DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim 1, 2, 10, 15-16, 18, 24, 25,28-30,39,42-44,52,53,56 were amended, claim 4, 11, 32,46 was canceled. Claims 1-2, 5-10, 12-16, 18-30, 33-44, 47-59 are pending. Claims 8-10, 13-14, 20-25, 27-28, 34-39, 41-42, 48-53, 55-56 were withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2,5-7,12,15-16,18-19,26, 43-44,47,54 and 57-59 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the base portion" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is now, the first base portion. Claims 2, 5-7, 12 directly or indirectly depend from claim 1 and are also rejected.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the base portion" in multiple instances (line 7 and 13-14). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is now, the first base portion. Claims 16, 18-19, 26 directly or indirectly depend from claim 15 and are also rejected.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "a first" in line . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is now, the first base portion.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a second article" in line . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is now, the first base portion.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the article engagement flap" in line -4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is now, the first base portion.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a recessed portion" in line4-5 and 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is now, the first base portion.
Claim 43 recites the limitation "the base portion" in multiple instances on line and 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is now, the first base portion. Claims 44, 47, 54, 57-58 directly or indirectly depend from claim 43 and are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 12, 15-16, 18-19, 26, 29-30, 32-33, 40, 43-44, 47, 54 and 57-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Toensmeier (US 2678767 A) view 1.
With respect to claim 1, Toensmeier view 1 discloses a construct for holding two or more, the construct comprising: at least one panel (19, 14) defining a perimeter and positioned adjacent an interior of the construct; a first article engagement flap (bottom portion 17) foldably connected to the at least one panel within the perimeter and arranged to at least partially engage (col 1 lines 30-39) a recessed portion of a first article of the two or more articles, the first article engagement flap including first a base portion (top half of central portion of 17) foldably connected to the at least one panel and a first distal portion (top portion of 17 outside of crease 18) foldably connected to the base portion, wherein at least a portion of the first base portion and at least a portion of the first distal portion are arranged to be positioned in a recessed portion of a respective article of the first article and a second article engagement flap (bottom portion of 17) positioned adjacent to the first article engagement flap foldably connected to the at least one panel within the perimeter and arranged to at least partially engage a recessed portion of a second article of the two or more articles, the second article engagement flap including a second base portion (bottom half of central portion of 17) foldably connected to the at least one panel and a second distal portion (bottom portion of 17 outside of crease 18) foldably connected to the second base portion, wherein at least a portion of the second base portion and at least a portion of the second distal portion are arranged to be positioned in a recessed portion of the second article.
Examiner Note: Can consider top half of 17 as the first attachment feature and can consider bottom half of 17 as the second attachment feature. Alternatively, one could consider separate 17s.
With respect to claim 2, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the construct of claim 1, wherein each distal portion includes a respective distal end (perimeter of 17 outside of crease 18) arranged to abut a rim of a respective article of the two or more articles. (col 1 lines 30-39)
With respect to claim 5, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the construct of claim 2, wherein the at least one panel (19, 14) is at least one bottom attachment panel.
With respect to claim 6, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the construct of claim 5, wherein the construct further comprises at least one top panel (13).
With respect to claim 7, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the construct of claim 6, wherein the construct further comprises a front panel (12) and a back panel (12) each extending from the at least one top panel (13) to the at least one bottom attachment panel (19,14).
With respect to claim 12, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the construct of claim 5, wherein the construct further comprises a front panel (12), a back panel (12), and at least one side panel (13) extending from the front panel to the back panel.
With respect to claim 15, Toensmeier view 1 discloses a blank for forming a construct for holding two or more articles, the blank comprising: at least one panel (14, 19) having a perimeter and for being positioned adjacent an interior of the construct formed from the blank; and a first article engagement flap (top portion of 17) including a first base portion (top central portion of 17) foldably connected to the at least one panel (14) within the perimeter and a first distal portion (top portion of 17 outside of crease 18) foldably connected to the first base portion, wherein at least a portion of the first base portion and at least a portion of the first distal portion are arranged to be positioned in a recessed portion of a respective first article when the construct is formed from the blank; and a second article engagement flap (bottom portion of 17) positioned adjacent to the first article engagement flap including a first base portion (bottom central portion of 17) foldably connected to the at least one panel within the perimeter and a second distal portion (bottom portion of 17 outside of crease 18) foldably connected to the base portion, wherein at least a portion of the second base portion and at least a portion of the second distal portion are arranged to be positioned in a recessed portion of a respective second article when the construct is formed from the blank.
Examiner Note: Can consider top half of 17 as the first attachment feature and can consider bottom half of 17 as the second attachment feature. Alternatively, one could consider separate 17s.
With respect to claim 16, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the blank of claim 15, wherein each distal portion includes a distal end (perimeter of 17 outside of crease 18) arranged to abut a rim of a respective article.
With respect to claim 18, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the blank of claim 15, wherein the two or more one articles (23) includes the first article and a second article for being held by the construct formed from the blank, the article engagement flap foldably connected to the at least one panel (14) and for being positioned in a recessed portion of the first article when the construct is formed from the blank, and the second article engagement flap (other 17) foldably connected to the at least one panel (14,19) and for being positioned in a recessed portion of the second article when the construct is formed from the blank. (can use any interpretation of 17 indicated above because “for being positioned” indicates intended function and not an actual configuration).
With respect to claim 19, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the blank of claim 16, wherein the at least one panel (19, 14) is at least one bottom attachment panel.
With respect to claim 26, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the blank of claim 19, wherein the blank further comprises a front panel (12), a back panel (12), and at least one side panel (13) for extending from the front panel to the back panel when the construct is formed from the blank.
With respect to claim 29, Toensmeier view 1 discloses a method of forming a construct for holding two or more articles, the method comprising: obtaining a blank comprising at least one panel (14, 19) having a perimeter and attachment features (17, outer/central portions) positioned within the perimeter and including a first attachment feature positioned adjacent to a second attachment feature (17, outer/central portions), each of the first attachment feature and the second attachment feature comprising an article engagement flap including a base portion foldably connected to the at least one panel and a distal portion foldably connected to the base portion; and positioning the at least one panel (14, 19) adjacent an interior of the construct such that a first article engagement flap (17 top half ) is arranged for being positioned respectively within a recessed portion a first article with at least a portion of the base portion and at least a portion of the distal portion are arranged to be positioned in a recessed portion of the first article; and positioning the at least one panel adjacent the interior of the construct such that a second article engagement flap (bottom 17) is arranged for being positioned respectively within a recessed portion of a second article with at least a portion of the base portion and at least a portion of the distal portion are arranged to be positioned in a recessed portion of the second article.
Examiner Note: Can consider top half of 17 as the first attachment feature and can consider bottom half of 17 as the second attachment feature.
With respect to claim 30, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the method of claim 29, further comprising positioning each base portion (central portion of 17) extending obliquely away from the at least one panel (14, 19).
With respect to claim 33, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the method of claim 30, wherein the at least one panel (14) is at least one bottom attachment panel.
With respect to claim 40, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the method of claim 33, wherein the blank further comprises a front panel (12), a back panel (12), and at least one side panel (13) extending from the front panel to the back panel.
With respect to claim 43, Toensmeier view 1 discloses a package, the package comprising: two or more articles (23); and a construct holding the two or more articles, the construct comprising: at least one panel (14, 19) defining a perimeter and positioned adjacent an interior of the construct; and a first article engagement flap (top portion of 17) having a first base portion (top 17 central portion) foldably connected to the at least one panel (14) within the perimeter and a first distal portion (top 17 portion outside of crease 18) foldably connected to the base portion, wherein at least a portion of the first base portion (17 central portion) and at least a portion of the distal portion (17 portion outside of crease 18) are arranged to be within a recessed portion of a first article (23), a second article engagement flap (bottom portion of 17) positioned adjacent to the first article engagement flap and having a second base (top 17 central portion) portion foldably connected to the at least one panel within the perimeter and a second distal portion (top 17 portion outside of crease 18) foldably connected to the base portion, wherein at least a portion of the second base portion and at least a portion of the second distal portion are arranged to be within a recessed portion of a second article.
Examiner Note: Can consider top half of 17 as the first attachment feature and can consider bottom half of 17 as the second attachment feature. Alternatively, one could consider separate 17s, as 112a new matter rejection above, indicates undisclosed teachings of the claims that leads to an unclear interpretation.
With respect to claim 44, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the package of claim 43, wherein each distal portion includes a distal end (perimeter of 17 outside of crease 18) arranged to abut a rim of a respective article.
With respect to claim 47, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the package of claim 44, wherein the at least one panel (14, 19) is at least one bottom attachment panel.
With respect to claim 54, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the package of claim 47, wherein the construct further comprises a front panel (12), a back panel (12), and at least one side panel (13) extending from the front panel to the back panel.
With respect to claim 57, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the construct of claim 4, wherein the distal portion of the first article engagement flap abuts the distal portion of the second article engagement flap. (under the view of top/bottom of 17 as the first and second article flaps, these edges border each other)
Examiner Note: Abut means to “border on: touch along an edge” as defined by Merriam-Webster.
With respect to claim 58, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the blank of claim 18, wherein the distal portion of the first article engagement flap abuts the distal portion of the second article engagement flap. (under the view of top/bottom of 17 as the first and second article flaps, these edges border each other)
Examiner Note: Abut means to “border on: touch along an edge” as defined by Merriam-Webster.
With respect to claim 29, Toensmeier view 1 discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the distal portion of the first article engagement flap abuts the distal portion of the second article engagement flap. (under the view of top/bottom of 17 as the first and second article flaps, these edges border each other)
Examiner Note: Abut means to “border on: touch along an edge” as defined by Merriam-Webster.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the amended material, applicant believes "at least a portion of the first distal portion are arranged to be positioned in a recessed portion of the first article" (as well as similar logic for the second article engagement flap). However, as seen in the cross sectional view of figures 4 and 5 of Toensmeier, it is clear that the engagement flaps are arranged to be within the recessed portion. The claims do not positively recite a first article or second article. The construct as a whole can container multiple articles (both the prior and present invention). The claim language pertaining to the articles are stated as intended function, the articles are never positively recited as part of the invention. Since the first article and the second article of Toensmeier are identical, the flaps would meet the claim language and be able to interact with the first and second article (does not require simultaneous mating). For example, the first flap is able to engage with a first article (or a second article), same with the second flap. The engagement flaps of the Toensmeier are intended for identical articles. Without positive recitation of the articles, Toensmeier is able to achieve the intended functionality of the claims. Essentially, as presently written, the claims use functional language and do not positively recite a configuration with the articles and engagement flaps.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-3083825-A OR US-3073440-A OR US-2931492-A OR US-5452799-A OR US-12103751-B2 OR US-9776750-B2 OR US-8469184-B2 OR US-8387784-B2 OR US-8096413-B2 OR US-5328024-A OR US-5058735-A OR US-20060157545-A1 OR US-20240367879-A1 OR US-20240425233-A1 OR US-20240391670-A1 OR US-20230391524-A1 OR US-20210276776-A1 OR US-20150239628-A1 OR US-20150191284-A1.
Conclusion
/SYMREN K SANGHERA/Examiner, Art Unit 3735