DETAILED ACTION
Notes
In claims 1 and 6, “and” may be inserted before the final clause for clarity. This is a suggestion and not required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the filtered fluid" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This may be changed to “a filtered fluid.”
Claims 2-5 are rejected for depending from an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Interpretation
In the claims, “filter” and “ballast” are given their broadest reasonable interpretation because neither is clearly defined in the specification. Here, a filter is considered to be anything that is capable of collecting a solid molybdenum and/or tungsten residue, which are powders, even if the powder or conditions are destructive to the filter. A ballast is considered to be anything that can mitigate or affect pressure fluctuations in the fluid flow, such as an expanded flow area or valve, even if the mitigation is minor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 13, 14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applegarth et al. (2020/0368669 A1).
Applegarth et al. ‘669 teach an industrial process gas filter (500) for removing organometallic vapors and solid particles from the gas, comprising an upper manifold including a separated inlet (518) and outlet (516), a central conduit, an expanded impaction stage (520) that will function as a ballast, and flow-through particle filter stages (526,528,530). Gas flows into the conduit in one direction and through the filter stages in an opposite direction (see figure 5B, paragraphs 50-55). The particle filter stages are inherently capable of removing a molybdenum or tungsten residue from a gas stream and the filter is capable of receiving a gas comprising molybdenum or tungsten chloride compounds. In the embodiment of Figure 3, the heat exchanger (400) can also function as a ballast with an inlet fluidly connected to the conduit and an outlet fluidly connected to the filter. The central conduit is fluidly connected to the inlet (518) and the filter, and the filter is fluidly connected to the conduit and the fluid outlet (516).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applegarth et al. ‘669.
Applegarth et al. ‘669 disclose all of the limitations of the claims except that the filter is configured for filtration with fluids at a preferred pressure or temperature range. Absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the temperature and pressure specifications of the filter are considered to be parameters that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill on the art in order to provide a filter that is effective in a given process stream to ensure that it does not fail.
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applegarth et al. ‘669 in view of Harkonen et al. (6,936,086).
Applegarth et al. ‘669 disclose all of the limitations of the claims except that the filter and/or conduit has a metal oxide coating. Harkonen et al. ‘086 disclose a particle filter that can have an alumina coating (see abstract, col. 4, lines 8-19). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the filter of Applegarth et al. ‘669 by using a metal oxide coating in order to provide protection from chemically corrosive vapors or abrasive particles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references listed on the attached PTO-892 form disclose gas filter arrangements.
/FRANK M LAWRENCE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
fl