DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4-7 all recite the limitation “further comprising a control unit” and it is not clear if this control unit is a separate control unit or the same one as the control unit recited in claim 1 from which claims 4-7 all indirectly depend from. The number and functionality of the control units cannot be determined and therefore the scope of the claims is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buczynski (US 2008/0279719) in view of Neubauer (US 9,149,972in view of Rickloff (US 5,445,792).
Regarding claim 10, Buczynski discloses –
A device for sterilizing gas filtration means, the device comprising:
a first circuit that comprises an air heater configured to deliver hot air at a specified target temperature (at least the circuit including heater 120, dryer 90, HEPA filter 152 and isolator 12; the heater 120 heats air, par. 28; the device is well capable of performing this function and is expected to do so);
a reservoir comprising a quantity of hydrogen peroxide in the liquid state, the quantity thereof being a specified amount that is sufficient to sterilize the filtration means for a sterilization cycle (hydrogen peroxide supply 160 holds an amount that is sufficient to sterilize the filtration means);
a second circuit that comprises at least regulating means to control the selective injection of hydrogen peroxide (the circuit including vaporizer 130, filter 176, hydrogen peroxide supply 160, and isolator 12; Paragraph [0026] discloses the pump 170 is metered to control the injection of peroxide, the pump reading on the limitation specifically); and
at least one evaporator for preparing a gaseous mixture that consists of hot air and hydrogen peroxide vapor (vaporizer 130), wherein
a control unit (controller 202) wherein the hot air is circulated to evaporate the deposited hydrogen peroxide and thermally activate the vapor (the hot air and circulation thereof disclosed by Buczynski is well capable of performing this function and is reasonably expected to do so, MPEP 2114, II); and
wherein the device further comprises a discharge pipe downstream of the workpiece, the discharge pipe including a treatment means configured to neutralize residual hydrogen peroxide vapor (destroyer 60, connected to discharge pipe 42; par. 31).
Buczynski appears to be silent with regards to the device sterilizing gas filtration means of a blow-molding circuit, and the injections being separated by a defined time interval.
Neubauer (US 9,149,972) discloses a blow molding circuit including filter means (Title, Column 3 lines 24 - 36) including a sterilizing means (the abstract discloses the application of a flowable sterilization agent, claim 12 discloses the agent being hydrogen peroxide). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Neubauer such that the sterilization means disclosed by Buczynski are attached to the blow molding circuit for the purpose of sterilizing the blow molding circuit and its gas filtration means to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to apply a known-effective hydrogen peroxide sterilization device to a workpiece including the gas filtration means of a blow molding circuit as is known to be desirable in the art to arrive at an improved blow molding circuit with improved sterility. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including blow molding circuits including filter means and hydrogen peroxide sterilization means, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding the limitation that the injections are separated by a defined time interval: Rickloff (US 5,445,792) discloses a hydrogen peroxide vapor sterilization method (abstract) wherein injections of the peroxide are separated by defined time intervals (see fig. 3, flow through portion G-H with sequential injections; Col. 13 lines 35-44) to control a particular concentration and pressure for better efficiency (col. 13 lines 45-50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Buczynski such that the injections are separated by a defined time interval to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to successfully maintain a desired operating pressure, concentration, and humidity to arrive at an improved peroxide sterilization device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-3 and 9 are allowed.
Claims 4-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant’s arguments directed towards the discharge pipe downstream of the filtration means and the control unit controlling a timing and duration of each injection and evaporation phase on pages 7-9 of the remarks filed are persuasive. Therefore claims 1 and 9 are allowable over the prior art. The remaining claims are allowable for depending on one of the claims above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards claim 10 are not persuasive, as they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Claim 10 does not positively recite or require a blow molding circuit or filtration means, as well as other features present in independent claims 1 and 9.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards the remaining claims are persuasive and the claims are indicated as allowable over the prior art above.
Conclusion
/BRENDAN A HENSEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1758