DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “ELECTRICAL DRIVE UNIT WITH MOTOR HOUSING AND ELECTRICAL MODULE ON ADDITIONAL HOUSING WITH FINS”
distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikkelsen et al.(US PG Pub US10243425B2) in view of Obel et al (US PG Pub 20150076942 hereinafter “Obel”) or Wettlaufer (US PG Pub 20180301959 hereinafter “Wettlaufer”).
Re-claim 1, Mikkelsen discloses an electric drive unit (fig.1) comprising:
a motor housing (5) that surrounds an electric motor (6) and has an external side (outside of motor 5),
cooling fins (15) positioned on the external side of the motor housing (5), and
an electrical module (13) having components to be substantially cooled (inside 13), wherein the electrical module (module inside 13) is disposed in (inside 13) or on an additional housing (housing 13) that adjoins the motor housing (5),
wherein additional cooling fins (21) are positioned on an external side of the additional housing (13, annotated Fig.2),
wherein the additional cooling fins (21) of the additional housing (13) run in a same direction as the cooling fins (15) of the motor housing (5).
Mikkelsen does not explicitly state that the components to be cooled.
However, Obel teaches that inside the electrical module (8) the component (80-86,have to be cooled (P[0055], coil is cooled by airflow in fig.11 shown by arrow).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to show that the electric module components of Mikkelsen wherein the components to be cooled as suggested by Obel to optimally cool the device for optimal heat management of the device better design and better reliability of motor (Obel, P[0059]).
OR
Wettlaufer teaches that inside the electrical module (20) the component (160,170) have to be cooled (P[0060], board is cooled with fins on the inside, see Fig.1, tooth of 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to show that the electric module components of Mikkelsen wherein the components to be cooled as suggested by Wettlaufer increase reliability of device, less effort to mount device, utilization of space, high production and better cooling for safer cooling with less visible electronics or components with better device finish (Wettlaufer, P[0060]).
Re-claim 2, Mikkelsen discloses the electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the additional cooling fins (21) of the additional housing ()13) are aligned (see fig.2) with the cooling fins of the motor housing (see annotated Fig.2).
Re-claims 3, Mikkelsen discloses the electric drive unit of claim 1.
Mikkelsen fails to explicitly teach that the components of the electrical module are disposed on at least one circuit board which that is disposed on or integrated in the additional housing.
However, Obel teaches the components (80-86, fig.11) of the electrical module (module 8) are disposed on at least one circuit board (10) which that is disposed on or integrated in the additional housing (8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to show that the electric module components of Mikkelsen wherein the components of the electrical module are disposed on at least one circuit board which that is disposed on or integrated in the additional housing as suggested by Obel to optimally cool the device for optimal heat management of the device better design and better reliability of motor, putting components on circuit boards is necessary for better connection (Obel, P[0040,0059]).
Re-claim 4, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 1.
Mikkelsen as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the components of the electrical module are disposed on at least two circuit boards, and wherein the at least two circuit boards are mutually disposed at an angle in or on the additional housing.
Wettlaufer teaches that wherein the components of the electrical module (170,160)are disposed on at least two circuit boards (120 each), and wherein the at least two circuit boards (at least 90 degree angle in fig.2) are mutually disposed at an angle in or on the additional housing (an angle inside of 20, around device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to show that the electric module components of Mikkelsen wherein the components of the electrical module are disposed on at least two circuit boards, and wherein the at least two circuit boards are mutually disposed at an angle in or on the additional housing as suggested by Wettlaufer increase reliability of device, less effort to mount device, utilization of space, high production and better cooling for safer cooling with less visible electronics or components with better device finish (Wettlaufer, P[0060]).
Re-claim 5, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 3.
Mikkelsen as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the components of the electrical module that are to be cooled are disposed on a side of the at least one circuit board that faces the external side of the additional housing.
Wettlaufer teaches that wherein the components of the electrical module (170,160) that are to be cooled are disposed on a side of the at least one circuit board (side of the 170 component) that faces the external side of the additional housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric module components and module of Mikkelsen wherein the components of the electrical module that are to be cooled are disposed on a side of the at least one circuit board that faces the external side of the additional housing as suggested by Wettlaufer increase reliability of device, less effort to mount device, utilization of space, high production and better cooling for safer cooling with less visible electronics or components with better device finish (Wettlaufer, P[0060]).
Re-claim 6, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 3.
Mikkelsen as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the motor housing and the additional housing each comprise an at least partially circular housing wall, and
wherein the housing wall of the motor housing and the housing wall of the additional housing have a same external radius.
Wettlaufer teaches that wherein the motor housing (30) and the additional housing (20) each comprise an at least partially circular housing wall (see annotated fig.1-fig.3), and
wherein the housing wall ( see fig.1-fig.3 annotation) of the motor housing and the housing wall of the additional housing have a same external radius (see annotated Fig.1to fig.3, all have circular walls with same radius).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor housing and the additional housing of Mikkelsen wherein the motor housing and the additional housing each comprise an at least partially circular housing wall, and
wherein the housing wall of the motor housing and the housing wall of the additional housing have a same external radius as suggested by Wettlaufer increase reliability of device, less effort to mount device, utilization of space, high production and better cooling for safer cooling with less visible electronics or components with better device finish (Wettlaufer, P[0060]).
Re-claim 7, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 6.
Mikkelsen as modified fails to explicitly teach the components of the electrical module are disposed on at least two circuit boards, wherein the at least two circuit boards are mutually disposed at an angle in the additional housing, and wherein the at least two circuit boards are completely integrated in the housing wall of the additional housing.
However, Wettlaufer teaches that wherein the components of the electrical module (160,170) are disposed on at least two circuit boards (120,see fig.1), wherein the at least two circuit boards (120) are mutually disposed at an angle (see Fig.1, an angle with 110) in the additional housing (20), and wherein the at least two circuit boards (120) are completely integrated in the housing wall (inside of 120, see Fig.2) of the additional housing.(see annotated Fig.1 to fig.3, all inside 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor housing and the additional housing of Mikkelsen wherein teach the components of the electrical module are disposed on at least two circuit boards, wherein the at least two circuit boards are mutually disposed at an angle in the additional housing, and wherein the at least two circuit boards are completely integrated in the housing wall of the additional housing as suggested by Wettlaufer increase reliability of device, less effort to mount device, utilization of space, high production and better cooling for safer cooling with less visible electronics or components with better device finish (Wettlaufer, P[0060]).
Re-claim 8, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 6.
Mikkelsen as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the components of the electrical module are disposed on at least one circuit board that is disposed on or integrated in the additional housing,
wherein the housing wall of the additional housing configures at least one planar shelf area on which bears the at least one circuit board, and
wherein the external side of the additional housing extends radially outside the planar shelf area and the at least one circuit board in a circular manner.
However, Wettlaufer teaches that wherein the components of the electrical module (150,160,170) are disposed on at least one circuit board (120) that is disposed on or integrated in the additional housing (20),wherein the housing wall of the additional housing (20) configures at least one planar shelf area (110) on which bears the at least one circuit board (120), and wherein the external side (outside of 20) of the additional housing extends radially outside (around 110) the planar shelf area (110) and the at least one circuit board in a circular manner (inside of 120, see Fig.1, 120 all inside 20, and around 110)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor housing and the additional housing of Mikkelsen wherein teach wherein the components of the electrical module are disposed on at least one circuit board that is disposed on or integrated in the additional housing,
wherein the housing wall of the additional housing configures at least one planar shelf area on which bears the at least one circuit board, and
wherein the external side of the additional housing extends radially outside the planar shelf area and the at least one circuit board in a circular manner as suggested by Wettlaufer increase reliability of device, less effort to mount device, utilization of space, high production and better cooling for safer cooling with less visible electronics or components with better device finish (Wettlaufer, P[0060]).
Re-claim 9, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 1.
Mikkelsen as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein electric contacts of the electrical module are disposed on a front end of the additional housing that faces away from the motor housing.
However, Wettlaufer teaches that wherein electric contacts (connections of the board, to components, 130, or connections of capacitor or coil 160,170) of the electrical module (100) are disposed on a front end of the additional housing (20) that faces away (away from 110, from 30) from the motor housing (inside of 120, see Fig.1, 120 all inside 20, and around 110, away from 30, beyond 110)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor housing and the additional housing of Mikkelsen wherein electric contacts of the electrical module are disposed on a front end of the additional housing that faces away from the motor housing as suggested by Wettlaufer increase reliability of device, less effort to mount device, utilization of space, high production and better cooling for safer cooling with less visible electronics or components with better device finish (Wettlaufer, P[0060]).
Re-claim 10, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the motor housing (5) and the additional housing (13) are composed of a same material (metal alloy, see Claim 5).
Re-claim 11, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the motor housing (5) and the additional housing (13) are composed of a metal or a metal alloy (see claim 5, metal alloy).
Re-claim 12, Mikkelsen as modified teaches the electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the motor housing (5) and the additional housing (13) are screwed to one another (bases 18,19, are screwed fastened via 19).
Re-claim 13, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the motor housing (5) has a longitudinal direction (annotated Fig.2, any of right to left would be longitudinal, or up and down), and wherein the cooling fins (15) of the motor housing (5) and the additional cooling fins (21) of the additional housing run in the longitudinal direction (annotated Fig.2).
Re-claim 14, Mikkelsen as modified discloses the electric drive unit of claim 1, wherein the electrical module (13, electronic device) forms an inverter (converter, frequency converter, Col.3, L.38power electronics, electrical connection, Col.1, L.40-50) configured to provide alternating current (asynchronous motor) to the electric motor (col.1, L.62).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834