DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed January 20, 2026 has been received, Claims 1-17 and 21-23 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 1-17 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 10 and 21 recite “wherein a majority of the knit tongue tab is positioned on the medial side across the longitudinal midline reference plane”; and Claims 1 and 10 recite “wherein a majority of the knit heel tab is positioned on the lateral side across the longitudinal midline reference plane”. The claim limitations are indefinite as it is unclear what the term “across” is meant to impart structurally to the orientation of the tongue and heel tabs. Claims 1, 10, and 21 are rejected as best understood by examiner.
Claim 4 recites “wherein a reference line that bisects the distal-most extent of the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab”. The claim limitation is indefinite as it is unclear how a single reference line bisects two tabs that are on opposite sides of the shoe collar. Claim 4 is rejected as best understood by examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, 17, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dealey (US 2016/0058100).
Regarding Claim 1, Dealey discloses an upper for an article of footwear, the upper (120) comprising: a medial side (18) and a lateral side (16) separated by a longitudinal midline reference plane extending from a toe area to a heel area of the upper (see annotated Fig. 4 below; para.30); and a first knit component (130) comprising: a knit collar (region of 130 around 140) defining an opening (140) for receiving a wearer’s foot (para.33); a knit tongue tab, a distal-most extent of the knit tongue tab extending toward the medial side of the upper; and a knit heel tab, a distal-most extent of the knit heel tab extending toward the lateral side of the upper (see annotated Fig. 2 & 5 below), wherein the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab are each disposed on opposite sides of the longitudinal midline reference plane (see annotated Figures below), wherein a majority of the knit tongue tab is positioned on the medial side across the longitudinal midline reference plane, and wherein a majority of the knit heel tab is positioned on the lateral side across the longitudinal midline reference plane (see annotated Figures below).
Regarding Claim 2, Dealey discloses an upper of claim 1, wherein the knit tongue tab is integrally knit with the knit collar (para.35 & 42-43).
Regarding Claim 3, Dealey discloses an upper of claim 1, wherein the knit heel tab is integrally knit with the knit collar (para.35 & 42-43).
Regarding Claim 4, Dealey discloses an upper of claim 1, further comprising a knit tongue (152; para.34); wherein a reference line that bisects the distal-most extent of the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab form an angle greater than 0 degrees and less than 90 degrees with respect to the longitudinal midline reference plane (see annotated Figure below).
Regarding Claim 5, Dealey discloses an upper of claim 4, wherein at least the knit tongue tab is integrally knit with the knit tongue (para.35 & 42-43).
Regarding Claim 8, Dealey discloses an upper of claim 1, wherein the knit tongue tab is at least partially positioned on the medial side of the upper (see annotated Figures above).
Regarding Claim 9, Dealey discloses an upper of claim 1, wherein the knit heel tab is at least partially positioned on the lateral side of the upper (see annotated Figures above).
Regarding Claim 10, Dealey discloses an article of footwear comprising: a knit upper (120; para.35) having lateral side (16) and a medial side (18) separated by a longitudinal midline reference plane extending from a toe area to a heel area of the knit upper (see annotated Fig. 4 above; para.30), the knit upper formed from at least a first knit component (130), the knit upper comprising: a knit collar (region of 130 around 140) defining an opening (140) for receiving a wearer’s foot; a knit tongue tab extending away from the longitudinal midline reference plane toward the medial side of the knit upper; and a knit heel tab extending away from the longitudinal midline reference plane toward the lateral side (see annotated Figures above), wherein the knit collar is integrally knit with the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab (para.35), and wherein the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab are each disposed on opposite sides of the longitudinal midline reference plane, wherein a majority of the knit tongue tab is positioned on the medial side across the longitudinal midline reference plane, and wherein a majority of the knit heel tab is positioned on the lateral side across the longitudinal midline reference plane (see annotated Figures with Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Dealey discloses an article of footwear of claim 10, further comprising a knit tongue (152; para.34).
Regarding Claim 12, Dealey discloses an article of footwear of claim 11, wherein the knit tongue shares at least one knit course in common with the knit tongue tab (para.35 & 42-43).
Regarding Claim 13, Dealey discloses an article of footwear of claim 12, wherein the knit tongue is integrally knit with lateral and medial sides of a throat area of the knit upper such that the knit tongue is inseparable from a remainder of the throat area (para.35 & 42-43).
Regarding Claim 14, Dealey discloses an article of footwear of claim 10, further comprising a sole structure (110) secured to the knit upper (para.32).
Regarding Claim 17, Dealey discloses an article of footwear of claim 10, wherein the knit upper comprises a heel seam (para.38; see annotated Figure below), and at least a majority of the knit heel tab is positioned lateral to the heel seam (see annotated Figures above).
Regarding Claim 21, Dealey discloses an article of footwear, comprising: an upper (120), comprising: a knitted component (130; para.35), wherein the upper comprises a lateral side (16) and a medial side (18) separated by a longitudinal midline reference plane extending from a toe area to a heel area of the upper (see annotated Fig. 4 above; para.30); the upper comprising: a collar (region of 130 around 140) comprising a top edge (i.e. edge of 130 around 140) and defining an opening (140) for receiving a wearer’s foot; a tongue tab extending away from the longitudinal midline reference plane toward the medial side of the upper, wherein a majority of the tongue tab is positioned on the medial side across the longitudinal midline reference plane (see annotated Figures with Claim 1); and a heel tab (see annotated Figures with Claim 1); and wherein the collar is integrally knit with the tongue tab and the heel tab (para.35).
Regarding Claim 22, Dealey discloses an article of footwear of claim 21, wherein the collar, the tongue tab, and the heel tab comprise part of the knitted component (para.35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dealey (US 2016/0058100).
Regarding Claim 15, Dealey discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. While Dealey does not explicitly disclose wherein the sole structure comprises cleats. However, Dealey further teaches the shoe may be athletic footwear types, including baseball shoes, soccer shoes, [and] football shoes (para.29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have placed cleats on the sole of Dealey, in order to provide the desired traction to a user involved in a sporting event, and as it is well known in the footwear art that baseball shoes, soccer shoes, [and] football shoes typically have cleats on the sole.
4. Claim(s) 6-7, 16, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dealey (US 2016/0058100) in view of Podhajny (US 8,997,529).
Regarding Claims 6 and 23, Dealey discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Dealey does not disclose wherein the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab each have a lower elasticity than the knit collar. However, Podhajny teaches a knit shoe upper (120) having a first knit component (130/133,134) with may incorporate various types of yarn that impart different properties to separate areas; one area of the knitted component may be formed from a first type of yarn that imparts a first set of properties, and another area of the knitted component may be formed from a second type of yarn that imparts a second set of properties, such as stretch and recovery (Col.7, lines 46-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab of Dealey to have a lower elasticity than the knit collar, as taught by Podhajny, in order to provide the optimum amount of stretch and support to the knit tabs and the collar for easy, durable entry of a user’s foot in and out of the shoe opening.
Regarding Claim 7, Dealey discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Dealey does not disclose wherein the upper further comprises a knit tongue that has a greater elasticity than the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab. However, Podhajny teaches a knit shoe upper (120) having a first knit component (130/133,134) with may incorporate various types of yarn that impart different properties to separate areas; one area of the knitted component may be formed from a first type of yarn that imparts a first set of properties, and another area of the knitted component may be formed from a second type of yarn that imparts a second set of properties, such as stretch and recovery (Col.7, lines 46-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the knit tongue of Dealey to have a greater elasticity than the knit tongue tab and the knit heel tab, as taught by Podhajny, in order to provide the optimum amount of stretch and support to the knit tabs and the tongue for easy, durable entry of a user’s foot in and out of the shoe opening.
Regarding Claim 16, Dealey discloses the invention substantially as claimed above. Dealey does not disclose wherein one or more of the toe area, at least a portion of the medial side, and at least a portion of the lateral side comprises a second knit component. However, Podhajny teaches a knit shoe upper (120) having a first knit component (133,134) and one or more of a toe area (10), at least a portion of a medial side (16), and at least a portion of a lateral side (18) comprises a second knit component (131)(as seen in Fig.1 & 6; Col.7, lines 21-60).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the knit upper of Dealey to have first and second knit components, as taught by Podhajny, in order to provide an upper that imparts different properties to various areas of upper, delivering the optimum stretch and durability for enhanced fit and support to a wearer during use of the shoe.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and newly modified grounds of rejection have been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments, which are drawn solely to the newly amended limitations, have been considered but are moot in view of the newly modified ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732