DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, 14 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires the presence of specific phosphonic acid or silanol end groups both of which are attached to the mainchain -Rf- via an ether linkage. However, the claimed Rf group includes a structure which includes a terminal -O- linkage (-CF2O(CF2CF2CF2CF2O)n-). It is unclear how two -O- groups can be linked in this manner. Claim 12 includes the same Rf group (-CF2O(CF2CF2CF2CF2O)n-).
Claim 22 is indefinite because the lubricant chains therein include additional chain segments (i.e., -CH2CF2-)that are excluded by the formula R1-Rf-R1 set forth in claim 1, from which 22 depends.
Claim 23 is indefinite because the lubricant chain therein includes additional chain segments (i.e., -CH2CH(OH)CH2OCH2CF2-) that are excluded by the formula R1-Rf-R1 set forth in claim 1, from which 23 depends.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 12 fails to further limit claim 10. Claim 10 depends from claim 9, which depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites the same limitation as set forth in claim 12.
Double Patenting
The rejection of claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, and 14-15 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,898,116 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1, 5-7, 9-10, and 14-15 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,414,617 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 12 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by JP
2004-39102 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 1 and 4-5 under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Flynn et al. (US
2005/0048288) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 1-3, 15-16 and 20-21under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by
Kondo et al. (EP 0643125) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by JP 06049214 (see English abstract and formulas in JP document).
JP 0604921 discloses a method of making a compound be reacting a perfluorinated polyether with a halogenated (fluorinated) functional group wherein the functional group has silanol endgroups (see paragraphs [0034]-[0037] and abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claim(s) 3, 6, 11, 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2004-
39102 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claim(s) 2-3, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flynn et al. (US 2005/0048288) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, and 14-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103a as unpatentable over Pathem et al. (US 2022/0220406- publication date 7/14/2022) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowable over the closest prior art to Pathem et al. and Flynn et al. The references teach a perfluoropolyether with a phosphonic acid endgroup or a silanol endgroup (Pathem). However, neither reference teaches or suggests the claimed benzyl phosphonic acid or benzyl silanol end groups. The prior art fails to provide a reasoning to modify the silanol and phosphonic acid end groups of Pathem and Flynn to include the claimed benzyl group.
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would
be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any
intervening claims.
The closest prior art to Pathem et al. and Flynn et al. teach a perfluoropolyether with a
phosphonic acid endgroup. However, the references fail to teach or suggest a method of making the
phosphonic acid-functionalized perfluoropolyether via a reaction between a perfluoropolyether and
diethyl (2-bromoethyl)phosphonate or diethyl (4-bromobenzyl)phosphonate. Instead, the prior art to
Flynn teaches forming the lubricant via reaction with diethyl(4-aminobenzyl)phosphonate wherein an
amide linkage is formed in the lubricant compound between the perfluoropolyether and the
phosphonate. There is no teaching or suggestion in the art to lead one of ordinary skill in the art to
replace the 4-aminobenzyl group taught by Flynn et al. with 4-bromobenzyl as required by the claim.
The closest prior art to Pathem et al. also teaches a perfluoropolyether with a silanol endgroup.
However, the reference fails to teach or suggest a method of making the silanol-functionalized
perfluoropolyether via a reaction between a perfluoropolyether and (4-chlorophenyl)triethoxysilane or
(4-bromophenyl)trimethoxysilane. It was known in the prior art to form silanol modified
perfluoropolyethers but there is no teaching or suggestion in the art of using the specifically claimed
starting materials (claim 19) or forming a polymer having a perfluoropolyether chain with a -OC6H5-
Si(OH)3 endgroup (claim 8).
Claims 1, 3, 8-12, and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art to Pathem et al. and Flynn et al. teach a perfluoropolyether with a
phosphonic acid endgroup or a silanol endgroup (Pathem). However, neither reference teaches or suggests the claimed -O-C6H5-OPO(OH)2 or -O-C6H5-Si(OH)3 end groups. The prior art fails to provide a reasoning to modify the silanol and phosphonic acid end groups of Pathem and Flynn to include the claimed -O-C6H5- linkage between the end group and the perfluoropolyether chain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to HOLLY RICKMAN whose telephone number is (571)272-1514. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon, Tues, Thurs, 9am-3pm ET.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Mark Ruthkosky can be reached at 571-272-1291. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/Holly Rickman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785