove dust and makes the machine easier to handle ([0009]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Tanimoto with the air flow arrangement of Frech, for the purpose of eliminating the need for a separate fan to remove dust and makes the machine easier to handle.
Claim(s) 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuele (US 20140235145 A1) in view of Yang (CN 104369109 A) and Schadow (US 20170106520 A1)
With respect to claim 12, Schuele discloses: A coping tool (angle grinder in [0021], this can be used for a coping cut, preamble not limiting as intended use see MPEP 2111.02) comprising: a main housing (24, fig. 2; [0021]) a motor disposed within the main housing that rotates (motor as drive unit 10, fig. 2, [0024], is a EC motor, the drive unit causes rotation motion through shaft 46); a handle extending from the main housing (handle 42, fig. 1; [0023]) ; an abrasive disc coupled to and driven by the motor about a rotational axis (abrasive disk 38, fig. 1; [0022], driven through motor through receiver 36, fig. 2; [0024]); and a dust shroud coupled to the main housing and disposed at least partially around the abrasive disc (40, fig. 1; [0022]), the dust shroud including a channel extending along the dust shroud adjacent the abrasive disc (see gap between dust shroud 40 and the disk 38 in fig. 1), and a cut zone opening through which a workpiece may pass to engage the abrasive disc (dust shroud 40 is open in front), however does not explicitly disclose, wherein the motor rotates around the same axis (“motor disposed within the main housing that rotates about a rotational axis”) as the abrasive disc (“ an abrasive disc coupled to and driven by the motor about the rotational axis”) and wherein the channel is U-shaped and surrounds least a portion of a first planar surface of the abrasive disc, at least a portion of a second planar surface of the abrasive disc, and at least a portion of a circumferential edge of the abrasive disc, and wherein the cut zone opening is adjustable in size and/or shape to accommodate the workpiece. The examiner, however notes that the abrasive disk, being a dish has a first planar surface, a second planar surface and a circumferential edge and surrounds an outer periphery of the abrasive disc (see shape of disk 38, fig. 1, which provides an understanding that the disk has a front [first planar surface] and back side [second planar surface], and edge.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, relating to power tools (specifically grinding in [0002-0003]) teaches of a dust shroud wherein the channel disposed at least partially around a abrasive disc is U-shaped (U shaped interior of shell 12 [with two segments symmetrically disposed], fig. 3; [0028], which is disposed inside the cavity of the shell in [0029]) and surrounds least a portion of a first planar surface of the grinding disc, at least a portion of a second planar surface of the disc, and at least a portion of a circumferential edge of the abrasive disc (the shroud surrounds the grinding disk as in [0008] with the grinding wheel at an arc edge 110, fig. 3 as in [0028], with the surrounding aspect understood to cover the two planar surfaces of the grinding disk, and a portion of the circumferential edge thereof, only exposing the surface when retracted as in [0033]), and wherein the cut zone opening is adjustable in size and/or shape to accommodate the workpiece (the shell 12 can retract into 11, fig. 3, as in [0033]). Yang teaches that this arrangement provides for improved safety as in [0008]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele with the dust shroud of Yang, for the purpose of improved safety.
Regarding having the motor and abrasive disk rotate around the same axis, Schadow, in the same field of endeavor, as related to a power tool ([0074]) teaches of an arrangement where a motor (12a, fig. 2, [0074]) disposed within the main housing (30a, fig. 2; [0076]) that rotates about a rotational axis (has a spindle [0076] that directly drives the rotating tool 25a, fig. 2; [0078]). Schadow teaches that this arrangement eliminates a gearbox and saves space ([0076-0077]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele such that a motor is disposed within the main housing that rotates about a rotational axis, as taught by Schadow for the purpose of saving space.
With respect to claim 14, Schuele as modified teaches the limitations of claim 12 above, and further teaches herein the dust shroud includes a plurality of movable segments operable to vary a size and/or shape of the cut zone opening (Yang, the shell 12 [with multiple segments] can retract into 11, fig. 3, as in [0033], providing for a different size cut zone depending on how far it is retracted).
Claim(s) 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuele (US 20140235145 A1) in view of Yang (CN 104369109 A), and Schadow (US 20170106520 A1) and further in view of Tagscherer (US 20140342645 A1).
With respect to claim 13, Schuele as modified teaches the limitations of claim 12 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein dust and debris are generated from the workpiece during a coping operation (Yang, [0008] evidences that dust/debris is generated during grinding) wherein dust/debris travels into the channel of the dust shroud (Yang, [0008] provides for wherein the grinding chips are covered by the dust shroud - thus the chips generated enter the dust shroud channel which contains the grinding disk) however does not explicitly teach wherein the dust/debris travels tangentially from the abrasive disc into the channel of the dust shroud and towards an outlet port that is in fluid communication with a dust collector.
Tagscherer, in the same field of endeavor, related to power tools (particularly angle grinding as in [0027]) teaches of an arrangement with a dust shroud (a dust shroud 10, fig. 1 [0031]) where the dust/debris travels tangentially from the abrasive disc into the channel of the dust shroud and towards an outlet port that is in fluid communication with a dust collector is collected to a vacuum cleaner or dust collector (as in [0031], the travels through a channel 48, fig. 1 [has outlet at end where vacuum is connected], which is tangential to the abrasive disk). Tagscherer teaches that this arrangement protects the operator ([0031]), while removing dust ([0031]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele with the tangential debris travel and outlet port of Tagscherer for the purpose of protecting the operator while also removing dust.
With respect to claim 15, Schuele as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of movable segments are moveable between a first position where the abrasive disc is substantially covered and a second position where the abrasive disc is at least partially exposed, wherein the plurality of movable segments are biased toward the first position. Schuele, as modified, however teaches that the shell can vary in position (Yang, the shell 12 [with multiple segments] can retract into 11, fig. 3, as in [0033], providing for a different size cut zone depending on how far it is retracted, and also providing for different degrees of cover, and a portion where the abrasive disc is at least partially exposed).
Tagscherer, in the same field of endeavor, related to power tools (particularly angle grinding as in [0027]) teaches of providing a retractable cover (a dust shroud 10, fig. 1 [0031]) with a cover that can be fully closed (52, as shown in fig. 2a; [0032], through blocking element 20, fig. 2a) and opened (see position in fig. 2b), wherein movable segment/cover is biased toward the first position ([0034 describes how the cover is biased shut such that it closes when the operator releases it) Tagscherer teaches that this arrangement provides for operating comfort ([0010]), high operator safety ([0006]), and simple and secure locking ([0011])
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele with a first position where the abrasive disc is substantially covered, wherein the movable segment is biased toward the first position, using the teachings of Tagscherer for operating comfort, high operator safety, and secure locking. The arrangement would thus provide for wherein the plurality of movable segments are moveable between a first position where the abrasive disc is substantially covered and a second position where the abrasive disc is at least partially exposed, as Yang, as previously explained, provides for wherein the cover can be retracted to partially expose the disk, and wherein the plurality of movable segments are biased toward the first position, as the teachings of Tagscherer, the plurality movable segments of Yang would provide for a plurality of movable segments that are biased closed.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuele (US 20140235145 A1) in view of Yang (CN 104369109 A), Schadow (US 20170106520 A1) and Tagscherer (US 20140342645 A1) and further in view of Guth (US 20140223748 A1).
With respect to claim 16, Schuele as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of movable segments are telescopically connected together and nested within each other when moved to the second position.
Guth, in the same field of endeavor, as related to power tools and dust shrouds (abstract, grinding in [0004]) teaches of providing wherein the dust shroud includes a plurality telescoping and nested movable segments operable to vary a size and/or shape of the cut zone opening, wherein the plurality of movable segments are telescopically connected together and nested within each other when moved to the second [open] position (telescoping jaws 41, 31, fig. 3 [0027], that varies a cut zone opening as in figs. 9-10; the plurality of movable segments are biased in [0027] to fully extend the jaws [to cover the tool]). Guth teaches that this arrangement is durable ([0008]), and reduces health issues from dust ([0004]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele with the telescoping nested arrangement of Guth, for the purpose of increasing durability and reducing health issues from dust.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuele (US 20140235145 A1) in view of Segiel (US 20030224707 A1), and Schadow (US 20170106520 A1).
With respect to claim 17, Schuele discloses A coping tool (angle grinder in [0021], this can be used for a coping cut, preamble not limiting as intended use see MPEP 2111.02) comprising: a main housing (24, fig. 2; [0021]); a motor disposed in the main housing that rotates (motor as drive unit 10, fig. 2, [0024], is a EC motor, the drive unit causes rotation motion through shaft 46), a handle extending from the main housing (handle 42, fig. 1; [0023]) an abrasive disc coupled to and driven by the motor about a rotational axis (abrasive disk 38, fig. 1; [0022], driven through motor through receiver 36, fig. 2; [0024]) a fan disposed within the main housing and configured to induce an airflow (fan 20, fig. 3; [0026] disposed in main housing as part of electronic unit 12, figs. 2-3 for cooling) and a dust shroud coupled to the main housing and disposed at least partially around the abrasive disc (40, fig. 1; [0022]), the dust shroud including a channel extending along the dust shroud (see gap between dust shroud 40 and the disk 38 in fig. 1), and a cut zone opening through which a workpiece may pass to engage the abrasive disc (dust shroud 40 is open in front), however does not explicitly disclose wherein the motor rotates around the same axis (“motor disposed within the main housing that rotates about a rotational axis”) as the abrasive disc (“ an abrasive disc coupled to and driven by the motor about the rotational axis”) and wherein the dust shroud pivotably coupled to the main housing by a pivot joint defining a pivot axis, wherein the cut zone opening is adjustable in size and/or shape in response to the dust shroud pivoting about the pivot axis between a first position and a second position, and wherein the pivot axis is parallel to the rotational axis of the motor.
Regarding having the motor and abrasive disk rotate around the same axis, Schadow, in the same field of endeavor, as related to a power tool ([0074]) teaches of an arrangement where a motor (12a, fig. 2, [0074]) disposed within the main housing (30a, fig. 2; [0076]) that rotates about a rotational axis (has a spindle [0076] that directly drives the rotating tool 25a, fig. 2; [0078]). Schadow teaches that this arrangement eliminates a gearbox and saves space ([0076-0077]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele such that a motor is disposed within the main housing that rotates about a rotational axis, as taught by Schadow for the purpose of saving space.
Regarding, wherein the dust shroud pivotably coupled to the main housing by a pivot joint defining a pivot axis, wherein the cut zone opening is adjustable in size and/or shape in response to the dust shroud pivoting about the pivot axis between a first position and a second position, and wherein the pivot axis is parallel to the rotational axis of the motor, Segiel, in the same field of endeavor, related to power tools (including grinding tools as in [0002]) teaches of a dust shroud (15, fig. 4; [0031]; formed by walls 16, 17, and 18, fig. 4) pivotably coupled to the main housing by a pivot joint defining a pivot axis (coupled at a pivot joint at 19, fig. 4; relative to a main housing 30 at figs. 6 and 9; [0039], it is noted that a drive shaft 52 extends from the housing in fig. 6), the dust shroud is movable away from the abrasive disc about the pivot axis such that a cut zone opening is adjustable in size and/or shape in response to the dust shroud pivoting about the pivot axis between a first position and a second position, (figs. 7-8 show how the dust shroud 15 pivots relative to [grinding] disk blade 38, [0039]; which enables the cut zone to vary in size/shape to cut wall corners as in [0017]; the tool of Schuele is a grinder as noted in [0021] of Schuele), wherein the pivot axis is parallel to the rotational axis of the drive shaft (parallel to drive shaft shown in center of rotation in figs. 7-8; the drive shaft 52 is shown relative to disk 38 in fig. 6; arrangement would be analogously parallel to motor shaft of Schadow as incorporated into Schule). Segiel teaches that this arrangement provides for a cover that enables use in cutting wall corners ([0017]), while providing good visibility while collecting dust ([0011-0012]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele with the dust shroud arrangement of Segiel, for the purpose of allowing cutting of wall corners, while providing good visibility while collecting dust.
With respect to claim 18, Schuele, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 17 above, and further teaches wherein the channel is U-shaped and surrounds an outer periphery of the abrasive disc (Segiel, walls 16, 17 and 18, fig. 4; for a rectangular U shape consistent with instant figs. 22 and 24, and surrounds the dusk in Schuele, figs 7-8).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuele (US 20140235145 A1) in view of Segiel (US 20030224707 A1), Schadow (US 20170106520 A1) and further in view of Heo (KR 0117234 Y1)
With respect to claim 19, Schuele, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 18 above, and further teaches wherein the dust shroud is adjacent the abrasive disc in the first position, such that the channel receives the abrasive disc (Schuele, fig. 7 adjacent to disk 38), wherein the dust shroud is spaced away from the abrasive disc in the second position (Schuele, fig. 8 away from disk 38), however does not explicitly teach wherein the dust shroud is biased toward the first position.
Heo, in the same field of endeavor, related to tools, teaches of providing a grinding tool (page 1, abstract), with a dust shroud biased towards a closed [analogous to first] position (a hinged movable cover 14, fig. 1 described on page 2, 7th paragraph is biased through spring 27, fig. 1, described on page 2 8th paragraph). Heo teaches that this properly buffers the dust shroud/cover against the workpiece (page 2 8th paragraph), and provides for a blocking of noise and dust by ensuring close contact with the workpiece (page 3, 3rd paragraph).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele such that the dust shroud is biased toward the first position, using the teachings of Heo, to block the effects of noise and dust.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuele (US 20140235145 A1) in view of Segiel (US 20030224707 A1), Schadow (US 20170106520 A1) and further in view of Frech (WO 2007080003 A1).
With respect to claim 20, Schuele, as modified teaches the limitations of claim 19 above, however does not explicitly teach wherein dust and debris are generated from the workpiece during a coping operation travels through the channel of the dust shroud and along the airflow toward an outlet port that is in fluid communication with a dust collector. However, as noted in the rejection of claim 17 above, the fan of Schuele is for cooling.
Frech, in the same field of endeavor, related to power tools ([0004]), provides for an arrangement wherein the airflow induced by the fan in a main housing flows into the dust shroud (fan 12, fig. 3; [0042], provided in a main housing at end of motor 18, fig. 3, [0031], provides for a cooling air from openings 44, also providing for air flow into the shroud from openings 36, fig. 3; the arrangement would be into the channel of the dust shroud as the channel of both Schuele and Segiel are around the abrasive disk), around the abrasive disc (the air flow is positioned around disk 30, fig. 3, [0033]), and through an outlet port that is in fluid communication with a dust collector (to dust collector 14, fig .3, through outlet 36, fig. 3; [0035-0036]). Frech teaches that this arrangement eliminates the need for a separate fan to remove dust and makes the machine easier to handle ([0009]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Schuele with the fan arrangement in the main housing that causes an airflow of Frech, for the purpose of eliminating the need for a separate fan to remove dust and makes the machine easier to handle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 17 (response pages 6-9; examiner notes that the response did not address all the claims in the order presented on the claim sheets), the applicant argued that Lee, in particular does not provide for a dust shroud in the manner claimed, particularly, one that pivots along an axis parallel to that of the motor shaft. The examiner presents Segiel, which provides for a pivoting dust shroud, to expose the grinding disk to be able to cut wall corners, and is pivoting around the same axis as the rotation of the grinding disk, and when applied to Schuele in view of Schadow, renders the claim obvious.
Applicant argues claim 1 (response pages 9-10) for the same reason as in claim 17. The examiner also applied Segiel, and in the case of claim 1, is applied to modify Tanimoto. No specific arguments were otherwise presented.
Applicant finally argues Tagscherer as applied to claim 12 (response pages 10-12). For the argued aspects (specifically the surrounding of the two planar surfaces and edge of the abrasive disk), the examiner presents Yang, which provides for a abrasive disk guard, surrounding the two sides and edge of the disk, which an adjustable opening, to shield the operator from chips, which is applied to modify Schuele. The examiner respectfully submits that this, in combination with Schadow renders claim 12 obvious. Lee was not applied for this aspect (or otherwise in the rejection at this point in time), and no specific arguments were otherwise presented.
No specific arguments were presented with respect to the dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723