DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS form submitted by Applicant on 5/31/23 is blank. Please resubmit if there is relevant prior art to be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dufrancatel US 5,029,935.
Regarding claim 1, Dufrancatel discloses a dual accessible kitchen arrangement (Figs. 1 and 2) for a recreational vehicle (col. 4, line 19; which is usable for recreation) comprising: a recreational vehicle (col. 4, line 19); a kitchen space (6; Fig. 4; when the kitchen unit (1; Fig. 4, col. 9, line 45) is inside the vehicle) that is interiorly adjacent to an exterior wall (3; Fig. 4; disclosed as a “partition 3” in col. 4, lines 21-29) of said recreational vehicle (col. 4, line 19), said exterior wall (3; Fig. 4) having an opening (4; Fig. 4) adjacent to said kitchen space allowing portions of said kitchen space to be dual accessible (in that, besides accessibility to the kitchen space (including the kitchen unit 1) from the inside of the vehicle, the kitchen unit 1 and the space it occupies can be accessed from a person standing outside the vehicle, yet adjacent to the opening 4), wherein dual accessible is defined that said portions of said kitchen space is accessible exteriorly to individuals outside of, as well as interiorly to individuals within, said recreational vehicle, wherein said portions of said kitchen utilize the same space, and simultaneously usable, wherein simultaneously usable is defined that said portions of said kitchen space may be accessed simultaneously by individuals outside of, as well as within, said recreational vehicle (in that, besides accessibility to the kitchen space (6; Fig. 4) including the kitchen unit (1; Fig. 4) when it is disposed inside the vehicle from the inside of the vehicle, the kitchen unit 1 and the “kitchen” space it occupies can also be accessed from a person standing outside the vehicle, yet adjacent to the opening while the kitchen unit 1 is inside the vehicle, i.e., simultaneously accessible from individuals outside and as well as within the vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, Dufrancatel discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 1, as explained above, wherein said kitchen space (6; Fig. 4) is dual accessible and simultaneously usable from different ground levels, at least one ground level (14; Fig. 2) interiorly inside the recreational vehicle (col. 4, line 19) and at least another ground level (15; Fig. 2) exteriorly outside the recreational vehicle (col. 4, line 19).
Regarding claim 12, Dufrancatel discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 1, as explained above, wherein said kitchen space (6; Fig. 4) further comprises anyone or any combination of: a refrigerator (col. 8, line 20), a stove (abstract, third to last line), an oven, (col. 8, line 20),and a cupboard (col. 8, line 20).
Claims 1, 11, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reed, III et al. US 6,814,383.
Regarding claim 1, Reed, III et al. discloses a dual accessible kitchen (including stove 54; Fig. 2; where a kitchen is defined by merriam-webster.com as “a place (such as a room) with cooking facilities”) arrangement for a recreational vehicle (vehicle; abstract, line 2) usable for recreational type activities) comprising:a recreational vehicle (abstract, line 2); a kitchen space (including stove 54; Fig. 2; where a kitchen is defined by merriam-webster.com as “a place (such as a room) with cooking facilities”) that is interiorly adjacent to an exterior wall (where the exterior wall is made up of portions of the vehicle body surrounding the opening (annotated Fig. 1 below) which is selectively closed by the upper and lower panels (annotated Fig. 1 below) where such portions are generally oriented widthwise to the vehicle to form an “exterior wall”, as broadly as recited) of said recreational vehicle (vehicle; abstract, line 2), said exterior wall having an opening (annotated Fig. 1 below) adjacent to said kitchen space, (i.e., the space near the stove unit 54; Fig. 1) allowing portions of said kitchen space to be dual accessible, wherein dual accessible is defined that said portions of said kitchen space is accessible exteriorly to individuals outside (individuals standing near portions of the lower panel (annotated Fig. 1 below) or kneeling on the lower panel (annotated Fig. 1 below)) of, as well as interiorly to individuals within (individuals located inside the vehicle can reach over the entertainment subsystem 38 (Fig. 2) to access the stove of the kitchen, for example, during inclement weather protected by the vehicle roof), said recreational vehicle (vehicle; abstract, line 2), wherein said portions of said kitchen utilize the same space (since the stove 54 of the kitchen space can be accessed when in a stationary position shown in Fig. 1), and simultaneously usable, wherein simultaneously usable is defined that said portions of said kitchen space may be accessed simultaneously by individuals outside of, as well as within, said recreational vehicle in that individuals standing near portions of the lower panel (annotated Fig. 1 below) or kneeling on the lower panel (annotated Fig. 1 below) and individuals located inside the vehicle can reach over the entertainment subsystem 38 (Fig. 2) to access the stove of the kitchen, for example, during inclement weather protected by the vehicle roof may simultaneously access the kitchen space.
Regarding claim 11, Reed, III et al. discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 1, as explained above, wherein said kitchen space (including stove 54; Fig. 2; where a kitchen is defined by merriam-webster.com as “a place (such as a room) with cooking facilities”) is dual accessible and simultaneously usable from different ground levels, at least one ground level interiorly inside the recreational vehicle (comprising the floor of the vehicle) and at least another ground level exteriorly outside the recreational vehicle (comprising the ground adjacent to the vehicle).
Regarding claim 12, Reed, III et al. discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 1, as explained above, wherein said kitchen space (including stove 54; Fig. 2; where a kitchen is defined by merriam-webster.com as “a place (such as a room) with cooking facilities”) further comprises anyone or any combination of: a refrigerator (34; Fig. 3), and a stove (54; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Reed, III et al. discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 1, as explained above, wherein said portions (which include a refrigerated section (34; Fig. 3) as well as warming sections (36;Fig. 3) that are directly related to the cooking function of the kitchen space) contain compartment doors (the closure panel of the refrigerator drawer (34; Fig. 3) identified with number 34 in Fig. 3A is considered to be a “compartment door” and other “compartment doors” comprise those of the warming drawers (36; Fig. 3) that are capable of closing off said portions to the elements (weather elements) while conveniently allowing access to said portions' interior (inside the refrigerator drawer (34; Fig. 3) and warming drawers (36; Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dufrancatel US 5,029,935 and Warning US 6,817,642.
Regarding claim 2, Dufrancatel discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 1, as explained above, further comprising a (closure) panel (35; Figs. 1-3) configured to close said opening (4; Fig. 4) when said kitchen space (6; Fig. 4) is only interiorly accessible as shown for the position of the panel 35 in Fig. 1.
However, Dufrancatel does not disclose that the panel is configured to seal the opening.
However, Warning discloses a closure panel or door (22; Fig. 1) which provides selective access to a sink (51; Fig. 5), which is a known kitchen space item, by selectively closing opening (30; Fig. 5), wherein the door 22 includes a sealing member at a periphery thereof to seal the opening (see col. 5, line 65 to Col, 6, line 1).
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Warning reference is considered to be relevant art, in that the Warning reference is in the same field of endeavor, namely the provision of kitchen type features for external access with respect to a vehicle, as the Dufrancatel reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the panel of Dufrancatel with a sealing member as taught by Warning with a reasonable expectation of success in order to protect the interior of the vehicle from the elements at the opening.
Regarding claim 3, Dufrancatel, as modified by Warning, discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 2, as explained above, wherein said panel (35; Figs. 1-3 disclosed as a “hinge flap” in col. 10, line 10 of Dufrancatel) is removably mounted to said exterior wall in that it can be removed (unhinged) in order to be replaced in the event of damage thereto .
Regarding claim 4, Dufrancatel, as modified by Warning, discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 2, as explained above, wherein said panel (35; Figs. 1-3 disclosed as a “hinge flap” in col. 10, line 10 of Dufrancatel) is moveably attached (hinged movement shown in Figs. 1-3) to said exterior wall, (3; Fig. 4) the panel 35 having an open state (see Fig. 2) and a closed state (solid lines in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Dufrancatel, as modified by Warning, discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 4, wherein said panel (35; Fig. 2) is configured to be used as an area shade (in that it extends with a horizonal component that naturally provides shade from rays of the sun incident upon it) in said open state (show in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Dufrancatel, as modified by Warning, discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 4, as explained above, wherein said panel (35; Fig. 2) is capable of rotating (by way of being hinged) when in said open state (Fig. 2) so as to protect said exterior wall (a portion of the exterior wall (3; Fig. 2) behind the panel (35; Fig. 2) from “activity” below which would otherwise impact the exterior wall) from activity occurring on said exterior wall.
Regarding claim 10, Dufrancatel, as modified by Warning, discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 2, as explained above, wherein said panel (35; Fig. 1) is configured to be used as a backsplash in that the panel 35 is positioned behind the kitchen unit 1 (Fig. 1) when in a closed position as shown in Fig. 1.
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed, III et al. US 6,814,383 in view of Voyer US 8,292, 345.
Regarding claim 2, Reed, III et al. discloses the recreational vehicle of claim 1, as explained above, further comprising a (hatch closure; comprising upper and lower panels; see annotated Fig. 1 above) panel (one of the upper and lower panels in annotated Fig.1 above) configured to close said opening (annotated Fig. 1 above) when said kitchen space is only interiorly accessible.
However, Reed, III et al do not disclose that the panel is configured to seal the opening.
However, Voyer discloses a vehicle (10; Fig. 3) hatch (12; Fig. 3) with a frame 38 (Fig. 3) which has is disclosed in col. 3, lines 25-31 as: “The hatch frame 38 may be formed of any suitable materials such as metals and/or plastics. In some embodiments, the hatch frame 38 may include one or more sealing members disposed about the outer and/or inner periphery of the hatch frame to provide a fluid-tight seal between, e.g., the hatch frame 38 and the vehicle body 41, the hatch frame 38 and the tailgate 32 and the hatch frame 38 and the rear window 28”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Voyer reference is considered to be relevant art, in that the Voyer is in the same field of endeavor, namely that which pertains to vehicle rear closure member/hatch constructions and details, as the Reed, III et al reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the panel(s) of Reed, III et al. with a sealing member as taught by Voyer with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a fluid-tight seal between, e.g., the hatch frame 38 and the vehicle body 41. Motivation provided by Voyer in col. 3, lines 25-31.
Regarding claim 3, Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer US 8,292, 345, disclose the recreational vehicle of claim 2, as explained above, wherein said panel (one of the hinged upper and lower panels in annotated Fig. 1 above) is removably mounted to said exterior wall in that it can be removed (i.e., unhinged) in order to be replaced in the event of damage thereto.
Regarding claim 4, Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer US 8,292, 345, disclose the recreational vehicle of claim 2, as explained above, wherein said panel (one of said upper and lower panels; see annotated Fig. 1 above) is moveably attached (hinged) to said exterior wall, the panel having an open state (Fig 1) and a closed state.
Regarding claim 5, Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer US 8,292, 345, disclose the recreational vehicle of claim 4, as explained above, wherein said panel (the lower panel in annotated Fig. 1 above) is configured to be used as a countertop when in said open state in that it is horizontally disposed in annotated Fig. 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer US 8,292, 345, disclose the recreational vehicle of claim 4, as explained above, wherein said panel (the lower panel in annotated Fig. 1 above) is configured to be used as an area shade (in that it extends with a horizonal component that naturally provides shade from rays of the sun incident upon it) when in said open state.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed, III et al. US 6,814,383 in view of Voyer US 8,292, 345, as applied above to claim 4, and further in view of Smedstad US 3,376,668.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer, disclose the recreational vehicle of claim 4, as explained above, except that wherein said panel is configured to slide along said exterior wall (claims 7 and 8) and rotate (claim 8).
However, Smedstad discloses a vehicle rear closure for an opening (annotated Fig. 1 below) therein comprising upper and lower panels (annotated Fig. 1 below), where the upper panel (annotated Fig. 1 below) slides along an internal edge of the exterior wall (portions of which that form the exterior wall are identified in annotated Fig. 1 below) by way of track 13 (Fig. 1) and rotates from a vertical starting position to a horizontal end position, as can be seen in Figs. 1-4.
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Smedstad reference is considered to be relevant art, in that the GB Smedstad reference is in the same field of endeavor, namely that which pertains to opening and closing constructions for an upper panel of a rear closure of a vehicle, as the Reed, III et al., reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to configure the upper panel of Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer with a track that permits the upper panel to slide along an internal edge of the exterior wall and to rotate from a vertical starting position to a horizontal end position as taught by Smedstad with a reasonable expectation of success to eliminate the need for telescoping props or the like. Motivation provided in Smedstad, col, 1, lines 36-40.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed, III et al. US 6,814,383 in view of Voyer US 8,292, 345, as applied above to claim 2, and further in view of Gunsch US 2003/0117261.
Regarding claim 14, Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer, disclose the recreational vehicle of claim 2, except that wherein the recreational vehicle (vehicle; abstract, line 2) further comprises a mechanism to lock and unlock the panel from the outside or inside.
However, Gunsch discloses that a pocket sized fob transmitter with several push buttons can lock and unlock doors…which include “a trunk or hatch”. See para. [0005], lines 2-4 and the last 5 lines. Such fobs can be activated either inside or outside the vehicle.
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Gunsch reference is considered to be relevant art, in that the Gunsch reference is in the same field of endeavor, namely that which pertains to details of vehicle rear doors or hatches, as the Reed, III et al., reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the hatch or panels of Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer, with a mechanism, in the form of a keyless fob, to lock and unlock the panels from the outside or inside as taught by Gunsch with a reasonable expectation of success for greater ease in locking and unlocking the panels.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reed, III et al. US 6,814,383 in view of Voyer US 8,292, 345 as applied above to claim 2, and further in view of Collins et al. US 11,071,409.
Regarding claim 15, Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer, disclose the recreational vehicle of claim 2, except that wherein the panel (the lower panel as identified in annotated Fig. 1 above which takes the form of a downwardly pivoting tailgate) further comprises an electrical stove surface for cooking.
However, Collins et al. disclose a heating unit (62; Fig. 3, col 3, lines 9-10 and line 63) which can be an electric stove (col. 3, lines 9-10; which has an upwardly directed surface as can be seen in Fig. 3) positioned within a tailgate (30; Fig. 3; col.3, lines 10-11), where the heating unit/electric stove is powered by a traction battery (col. 3, lines 8-9).
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Collins et al. reference is considered to be relevant art, in that the Collins et al. reference is in the same field of endeavor, namely that which pertains to vehicle mounted cooking appliances, as the Reed, III et al., reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the lower panel of Reed, III et al., as modified by of Voyer, in the form of a tailgate with an electric stove powered by a traction battery therein as taught by Collins et al. with a reasonable expectation of success for an additional cooking space and because the traction battery powering the heating unit/electric stive provides a substantial power source enabling the heating unit to attain and maintain relatively high cooking temperatures. Motivation provided by
Collins et al. col. 3, lines 12-15
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Coon, Jr. US 2,867,471 disclose a station wagon camping apparatus for cooking.
Low US 3,544,452 discloses a kitchen unit which rolls out of a mobile home for exterior access thereto.
Christopher et al. US 3,692,351 discloses a retractable cooking apparatus for a recreational vehicle.
Myers US 4,089,554 discloses a camper cooking unit extendable rearwardly from a vehicle.
FR 2563417 discloses a swiveling kitchen unit for a mobile dwelling.
Loisel US 4,969,678 discloses a vehicle camping assembly.
Jones US 5,263,467 discloses a gas grill selectively storable in a compartment of a recreational vehicle.
Ashcraft et al. US 5,586,546 disclose a fold away gas grille for a camper unit.
Chuan US 5,862,540 discloses a portable kitchen unit for a vehicle.
Karney et al. US 2007/0006867 disclose a tailgate mounted cooking apparatus.
FR 2976531 discloses a gas grill for exterior use for a mobile home which is selectively stored in a compartment of the mobile home when not being used.
Groover et al. US 10,710,491 disclose an outdoor kitchen for a recreational vehicle.
Mundt et al. US 11,345,271 disclose a kitchen arrangement for a camper which is selectively slid outside of the camper for external use.
/Joseph D. Pape/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
Jdp
9/6/25