DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to the application filed on December 03, 2025. Claims 1, 11, and 12 are amended. Thus, claims 1-12 are pending for examination in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application claims priority to foreign application(s) with application number(s) KR10-2023-0052216 with a priority date of April 20, 2023, KR10-2023-0037941 with a priority date of March 23, 2023, KR10-2023-0037942 with a priority date of March 23, 2023, and KR10-2022-0152776 with a priority date of November 15, 2022. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed December 05, 2025, have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 05, 2025, regarding the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12 have been fully and completely considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of the references, facilitated by Applicant’s newly submitted amendments, including new prior art— Helwegen et al, US 20220405576 and Kim et al, US 20240144653—being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, US 20210374940 in view of Adrian et al, US 20220180189 in view of Helwegen et al, US 20220405576 in further view of Kim et al, US 20240144653.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method for (see Liu, Paragraph [0059], “detecting a product defect and a defect type existing in the product by using the segmentation networks, the concatenating network and the classification network”), the method performed by a computing device, the method comprising:
obtaining one or more images (see Liu, Paragraph [0052], “an image of flawed products obtained in the early stage of the production line are acquired”);
inputting the obtained image into a neural network model, and generating a (see Liu, Paragraph [0066], “the small-scale feature map generated by the convolution part to the original image size”);
identifying the presence or absence of the defect (see Liu, Paragraph [0059], “detecting a product defect and a defect type existing in the product”)
Liu does not expressively teach
inputting the obtained image into a neural network model, and generating a plurality of feature maps;
extracting a first feature vector based on the plurality of feature maps;
extracting a second feature vector for identifying a feature map related to the presence or absence of the defect among the plurality of feature maps based on the extracted first feature vector;
extracting a third feature vector for identifying a feature map region related to the presence or absence of the defect based on the plurality of feature maps;
and predicting the presence or absence of the defect based on the first feature vector, the second feature vector, and the third feature vector by using the neural network model.
However, Adrian in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches
inputting the obtained image into a neural network model, and generating a plurality of feature maps (see Adrian, Paragraph [0018], “The production of a multiplicity of feature maps by the neural network for the image”);
extracting a first feature vector based on the plurality of feature maps (see Adrian, Paragraph [0018], “supplying the first subset of feature maps of all images assigned to the respective time to the first encoder for the production of the first feature vector for the images assigned to the time”);
extracting a second feature vector for identifying a feature map related to the presence or absence of the defect among the plurality of feature (see Adrian, Paragraph [0018], “supplying the second subset of feature maps of all images assigned to the respective time to the second encoder for the production of the second feature vector for the images assigned to the time”);
extracting a third feature vector for identifying a feature map region related to the presence or absence of the defect based on the plurality of feature maps (see Adrian, Paragraph [0027], “supplying the third subset of the image to the third encoder for the production of a third feature vector to which the respective perspective of the image sequence assigned to the image is assigned”);
and predicting the presence or absence of the defect based on the first feature vector, the second feature vector, and the third feature vector by using the neural network model (see Adrian, Paragraph [0031], “supplying the first feature vector, the second feature vector, and the third feature vector to the decoder for the production of a predicted target image from the perspective supplied to the third feature vector,” a predicted target is considered to be predicting the presence or absence of the defect).
The combination of Liu and Adrian are analogous art because they are both in the same field of endeavor of detecting defects/anomalies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a plurality of feature maps; extract first, second, and third feature vectors based on the plurality of feature maps; predict the presence or absence of the defect based on the first, second, and third feature vector; extracting features of the image using a plurality of first convolution layers and a plurality of first pooling layers; performing additional pooling; inputting into one or more second convolution layers; performing additional pooling; generate a first synthesized vector by concatenating the second feature vector and the third feature vector; generating a final synthesized vector by concatenating the first feature vector and the first synthesized vector using in the method of Adrian in the method of Liu for the reduction of the error value (see Adrian, Paragraph [0027]).
Liu in view of Adrian does not expressively teach
performing a global average pooling operation to remove spatial information from the first feature vector;
However, Helwegen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches
performing a global average pooling operation to remove spatial information from the first feature vector (see Helwegen, Paragraph [0227], “The connections are globally pooled, i.e. spatial information is removed, through the use of global average pooling.”);
The combination of Liu, Adrian, and Helwegen are analogous art because they are all in the same field of endeavor of detecting abnormalities/objects. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use global average pooling to remove spatial information as taught in the method of Helwegen in the method of Liu in view of Adrian to allow channel wise information to be obtained (see Helwegen Paragraph [0234]).
Liu in view of Adrian in view of Helwegen does not expressively teach
extracting a second feature vector for identifying a feature map related to the presence or absence of the defect among the plurality of feature maps based on at least an importance level of one or more channels of the extracted first feature vector
However, Kim in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches
extracting a second feature vector for identifying a feature map related to the presence or absence of the defect among the plurality of feature maps based on at least an importance level of one or more channels of the extracted first feature vector (see Kim Paragraph [0164], “output the second feature vector based on the average of the elements of the first feature vector and may output the second feature map 250 based on the average of the channels of the first feature map 240,” the average of the elements of the first feature vector and average of the channels of the first feature map are considered to be an importance level of one or more channels of the extracted first feature vector);
The combination of Liu, Adrian, Helwegen, and Kim are analogous art because they are all in the same field of endeavor of utilizing feature maps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to output the second feature vector based on the average of the elements of the first feature vector and average of the channels of the first feature map as taught in the method of Kim in the method of Liu in view of Adrian in view of Helwegen to perform a predetermined training task with high accuracy (see Kim Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim further teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the one or more images include one or more 2D images, and the obtaining of the one or more images includes obtaining one or more images of a front image, a back image, a right image, a left image, a top image, or a bottom image of the product (see Adrian, Paragraph [0121], “The first image sequence I.sup.(1) can show a scene from a first perspective (e.g. from above), the second image sequence I.sup.(2) can show the same scene from a second perspective (e.g. from a second angle of view, e.g. from the front), and the third image sequence I.sup.(3) can show the same scene from a third perspective (e.g. an oblique top view).”).
The rationale of claim 1 has been applied herein.
Regarding claim 4, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim further teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the inputting of the obtained image into the neural network model, and the generating of the plurality of feature maps includes: extracting features of the image by using a plurality of first convolution layers and a plurality of first pooling layers included in the neural network model, and generating the plurality of feature maps based on the extracted features (see Adrian, Paragraph [0021], “The supplying of the first subset of feature maps of all images assigned to the respective time to the first encoder for the production of the first feature vector for the images assigned to the time can include: production, through application of a pooling method (e.g. max pooling, e.g. mean value pooling) to the first subset of feature maps, of a first set of pooling feature maps, each pooling feature map of the first set of pooling feature maps being assigned to a feature map of each first subset of feature maps”).
The rationale of claim 1 has been applied herein.
Regarding claim 5, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim further teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the extracting of the first feature vector based on the plurality of feature maps includes: extracting the first feature vector by performing additional pooling on the plurality of feature maps (see Adrian, Paragraph [0021], “The supplying of the first subset of feature maps of all images assigned to the respective time to the first encoder for the production of the first feature vector for the images assigned to the time can include: production, through application of a pooling method (e.g. max pooling, e.g. mean value pooling) to the first subset of feature maps, of a first set of pooling feature maps,” two pooling methods are listed to extract first feature vector therefore, additional pooling can be performed).
The rationale of claim 1 has been applied herein.
Regarding claim 7, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim further teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the extracting of the third feature vector for identifying the feature map region related to the presence or absence of the defect based on the plurality of feature maps includes: inputting the plurality of feature maps into one or more second convolution layers, and applying a convolution operation, and performing additional pooling for the feature maps to which the convolution operation is applied, and extracting the third feature vector for identifying the feature map region related to the presence or absence of the defect (see Adrian, Paragraph [0027], “supplying the third subset of the image to the third encoder for the production of a third feature vector to which the respective perspective of the image sequence assigned to the image is assigned,” and Paragraph [0032], “for each image sequence of the multiplicity of image sequences, production of at least one third feature vector using a respective image of the image sequence. The features described in this paragraph, in combination with one or more of the eighth example through the seventeenth example, form an eighteenth example embodiment of the present invention,” third feature vector is extracted the same as the first and second feature vector).
The rationale of claim 1 has been applied herein.
Regarding claim 8, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim further teaches the method of any one of claim 5 to claim 7,
wherein the additional pooling includes global average pooling (see Liu, Paragraph [0072], “and a pooling layer connected to a final residual unit is a global average pooling layer;”).
The rationale of claim 5 to 7 has been applied herein.
Regarding claim 9, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim further teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the predicting the presence or absence of the defect based on the first feature vector, the second feature vector, and the third feature vector by using the neural network model includes: generating a first synthesized vector by concatenating the second feature vector and the third feature vector, generating a final synthesized vector by concatenating the first synthesized vector and the first feature vector, and predicting the presence or absence of the defect based on the final synthesized vector (see Adrian, Paragraph [0106], “decoder 120 can be set up to process a concatenation of first feature vector 116, second feature vector 118, and third feature vector 122, and, for this concatenation, to produce the predicted target image 106.”).
The rationale of claim 1 has been applied herein.
As per Claim 11, Claim 11 claims a computer program stored in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer program allows one or more processors to perform operations for predicting presence or absence of a defect of a product when the computer program is executed by one or more processors, the operations comprising the same limitations as claimed in Claim 1. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1.
Liu further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer program allows one or more processors to perform operations for predicting presence or absence of a defect of a product when the computer program is executed by one or more processors (see Liu, Paragraph [0039], “The processor 2100 may be a mobile version processor. The memory 2200 includes, for example, ROM (Read Only Memory), RAM (Random Access Memory), nonvolatile memory such as a hard disk, etc.”),
As per Claim 12, Claim 12 claims a computing device comprising: at least one processor; and a memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to do the same limitations as claimed in Claim 1. Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1.
Liu further teaches at least one processor; and a memory, wherein the at least one processor is configured to (see Liu, Paragraphs [0040], “In the present embodiment, the memory 2200 of the product defect detection device 2000 is configured to store instructions for controlling the processor 2100 to operate to at least execute the product defect detection method”):
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, US 20210374940 in view of Adrian et al, US 20220180189 in view of Helwegen et al, US 20220405576 in view of Kim et al, US 20240144653 in further view of Wei et al, CN 113808104.
Regarding claim 3, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim does not expressively teach the method of claim 1,
wherein the inputting of the obtained image into the neural network model, and the generating of the plurality of feature maps includes: performing gamma correction for the obtained image, and inputting the gamma-corrected image into the neural network model.
However, Wei in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches
wherein the inputting of the obtained image into the neural network model, and the generating of the plurality of feature maps includes: performing gamma correction for the obtained image, and inputting the gamma-corrected image into the neural network model (see Wei, Paragraph [0019], “Gamma correction is used to process and correct the metal surface defect sample images”).
The combination of Liu, Adrian, Helwegen, Kim, and Wei are analogous art because they are all in the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform gamma correction for the obtained image in the method of Wei in the method of Liu in view of Adrian in view of Helwegen in further view of Kim to determine whether to improve the efficiency of detecting and locating the defect of the metal surface, and the recall rate of the detection is high (see Wei Abstract).
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, US 20210374940 in view of Adrian et al, US 20220180189 in view of Helwegen et al, US 20220405576 in view of Kim et al, US 20240144653 in further view of Chen et al, WO 2022218068.
Regarding claim 6, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim does not expressively teach the method of claim 1,
However, Chen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches
wherein the extracting of the second feature vector for identifying the feature map related to the presence or absence of the defect among the plurality of feature maps based on the extracted first feature vector includes: inputting the first feature vector into one or more first fully-connected layers, and extracting the second feature vector for identifying a feature map related to the presence or absence of the defect among the plurality of feature maps (see Chen, Paragraph [0116], “: input the above-mentioned first vector into the target fully-connected network in the pre-trained above-mentioned fully-connected network set to obtain a second vector;”).
The combination of Liu, Adrian, Helwegen, Kim, and Chen are analogous art because they are all in the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extract a second feature vector based on the extracted first feature vector; inputting the first feature vector into one or more first fully-connected layers and extracting the second feature vector; inputting the final synthesized vector into one or more second fully connected layers in the method of Chen in the method of Liu in view of Adrian in view of Helwegen in further view of Kim to determine whether to deliver the target material again (see Chen Abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Adrian in view Helwegen in further view of Kim does not expressively teach the method of claim 9,
However, Chen in a similar invention in the same field of endeavor teaches
wherein the predicting the presence or absence of the defect based on the final synthesized vector includes: inputting the final synthesized vector into one or more second fully-connected layers and predicting the presence or absence of the defect (see Chen, Paragraph [0111], “the output result of the long short-term memory network 510 is input into the second fully connected layer 515 to obtain the output result of the second fully connected layer 515.”).
The combination of Liu, Adrian, Helwegen, Kim, and Chen are analogous art because they are all in the same field of endeavor of image processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extract a second feature vector based on the extracted first feature vector; inputting the first feature vector into one or more first fully-connected layers and extracting the second feature vector; inputting the final synthesized vector into one or more second fully connected layers in the method of Chen in the method of Liu in view of Adrian in view of Helwegen in further view of Kim to determine whether to deliver the target material again (see Chen Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOMINIQUE JAMES/Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666