DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument regarding that Gahres does not describe the step in claim 1, wherein a relation between: a) a tilt position and/or a lift position of the header; and b) a ground reaction force is determined is not persuasive. Gahres discloses that the header's ground force is compared to the desired ground force at different points in time (fig. 5). Each of these different times would be a header position which is what is affecting the ground force, so the header position is intrinsically accounted for.
Applicant’s argument regarding that Gahres does not disclose the change of the tilt and/or lift position of the header in response to an operating condition requirement recited in claim 1 is unpersuasive. Gahres recites "[0050] The control system 400 also may be configured to allow the operator to adjust the predetermined target ground reaction force, based on operating conditions or other factors." While these operating conditions (header weight and oil temperature, [0045]) may not be the operating conditions that the current application intends (cutting position or the cutting of particular crops), "operating conditions" are not specifically defined or limited in the claim. Additionally, the operating conditions in Miller are also broad and so also meet the claim limitations.
Applicant’s argument that the tilt of Miller is about the longitudinal axis, not a pivot axis running transverse to the vehicle’s fore-aft axis, is not persuasive. The angle of the header is changed compared to the header about axis 105 in the direction indicated by 109 (fig. 1, par. 0022 of Miller). This is the same as in the current application.
The 112 (b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gahres et al. (US 2022/0053693 A1), hereinafter Gahres.
Regarding claim 1, Gahres discloses a method of operating a header float control system (400, fig. 4, par. 0041) of an agricultural vehicle (100, fig. 1, par. 0034) having a header (108, fig. 1, par. 0034) movably mounted to a chassis (102, fig. 1, par. 0007 and 0034), the method comprising:
determining for the header a relation between:
a tilt position and/or a lift position of the header, and
a ground reaction force between the header and a ground surface in contact with the header (par. 0007, 0034, 0039, and 0045-0048);
setting a desired ground reaction force between the header and the ground surface in contact with the header (par. 0010 and 0049-0052);
changing the tilt and/or the lift position of the header (par. 0001, 0052, 0055 and 0061-0062, wherein the actuators are set to raise and lower the header such as in par. 0061-0062; additionally, “adjusts one or more operating parameters” contemplates tilting such as in par. 0001) in response to an operating condition requirement (fig. 5, par. 0045-0055); and
adjusting a lift pressure of the header according to the relation between the tilt and/or the lift position of the header and the ground reaction force to maintain the desired ground reaction force (par. 0055 and 0058-0064).
Regarding claim 2, Gahres further discloses wherein determining the relation between the tilt and/or the lift position of the header and the ground reaction force comprises measuring the ground reaction force between the header and the ground surface at one or more tilt and/or the lift positions of the header (par. 0045-0048).
Regarding claim 3, Gahres further discloses wherein setting the desired ground reaction force comprises receiving a selection of an adjustable value for the desired ground reaction force (par. 0049-0051).
Regarding claim 4, Gahres further discloses wherein the adjustable value for the desired ground reaction force comprises an operating pressure of a hydraulic actuator that controls the lift position of the header (par. 0058-0064).
Regarding claim 5, Gahres further discloses wherein changing the tilt and/or the lift position of the header comprises receiving a selection of an adjustable value for the tilt and/or the lift position of the header (par. 0049-0051).
Regarding claim 6, Gahres further discloses wherein adjusting the lift pressure of the header (par. 0055 and 0058-0064) to maintain the desired ground reaction force (par. 0055) comprises adjusting an operating pressure of a hydraulic actuator that controls the lift position of the header relative to the chassis (par. 0058-0064).
Regarding claim 7, Gahres further discloses wherein adjusting the operating pressure of the hydraulic actuator that controls the lift position of the header relative to the chassis comprises changing an output pressure of a pressure reducing valve operatively connected to the hydraulic actuator that controls the lift position of the header relative to the chassis (610, fig. 7, par. 0058-0064, wherein 610 reduces the pressure and lowers the header, see also 604 that raises the header, 600 as a system raises and lowers the header).
Regarding claim 13, Gahres further discloses wherein the tilt is changed by rotating the header about an axis (105, fig. 1, par. 0022) that is transverse to a fore-aft axis of the agricultural vehicle (fig. 1, wherein the axis goes into the page of the figure so that the axis is transverse to a fore-aft axis).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gahres et al. (US 2022/0053693 A1), hereinafter Gahres in view of Miller et al. (US 20200077584 A1), hereinafter Miller.
Regarding claim 8, Gahres discloses an agricultural vehicle (100, fig. 1, par. 0034) comprising:
a chassis (102, fig. 1, par. 0007 and 0034);
a header (108, fig. 1, par. 0034) movably mounted to the chassis (102, fig. 1, par. 0007 and 0034) by one or more lift arms (110, fig. 1-3, par. 0034-0035), the one or more lift arms adjusting a lift position of the header relative to the chassis actuated by one or more lift position hydraulic actuators (par. 0034-0035),
a control system (400, fig. 4, par. 0041) operatively connected to the one or more lift position hydraulic actuators (610, fig. 7, par. 0058-0064, wherein 610 reduces the pressure and lowers the header, see also 604 that raises the header, 600 as a system raises and lowers the header) in order to:
determine for the header a relation between;
a tilt and/or a lift position of the header and a ground reaction force between the header, and
a ground surface in contact with the header (par. 0007, 0034, 0039, and 0045-0048);
set a desired ground reaction force between the header and the ground surface in contact with the header (par. 0010 and 0049-0052);
change the tilt and/or the lift position of the header (par. 0052 and 0055) in response to an operating condition requirement (fig. 5, par. 0045-0055); and
adjust a lift pressure of the one or more lift position hydraulic actuators according to the relation between the tilt and/or the lift position of the header and the ground reaction force to maintain the desired ground reaction force (112, par. 0055 and 0058-0064).
Gahres discloses the above, including the general idea of adjusting a position such as tilt (par. 0001 and par. 0034) and different actuators (112, par. 0035 and 0046-0047).
However, Gahres fails to explicitly disclose the header being adjusting a tilt position relative to a ground surface located below the header actuated by one or more tilt position hydraulic actuators; and the control system operatively connected to the tilt actuators.
Miller teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural vehicles wherein the header is adjusting a tilt position relative to a ground surface located below the header actuated by one or more tilt position hydraulic actuators (par. 0006, 0015, and 0022 of Miller); and the control system operatively connected to the tilt actuators (par. 0024 of Miller).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Gahres to simply substitute the generic multiple actuators for specifically tilt actuators, along with the lift actuators, to control a tilt of the header of Miller in order to yield the predictable result of maintaining the header position in areas of uneven terrain (par. 0015 of Miller).
Regarding claim 9, Gahres in view of Miller further teaches wherein the control system (400, fig. 4, par. 0041 of Gahres) comprises a user interface (408, par. 0051 of Gahres) that receives a selection of an adjustable value for the desired ground reaction force (par. 0049-0051 of Gahres).
Regarding claim 10, Gahres in view of Miller further teaches wherein the control system (400, fig. 4, par. 0041 of Gahres) comprises a user interface (408, par. 0051 of Gahres) that receives a selection of an adjustable value for the tilt position and/or the lift position of the header (par. 0049-0052 of Gahres; par. 0024 of Miller).
Regarding claim 11, Gahres in view of Miller further teaches wherein the control system (400, fig. 4, par. 0041 of Gahres) is operatively connected to a pressure reducing valve (610, fig. 7, par. 0058-0064 of Gahres) that adjusts an operating pressure of the one or more lift position hydraulic actuators (112, par. 0051, 0055, and 0058-0064 of Gahres).
Regarding claim 15, Gahres in view of Miller further teaches wherein the tilt is changed by rotating the header about an axis (105, fig. 1, par. 0022) that is transverse to a fore-aft axis of the agricultural vehicle (fig. 1, wherein the axis goes into the page of the figure so that the axis is transverse to a fore-aft axis).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Gahres is considered the closest prior art, but fails to explicitly disclose “changing the tilt and/or the lift position of the header in response to an operating condition requirement (independent claims), wherein the operating condition requirement comprises a change in a crop and/or a change in a crop cutting condition,” this includes elements from the independent claims. While it is known to set the header float prior to harvesting in view of the crop type or the crop cutting conditions, no prior art was found wherein the header float is changed mid harvest in view of the changing crop type or the crop cutting conditions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672