Acknowledgments
This office action is in response to the reply filed on 5/18/26. In the reply, the applicant amended claim 11. Claims 1-9, 11-21 are pending.
The objection to claim 11 is withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-7, 9, 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCullough et al. (US 10,695,492) (“McCullough”).
(claim 1) McCullough discloses: A drug delivery device comprising (Figs. 18a-c): a syringe barrel 1810 comprising a proximal end, a distal end, and a sidewall arranged between the proximal end and the distal end defining an interior configured to hold a composition; a plunger rod 1820 received at least partially within the interior of the syringe, the plunger rod comprising a proximal end 1822, a distal end 1824, and a stopper 1826 arranged at the distal end; and a sensor assembly 1880, comprising: a capacitive element 1892,1894; and a short-range communication device (communication module) 1872 in electrical communication with the capacitive element, wherein the short-range communication device is capable of measuring capacitance at the capacitive element C47L3-50, C43L19-55; a displaceable needle shield 1860; and a spring 1882 having a compressed configuration and an expanded configuration, the spring configured to displace the needle shield from a first, proximal position in which the displaceable needle shield does not surround a needle of the syringe to a second, distal position in which the displaceable needle shield at least partially surrounds the needle of the syringe, wherein the capacitive element is configured to detect a change in capacitance based on a change in state of the spring from the compressed configuration to the expanded configuration. C46L49-C47L50
(claims 2, 16; 4, 18) the sensor assembly does not include a power source. (NFC technology as herein found powers the sensor assembly C38L41-51, C63L7-17)
(claims 3, 17) the short-range communication device 1872 is an NFC device (C38L41-51)
(claims 5, 19) the external NFC- enabled device is a mobile device 110.
(claims 6, 20) the capacitive element comprises a pair of capacitor electrodes 1892,1894.
(claims 7, 21) the capacitive element is arranged at the distal end of the syringe barrel. Figs. 18a-c
(claim 9) the short-range communication device is a passive RFID chip. (C38L41-51)
(claim 11) the sensor assembly 1880 is arranged on the displaceable needle shield 1860. C46L49-C47L2
(claim 12) the capacitive element 1892,1884 is arranged on the displaceable needle shield adjacent the spring. C46L49-C47L2
(claim 13) see rejection of claim 1 and 5, above
(claim 14) see rejection of claim 1, 4 and 5, above. And additionally,
transmitting, with the short-range communication device and to the mobile device, the first capacitance data. C47L28-50
(claim 15) further comprising: actuating the drug delivery device; powering, with a mobile device, the sensor assembly to obtain second capacitance data; and transmitting, with the short-range communication device and to the mobile device, the second capacitance data. C47L28-50, C63L7-17)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCullough in view of Ploch et al. (US 2021/0085879) (“Ploch”).
McCullough discloses the invention as substantially claimed (see above). However, McCullough does not directly disclose the sensor assembly comprises a label arranged on an exterior of the syringe sidewall. Ploch, in the analogous art, teaches an RFID device 300 placed on a housing component such as a label [0062]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the communication module of McCullough as a label as taught by Ploch for portability and ease of the wireless communication.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that McCullough does not disclose a capacitive element configured to detect a change in capacitance based on a change in state of the spring from compressed to expanded configuration. Examiner disagrees because McCullough does disclose a capacitive sensor detecting the change in the position of components such as the needle shield to determine the operational state C43L19-55, C46L49-C47L50. Capacitive elements 1892,1894 as part of the sensor assembly as similarly described in applicant’s specification [0023] of the capacitive elements 150 as part of the sensor assembly 160.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783