DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
line 11 is missing and indentation before the word “comparing”; and
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Base Claim 1 recites the limitation “optimizing” and base claim 9 recites the limitation “optimize”. The limitations are unclear as to what exactly is involved or how the comparison is used to perform the “optimizing”. It is further unclear as to how it is determined when the pulse wave velocity measurement system has been “optimized.” The specification appears to indicate it is just simply a synchronization method, but the claim construction as it currently reads can read on many different things as “optimizing.”
Claims 2-8 and 10-15 are rejected due to their dependencies, either directly or indirectly, to base claims 1 and 9, respectively.
Claims 4 and 10 recite the limitation "the synchronization" in line 2 of claim 4 and line 6 of claim 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Archdeacon, U.S. Patent No. 10,786,161 B1 (“Archdeacon”).
As to Claim 1, Archdeacon teaches the following:
A method for optimizing a pulse wave velocity measurement system (see “In addition, it is also contemplated that the synchronization of sensor information can be conducted via synchronizing the time stamp between two devices.” in col. 14, ll. 9-11, where synchronizing is within the scope of optimizing), comprising:
transmitting a pulse (“inaudible high frequency sound pulse”) from a pulse generator (“speaker”, not labeled) of a first sensor component (“first device”, not labeled) of the pulse wave velocity measurement system (see “An inaudible high frequency sound pulse of a pre-determined frequency (e.g., 21 kHz) is emitted by the speaker of the first device.” in col. 14, ll. 21-23),
wherein the first sensor component (“first device”) further comprises a first clock (“internal clock”, not labeled, of the “first device”) (see “The first device generates a first time stamp and stores it within a memory location within the embedded system of the first device. … Upon receipt of the special request command, the second device generates a second time stamp with its internal clock and immediately responds with a special response over the electromagnetic radio frequency communication connection to the first device.” in col. 15, ll. 43-56), and
wherein the pulse (“sound pulse”) is transmitted from the pulse generator (“speaker”) at a known transmission time based on the first clock (“internal clock” of the “first device creates and stores a first time stamp”) (see “Simultaneous with the moment of emission of the sound pulse from the first device, the first device creates and stores a first time stamp on a memory location within the embedded system of the first device.” in col. 14, ll. 23-26);
receiving the transmitted pulse (“sound pulse”) by a pulse receiver (“microphone”, not labeled) of a second sensor component (“second device”, not labeled) of the pulse wave velocity measurement system (see “The second device is programmed to look at a pre-determined frequency band that matches the pre-determined frequency of the sound pulse emitted by the speaker of the first device. Through the use of a continuous discrete Fourier transform (e.g., a fast Fourier transform) applied to the real-time stream of microphone sensor information from the microphone on the second device, the second device detects the precise moment of the amplitude of a pre-determined frequency band (e.g., a narrow band around 21 kHz) that reaches a pre-defined threshold.” in col. 14, ll. 26-36),
wherein the second sensor (“second device”) component further comprises a second clock (“internal clock”, not labeled, of the “second device”) (see “The first device generates a first time stamp and stores it within a memory location within the embedded system of the first device. … Upon receipt of the special request command, the second device generates a second time stamp with its internal clock and immediately responds with a special response over the electromagnetic radio frequency communication connection to the first device.” in col. 15, ll. 43-56), and
wherein the pulse (“sound pulse”) is received at a known receipt time based on the second clock (“internal clock” of the “second device”) (see “Simultaneous with the precise moment that the second device detects the precise moment the amplitude of a pre-determined frequency band (e.g., a narrow band around 21 kHz) that reaches a pre-defined threshold, the second device creates and stores a second time stamp on a memory location within the embedded system of the second device.” in col. 14, ll. 36-42);
comparing (“time delay is calculated”) the known transmission time (“first time stamp”) to the known receipt time (“second time stamp”) (see “A time delay is calculated between the first time stamp and the second time stamp is calculated.” in col. 14, ll. 45-47); and
optimizing (“adjust the time-alignment of sensor information”), based on the comparison (calculated “time delay”), the pulse wave velocity measurement system (see “Whether the time delay is positive or negative, it is used to adjust the time-alignment of sensor information that is collected from both the first device and second device.” in col. 14, ll. 47-49, where the synchronization by “adjust[ing] the time-alignment of sensor information” based on calculating the “time delay” is within the scope of optimizing the pulse wave velocity based on the comparison).
As to Claim 2, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein optimizing the pulse wave velocity measurement system comprises synchronizing the first clock and the second clock (see “Whether the time delay is positive or negative, it is used to adjust the time-alignment of sensor information that is collected from both the first device and second device.” in col. 14, ll. 47-49).
As to Claim 3, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein optimizing the pulse wave velocity measurement system comprises determining a difference between the first clock and the second clock (see “A time delay is calculated between the first time stamp and the second time stamp is calculated.” in col. 14, ll. 45-47).
As to Claim 5, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein the pulse is an electromagnetic signal (see “Another method of synchronizing the time stamp between two devices is the periodic electromagnetic radio frequency synchronization method. This method can be used between two wireless devices. In this method, the first device and the second device contain electromagnetic radios (e.g., a Bluetooth® 2.4 GHz electromagnetic radio).” in col. 15, ll. 31-33).
As to Claim 6, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein the pulse generator comprises an LED, and the pulse comprises a light pulse (see “In a preferred embodiment, sensors may include an acoustic-to-electrical transducer (e.g., microphone), an accelerometer, an array of electrodes having at least two electrodes, a photodetector (e.g., a light sensor, an image sensor, a semiconductor charge-coupled device (CCD), an active pixel sensor in complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS), a N-type metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS, live MOS), etc.).” in col. 7, ll. 65, to col. 8, l. 5).
As to Claim 7, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein the pulse is an acoustic signal (see “One of the methods contemplated herein is the periodic inaudible, high frequency sound synchronization method.” in col. 14, ll. 11-13).
As to Claim 9, Archdeacon teaches the following:
A pulse wave velocity measurement system (see “In addition, it is also contemplated that the synchronization of sensor information can be conducted via synchronizing the time stamp between two devices.” in col. 14, ll. 9-11, where synchronizing is within the scope of optimizing), comprising:
a first sensor component (“first device”, not labeled) comprising:
(i) a pulse generator (“speaker”, not labeled) configured to transmit a pulse (“inaudible high frequency sound pulse”) (see “An inaudible high frequency sound pulse of a pre-determined frequency (e.g., 21 kHz) is emitted by the speaker of the first device.” in col. 14, ll. 21-23); and
(ii) a first clock (“internal clock”, not labeled, of the “first device”) (see “The first device generates a first time stamp and stores it within a memory location within the embedded system of the first device. … Upon receipt of the special request command, the second device generates a second time stamp with its internal clock and immediately responds with a special response over the electromagnetic radio frequency communication connection to the first device.” in col. 15, ll. 43-56), wherein the pulse is transmitted from the pulse generator at a known transmission time based on the first clock (“internal clock” of the “first device creates and stores a first time stamp”) (see “Simultaneous with the moment of emission of the sound pulse from the first device, the first device creates and stores a first time stamp on a memory location within the embedded system of the first device.” in col. 14, ll. 23-26);
a second sensor component (“second device”, not labeled) comprising:
(i) a pulse receiver (“microphone”, not labeled) configured to receive the transmitted pulse (“sound pulse”) (see “The second device is programmed to look at a pre-determined frequency band that matches the pre-determined frequency of the sound pulse emitted by the speaker of the first device. Through the use of a continuous discrete Fourier transform (e.g., a fast Fourier transform) applied to the real-time stream of microphone sensor information from the microphone on the second device, the second device detects the precise moment of the amplitude of a pre-determined frequency band (e.g., a narrow band around 21 kHz) that reaches a pre-defined threshold.” in col. 14, ll. 26-36); and
(ii) a second clock (“internal clock”, not labeled, of the “second device”) (see “The first device generates a first time stamp and stores it within a memory location within the embedded system of the first device. … Upon receipt of the special request command, the second device generates a second time stamp with its internal clock and immediately responds with a special response over the electromagnetic radio frequency communication connection to the first device.” in col. 15, ll. 43-56), wherein the pulse is received at a known receipt time based on the second clock (“internal clock” of the “second device”) (see “Simultaneous with the precise moment that the second device detects the precise moment the amplitude of a pre-determined frequency band (e.g., a narrow band around 21 kHz) that reaches a pre-defined threshold, the second device creates and stores a second time stamp on a memory location within the embedded system of the second device.” in col. 14, ll. 36-42);
a processor (“processor”, not labeled) configured to (see “One should appreciate that computing devices comprise a processor configured to execute software instructions stored on a tangible, non-transitory computer readable storage medium (e.g., hard drive, solid state drive, RAM, flash, ROM, etc.).” in col. 6, ll. 17-21):
(i) compare (“time delay is calculated”) the known transmission time (“first time stamp”) to the known receipt time (“second time stamp”) (see “A time delay is calculated between the first time stamp and the second time stamp is calculated.” in col. 14, ll. 45-47); and
(ii) optimize (“adjust the time-alignment of sensor information”), based on the comparison (calculated “time delay”), the pulse wave velocity measurement system (see “Whether the time delay is positive or negative, it is used to adjust the time-alignment of sensor information that is collected from both the first device and second device.” in col. 14, ll. 47-49, where the synchronization by “adjust[ing] the time-alignment of sensor information” based on calculating the “time delay” is within the scope of optimizing the pulse wave velocity based on the comparison).
As to Claim 11, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein optimizing the pulse wave velocity measurement system comprises synchronizing the first clock and the second clock (see “Whether the time delay is positive or negative, it is used to adjust the time-alignment of sensor information that is collected from both the first device and second device.” in col. 14, ll. 47-49).
As to Claim 12, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein optimizing the pulse wave velocity measurement system comprises determining a difference between the first clock and the second clock (see “A time delay is calculated between the first time stamp and the second time stamp is calculated.” in col. 14, ll. 45-47).
As to Claim 13, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein the pulse is an electromagnetic signal (see “Another method of synchronizing the time stamp between two devices is the periodic electromagnetic radio frequency synchronization method. This method can be used between two wireless devices. In this method, the first device and the second device contain electromagnetic radios (e.g., a Bluetooth® 2.4 GHz electromagnetic radio).” in col. 15, ll. 31-33).
As to Claim 14, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein the pulse generator comprises an LED, and the pulse comprises a light pulse (see “In a preferred embodiment, sensors may include an acoustic-to-electrical transducer (e.g., microphone), an accelerometer, an array of electrodes having at least two electrodes, a photodetector (e.g., a light sensor, an image sensor, a semiconductor charge-coupled device (CCD), an active pixel sensor in complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS), a N-type metal-oxide-semiconductor (NMOS, live MOS), etc.).” in col. 7, ll. 65, to col. 8, l. 5).
As to Claim 15, Archdeacon teaches the following:
wherein the pulse is an acoustic signal (see “One of the methods contemplated herein is the periodic inaudible, high frequency sound synchronization method.” in col. 14, ll. 11-13).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 4, 8, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
9. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 4, neither Archdeacon nor the prior art of record teaches the method of base claim 1, including the following, in combination with all other limitations with the following:
notifying a user, via a user interface, that the synchronization was successful.
As to Claim 8, neither Archdeacon nor the prior art of record teaches the method of base claim 1, including the following, in combination with all other limitations with the following:
notifying the user, via the user interface, about an optimization of the pulse wave velocity measurement system, wherein the notification comprises either an indication that optimization is necessary, and/or an instruction for optimization.
As to Claim 10, neither Archdeacon nor the prior art of record teaches the system of base claim 9, including the following, in combination with all other limitations with the following:
a user interface configured to:
notify the user about an optimization of the pulse wave velocity measurement system, wherein the notification comprises either an indication that optimization is necessary, and/or an instruction for optimization; and/or
notify a user that the synchronization was successful.
Conclusion
/NAVIN NATNITHITHADHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 11/06/2025