DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B and C, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strickland et al. (US Patent No. 7,269,969).
Re: Claim 1, Strickland discloses the claimed invention including a container, comprising:
a base including an outer wall (40), an insulation layer (48), and an inner wall (44) (Fig. 5);
a lid (62) movably coupled to the base at a first end thereof (Fig. 2);
a plurality of spigots (56, 58) coupled to a front wall of the base at a second end thereof (Depicted in Fig. 2), the second end being opposite the first end, the front wall being opposite a rear wall, and the front wall being connected to the rear wall by a pair of side walls (Depicted in Fig. 4, opposite rear wall to the front wall with spigots); and
a plurality of flow channels formed in the inner wall of the base (Depicted in Fig. 6),
wherein the plurality of spigots are fluidly coupled to the plurality of flow channels (Depicted in Fig. 6, spigots coupled to flow channels in base).
Re: Claim 2, Strickland discloses the claimed invention including each spigot includes: a housing that is coupled to the inner wall of the base, the housing defining a cavity therein; a spigot body secured within the cavity and including a spout, a spout bearing, and a press tab; and a gasket coupled to the housing and the spigot body within the cavity (Depicted in Annotated Fig. 2 below).
Re: Claim 3, Strickland discloses the claimed invention including each spigot defines a flow channel aperture therethrough, and wherein the flow channel aperture is coupled to a channel in the plurality of flow channels (Depicted in Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strickland et al. (US Patent No. 7,269,969) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Levey et al. (US 2004/0251444 A1).
Re: Claims 4, Strickland discloses the claimed invention except for rotating the the spigot. However, teaches the spigot (10) is configured to be rotated between a closed position (Levey:Fig. 1) and an open position (Levey: Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a spigot to be rotated as taught by Levey, since such a modification provides an art regonized alternative to conventional spigots, and further Levey states in paragraph 8 that such a modification provides a spigot that can be operated easily at various positions and heights, and that closes automatically to seal the outlet effectively and reduce the occurrences of drips.
Re: Claim 5, Strickland as modified by Levey in the rejection of claim 4 above teaches a spring (60) is coupled to the spigot body within the cavity and is configured to rotate the spigot in a first direction towards the closed position, and wherein pressing the press tab rotates the spigot in a second direction toward the open position (Levey: Figs. 1-2, Para. 34, spring for automatically closing the spigot).
Re: Claim 6, Strickland as modified by Levey in the rejection of claim 4 above teaches a locking bar (78) is coupled to the housing and is configured to selectively engage with the press tab (68) to lock the spigot in the open position (Levey: Fig. 1, Para. 31, locking bar for keeping in an open position).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strickland et al. (US Patent No. 7,269,969).
Re: Claim 7, Strickland discloses the claimed invention including the outer wall defines a y-axis that extends between the first end and the second end of the container (Depicted in Fig. 3), and wherein the container further includes a plurality of lid fasteners (66) coupled to the lid (Figs. 3-4, Col. 4, lines 28-40 shows a fastener loop on either side of the lid able to receive a plurality of ties). Further It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include a plurality of lid fasteners, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strickland et al. (US Patent No. 7,269,969) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Jacob (US 2022/0170683 A1).
Re: Claim 8, Strickland discloses the plurality of spigots are horizontally aligned with respect to the y-axis except for also with the of lid fasteners. However, teaches aligning a spigot (112) with a lid fastener (116) with respect to the y-axis (Depicted in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the aligned spigot and fastener of Jacob, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited on the PTO-892 provide additional examples of containers with spigots and lids with fasteners.
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754