DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 and 10-20 in the reply filed on December 19, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 19, 2025.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant’s claims and specification possess multiple instances of the term “absorption,” which refers to a process by which a substance is transferred into another. The processes of “adsorption” and “absorption” differ. Adsorption is the process of adhesion of material to a surface, such as in a magnetic connection. For the sake of expediting prosecution, it is understood that Applicant intends to refer to the process of adsorption in each instance of the term “absorption” since none of the parts of the invention involve the process of absorption.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, “at least one of the followings” should read as “at least one of the following ways.”
In claim 10, “and an the add-on assembly” should read as “and an add-on assembly.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Huang (WO 2021129036 A1) (disclosed by Applicant, citing SEARCH translation) (hereinafter – Huang) in view of
Olafsson et al. (US 20220107663 A1) (hereinafter – Olafsson).
Re. Claim 1: Huang teaches an add-on assembly (Fig. 1: cuff 20 can be considered an add-on assembly comprising multiple different sub-assemblies (i.e., parts comprised of further parts)), comprising:
multiple different sub-assemblies, wherein each of the sub-assemblies comprises a magnetic absorption part (Fig. 4: connecting piece 22 of cuff has trigger portions 241a, 241b may comprise magnetic paint or magnets as described on page 6/8).
Huang does not teach the magnetic absorption part of each of the sub-assemblies is used for adsorbed-connection with a device main body of a wearable device.
Olafsson teaches analogous art in the technology of wearable devices comprising magnetic connections (Abstract; Paragraph 0024). Olafsson further teaches the invention wherein the magnetic absorption part of each of the sub-assemblies is used for adsorbed-connection with a device main body of a wearable device (Paragraph 0030: “When the object is received by the receiving portion of the wearable device, the first set of magnets engages the second set of magnets via a magnetic connection to affix the object to the receiving portion of the wearable device”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Huang to include a magnetic absorption part for each sub-assembly at the position of interfacing surfaces of Huang, the motivation being that doing so provides a more secure connection as compared to the tenon connection (i.e., a square peg in a square hole) which Huang utilizes to interface sub-assemblies to a main body of a device (Olafsson, Paragraph 0024: see “affix”).
Huang further teaches the magnetic absorption parts of any two of the sub-assemblies are different (Fig. 4: trigger portions 241a and 241b having surfaces 241c, 241d are distinct from one another; see modification by Olafsson to apply corresponding magnetic absorption parts), and
each of the sub-assemblies is identified by the device main body through the magnetic absorption part (Page 6/8: “Specifically, the surfaces 241c and 241d can be made of magnetic paint or magnets, for example, the identification element can determine whether there is a magnetic field, where the identification element senses the surface with the magnetic field as 1, and the unsensed surface with the magnetic field is regarded as 0. By configuring the surfaces 241c and 241d of different cuffs 24 as magnetic or non-magnetic two types of configurations, the different identification signals (0,0), (1,0), (0,1) and in the above embodiment can also be achieved. (1, 1), the processor 121 of the blood pressure meter host 10 can generate a corresponding cuff recognition result according to the recognition signal, and perform automatic adjustment of the calculation program, so as to provide the user with an accurate blood pressure count value”).
Re. Claim 2: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 1. Huang further teaches the invention wherein the magnetic absorption parts of any two sub-assemblies are different in at least one of the followings:
each magnetic absorption part is a permanent magnet, and polarities of the magnetic absorption parts of any two sub-assemblies are different;
numbers of the magnetic absorption parts of any two sub-assemblies are different (Page 5/8: “Similarly, when the number of trigger parts is two or more, it also has the function of cuff connection verification, and the function of distinguishing the type of cuff in detail, such as generating multi-bit identification signals (0, 0, 0), (0,1,0), etc.;” Examiner notes that this allows for an interpretation of, e.g., one trigger part having one magnetic surface and a second trigger part having two magnetic surfaces, thus encompassing the claim requirement of differing numbers of magnetic absorption parts of sub-assemblies);
positions of the magnetic absorption parts of any two sub-assemblies are arranged differently (Fig. 4: trigger portions 241a and 241b having surfaces 241c and 241d are distinct from each other in arrangement); and
each of the magnetic absorption parts comprises an adsorption surface, and areas of the adsorption surfaces of the magnetic absorption parts of any two sub-assemblies are different (see previous citation of page 5/8: a trigger part having two magnetic surfaces entails double the area of a trigger part having one magnetic surface; additionally or alternatively, see previous citation of Fig. 4 – surfaces are considered areas which differ in space).
Re. Claim 3: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 1. Huang further teaches the invention wherein
the magnetic absorption part of each of the sub-assemblies is configured as a permanent magnet or a magnetic conductor (Page 6/8: “Specifically, the surfaces 241c and 241d can be made of magnetic paint or magnets…”); or
at least one of the sub-assemblies comprises multiple magnetic absorption parts, the multiple magnetic absorption parts comprising at least one permanent magnet and at least one magnetic conductor.
Re. Claim 4: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 1. Huang further teaches the invention wherein at least one of the sub-assemblies is configured as an airbag assembly for measuring blood pressure (Fig. 1, 4: magnetic trigger portions 241a, 241b are components of a cuff 20 comprising an airbag; Page 2/8: “The cuff is fixed on the casing and communicated with the intake and exhaust components through the air pipe, so as to… detect the user's systolic and diastolic blood pressure and other values...”).
Re. Claim 5: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 1. Huang further teaches the invention wherein at least two of the sub-assemblies are configured as the airbag assemblies, and models of the respective airbag assemblies are different (Page 6/8: “By configuring the surfaces 241c and 241d of different cuffs 24 as magnetic or non-magnetic two types of configurations, the different identification signals (0,0), (1,0), (0,1) and in the above embodiment can also be achieved. (1, 1), the processor 121 of the blood pressure meter host 10 can generate a corresponding cuff recognition result according to the recognition signal, and perform automatic adjustment of the calculation program, so as to provide the user with an accurate blood pressure count value;” Examiner notes that each cuff possesses at least two trigger portions (i.e., sub-assemblies) serving to identify each cuff uniquely).
Re. Claim 10: Huang teaches a wearable device (Fig. 1: device 100),
comprising:
a device main body (Fig. 1: sphygmomanometer host 10; Fig. 5: sphygmomanometer host 30)
comprising
a magnetic field sensor (Page 6/8: “As shown in FIG. 4, the identification element in this example is a magnetic sensor (not shown).”),
a processor (Fig. 1: processor 121).
Huang does not teach the invention comprising a magnetic absorption fitting part.
Such an aspect is taught in Olafsson. See rejection of claim 1.
Huang as modified by Olafsson further teaches the invention comprising:
an add-on assembly, comprising multiple different sub-assemblies (Fig. 1: cuff 20 can be considered an add-on assembly comprising multiple different sub-assemblies (i.e., parts comprised of further parts)),
wherein each of the sub-assemblies comprises a magnetic absorption part (Fig. 4: trigger portions 241a, 241b may comprise magnetic paint or magnets as described on page 6/8; see modification by Olafsson to apply corresponding magnetic absorption parts).
Olafsson, in the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the magnetic absorption part of each of the sub-assemblies is used for adsorbed-connection with a device main body of a wearable device (see rejection of claim 1).
Huang as modified by Olafsson further teaches the invention wherein the magnetic absorption parts of any two of the sub-assemblies are different, and each of the sub-assemblies is identified by the device main body through the magnetic absorption part (Page 6/8: “Specifically, the surfaces 241c and 241d can be made of magnetic paint or magnets, for example, the identification element can determine whether there is a magnetic field, where the identification element senses the surface with the magnetic field as 1, and the unsensed surface with the magnetic field is regarded as 0. By configuring the surfaces 241c and 241d of different cuffs 24 as magnetic or non-magnetic two types of configurations, the different identification signals (0,0), (1,0), (0,1) and in the above embodiment can also be achieved. (1, 1), the processor 121 of the blood pressure meter host 10 can generate a corresponding cuff recognition result according to the recognition signal, and perform automatic adjustment of the calculation program, so as to provide the user with an accurate blood pressure count value”).
Olafsson, in the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the magnetic absorption fitting part is configured to be in the absorbed-connection with the magnetic absorption part of one of the sub-assemblies (see rejection of claim 1),
Huang as modified by Olafsson further teaches the invention comprising outputting the magnetic field signal to the processor, and the processor is configured to identify the one of the sub-assemblies according to the magnetic field signal (see previous citations of page 6/8 in light of modification by Olafsson).
Re. Claim 11: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 10. Huang as modified by Olafsson further teaches the invention wherein the device main body comprises a plurality of magnetic absorption fitting parts and a plurality of magnetic field sensors (see modification in rejection of claim 1),
the plurality of magnetic field sensors and the plurality of magnetic absorption fitting parts are disposed in one-to-one correspondence with each other, the magnetic absorption part of the sub-assembly is selectively adsorbed with at least one of the plurality of magnetic absorption fitting parts correspondingly (inherent in the modification), and
the plurality of magnetic field sensors acquire respectively the magnetic field signal when the corresponding magnetic absorption fitting parts and the magnetic absorption part are in the adsorbed state and output the magnetic field signal to the processor (inherent in the modification).
Re. Claim 12: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 10. Huang as modified by Olafsson further teaches the invention wherein the device main body comprises a plurality of magnetic absorption fitting parts and one magnetic field sensor (see modification in rejection of claim 1),
the magnetic absorption part of the sub-assembly is selectively adsorbed with at least one of the plurality of the magnetic absorption fitting parts correspondingly, and the one magnetic field sensor is used for acquiring the magnetic field signal when the magnetic absorption part and the at least one of the plurality of magnetic absorption fitting part are in the adsorbed state and outputting the magnetic field signal to the processor (inherent in the modification).
Re. Claim 20: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 10. Huang further teaches the invention wherein
the add-on assembly comprises an airbag (Fig. 1: cuff 20; comprising belt 21; see citation below regarding operation as an airbag),
the wearable device comprises an air pump, the air pump is disposed inside the device main body (Fig. 1: intake and exhaust component 13; Page 4/8: “The processor 121 of the circuit board 12 is used to control the intake and exhaust component 13 and perform inflation or deflation of the belt 21 to perform blood pressure;” thus, it is implied that component 13 performs the actions of a pump, i.e., a device which transfers fluids),
the air pump comprises an air inlet (Applicant’s Fig. 15 and Paragraph 0092 describe an air inlet as merely the intake of the pump, which is encompassed by the intake portion of the intake and exhaust component 13 of Huang – see previous citation of page 4/8),
a first air outlet (Applicant’s Paragraph 0093 describes a first air outlet as merely the portion of the pump which is connected to the airbag to allow for inflation, which is a structure implied in the operation described in Huang – see previous citation of page 4/8),
and a second air outlet (Applicant’s Paragraph 0094 describes a second air outlet as an exhaust, which is encompassed by the exhaust portion of the intake and exhaust component 13 discussed in Huang – see previous citation of page 4/8),
the first air outlet is connected with the airbag (see previous citation of page 4/8 – implicit in operation described),
the airbag is configured to work in an inflated state or a deflated state (Page 4/8: particularly, “perform inflation or deflation”),
the air inlet is connected with the airbag through the first air outlet in the inflated state, and the airbag is connected with the second air outlet through the first air outlet in the deflated state (see previous citation of page 4/8 – implicit in operation described).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Huang (WO 2021129036 A1) (disclosed by Applicant, citing SEARCH translation) (hereinafter – Huang) in view of
Olafsson et al. (US 20220107663 A1) (hereinafter – Olafsson) in further view of
Nishida et al. (US 20210244298 A1) (hereinafter – Nishida).
Re. Claim 6: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 1, but does not teach the invention wherein
the airbag assembly comprises an airbag,
the airbag comprises a first cavity and a second cavity that are disposed in a laminated manner, and
the first cavity and the second cavity are connected.
Nishida teaches analogous art in the technology of inflatable blood pressure monitors (Abstract). Nishida further teaches the invention wherein
the airbag assembly comprises an airbag (Paragraph 0088: “The palm-side cuff 71 includes a plurality of, for example, two-layer air bags 81…;” Fig. 9: pressing cuff constituted of two air bags 81, each formed from sheet members u6a-86d welded along edges to form an air bag as described in Paragraphs 0090-0092; see also: Figs. 10, 21),
the airbag comprises a first cavity and a second cavity that are disposed in a laminated manner (see previous citation), and
the first cavity and the second cavity are connected (Fig. 9: see openings 86b1, 86c1; see similar openings between air bags in Figs. 10, 21).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the single cavity air bag of Huang as modified by Olafsson to instead include the multi-airbag cuff structure of Nishida, the motivation being that such a structure enables the cuff to expand without significantly bulging in a central region (Paragraph 0007), allowing for a more even pressure distribution across the cuff while also maintaining a sufficiently small profile for the cuff while allowing for sufficient expansion (Paragraph 0008).
Re. Claim 7: Huang as modified by Olafsson and Nishida teaches the invention according to claim 6. Nishida, in teaching further detail regarding the incorporated airbag, further teaches the invention wherein
the airbag further comprises a first sheet, a second sheet, a third sheet, and a fourth sheet, the first sheet and the second sheet are fixedly connected at their respective peripheral edge regions to form the first cavity, the third sheet and the fourth sheet are fixedly connected at their respective peripheral edge regions to form the second cavity (Paragraph 0088: “The palm-side cuff 71 includes a plurality of, for example, two-layer air bags 81…;” Fig. 9: pressing cuff constituted of two air bags 81, each formed from sheet members u6a-86d welded along edges to form an air bag as described in Paragraphs 0090-0092; see also: Figs. 10, 21),
the second sheet is joined with the third sheet at a joint region comprising a through hole, and the first cavity is connected with the second cavity through the through hole (Fig. 9: see openings 86b1, 86c1; see similar openings between air bags in Figs. 10, 21).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Huang (WO 2021129036 A1) (disclosed by Applicant, citing SEARCH translation) (hereinafter – Huang) in view of
Olafsson et al. (US 20220107663 A1) (hereinafter – Olafsson) in further view of
Boubes et al. (US 20230380839 A1) (hereinafter – Boubes).
Re. Claim 13: Huang as modified by Olafsson teaches the invention according to claim 10, but does not teach the invention wherein
the wearable device further comprises a magnetic isolation assembly,
the magnetic isolation assembly is movably disposed between the magnetic absorption part and the magnetic absorption fitting part,
the magnetic isolation assembly is configured to work in a magnetic isolation state or a non-magnetic isolation state,
the magnetic absorption part and the magnetic absorption fitting part attract each other in the non-magnetic isolation state, such that the sub-assembly is installed on the device main body, and
the magnetic isolation assembly isolates the magnetic absorption part and the magnetic absorption fitting part in the magnetic isolation state, such that the sub-assembly is detachable from the device main body.
Boubes teaches analogous art in the technology of magnetic medical devices (Paragraphs 0006-0007). Boubes further teaches the invention wherein
the wearable device further comprises a magnetic isolation assembly (Fig. 5: magnetic cover piece 152).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Huang as modified by Olafsson to include the use of a magnetic cover piece as taught by Boubes, the motivation being that doing so protects the magnetic components of the subassemblies of Huang as modified by Olafsson when the device is not in use and prevents such assemblies from inadvertently being adsorbed to metal components which are not intended to be adsorbed to the subassemblies.
Examiner notes that, in such modification:
the magnetic isolation assembly is movably disposed between the magnetic absorption part and the magnetic absorption fitting part (the part of Boubes is removable and necessarily disposed between the magnetic absorption part and the magnetic absorption fitting part when incorporated),
the magnetic isolation assembly is configured to work in a magnetic isolation state or a non-magnetic isolation state, the magnetic absorption part and the magnetic absorption fitting part attract each other in the non-magnetic isolation state, such that the sub-assembly is installed on the device main body, and the magnetic isolation assembly isolates the magnetic absorption part and the magnetic absorption fitting part in the magnetic isolation state, such that the sub-assembly is detachable from the device main body (see motivation and prevention of adsorption).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
None of the prior art of record teach or suggest the structural limitations of claim 14, from which claims 15-19 are dependent upon.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791