DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-10, 13, 15-16, 19, and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-7, 9-10, 21-23, 25-27, 29-30, 35, 37-39, and 41-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein et al. (US 2015/0254058 A1), hereinafter referred to as Klein, in view of Shroff et al. (US 2008/0040427 A1), hereinafter referred to as Shroff.
Regarding claim 2, Klein teaches:
An electronic device, comprising:
a display (Fig. 14 element 1406, para [0157], where a display is used);
one or more processors (Fig. 14 element 1402, para [0150], where a processor is used);
a memory (Fig. 14 element 1404, para [0152], where memory is used); and
one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Fig. 14 element 1404, para [0151], where instructions are stored to implement the processes), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying a plurality of voice shortcut affordances (Fig. 3 element 300, para [0055], where voice-command suggestions are displayed);
detecting a first user input corresponding to a selection of a first voice shortcut affordance of the plurality of voice shortcut affordances (Fig. 3, para [0056], where a user says "sign in as Jeffery" to select the sign in command), wherein:
the first voice shortcut affordance corresponds to a first voice shortcut (Fig. 3, para [0056], where a user says "sign in as Jeffery" to select the sign in command); and
the first voice shortcut affordance includes first text corresponding to a voice shortcut indicator (Fig. 3, para [0056], where the text includes instructions on what to say to sign in);
in response to detecting the first user input, displaying, on the display, a first interface (Figs. 5-6, para [0062], where an interface is displayed), wherein displaying the first interface includes:
displaying a set of respective task affordances for a set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where the home page is configured based on the user's preferences, and displayed suggestions are personalized based on the user), including a first respective task affordance for a first task of the set of tasks (Figs. 5-6, para [0062], where any of the displayed suggestions could be the first task affordance, each corresponding to a different task), wherein the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut corresponds to tasks that are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed (Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where the displayed suggestions correspond to tasks that can be performed after the user signs in, corresponding to the first voice shortcut being performed); and
while displaying the first interface:
detecting a first set of inputs that requests to update the first task of the set of tasks (para [0085-86], where a user performs a multi-step process to purchase a movie, where a shortcut to perform the task is determined); and
in response to detecting the first set of inputs, updating the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task (Fig. 7, para [0086], where the display is updated to suggest a voice-command suggestion shortcut performing the same task in fewer steps).
Klein does not teach:
wherein displaying the first interface includes concurrently displaying:
the first text included in the first voice shortcut affordance corresponding to the voice shortcut indicator;
Shroff teaches:
wherein displaying the first interface includes concurrently displaying:
the first text included in the first voice shortcut affordance corresponding to the voice shortcut indicator (Fig. 6 element 608, para [0076], where the text includes information on who is signed in);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein by including the sign-in status of Shroff (Shroff para [0076]) on the signed-in interface of Klein (Klein Fig. 5), so that the account may be used to access a variety of resources or one or more service providers following authentication of credentials one time (Shroff para [0080]).
Regarding claim 3, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while displaying the first interface:
detecting a second set of inputs that requests to add a second task (Klein para [0089], where the user navigates to the store and purchases a game); and
in response to detecting the second set of inputs, displaying a second respective task affordance for the second task (Klein para [0089], where a personalized voice-command shortcut suggestion is presented after the purchase).
Regarding claim 5, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein updating the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task includes removing the first respective task affordance for the first task (Klein para [0076], [0078], where suggestions are omitted from being displayed when they are either repeatedly ignored or repeatedly used successfully).
Regarding claim 6, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while displaying the first interface:
detecting a third set of inputs that requests to search for one or more tasks to add to the set of tasks (Klein para [0055], where a user says "help" to summon an overlay which includes suggestions other than the displayed options, interpreted as a search); and
in response to detecting the third set of inputs, displaying a second set of respective task affordances for the searched one or more tasks (Klein para [0055], where the overlay displays voice-command suggestions in response to being summoned).
Regarding claim 7, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein displaying the first interface further includes displaying an execute affordance, and wherein selection of the execute affordance causes the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut to be performed (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0062-64], where the voice shortcuts are interpreted as execute affordances, as their selection causes the voice shortcut to be performed).
Regarding claim 9, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein updating the first task includes updating one or more parameter values of one or more parameters of the first task, wherein the first task is performed according to the one or more parameters when the first voice shortcut is performed (Klein para [0085-86], [0089], where a user performs a multi-step process to purchase a movie, where a shortcut to perform the task is determined, and wherein the parameter values are personalized).
Regarding claim 10, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
detecting a natural language input, wherein the natural language input includes a request associated with the first voice shortcut (Klein para [0055], where a user says "help" to summon an overlay which includes suggestions other than the displayed options, interpreted as a search);
in response to detecting the natural language input, displaying a second interface (Klein para [0055], where the overlay displays voice-command suggestions in response to being summoned); and
while displaying the second interface:
initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0062-64], where the voice shortcuts are performed when selected); and
displaying a second set of outputs that corresponds to the performance of the set of tasks (Klein Fig. 7, where "Movie A successfully purchased" is displayed, corresponding to completion of the task).
Regarding claim 21, Klein teaches:
A method, comprising:
at an electronic device with a display (Fig. 14 element 1406, para [0157], where a display is used):
displaying a plurality of voice shortcut affordances (Fig. 3 element 300, para [0055], where voice-command suggestions are displayed);
detecting a first user input corresponding to a selection of a first voice shortcut affordance of the plurality of voice shortcut affordances (Fig. 3, para [0056], where a user says "sign in as Jeffery" to select the sign in command), wherein:
the first voice shortcut affordance corresponds to a first voice shortcut (Fig. 3, para [0056], where a user says "sign in as Jeffery" to select the sign in command); and
the first voice shortcut affordance includes first text corresponding to a voice shortcut indicator (Fig. 3, para [0056], where the text includes instructions on what to say to sign in);
in response to detecting the first user input, displaying, on the display, a first interface (Figs. 5-6, para [0062], where an interface is displayed), wherein displaying the first interface includes:
displaying a set of respective task affordances for a set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where the home page is configured based on the user's preferences, and displayed suggestions are personalized based on the user), including a first respective task affordance for a first task of the set of tasks (Figs. 5-6, para [0062], where any of the displayed suggestions could be the first task affordance, each corresponding to a different task), wherein the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut corresponds to tasks that are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed (Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where the displayed suggestions correspond to tasks that can be performed after the user signs in, corresponding to the first voice shortcut being performed); and
while displaying the first interface:
detecting a first set of inputs that requests to update the first task of the set of tasks (para [0085-86], where a user performs a multi-step process to purchase a movie, where a shortcut to perform the task is determined); and
in response to detecting the first set of inputs, updating the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task (Fig. 7, para [0086], where the display is updated to suggest a voice-command suggestion shortcut performing the same task in fewer steps).
Klein does not teach:
wherein displaying the first interface includes concurrently displaying:
the first text included in the first voice shortcut affordance corresponding to the voice shortcut indicator;
Shroff teaches:
wherein displaying the first interface includes concurrently displaying:
the first text included in the first voice shortcut affordance corresponding to the voice shortcut indicator (Fig. 6 element 608, para [0076], where the text includes information on who is signed in);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein by including the sign-in status of Shroff (Shroff para [0076]) on the signed-in interface of Klein (Klein Fig. 5), so that the account may be used to access a variety of resources or one or more service providers following authentication of credentials one time (Shroff para [0080]).
Regarding claim 22, Klein teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions (Fig. 14 element 1404, para [0151-152], where instructions are stored in storage), which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a display, cause the electronic device to:
display a plurality of voice shortcut affordances (Fig. 3 element 300, para [0055], where voice-command suggestions are displayed);
detect a first user input corresponding to a selection of a first voice shortcut affordance of the plurality of voice shortcut affordances (Fig. 3, para [0056], where a user says "sign in as Jeffery" to select the sign in command), wherein:
the first voice shortcut affordance corresponds to a first voice shortcut (Fig. 3, para [0056], where a user says "sign in as Jeffery" to select the sign in command); and
the first voice shortcut affordance includes first text corresponding to a voice shortcut indicator (Fig. 3, para [0056], where the text includes instructions on what to say to sign in);
in response to detecting the first user input, display, on the display, a first interface (Figs. 5-6, para [0062], where an interface is displayed), wherein displaying the first interface includes:
displaying a set of respective task affordances for a set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where the home page is configured based on the user's preferences, and displayed suggestions are personalized based on the user), including a first respective task affordance for a first task of the set of tasks (Figs. 5-6, para [0062], where any of the displayed suggestions could be the first task affordance, each corresponding to a different task), wherein the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut corresponds to tasks that are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed (Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where the displayed suggestions correspond to tasks that can be performed after the user signs in, corresponding to the first voice shortcut being performed); and
while displaying the first interface:
detect a first set of inputs that requests to update the first task of the set of tasks (para [0085-86], where a user performs a multi-step process to purchase a movie, where a shortcut to perform the task is determined); and
in response to detecting the first set of inputs, update the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task (Fig. 7, para [0086], where the display is updated to suggest a voice-command suggestion shortcut performing the same task in fewer steps).
Klein does not teach:
wherein displaying the first interface includes concurrently displaying:
the first text included in the first voice shortcut affordance corresponding to the voice shortcut indicator;
Shroff teaches:
wherein displaying the first interface includes concurrently displaying:
the first text included in the first voice shortcut affordance corresponding to the voice shortcut indicator (Fig. 6 element 608, para [0076], where the text includes information on who is signed in);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein by including the sign-in status of Shroff (Shroff para [0076]) on the signed-in interface of Klein (Klein Fig. 5), so that the account may be used to access a variety of resources or one or more service providers following authentication of credentials one time (Shroff para [0080]).
Regarding claim 23, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 21, further comprising:
while displaying the first interface:
detecting a second set of inputs that requests to add a second task (Klein para [0089], where the user navigates to the store and purchases a game); and
in response to detecting the second set of inputs, displaying a second respective task affordance for the second task (Klein para [0089], where a personalized voice-command shortcut suggestion is presented after the purchase).
Regarding claim 25, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein updating the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task includes removing the first respective task affordance for the first task (Klein para [0076], [0078], where suggestions are omitted from being displayed when they are either repeatedly ignored or repeatedly used successfully).
Regarding claim 26, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 21, further comprising:
while displaying the first interface:
detecting a third set of inputs that requests to search for one or more tasks to add to the set of tasks (Klein para [0055], where a user says "help" to summon an overlay which includes suggestions other than the displayed options, interpreted as a search); and
in response to detecting the third set of inputs, displaying a second set of respective task affordances for the searched one or more tasks (Klein para [0055], where the overlay displays voice-command suggestions in response to being summoned).
Regarding claim 27, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein displaying the first interface further includes displaying an execute affordance, and wherein selection of the execute affordance causes the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut to be performed (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0062-64], where the voice shortcuts are interpreted as execute affordances, as their selection causes the voice shortcut to be performed).
Regarding claim 29, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein updating the first task includes updating one or more parameter values of one or more parameters of the first task, wherein the first task is performed according to the one or more parameters when the first voice shortcut is performed (Klein para [0085-86], [0089], where a user performs a multi-step process to purchase a movie, where a shortcut to perform the task is determined, and wherein the parameter values are personalized).
Regarding claim 30, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 21, further comprising:
detecting a natural language input, wherein the natural language input includes a request associated with the first voice shortcut (Klein para [0055], where a user says "help" to summon an overlay which includes suggestions other than the displayed options, interpreted as a search);
in response to detecting the natural language input, displaying a second interface (Klein para [0055], where the overlay displays voice-command suggestions in response to being summoned); and
while displaying the second interface:
initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0062-64], where the voice shortcuts are performed when selected); and
displaying a second set of outputs that corresponds to the performance of the set of tasks (Klein Fig. 7, where "Movie A successfully purchased" is displayed, corresponding to completion of the task).
Regarding claim 35, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for:
while displaying the first interface:
detecting a second set of inputs that requests to add a second task (Klein para [0089], where the user navigates to the store and purchases a game); and
in response to detecting the second set of inputs, displaying a second respective task affordance for the second task (Klein para [0089], where a personalized voice-command shortcut suggestion is presented after the purchase).
Regarding claim 37, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, wherein updating the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task includes removing the first respective task affordance for the first task (Klein para [0076], [0078], where suggestions are omitted from being displayed when they are either repeatedly ignored or repeatedly used successfully).
Regarding claim 38, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for:
while displaying the first interface:
detecting a third set of inputs that requests to search for one or more tasks to add to the set of tasks (Klein para [0055], where a user says "help" to summon an overlay which includes suggestions other than the displayed options, interpreted as a search); and
in response to detecting the third set of inputs, displaying a second set of respective task affordances for the searched one or more tasks (Klein para [0055], where the overlay displays voice-command suggestions in response to being summoned).
Regarding claim 39, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, wherein displaying the first interface further includes displaying an execute affordance, and wherein selection of the execute affordance causes the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut to be performed (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0062-64], where the voice shortcuts are interpreted as execute affordances, as their selection causes the voice shortcut to be performed).
Regarding claim 41, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, wherein updating the first task includes updating one or more parameter values of one or more parameters of the first task, wherein the first task is performed according to the one or more parameters when the first voice shortcut is performed (Klein para [0085-86], [0089], where a user performs a multi-step process to purchase a movie, where a shortcut to perform the task is determined, and wherein the parameter values are personalized).
Regarding claim 42, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for:
detect a natural language input, wherein the natural language input includes a request associated with the first voice shortcut (Klein para [0055], where a user says "help" to summon an overlay which includes suggestions other than the displayed options, interpreted as a search);
in response to detecting the natural language input, display a second interface (Klein para [0055], where the overlay displays voice-command suggestions in response to being summoned); and
while displaying the second interface:
initiate performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0062-64], where the voice shortcuts are performed when selected); and
display a second set of outputs that corresponds to the performance of the set of tasks (Klein Fig. 7, where "Movie A successfully purchased" is displayed, corresponding to completion of the task).
Claim(s) 4, 24, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein, in view of Shroff, and further in view of Rydenhag (US 2011/0216095 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein:
the set of respective task affordances includes a third respective task affordance for a third task of the set of tasks (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where multiple selections for performing tasks are available);
when the first set of inputs is detected, the first respective task affordance for the first task and the third respective task affordance for the third task are concurrently displayed in a first order (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are shown in a first order as displayed); and
updating the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task includes concurrently displaying the first respective task affordance for the first task and the third respective task affordance for the third task in a second order different from the first order (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are displayed based on a priority order, where the order may change dynamically based on the contextual states).
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
wherein the first set of inputs corresponds to a drag and drop input that results in displacement of the display of the first respective task affordance
Rydenhag teaches:
wherein the first set of inputs corresponds to a drag and drop input that results in displacement of the display of the first respective task affordance (Fig. 4A-4F, para [0043], where a drag and drop of icons results in reordering of the icons on the display;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by including the drag and drop functionality of Rydenhag (Rydenhag para [0043]) in the interface of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5), in order to allow a user to change an order of icons in a tray (Rydenhag para [0043]).
Regarding claim 24, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein:
the set of respective task affordances includes a third respective task affordance for a third task of the set of tasks (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where multiple selections for performing tasks are available);
when the first set of inputs is detected, the first respective task affordance for the first task and the third respective task affordance for the third task are concurrently displayed in a first order (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are shown in a first order as displayed); and
updating the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task includes concurrently displaying the first respective task affordance for the first task and the third respective task affordance for the third task in a second order different from the first order (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are displayed based on a priority order, where the order may change dynamically based on the contextual states).
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
wherein the first set of inputs corresponds to a drag and drop input that results in displacement of the display of the first respective task affordance
Rydenhag teaches:
wherein the first set of inputs corresponds to a drag and drop input that results in displacement of the display of the first respective task affordance (Fig. 4A-4F, para [0043], where a drag and drop of icons results in reordering of the icons on the display;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by including the drag and drop functionality of Rydenhag (Rydenhag para [0043]) in the interface of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5), in order to allow a user to change an order of icons in a tray (Rydenhag para [0043]).
Regarding claim 36, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, wherein:
the set of respective task affordances includes a third respective task affordance for a third task of the set of tasks (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0056], [0062], where multiple selections for performing tasks are available);
when the first set of inputs is detected, the first respective task affordance for the first task and the third respective task affordance for the third task are concurrently displayed in a first order (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are shown in a first order as displayed); and
updating the display of the first respective task affordance for the first task includes concurrently displaying the first respective task affordance for the first task and the third respective task affordance for the third task in a second order different from the first order (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are displayed based on a priority order, where the order may change dynamically based on the contextual states).
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
wherein the first set of inputs corresponds to a drag and drop input that results in displacement of the display of the first respective task affordance
Rydenhag teaches:
wherein the first set of inputs corresponds to a drag and drop input that results in displacement of the display of the first respective task affordance (Fig. 4A-4F, para [0043], where a drag and drop of icons results in reordering of the icons on the display;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by including the drag and drop functionality of Rydenhag (Rydenhag para [0043]) in the interface of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5), in order to allow a user to change an order of icons in a tray (Rydenhag para [0043]).
Claim(s) 8, 28, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein, in view of Shroff, and further in view of Harper et al. (US 2015/0169336 A1), hereinafter referred to as Harper.
Regarding claim 8, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein displaying the first interface including the set of respective task affordances for the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut includes displaying the set of respective task affordances in a respective order when the first voice shortcut is performed (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are displayed based on a priority order, where the order may change dynamically based on the contextual states).
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
a respective order that indicates a sequence in which the set of tasks are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed;
Harper teaches:
a respective order that indicates a sequence in which the set of tasks are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed (para [0263], where a macro consists of a sequence of subtasks);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by having the set of tasks of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Figs. 5-6) be performed in a sequence as taught by Harper (Harper para [0263]), so that a user does not need to explicitly initiate the performance of each sub-task in the sequence (Harper para [0263]).
Regarding claim 28, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 21, wherein displaying the first interface including the set of respective task affordances for the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut includes displaying the set of respective task affordances in a respective order when the first voice shortcut is performed (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are displayed based on a priority order, where the order may change dynamically based on the contextual states).
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
a respective order that indicates a sequence in which the set of tasks are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed;
Harper teaches:
a respective order that indicates a sequence in which the set of tasks are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed (para [0263], where a macro consists of a sequence of subtasks);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by having the set of tasks of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Figs. 5-6) be performed in a sequence as taught by Harper (Harper para [0263]), so that a user does not need to explicitly initiate the performance of each sub-task in the sequence (Harper para [0263]).
Regarding claim 40, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 22, wherein displaying the first interface including the set of respective task affordances for the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut includes displaying the set of respective task affordances in a respective order when the first voice shortcut is performed (Klein Figs. 5-6, para [0071-73], where the voice shortcuts are displayed based on a priority order, where the order may change dynamically based on the contextual states).
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
a respective order that indicates a sequence in which the set of tasks are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed;
Harper teaches:
a respective order that indicates a sequence in which the set of tasks are performed when the first voice shortcut is performed (para [0263], where a macro consists of a sequence of subtasks);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by having the set of tasks of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Figs. 5-6) be performed in a sequence as taught by Harper (Harper para [0263]), so that a user does not need to explicitly initiate the performance of each sub-task in the sequence (Harper para [0263]).
Claim(s) 13, 31, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein, in view of Shroff, and further in view of Van Os et al. (US 2015/0382047 A1), hereinafter referred to as Van Os.
Regarding claim 13, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 10, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
prior to initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
displaying, in the second interface, a first set of outputs indicating that the electronic device has identified the first voice shortcut and is initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut.
Van Os teaches:
displaying, in the second interface, a first set of outputs indicating that the electronic device has identified the first voice shortcut and is initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Fig. 4E element 490, para [0096], where command receipt confirmation is displayed before execution of the tasks associated with the command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by displaying the received command and confirmation of Van Os (Van Os Fig. 4E) corresponding to the received voice of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein para [0056]), in order to confirm that the system received and interpreted the speech input (Van Os para [0095]).
Regarding claim 31, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 30, further comprising:
prior to initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
displaying, in the second interface, a first set of outputs indicating that the electronic device has identified the first voice shortcut and is initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut.
Van Os teaches:
displaying, in the second interface, a first set of outputs indicating that the electronic device has identified the first voice shortcut and is initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Fig. 4E element 490, para [0096], where command receipt confirmation is displayed before execution of the tasks associated with the command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by displaying the received command and confirmation of Van Os (Van Os Fig. 4E) corresponding to the received voice of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein para [0056]), in order to confirm that the system received and interpreted the speech input (Van Os para [0095]).
Regarding claim 43, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 42, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for:
prior to initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
display, in the second interface, a first set of outputs indicating that the electronic device has identified the first voice shortcut and is initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut.
Van Os teaches:
display, in the second interface, a first set of outputs indicating that the electronic device has identified the first voice shortcut and is initiating performance of the set of tasks associated with the first voice shortcut (Fig. 4E element 490, para [0096], where command receipt confirmation is displayed before execution of the tasks associated with the command).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by displaying the received command and confirmation of Van Os (Van Os Fig. 4E) corresponding to the received voice of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein para [0056]), in order to confirm that the system received and interpreted the speech input (Van Os para [0095]).
Claim(s) 15-16, 32-33, and 44-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein, in view of Shroff, and further in view of Simpson et al. (US 2014/0343950 A1), hereinafter referred to as Simpson.
Regarding claim 15, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein displaying the second set of outputs includes:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
in accordance with a determination that the first task requires a confirmation prior to performing the first task, displaying a confirmation interface that comprises:
content indicating one or more parameters associated with the first task;
a confirmation affordance;
a cancel affordance; and
a first application affordance.
Simpson teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first task requires a confirmation prior to performing the first task (Figs. 36-38, para [0101-104], where confirmation is required to create a calendar entry, each of the figures considered part of the interface), displaying a confirmation interface that comprises:
content indicating one or more parameters associated with the first task (Fig. 37 elements 3712a-c, para [0101], where parameters are entered);
a confirmation affordance (Fig. 38 element 3816, para [0104], where the "add" button is for confirmation);
a cancel affordance (Fig. 38 element 3814, para [0104], where the "cancel" button is for cancelling); and
a first application affordance (Fig. 37 element 3718, para [0103], where the submit button is interpreted as the application affordance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by using the confirmation of Simpson (Simpson Fig. 36-38) for the task performance of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5-6), in order to verify that all parameters have been provided for a task relating to a user's intent (Simpson para [0104]).
Regarding claim 16, Klein in view of Shroff and Simpson teaches:
The electronic device of claim 15, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
in response to detecting a selection of the first application affordance (Simpson Fig. 37 element 3718, para [0103], where the submit button is selected):
opening a first application associated with the first application affordance, wherein the first application is preloaded with the one or more parameters associated with the first task (Simpson Fig. 38, para [0104], where the services manager displays the task confirmation screen with the parameters included).
Regarding claim 32, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 30, wherein displaying the second set of outputs includes:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
in accordance with a determination that the first task requires a confirmation prior to performing the first task, displaying a confirmation interface that comprises:
content indicating one or more parameters associated with the first task;
a confirmation affordance;
a cancel affordance; and
a first application affordance.
Simpson teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first task requires a confirmation prior to performing the first task (Figs. 36-38, para [0101-104], where confirmation is required to create a calendar entry, each of the figures considered part of the interface), displaying a confirmation interface that comprises:
content indicating one or more parameters associated with the first task (Fig. 37 elements 3712a-c, para [0101], where parameters are entered);
a confirmation affordance (Fig. 38 element 3816, para [0104], where the "add" button is for confirmation);
a cancel affordance (Fig. 38 element 3814, para [0104], where the "cancel" button is for cancelling); and
a first application affordance (Fig. 37 element 3718, para [0103], where the submit button is interpreted as the application affordance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by using the confirmation of Simpson (Simpson Fig. 36-38) for the task performance of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5-6), in order to verify that all parameters have been provided for a task relating to a user's intent (Simpson para [0104]).
Regarding claim 33, Klein in view of Shroff and Simpson teaches:
The method of claim 32, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
in response to detecting a selection of the first application affordance (Simpson Fig. 37 element 3718, para [0103], where the submit button is selected):
opening a first application associated with the first application affordance, wherein the first application is preloaded with the one or more parameters associated with the first task (Simpson Fig. 38, para [0104], where the services manager displays the task confirmation screen with the parameters included).
Regarding claim 44, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 42, wherein displaying the second set of outputs includes:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
in accordance with a determination that the first task requires a confirmation prior to performing the first task, display a confirmation interface that comprises:
content indicating one or more parameters associated with the first task;
a confirmation affordance;
a cancel affordance; and
a first application affordance.
Simpson teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first task requires a confirmation prior to performing the first task (Figs. 36-38, para [0101-104], where confirmation is required to create a calendar entry, each of the figures considered part of the interface), display a confirmation interface that comprises:
content indicating one or more parameters associated with the first task (Fig. 37 elements 3712a-c, para [0101], where parameters are entered);
a confirmation affordance (Fig. 38 element 3816, para [0104], where the "add" button is for confirmation);
a cancel affordance (Fig. 38 element 3814, para [0104], where the "cancel" button is for cancelling); and
a first application affordance (Fig. 37 element 3718, para [0103], where the submit button is interpreted as the application affordance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by using the confirmation of Simpson (Simpson Fig. 36-38) for the task performance of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5-6), in order to verify that all parameters have been provided for a task relating to a user's intent (Simpson para [0104]).
Regarding claim 45, Klein in view of Shroff and Simpson teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 44, the one or more programs further comprising instructions for:
in response to detecting a selection of the first application affordance (Simpson Fig. 37 element 3718, para [0103], where the submit button is selected):
open a first application associated with the first application affordance, wherein the first application is preloaded with the one or more parameters associated with the first task (Simpson Fig. 38, para [0104], where the services manager displays the task confirmation screen with the parameters included).
Claim(s) 19, 34, and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein, in view of Shroff, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2014/0142953 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 19, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The electronic device of claim 10, wherein displaying the second set of outputs includes:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
in accordance with a determination that the first task was not successfully performed, displaying a failure interface that includes:
content indicating that the electronic device failed to perform the first task; and
a second application affordance.
Kim teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first task was not successfully performed (Fig. 7, para [0112-115], where a lock screen is displayed when the text sending task is incomplete after interruption), displaying a failure interface that includes:
content indicating that the electronic device failed to perform the first task (Fig. 7 element 731, 733, para [0112-115], where an object corresponding to an incomplete message is displayed); and
a second application affordance (Fig. 4 element 450, para [0093], [0096], [0099], [0112-115], where the lock screen icon is interpreted as an application affordance, or where the location is a home screen rather than a lock screen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by using the task failure interface of Kim (Kim Fig. 7) for the task performance of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5-6) in order to display information required for completing an interrupted task (Kim para [0112]).
Regarding claim 34, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The method of claim 30, wherein displaying the second set of outputs includes:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
in accordance with a determination that the first task was not successfully performed, displaying a failure interface that includes:
content indicating that the electronic device failed to perform the first task; and
a second application affordance.
Kim teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first task was not successfully performed (Fig. 7, para [0112-115], where a lock screen is displayed when the text sending task is incomplete after interruption), displaying a failure interface that includes:
content indicating that the electronic device failed to perform the first task (Fig. 7 element 731, 733, para [0112-115], where an object corresponding to an incomplete message is displayed); and
a second application affordance (Fig. 4 element 450, para [0093], [0096], [0099], [0112-115], where the lock screen icon is interpreted as an application affordance, or where the location is a home screen rather than a lock screen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by using the task failure interface of Kim (Kim Fig. 7) for the task performance of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5-6) in order to display information required for completing an interrupted task (Kim para [0112]).
Regarding claim 46, Klein in view of Shroff teaches:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 42, wherein displaying the second set of outputs includes:
Klein in view of Shroff does not teach:
in accordance with a determination that the first task was not successfully performed, display a failure interface that includes:
content indicating that the electronic device failed to perform the first task; and
a second application affordance.
Kim teaches:
in accordance with a determination that the first task was not successfully performed (Fig. 7, para [0112-115], where a lock screen is displayed when the text sending task is incomplete after interruption), display a failure interface that includes:
content indicating that the electronic device failed to perform the first task (Fig. 7 element 731, 733, para [0112-115], where an object corresponding to an incomplete message is displayed); and
a second application affordance (Fig. 4 element 450, para [0093], [0096], [0099], [0112-115], where the lock screen icon is interpreted as an application affordance, or where the location is a home screen rather than a lock screen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Klein in view of Shroff by using the task failure interface of Kim (Kim Fig. 7) for the task performance of Klein in view of Shroff (Klein Fig. 5-6) in order to display information required for completing an interrupted task (Kim para [0112]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10,055,099 B2 Claim 1 teaches dragging and dropping a channel icon into a channel dock, then re-ordering the icons according to the drag and drop; US 2016/0124931 A1 Fig. 4A-4B, para [0043], [0048-50] teaches performing a drag and drop operation to reorder the form fields.
/BRYAN S BLANKENAGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2658