DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Application 18/204,413 filed on 06/01/2023 claims foreign priority to JAPAN 2022-114804 filed on 07/19/2022.
Current Status
This office action is a first office action, non-final rejection based on the merits wherein claims 1-5 are pending and have been considered below.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
Abstract contains 180 words which is greater than 150 words.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maeda Kazuma, hereinafter Maeda, WO2020194582A1.
Regarding Independent claim 1 Maeda discloses:
“A data processing system” (Maeda, fig. 1, 4th paragraph of 3rd page: The control unit (4) of fig. 1 is a personal computer with an installed analysis program where a personal computer would include a processor.)
“a data holder that holds analysis data including mass spectrometry data acquired by a mass spectrometer in an analysis of a sample using a chromatograph mass spectrometer and measurement data acquired by a detector, that is not mass spectrometer, in the analysis of the sample” (Maeda, fig. 1, last paragraph of 2nd page: Maeda teaches “liquid chromatograph mass spectrometer of this embodiment is roughly classified into a liquid chromatograph 1, a mass spectrometer 2, and a control unit 4. . .” (last paragraph of 2nd page) where the liquid chromatograph 1 contains a UV detector 15 (1st paragraph of 3rd page) where the UV detector discloses “a detector, that is not mass spectrometer.” Additionally, “the acquisition of the measurement data by the liquid chromatograph 1, and the mass spectrometer 2 are started at the same time” (5th paragraph of 5th page) where the UV and mass spectrum data are stored in the storage unit 41 (7th and 8th paragraph of 4th page) disclosing a “data holder.”)
“a data processor configured to perform data processing by using the analysis data held in the data holder” (Maeda, fig. 1, fig. 2, fig. 9, 4th paragraph of 3rd page, 4th – 6th page, 9th -10th page: The control unit (4) of fig. 1 is a personal computer with an installed analysis program (4th paragraph of 3rd page) where a personal computer would include a “processor.” Figure 2 and figure 9 are flowcharts which depict analysis of the UV and mass spectrum data (see also 4th – 6th page and 9th -10th page).)
“an information displayer configured to display data processed by the data processor” (Maeda, fig. 1, fig. 2, fig. 9, 4th paragraph of 3rd page: Figure 1 depicts a display unit 7 (displayer) and the last step of fig. 2, step 12, and fig. 9, step 30, both state displaying the chromatogram with additional information disclosing displaying “data processed by the data processor.”)
“wherein the data processor is configured to create a chromatogram based on the measurement data, and to identify a peak portion in which peaks of a plurality of components overlap to form one peak shape among peak portions on the chromatogram as a coelution peak by using a correspondence relationship between the chromatogram and the mass spectrometry data” (Maeda, fig. 10, 10th page, 14th page: Maeda teaches “a plurality of components (compounds B and C) are co-eluted at the position (time) of peak 12 of the present analysis example” disclosing overlapping peaks forming a “coelution peak” and “along with the UV chromatogram, their additional information and the peak of the mass chromatogram are displayed (chromatogram based on the measurement data). Therefore, it can be easily identified that a plurality of components are co-eluted during the peak time period (plurality of components overlap)” (6th paragraph of 10th page) where “in order to identify a set of mass peaks having a common intensity ratio in mass spectrum data at a plurality of time points as corresponding to one component, co-elution information is efficiently extracted. The presence or absence of co-elution can be grasped on the UV chromatogram” (2nd paragraph of 14th page) disclosing a “correspondence relationship between the chromatogram and the mass spectrometry data” as the control unit 14 (data processing center) uses the correspondence of the chromatogram to the mass spectrometry data to determine the peak fraction where peaks of multiple components in the peak fraction on the chromatogram overlap to form one peak shape as co-eluting peaks.)
“when displaying the chromatogram, the information displayer is configured to display a peak portion identified as the coelution peak by the data processor in a mode different from that of another peak portion so that a user can visually recognize whether or not each peak portion on the chromatogram is the coelution peak” (Maeda, fig. 10, 4th paragraph of 10th page: Maeda teaches “The mas chromatogram is superimposed and displayed in a color and line type (broken line in fig. 10) different from the UV chromatogram” (4th paragraph 10th page) where different colors or line types or combinations disclose “a mode different from that of another peak portion.”)
Regarding claim 2 Maeda teaches:
“the information displayer is configured to give a color different from that of the other peak portion to a peak portion identified as the coelution peak as the different mode” (Maeda, fig. 10, 10th page: Maeda teaches “The mas chromatogram is superimposed and displayed in a color and line type (broken line in fig. 10) different from the UV chromatogram” (4th paragraph 10th page) disclosing “a color different from that of the other peak portion” where different colors disclose “the different mode.”)
Regarding claim 3 Maeda teaches:
“the data processor is configured to extract a mass chromatogram of a component included in each peak portion on the chromatogram from the mass spectrometry data” (Maeda, fig. 1, fig. 9, fig, 10, page 9-10: Using the control unit 4, Maeda teaches the sample is ionized and SIM (select ion monitoring) measured by the mass spectrometer 2 where “ions having the mass-to-charge ratio corresponding to each of the compounds A to F described in the measurement execution file is repeatedly executed at predetermined time intervals” therefore “for each of the compounds A to F, mass chromatogram data of the ions characterizing the compound can be obtained” (last paragraph of 9th page).
“when a user designates a peak portion on the chromatogram, the information displayer is configured to display a mass chromatogram of a component included in the designated peak portion side by side with the chromatogram” (Maeda, fig. 1, fig. 9, fig. 10, page 9, page 10: Step 27 of fig. 9 states that a UV chromatogram, step 28 states the time of the peaks of a mass chromatogram are extracted and the component is identified that corresponds to the peaks “based on the acquired mass-to-charge ratio value of the mass chromatogram in which the detected” peaks appear (step 29) (2nd paragraph of page 10), and “elution time extraction unit 461 and the component identification unit 47 obtain the peak position (time) of each mass chromatogram data and the information of the component corresponding to each peak, the chromatogram display unit 48 displays these on the UV chromatogram” in step 30 (3rd paragraph of 10th page). Fig. 10 depicts the mass chromatogram as a broken line and the UV chromatogram depicted as a solid line (4th paragraph of 10th page) therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art can clearly distinguish between the two disclosing “a mass chromatogram of a component included in the designated peak portion side by side with the chromatogram” is displayed.
Regarding claim 4 Maeda teaches:
“the data processor is configured to create a peak table based on the analysis data, the peak table including peak information on each peak portion on the chromatogram, the peak information showing whether or not each peak portion is the coelution peak in a list, and the information displayer is configured to display the peak table created by the data processor based on a request from a user” (Maeda, fig. 10, 11, and 12, page 10-11: Fig. 10 depicts the UV chromatogram and mass chromatogram superimposed with peak time and mass-to-charge ratios (4th paragraph of page 10). Fig. 11 depicts a graph of the peaks, the peak time, and mass-to-charge ratio with asterisks indicating co-elution (3rd paragraph of page 11). Fig. 12 depicts the peak information in tabular form (4th paragraph of page 11). Moreover, the user “inputs the mass-to-charge ratio of the ions that characterize the compound for each compound to be measured” where “the value of the mass-to-charge ratio input here may be one for one compound or may be plural” (4th paragraph of 9 page). Maeda uses “the mass-to-charge ration of the ions generated from the compounds A to F” as input where this information is used to create fig. 10, 11, and 12, disclosing the displayed “peak table” is “created by the data processor based on a request from a user.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maeda Kazuma, hereinafter Maeda, WO2020194582A1 in view of Wang et al., hereinafter Wang, U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0242489 A1 in view of Srinivasan et al., hereinafter Srinivasan, U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0084807 A1.
Regarding claim 5 Maeda teaches:
“the data holder holds a plurality of pieces of analysis data acquired by analysis performed by using a plurality of analysis methods different from each other for a same sample by using the chromatograph mass spectrometer” (Maeda, fig. 1, 4th and 5th page: Maeda teaches “the acquisition of the measurement data by the liquid chromatograph 1, and the mass spectrometer 2 are started at the same time” (5th paragraph of 5th page) disclosing a “plurality of analysis methods different from each other” where the “components contained in the sample solution” are “detected by the ion detector 232 of the mass spectrometer 2 after being detected by the UV detector 15” (5th paragraph of page 5) disclosing both methods are analyzing the “same sample using the chromatograph mass spectrometer.” Moreover, the UV and mass spectrum data are stored in the storage unit 41 (7th and 8th paragraph of 4th page) disclosing the “data holder holds a plurality of pieces of analysis data.”)
Maeda does not teach:
“the data processor is configured to create a plurality of chromatograms based on each of the plurality of pieces of analysis data, set any of the plurality of chromatograms as a reference chromatogram, and execute peak identification for identifying whether a peak portion on a chromatogram other than the reference chromatogram among the plurality of chromatograms corresponds to any peak portion on the reference chromatogram”
whether or not to exclude a coelution peak from a target of the peak identification can be set by a user in advance, and
in a case where excluding the coelution peak from a target of the peak identification is set in advance, the data processor is configured to exclude a peak portion identified as the coelution peak from a target of the peak identification.”
Wang teaches:
“the data processor is configured to create a plurality of chromatograms based on each of the plurality of pieces of analysis data, set any of the plurality of chromatograms as a reference chromatogram, and execute peak identification for identifying whether a peak portion on a chromatogram other than the reference chromatogram among the plurality of chromatograms corresponds to any peak portion on the reference chromatogram” (Wang teaches “collecting a set of chromatograms from a predefined number of subsequent measurements, selecting one of the chromatograms of the set as a reference chromatogram” (¶ 0011-¶ 0012) where “a set of chromatograms” discloses “a plurality of chromatograms” and “a predefined number of subsequent measurements” discloses “the plurality of pieces of analysis data.” Moreover, each “chromatogram in the window is aligned to the reference chromatogram by shifting the chromatogram along the time axis so that the best correlation between the chromatogram and the reference chromatogram is reached” (¶ 0026) after this is done peak analysis is performed and the peak results are output (¶ 0028) disclosing “whether a peak portion on a chromatogram other than the reference chromatogram among the plurality of chromatograms corresponds to any peak portion on the reference chromatogram.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the system for performing peak analysis on a chromatograms as taught by Maeda by including using a reference chromatogram when analyzing peaks as taught by Wang because using a reference chromatogram enables confident identification by comparing unknown data against known, controlled standards in order to “reduce the computational effort and time while maintaining high accuracy in processing chromatograms obtained by a process gas chromatograph” (Wang, ¶ 0009).
Srinivasan teaches:
“whether or not to exclude a coelution peak from a target of the peak identification can be set by a user in advance, and in a case where excluding the coelution peak from a target of the peak identification is set in advance, the data processor is configured to exclude a peak portion identified as the coelution peak from a target of the peak identification” (Srinivasan teaches “A user may want to manually set the first analyte time interval to exclude co-eluting peaks” (¶ 0049) and “identification steps 426 and 428 can be based on first and second analyte time” (¶ 0056) thereby disclosing a “coelution peak” can be excluded and also be excluding a “peak portion identified as the coelution peak from a target of the peak identification” because if the coelution peaks are excluded they would also be excluded from peak identification.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to have modified the system for performing peak analysis on a chromatograms as taught by Maeda by including excluding a coelution peak from the peak analysis as disclosed by Srinivasan because sometimes the peaks appear due to impurities and not the sample itself. Excluding these peaks increases data integrity leading to higher peak analysis accuracy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yamaguchi, U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0277817 A1, teaches using a mass spectrometer and photodiode detector to detect peaks on a chromatogram.
/DENISE R KARAVIAS/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/MICHAEL J DALBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857