DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on new references for teaching matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 18, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0020310 (Gray) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0301283 (Liu), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0109596 (Yoon), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0369560 (Takeda).
Gray discloses (Figs. 3A-3C)
1. (Currently Amended) A micro package structure, comprising:
a micro LED panel 300 ([0024]) comprising an IC (integrated circuit) substrate 330 (Abstract) and an micro LED array area 340 ([0057]) formed on the IC substrate 330, wherein a portion of the IC substrate 330 not covered by the micro LED array area 340 forms a non-functional area ([0112], peripheral region outside display region), the IC substrate 330 comprising a first connected area (under LED layer 370) corresponding to the micro LED array area 340 and a second connected area (surrounding the first connected area) away from the first connected area, a plurality of signal metal pads 350 / 360 (equivalent traces / redistribution) are formed on the second connected area; and
one or more bonding wires 355 to connect the signal metal pads 350 with an external circuit ([0055], [0066]).
Gray fails to disclose
a top cover plane formed above the micro LED panel, wherein light emitted from the micro LED array area is transmitted upward to the top cover plane;
a seal structure formed between an edge of the micro LED panel and an edge of the top cover plane;and
a light shielding layer formed on an edge surface of the top cover plane or on at least part of a surface of the non-functional area.
Liu teaches (Fig. 2)
A micro package structure, comprising:
a top cover plane 203 / 204 formed above the micro LED panel 202, wherein light emitted from the micro LED array area (where LEDs 202B are mounted) is transmitted upward to the top cover plane 203 / 204 ([0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a top cover plane in Gray. The motivation would be to provide a cover including a color filter and protection for the structure through which emitted light is transmitted which is well-known in LED packages as taught by Liu. See MPEP 2144.03.
Yoon teaches
A micro package structure comprising:
a seal structure 30 formed between an edge of the micro LED panel 10 and an edge of the top cover plane 20.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a seal structure in the modified device of Gray. The motivation would be to suppress infiltration of moisture and gas and protect the display structure as taught by Yoon ([0031]).
Takeda teaches
A micro package structure comprising:
a light shielding layer 31 formed on an edge surface 23 of the top cover plane 1 / 2 or on at least part of a surface of the non-functional area ([0203], peripheral region outside display region 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a light shielding layer in the modified device of Gray. The motivation would be to prevent light leakage through the periphery of the display device as taught by Takeda ([0194]).
Gray discloses (Figs. 3A-3C)
4. (Currently Amended) The micro package structure according to claim 1, wherein
the micro LED array area 370 comprises a plurality of micro LEDs ([0028]); and
the IC substrate 330 comprises:
a plurality of first metal connected holes 332 connected to the plurality of micro LEDs, and
a plurality of second metal connected holes 332 (surrounding area) connected to to the plurality of signal metal pads 350 / 360.
Liu teaches ([0028])
18. The micro package structure according to claim 4, wherein the top cover plane 203 / 204 is transparent.
Liu teaches (Fig. 2)
20. The micro package structure according to claim 18, wherein a thickness of the top cover plane 203 / 204 is not greater than a thickness of the micro LED panel.
Yoon teaches
21. (New) The micro package structure according to claim 1, wherein a projection of the light shielding layer 58 on the micro LED panel 10 covers at least part of the non-functional area NDA.
Claim(s) 2, 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Liu, Yoon, and Takeda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0066828 (Woo).
The combination of references fails to teach
2. The micro package structure according to claim 1, wherein
the signal metal pads comprise a plurality of IO (input/output) metal pads and a plurality of dummy metal pads; and
all of the IO metal pads and at least some of the dummy metal pads are formed on the second connected area.
Woo teaches (Figs. 5, 7, 10, 14)
A micro package structure, comprising:
the signal metal pads DMP1 - DMP4, DTP1, DTP2 comprise a plurality of IO (input/output) metal pads DTP1, DTP2 and a plurality of dummy metal pads DMP1 - DMP4; and
all of the IO metal pads DTP1, DTP2 and at least some of the dummy metal pads DMP1 - DMP4 are formed on the second connected area 510.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide signal metal pads in the modified device of Gray. The motivation would be to provide reduce tilting and shifting, thereby reducing or preventing damage, such as electrical and/or mechanical disconnection, which is well-known in LED packages as taught by Woo ([0007]). See MPEP 2144.03.
Woo teaches
3. The micro package structure according to claim 2, wherein all of the dummy metal pads DMP1 - DMP4 are formed on the second connected area 510.
Claim(s) 5-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Liu, Yoon, and Takeda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0176407 (Haisch).
The combination of references fails to teach
5. The micro package structure according to claim 1, further comprising a protective layer formed on a surface of the second connected area and covering around a surface of the one or more bonding wires.
Haisch teaches (Figs. 3A-3C, 4A-4C, 5A-5C)
A micro package structure, comprising:
a protective layer ([0091]-[0095]) formed on a surface of the second connected area 408 / 409 and covering around a surface of the one or more bonding wires 406.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a protective layer in the modified device of Gray. The motivation would be to provide mechanical protection, which is well-known in LED packages as taught by Haisch. See MPEP 2144.03.
Haisch teaches (Figs. 4A-4C)
6. The micro package structure according to claim 5, further comprising an external circuit plane 408 / 409 formed at a bottom of the micro LED panel 401 with an extruded part extending outside of the micro LED panel.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an external circuit plane in the modified device of Gray. The motivation would be to couple to a flex printed circuit (FPC) that provides electrical connections from a host platform as taught by Haisch ([0070]).
Haisch teaches (Figs. 4A-4C)
7. The micro package structure according to claim 6, wherein the protective layer is further formed on a surface of the extruded part 408 / 409.
Haisch teaches (Figs. 4A-4C)
8. The micro package structure according to claim 6, further comprising a support base plane 414 formed at a bottom of the external circuit plane 408 / 409.
Haisch teaches ([0088])
9. The micro package structure according to claim 8, wherein the support base 414 plane is rigid.
Haisch teaches (Figs. 4A-4C)
10. The micro package structure according to claim 5, further comprising an external circuit plane 408 / 409 formed extending outside of a bottom of the micro LED panel 401.
Haisch teaches (Figs. 4A-4C)
11. The micro package structure according to claim 10, wherein the protective layer ([0091]-[0095]) is further formed on a part of the external circuit plane 408 / 409.
Haisch teaches (Figs. 4A-4C)
12. The micro package structure according to claim 4, further comprising a support base plane 414 formed at a bottom surface of the micro LED panel 401.
Haisch teaches ([0088])
13. The micro package structure according to claim 12, wherein the support base plane 414 is rigid.
Haisch teaches (Figs. 4A-4C)
14. The micro package structure according to claim 5, wherein a top of the protective layer ([0091]-[0095]) is lower than a top of the top cover plane 412.
Haisch fails to teach
15. The micro package structure according to claim 14, wherein the top of the protective layer is lower than a top of the micro LED array area.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the height of the protective layer in the modified device of Gray. The motivation would a matter of routine engineering design considerations as taught by Haisch. See MPEP 2144.04.
Haisch teaches ([0087])
16. (Currently Amended) The micro package structure according to claim 5, wherein a material of the protective layer ([0091]-[0095]) comprises a resin and a polymer, wherein the resin is epoxy resin and the polymer is silicone ([0087]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gray in view of Liu, Yoon, and Takeda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0333662 (Yu).
The combination of references fails to teach
22. (New) The micro package structure according to claim 21, wherein the light shielding layer is an anti-reflection coating layer, and wherein a material of the light shielding layer is black photo resist.
Yu teaches
A micro package structure, comprising:
wherein the light shielding layer 40 is an anti-reflection coating layer, and wherein a material of the light shielding layer is black photo resist ([0038], [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the light shielding layer from black photoresist in the modified device of Gray. The motivation would be to reduce reflected light and improve display contrast as taught by Yu ([0027], [0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2021/0066828 (Woo), 2018/0033919 (Lee), 2011/0215361 (Wang) teach a micro package structure including features such as a micro LED panel, a top cover plane, and a light shielding layer where the display region is separated from the connection region and stray reflections are suppressed near the package perimeter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893