DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko, et. al. (EPO Machine Translation of WO 2019026974 A1; original is included with IDS, EPO Machine Translation is attached and cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Kaneko teaches a current collector (current collector 1; “Aluminum foil is used as the current collector constituting the electrode (positive electrode or negative electrode) of the above electric storage device."), comprising a conductive body (“[p.4] the diameter DP of the through hole P formed in the aluminum foil 2 may be of such a size that ions (charge carriers) constituting the electrolyte can move and pass through the through hole P” ; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the movement of ions through the current collector reads on a “conductive body,”) having a three dimensional porous structure (“”All of the pores formed on the surface of the aluminum foil 2 may be the through holes P. However, a part of the pores formed on the surface of the aluminum foil 2 may be holes (non-through holes) not penetrating the aluminum foil 2”). Kaneka at [p.3-4]. Kaneka teaches a thickness of “an aluminum foil according to one aspect of the present invention is an aluminum foil having a thickness of more than 0 μm and 50 μm or less.” An overlapping range presents a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the meaning of 0.1 to 600 cc/cm2/sec, this is a measure of the cubic centimeters through a set area per second. Kaneka teaches the Gurley air permeability as “greater than 0 sec / 100ml and 10 sec / 100ml or less.” Id. at [p.4]. Because 1 cm3 = 1 mL, this is 100 cc. Kaneka teaches a “unit area of the aluminum foil,” is 1 mm2 as applied to the number of pores per unit area, but is silent as to the unit area applied to the air permeability test (beyond utilizing JIS P 8117). Id. Pre-conversion, Kaneka teaches a range of 10 cc / sec to > 100 cc / sec (given that “greater than zero” leads includes factions of a second). However, applying the previous unit area to convert from mm2 to cm2 indicates Kaneka teaches an air permeability range of ~ 0.1 cc / cm2 / sec to >10,000 cc /cm2 /sec, which completely encompasses the claimed range. However, Kaneka does not explicitly state the unit area utilized by the JIS P 8117 as utilized, even if this area was already utilized to assess the porosity and ion conduction properties. Further, this strongly implies the unit area is the same because the air would logically permeate via the pores of the aluminum foil current collector.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date would find it obvious to modify the Gurley air permeability test of Kaneka, to make explicit the implication that the unit area is the same previously utilized, such that the Kaneka teaches an air permeability of ~ 0.1 cc / cm2 / sec to >10,000 cc /cm2 / sec, because Kaneka strongly implies this unit area is significant because it was applied to the pores which would be permitting air permeation, providing a benefit to assessing air permeability.
Claim 1 is obvious over Kaneka.
Claims 2-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko, in view of Shirotani, et. al. (US2017275793A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Kaneka is silent as to a non-conductive structure with a metal coating.
Shirotani teaches a copper plated non-woven fabric forming a conductive body having a three-dimensional porous structure, having an air permeability of “(F) an air permeability of less than or equal to 300 cc/cm2 /second,” and “a thickness from 5 μm to 50 μm.” Shirotani at [0014 – 26]. Shirotani teaches its structure provides the benefits of a lightweight, thin, “tenacious” construction, shielding against “electromagnetic waves.” Id. at [0012, 34]. However, the nonwoven fabric of Shirotani is not directly disclosed as being applied to a current collector.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to apply the copper plated non-woven fabric of Shirotani to the current collector of Kaneka, because Shirotani provides a benefit to lightweight and thin construction.
Claim 2 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Shirotani teaches “(A) an average fiber diameter from 0.1 μm to 5 μm.” Shirotani at [0017]. Therefore, Shirotani teaches a nonwoven fabric having an average fiber diameter of 5 μm or smaller.
Claim 3 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 4 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Shirotani the conductive body comprises a fibrous structure having a basis weight of 1.0 to 15 g/m2. Shirotani at [0020]. An overlapping range presents a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claim 4 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Shirotani teaches a conductive body which comprises a nonwoven fabric structure.” Shirotani at [0014 - 23].
Claim 5 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Shirotani teaches a conductive body comprises a melt-blown nonwoven fabric of a thermotropic liquid crystal wholly aromatic polyester and a metal coating formed on the nonwoven fabric. Shirotani at [0015] (“a meltblown nonwoven fabric made from a melt liquid-crystal-forming wholly aromatic polyester . . . and a metal coating film formed on the meltblown nonwoven fabric”).
Claim 6 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 7, Claim 7 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Shirotani teaches the metal coating comprises at least one metal consisting of copper, nickel, gold, silver. Shirotani at [0025] (“the metal coating film is preferably made of any of copper, nickel, gold, silver, cobalt, tin, and zinc.”).
Claim 7 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 relies upon Claim 6. Claim 6 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Shirotani teaches the metal coating comprises at least one metal consisting of copper, nickel, gold, silver. Shirotani at [0025] (“the metal coating film is preferably made of any of copper, nickel, gold, silver, cobalt, tin, and zinc.”).
Claim 8 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 9, Claim 9 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Shirotani teaches “(C) a breaking length in the warp direction of greater than or equal to 10 km and a breaking length in the weft direction of greater than or equal to 6 km,” ; because length and width are relative dimensions, this reads upon “wherein the conductive body comprises a fibrous structure having a breaking length of 10 kilometers or more in a length direction thereof and a breaking length of 6 kilometers or more in a width direction thereof.” Shirotani at [0019].
Claim 9 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 10, Kaneko teaches a current collector (current collector 1; “Aluminum foil is used as the current collector constituting the electrode (positive electrode or negative electrode) of the above electric storage device."), comprising a conductive body (“[p.4] the diameter DP of the through hole P formed in the aluminum foil 2 may be of such a size that ions (charge carriers) constituting the electrolyte can move and pass through the through hole P” ; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the movement of ions through the current collector reads on a “conductive body,”). Kaneka at p.3-4. Kaneka teaches a thickness of “an aluminum foil according to one aspect of the present invention is an aluminum foil having a thickness of more than 0 μm and 50 μm or less.” An overlapping range presents a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05. (I). Kaneka is silent as to a nonwoven structure, an average fiber diameter.
Shirotani teaches a copper plated non-woven fabric forming a conductive body having a three-dimensional porous structure, having an air permeability of “(F) an air permeability of less than or equal to 300 cc /cm2 / second,” and “a thickness from 5 μm to 50 μm.” Shirotani at [0014 – 26]. Shirotani teaches its structure provides the benefits of a lightweight, thin, “tenacious” construction, shielding against “electromagnetic waves.” Id. at [0012, 34]. Shirotani teaches “(A) an average fiber diameter from 0.1 μm to 5 μm.” Shirotani at [0017]. Therefore, Shirotani teaches a nonwoven fabric having an average fiber diameter of from 0.1 - 5 μm or smaller.
However, the nonwoven fabric of Shirotani is not directly disclosed as being applied to a current collector.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to apply the copper plated non-woven fabric of Shirotani to the current collector of Kaneka, because Shirotani provides a benefit to lightweight and thin construction.
Claim 10 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 11, Claim 10 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Kaneka teaches a current collector according to claim 1 and an electrode material layer disposed on at least on surface of said current collector. Kaneka at [p.3] (“The first electrode 6 has the aluminum foil 2 (first current collector) according to this embodiment and the first active material layer 4 covering the aluminum foil 2.”).
Claim 11 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 12, Claim 12 relies upon Claim 11. Claim 11 is obvious over modified Kaneka.
Kaneka teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte battery comprising an electrode according to claim 11. Kaneka at [p.3] (“The first electrode 6 has the aluminum foil 2 (first current collector) according to this embodiment and the first active material layer 4 covering the aluminum foil 2.”).
Claim 12 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Regarding Claim 13, Kaneka teaches a method of producing an electrode comprising:
Kaneka teaches a method of producing an electrode comprising: disposing an electrode material layer on at least one surface of a current collector comprising a conductive body(“[p.3.] In the step of forming the first active material layer 4 on the surface of the aluminum foil 2, a slurry containing an active material, a binder, a solvent and the like is applied to the surface of the aluminum foil 2.”) having a three-dimensional porous structure (“[p.4.] however, a part of the pores formed on the surface of the aluminum foil 2 may be holes (non-through holes) not penetrating the aluminum foil 2”). Kaneka at [p.3 - 4].
Shirotani teaches a conductive body having a three-dimensional porous structure, comprising a conductive non-woven fabric having an air permeability of 0.1 to 600 cc/cm2/sec (“[0022] (F) an air permeability of less than or equal to 300 cc/cm2 /second”) and a thickness of less than 100 μm (“([0021] E) a thickness from 5 μm to 50 μm; and”). Shirotani at [0014 – 25].
However, the nonwoven fabric of Shirotani is not directly disclosed as being applied to a current collector.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to apply the copper plated non-woven fabric of Shirotani to the current collector of Kaneka, because Shirotani provides a benefit to lightweight and thin construction.
Claim 13 is obvious over Kaneka, in view of Shirotani.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner , Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725