DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karpenko et al. (U.S. 2016/0341269).
Regarding claim 1, Karpenko discloses (figs. 1-6, 8, 19) A brake component for a motor vehicle, the brake component comprising:
a body (101) having an axis (central axis along 5-5, see fig. 4);
at least one cable (110) comprising a plurality of wires (see fig. 7), each of the plurality of wires having a surface in sliding contact with surfaces of adjacent wires of the plurality of wires (see pgh. 0085 at least), wherein the at least one cable is embedded within the body concentric with the body about the axis (see figs. 3 and 6 at least); and
a plurality of damping insert locators (109) extending radially away from the axis (as shown) such that a first instance of the damping insert locators constrains movement of the at least one cable in a first direction, and a second instance of the damping insert locators constrains movement of the at least one cable in a second direction, opposite the first direction (each locator 109 constrains movement of the cable in both axial directions and both radial directions, which includes constraining movement in a first direction and a second direction opposite thereof, at least).
Regarding claim 3, Karpenko discloses (figs. 1-6, 8, 19) the body of the rotor is elongated in a first plane (see fig. 6, elongated in a plate left to right on the page) between a first friction surface on one side of the body and a second friction surface on an opposite side of the body (top and bottom surfaces respectively), and
wherein the first and second instances of the damping insert locators are arranged in a second plane substantially perpendicular to the first plane (see fig. 3, pairs of inserts 109 directly across one another arranged in a plane coming out of the page, which is perpendicular to the plane along the page)
Regarding claim 4, Karpenko discloses (figs. 1-6, 8, 19) the first and second instances of the damping insert locators are identical in structure, but reversed in orientation relative to the at least one cable by rotation of the second instance of the damping insert 180 degrees in the second plane relative to the first instance of the damping insert locator (see fig. 3, tail sticks out to one side in one instance, but the second instance the tail sticks out pointing the other way, thus the insert is “rotated 180 degrees”).
Regarding claim 6, Karpenko discloses (figs. 1-6, 8, 19) the at least one cable comprises a first friction damping ring having a first diameter, and a second friction damping ring having a second diameter larger than the first diameter, the first and second damping rings being concentric about the axis. (see fig. 19)
Regarding claim 7, Karpenko discloses (figs. 1-6, 8, 19) the first instance of the damping insert locators is disposed proximate to a bottom side of both the first and second damping rings, and the second instance of the damping insert locators is disposed proximate to a top side of both the first and second damping rings (both instances are “disposed proximate” to both the top and bottom side of both rings, as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Karpenko discloses (figs. 1-6, 8, 19) a series of additional damping insert locators provided in sequence to alternate between being proximate to the top side and the bottom side of both the first and second damping rings (as shown in fig. 3, 8 total locators are shown, each of which are proximate to both the top and bottom side).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if rewritten to overcome any 112(b) rejections, as appropriate.
Reasons for allowance, if applicable, will be the subject of a separate communication to the Applicant or patent owner, pursuant to 37 CFR § 1.104 and MPEP § 1302.14.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Karpenko ‘433 is a related document to the applied reference.
Conclusion
/DAVID MORRIS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616