DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 9 that “…Vianello does not disclose or suggest that the electrical conductors 50 include segments 52, 54 on opposing sides of the stator 100 such that the coils 10 have an input on a first side and an output on an opposing second side of the stator. As such, Vianello does not disclose or suggest both (i) a stator body including a first side and a second side spaced axially from and opposing the first side along an axis and (ii) a first set of terminal connectors provided at the first side and a second set of terminal connectors provided at the second side and configured to conductively connect windings to a power supply.” This argument is not persuasive because Vianello clearly discloses that structures 50 are positioned inside two structures 30 that are each positioned on first side and second side of a stator body as shown in the figures and discussed in paragraphs 56-57 of the specification of Vianello.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 9, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Vianello (EP 3651325).
In re claim 1, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses a stator assembly comprising: an annular stator body concentric around an axis, the stator body having a first side and a second side spaced axially from and opposing the first side along the axis and a stator body surface defined by the first and second sides and extending circumferentially around the axis (the stator meeting these limitations is clearly shown in figures 1, 6-7, and 9); a plurality of conductive windings (10) provided on the stator body surface, each conductive winding extending between the first side and the second side, the conductive windings arranged adjacent each other in a circumferential direction (as seen in figure 1 and other figures); and a first set of terminal connectors provided at the first side and a second set of terminal connectors provided at the second side configured to conductively connect the windings to a power supply (the terminal connectors 50-54 are best seen in figures 8-9, also see paragraphs 56-57 of the specification).
In re claim 2, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses that the first set of terminal connector and the second set of terminal connectors are bus bars (as best seen in figure 8).
In re claim 5, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses that the plurality of conductive windings includes a first set of windings and a second set of windings, wherein the first set of windings is conductively connected to the first set of terminal connectors and the second set of windings is conductively connected to the second set of terminal connectors (this is best shown in figures 6 and 9; any two groups of windings are considered as first and second sets since all windings are connected to both sets of terminal connectors).
In re claim 7, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses that each of the windings has a start end and a finish end and wherein the start end and the finish end are connected to one of the first set terminal connectors or second set terminal connectors on the opposite ones of the first side and the second side (as best seen in figure 6 and 9).
In re claim 9, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses that the plurality of windings is provided on a radially outer surface of the stator body (as seen in figure 1).
In re claim 12, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses that the first set of terminal connectors are arranged in a stacked arrangement at a side of the stator and are stacked in an axial direction along the axis (as seen in figures 8-9).
In re claim 13, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses a motor throughout the description.
In re claims 14-15, Vianello discloses a three phase power supply (see paragraph 67; a rotating field is inherently present for proper operation of the device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vianello (EP 3651325) in view of Xu et al. (US 2020/0227969).
In re claims 3-4, Vianello teaches the claimed device except for the explicit mention of multistrand Litz wires. Xu however teaches a similar device having multistrand Litz wires (see paragraphs 5-6). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Litz wires as taught by Xu in the device of Vianello to mitigate the skin effect as discussed by Xu in paragraph 5.
In re claims 16 and 18, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses a stator assembly comprising: an annular stator body concentric around an axis, the stator body having a first side and a second side spaced axially from and opposing the first side along the axis and a stator body surface defined by the first and second sides and extending circumferentially around the axis (the stator meeting these limitations is clearly shown in figures 1, 6-7, and 9); a plurality of conductive windings (10) provided on the stator body surface, each conductive winding extending between the first side and the second side, the conductive windings arranged adjacent each other in a circumferential direction (as seen in figure 1 and other figures); and a first set of terminal connectors provided at the first side and a second set of terminal connectors provided at the second side configured to conductively connect the windings to a power supply (the terminal connectors 50-54 are best seen in figures 8-9, also see paragraphs 56-57 of the specification). Vianello does not explicitly mention of multistrand Litz wires. Xu however teaches a similar device having multistrand Litz wires (see paragraphs 5-6). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Litz wires as taught by Xu in the device of Vianello to mitigate the skin effect as discussed by Xu in paragraph 5.
In re claim 17, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses that the first set of terminal connector and the second set of terminal connectors are bus bars (as best seen in figure 8).
In re claim 19, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses that the plurality of conductive windings includes a first set of windings and a second set of windings, wherein the first set of windings is conductively connected to the first set of terminal connectors and the second set of windings is conductively connected to the second set of terminal connectors (this is best shown in figures 6 and 9; any two groups of windings are considered as first and second sets since all windings are connected to both sets of terminal connectors).
In re claim 20, Vianello, in figures 1-9, discloses that each of the windings has a start end and a finish end and wherein the start end and the finish end are connected to one of the first set terminal connectors or second set terminal connectors on the opposite ones of the first side and the second side (as best seen in figure 6 and 9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alexander Talpalatski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837