DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 10-2020-0041189), machine translation.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Lee discloses an all-solid state lithium secondary battery comprising:
a solid electrolyte 112;
a cathode 120; and
a porous conductive sheet 111.
The porous conductive sheet is an electrospun polymer layer (Example, preparation 2). Figure 2 to Lee is provided below.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses polyacrylonitrile (Example, preparation 2).
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 11, instant claims are regarded as a product by process. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113. In this case, the electrospun layer is between the cathode and the electrolyte (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses sulfide-based and LLZO-based solid electrolytes (para 0050-0051).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses cathode active material (para 0073) and binder resin (para 0079).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the cathode current collector in contact with the cathode (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the anode adjacent to the electrolyte (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the anode comprises lithium ions (para 0071).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses the anode current collector in contact with the anode (Fig. 2).
Claims 1 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 10-2019-0079171), machine translation.
Regarding claims 1, 8, 14, and 15, Kim discloses a hybrid solid electrolyte and secondary battery comprising:
an anode (e.g., Li);
a cathode (e.g., lithium nickel manganese oxide); and
a hybrid solid electrolyte therebetween (Fig. 5).
The hybrid solid electrolyte includes porous polymer layers 100, 200 and middle layer 300 (Fig. 1) with the polymer film formed by electrospinning (Fig. 6) resulting in the electrospun polymer layer positioned between the electrolyte and the cathode. Figures 1 and 6 to Kim provided below.
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 11, instant claims are regarded as a product by process. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113. In this case, the electrospun layer is between the cathode and the electrolyte (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses LLZO and sulfide-based electrolyte (para 0022-0023).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses a liquid electrolyte (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, cathodes commonly include a current collector and cathode active material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 10-2020-0041189).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the porous conductive sheet may have a thickness of 5 μm to 50 μm (para 0041), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 5 μm or less with at one common endpoint.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited thickness because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 10-2019-0079171).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Kim teaches polyurethane (para 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to select polyurethane from the list of polymers recited.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723