Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 6th, 2025 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The rejections based over Oh et al. are maintained.
The double patenting rejection over copending 18/202,483 is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
New rejections follow.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/202,483 in view of Oh et al. (US 2020/0075788 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, the difference between claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of copending application 18/202,483 is the addition of the limitation “a singled layered coating layer directly on the substrate”, the other layers in each claim are identical in their orientation, that being a SiN/TiO2/generic single layered coating, multi-layer stack. Oh et al. discloses that a multilayer stack on the surface of a solar cell substrate may include 2-4 layers selected from SiN or TiO2 (Fig. 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074).
Oh et al. discloses two layers (Fig. 3, #22 & #24) disposed sequentially on the surface of a substrate (Fig. 3, #10) that each individually are selected as a multi-layered (Paragraph 0074 – “in which two or more layers are combined”) structure in which these “two or more layers” are selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), and titanium oxide (TiO2) (Paragraph 0074). In the instant case, Oh et al. discloses each element of the claimed anti-reflection coating, with only the difference between the claimed anti-reflection coating and Oh et al. two or more layers is an explicit example of the materials selected of the claimed anti-reflection coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Oh et al. provides material selection guidance for layers 22/24 in that these two or more layers are selected from a finite Markush group selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), and titanium oxide (TiO2) and by explicitly stating that the material of the multi-layered structure and the like can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074 – “the material of the…multi-layered structure, and the like can be variously modified”). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize that the specific ordering of the claimed anti-reflection coating that includes, 1 a generic single layer, 2 a SiNX layer, 3 a TiO2 layer, and 4 an additional generic material single layer sequentially deposited on a solar cell substrate are known material selections from a solar cell substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed could have substituted the specific materials required for the claimed anti-reflection layer and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Annotated Oh et al. Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 2, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the substrate can be selected as silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined.
Regarding Claim 3, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiNX (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
Regarding Claim 4, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
Regarding Claim 5, Oh et al. teaches a coating layer that can include SiON that is directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx that is on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
Regarding Claim 6, the difference between claim 6 of the instant application and claim 1 of copending application 18/202,483 is the addition of the limitation “a singled layered coating layer directly on the substrate”, the other layers in each claim are identical in their orientation, that being a SiN/SiON/TiO2/generic single layered coating, multi-layer stack.
Oh et al. discloses that a multilayer stack on the surface of a solar cell substrate may include 2-4 layers selected from SiN, SiON, or TiO2 (Fig. 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074). Oh et al. discloses two layers (Fig. 3, #22 & #24) disposed sequentially on the surface of a substrate (Fig. 3, #10) that each individually are selected as a multi-layered (Paragraph 0074 – “in which two or more layers are combined”) structure in which these “two or more layers” are selected from materials including silicon oxynitride (SiON), and titanium oxide (TiO2) (Paragraph 0074). In the instant case, Oh et al. discloses each element of the claimed anti-reflection coating, with only the difference between the claimed anti-reflection coating and Oh et al. two or more layers is an explicit example of the materials selected of the claimed anti-reflection coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Oh et al. provides material selection guidance for layers 22/24 in that these two or more layers are selected from a finite Markush group selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), and titanium oxide (TiO2) and by explicitly stating that the material of the multi-layered structure and the like can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074 – “the material of the…multi-layered structure, and the like can be variously modified”). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize that the specific ordering of the claimed anti-reflection coating that includes, 1 a generic single layer, 2 a SiON layer, 3 a TiO2 layer, and 4 an additional generic material single layer sequentially deposited on a solar cell substrate are known material selections from a solar cell substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed could have substituted the specific materials required for the claimed anti-reflection layer and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Annotated Oh et al. Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 7, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the substrate can be selected as silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined.
Regarding Claim 8, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
Regarding Claim 9, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
Regarding Claim 10, Oh et al. teaches that a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNX that is directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 – this layer can includes at least three layers, wherein one of the layers is selected is silicon oxynitride & Paragraph 0074).
Regarding Claim 11, the difference between claim 11 of the instant application and claim 9 of copending application 18/202,483 is the addition of the limitation “a singled layered coating layer directly on the substrate”, the other layers in each claim are identical in their orientation, that being a SiN/SiON/TiO2/generic single layered coating, multi-layer stack. Oh et al. discloses that a multilayer stack on the surface of a solar cell substrate may include 2-4 layers selected from SiN, SiON or TiO2 (Fig. 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074).
Oh et al. discloses two layers (Fig. 3, #22 & #24) disposed sequentially on the surface of a substrate (Fig. 3, #10) that each individually are selected as a multi-layered (Paragraph 0074 – “in which two or more layers are combined”) structure in which these “two or more layers” are selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), silicon oxynitride (SiON), and titanium oxide (TiO2) (Paragraph 0074). In the instant case, Oh et al. discloses each element of the claimed anti-reflection coating, with only the difference between the claimed anti-reflection coating and Oh et al. two or more layers is an explicit example of the materials selected of the claimed anti-reflection coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Oh et al. provides material selection guidance for layers 22/24 in that these two or more layers are selected from a finite Markush group selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), silicon oxynitride (SiON), and titanium oxide (TiO2) and by explicitly stating that the material of the multi-layered structure and the like can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074 – “the material of the…multi-layered structure, and the like can be variously modified”). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize that the specific ordering of the claimed anti-reflection coating that includes, 1 a generic single layer, 2 a SiNX layer, 3, a layer of SiON, 4 a TiO2 layer, and 5 an additional generic material single layer sequentially deposited on a solar cell substrate are known material selections from a solar cell substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed could have substituted the specific materials required for the claimed anti-reflection layer and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Regarding Claim 12, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the substrate can be selected as silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined.
Regarding Claim 13, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
Regarding Claim 14, Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
Regarding Claim 15, Oh et al. teaches a coating layer that can be selected from SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes silicon nitride that is directly on the coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride and silicon nitride). Yu et al. was relied upon to disclose why the silicon nitride layer of Oh et al. would be of the formula SiNx.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Oh et al. (US 2020/0075788 A1).
In view of Claim 6, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10/#20 doped front surface of the substrate); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined);
a single layered coating layer that includes silicon oxynitride on the single layered coating layer on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 on the single layered coating layer that includes silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to the alternative obviousness conclusion, Oh et al. discloses two layers (Fig. 3, #22 & #24) disposed sequentially on the surface of a substrate (Fig. 3, #10) that each individually are selected as a multi-layered (Paragraph 0074 – “in which two or more layers are combined”) structure in which these “two or more layers” are selected from materials including silicon oxynitride (SiON), and titanium oxide (TiO2) (Paragraph 0074). In the instant case, Oh et al. discloses each element of the claimed anti-reflection coating, with only the difference between the claimed anti-reflection coating and Oh et al. two or more layers is an explicit example of the materials selected of the claimed anti-reflection coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Oh et al. provides material selection guidance for layers 22/24 in that these two or more layers are selected from a finite Markush group selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), and titanium oxide (TiO2) and by explicitly stating that the material of the multi-layered structure and the like can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074 – “the material of the…multi-layered structure, and the like can be variously modified”). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize that the specific ordering of the claimed anti-reflection coating that includes, 1 a generic single layer, 2 a SiON layer, 3 a TiO2 layer, and 4 an additional generic material single layer sequentially deposited on a solar cell substrate are known material selections from a solar cell substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed could have substituted the specific materials required for the claimed anti-reflection layer and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Annotated Oh et al. Fig. 3
In view of Claim 7, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the substrate can be selected as silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined.
In view of Claim 8, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
In view of Claim 9, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2020/0075788 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2010/0258168 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined);
a single layered coating layer that includes SiNx directly on the single layered coating layer directly on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to the alternative obviousness conclusion, Oh et al. discloses two layers (Fig. 3, #22 & #24) disposed sequentially on the surface of a substrate (Fig. 3, #10) that each individually are selected as a multi-layered (Paragraph 0074 – “in which two or more layers are combined”) structure in which these “two or more layers” are selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), and titanium oxide (TiO2) (Paragraph 0074). In the instant case, Oh et al. discloses each element of the claimed anti-reflection coating, with only the difference between the claimed anti-reflection coating and Oh et al. two or more layers is an explicit example of the materials selected of the claimed anti-reflection coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Oh et al. provides material selection guidance for layers 22/24 in that these two or more layers are selected from a finite Markush group selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), and titanium oxide (TiO2) and by explicitly stating that the material of the multi-layered structure and the like can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074 – “the material of the…multi-layered structure, and the like can be variously modified”). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize that the specific ordering of the claimed anti-reflection coating that includes, 1 a generic single layer, 2 a SiNX layer, 3 a TiO2 layer, and 4 an additional generic material single layer sequentially deposited on a solar cell substrate are known material selections from a solar cell substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed could have substituted the specific materials required for the claimed anti-reflection layer and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Annotated Oh et al. Fig. 3
Oh et al. does not explicitly teach that the silicon nitride layer has the formula SiNX.
Yu et al. teaches a silicon nitride layer used in the same capacity as Oh et al. that has the formula SiNX, and teaches that in addition to passivation by hydrogenation and surface field effect that SiNX also acts as an anti-reflective layer (Paragraph 0034). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use this specific version of silicon nitride as disclosed by Yu et al. as the silicon nitride material used in Oh et al. silicon nitride layers for the advantage of having a silicon nitride layer that provides an ARC feature, passivation by hydrogenation and a surface field effect.
In view of Claim 2, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the substrate can be selected as silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined.
In view of Claim 3, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiNX (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
In view of Claim 4, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
In view of Claim 5, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Oh et al. teaches a coating layer that can include SiON that is directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx that is on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride). All these layers are considered on one another. Yu et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to use that specific material SiNX as the silicon nitride material of Oh et al. solar cell.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
In view of Claim 8, Oh et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
Oh et al. does not explicitly teach that the silicon nitride layer has the formula SiNX.
Yu et al. teaches a silicon nitride layer used in the same capacity as Oh et al. that has the formula SiNX, and teaches that in addition to passivation by hydrogenation and surface field effect that SiNX also acts as an anti-reflective layer (Paragraph 0034). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use this specific version of silicon nitride as disclosed by Yu et al. as the silicon nitride material used in Oh et al. silicon nitride layers for the advantage of having a silicon nitride layer that provides an ARC feature, passivation by hydrogenation and a surface field effect.
In view of Claim 10, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Oh et al. teaches that a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNX that is directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 – this layer can includes at least three layers, wherein one of the layers is selected is silicon oxynitride & Paragraph 0074).
In view of Claim 11, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies at least three layers can be present);
a single layered coating layer that includes SiNx directly on the single layered coating layer directly on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies at least three layers can be present which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered coating layer that includes SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNX (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies at least three layers can be present which can include silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to the alternative obviousness conclusion, Oh et al. discloses two layers (Fig. 3, #22 & #24) disposed sequentially on the surface of a substrate (Fig. 3, #10) that each individually are selected as a multi-layered (Paragraph 0074 – “in which two or more layers are combined”) structure in which these “two or more layers” are selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), silicon oxynitride (SiON), and titanium oxide (TiO2) (Paragraph 0074). In the instant case, Oh et al. discloses each element of the claimed anti-reflection coating, with only the difference between the claimed anti-reflection coating and Oh et al. two or more layers is an explicit example of the materials selected of the claimed anti-reflection coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Oh et al. provides material selection guidance for layers 22/24 in that these two or more layers are selected from a finite Markush group selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), silicon oxynitride (SiON), and titanium oxide (TiO2) and by explicitly stating that the material of the multi-layered structure and the like can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074 – “the material of the…multi-layered structure, and the like can be variously modified”). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize that the specific ordering of the claimed anti-reflection coating that includes, 1 a generic single layer, 2 a SiNX layer, 3, a layer of SiON, 4 a TiO2 layer, and 5 an additional generic material single layer sequentially deposited on a solar cell substrate are known material selections from a solar cell substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed could have substituted the specific materials required for the claimed anti-reflection layer and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Annotated Oh et al. Fig. 3
Oh et al. teaches that the passivation layer can comprise a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies there can be a third layer present. Oh et al. teaches that the multi-layered passivation layer (Figure 3, #22) is selected from silicone oxide, silicon nitride, and silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074), wherein all of these layers are considered on one another.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Oh et al. does not explicitly teach that the silicon nitride layer has the formula SiNX.
Yu et al. teaches a silicon nitride layer used in the same capacity as Oh et al. that has the formula SiNX, and teaches that in addition to passivation by hydrogenation and surface field effect that SiNX also acts as an anti-reflective layer (Paragraph 0034). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use this specific version of silicon nitride as disclosed by Yu et al. as the silicon nitride material used in Oh et al. silicon nitride layers for the advantage of having a silicon nitride layer that provides an ARC feature, passivation by hydrogenation and a surface field effect.
In view of Claim 12, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Yu et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the substrate can silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined).
In view of Claim 13, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
Oh et al. does not explicitly teach that the silicon nitride layer has the formula SiNX.
Yu et al. teaches a silicon nitride layer used in the same capacity as Oh et al. that has the formula SiNX, and teaches that in addition to passivation by hydrogenation and surface field effect that SiNX also acts as an anti-reflective layer (Paragraph 0034). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use this specific version of silicon nitride as disclosed by Yu et al. as the silicon nitride material used in Oh et al. silicon nitride layers for the advantage of having a silicon nitride layer that provides an ARC feature, passivation by hydrogenation and a surface field effect.
In view of Claim 14, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
In view of Claim 15, Oh et al. and Yu et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Oh et al. teaches a coating layer that can be selected from SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes silicon nitride that is directly on the coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride and silicon nitride). Yu et al. was relied upon to disclose why the silicon nitride layer of Oh et al. would be of the formula SiNx.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al. (US 2020/0075788 A1) in view of Yu et al. (US 2010/0258168 A1) in view of Kuo et al. (US 2023/0327036 A1)
In view of Claim 1, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined);
a single layered coating layer on the substrate that includes SiNx directly on the coating layer directly on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiNx (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
Oh et al. does not explicitly teach that the silicon nitride layer has the formula SiNX.
Yu et al. teaches a silicon nitride layer used in the same capacity as Oh et al. that has the formula SiNX, and teaches that in addition to passivation by hydrogenation and surface field effect that SiNX also acts as an anti-reflective layer (Paragraph 0034). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use this specific version of silicon nitride as disclosed by Yu et al. as the silicon nitride material used in Oh et al. silicon nitride layers for the advantage of having a silicon nitride layer that provides an ARC feature, passivation by hydrogenation and a surface field effect.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer directly on the substrate; a coating layer that includes SiNX directly on the coating layer directly on the substrate; a high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX; and a coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 2, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the substrate can be selected as silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the substrate includes SiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 3, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiNX (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiNX” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 4, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiON” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 5, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Oh et al. teaches a coating layer that can include SiON that is directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNx that is on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride). All these layers are considered on one another. Yu et al. was relied upon to disclose why it would be obvious to use that specific material SiNX as the silicon nitride material of Oh et al. solar cell.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “further comprising a coating layer that includes SiON that is directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX that is directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 6, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined);
a single layered coating layer on the substrate that includes silicon oxynitride on the coating layer on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, which can include silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 on the coating layer that includes silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the anti-reflection coating comprising: a coating layer directly on the substrate; a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the coating layer directly on the substrate; a high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiON; and a coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 7, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the substrate can be selected as silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiNX” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 8, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiON” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 8, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 2. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
Oh et al. does not explicitly teach that the silicon nitride layer has the formula SiNX.
Yu et al. teaches a silicon nitride layer used in the same capacity as Oh et al. that has the formula SiNX, and teaches that in addition to passivation by hydrogenation and surface field effect that SiNX also acts as an anti-reflective layer (Paragraph 0034). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use this specific version of silicon nitride as disclosed by Yu et al. as the silicon nitride material used in Oh et al. silicon nitride layers for the advantage of having a silicon nitride layer that provides an ARC feature, passivation by hydrogenation and a surface field effect.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiNX” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 9, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 6. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiON” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 10, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 8. Oh et al. teaches that a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNX that is directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 – this layer can includes at least three layers, wherein one of the layers is selected is silicon oxynitride & Paragraph 0074).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX that is directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 11, Oh et al. teaches a solar cell (Figure 3), comprising:
a substrate (Figure 3, #10); and
an anti-reflection coating on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & #24 – Paragraph 0074), the anti-reflection coating comprising:
a single layered coating layer directly on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies at least three layers can be present);
a single layered coating layer that includes SiNx directly on the single layered coating layer directly on the substrate (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies at least three layers can be present which can include silicon nitride);
a single layered coating layer that includes SiON directly on the single layered coating layer that includes SiNX (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies at least three layers can be present which can include silicon oxynitride);
a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2);
a single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
Oh et al. teaches that the passivation layer can comprise a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined, this implies there can be a third layer present. Oh et al. teaches that the multi-layered passivation layer (Figure 3, #22) is selected from silicone oxide, silicon nitride, and silicon oxynitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074), wherein all of these layers are considered on one another.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Oh et al. does not explicitly teach that the silicon nitride layer has the formula SiNX.
Yu et al. teaches a silicon nitride layer used in the same capacity as Oh et al. that has the formula SiNX, and teaches that in addition to passivation by hydrogenation and surface field effect that SiNX also acts as an anti-reflective layer (Paragraph 0034). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use this specific version of silicon nitride as disclosed by Yu et al. as the silicon nitride material used in Oh et al. silicon nitride layers for the advantage of having a silicon nitride layer that provides an ARC feature, passivation by hydrogenation and a surface field effect.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer directly on the substrate; a coating layer that includes SiNX directly on the coating layer directly on the substrate; a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX; a high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 directly on the coating layer that includes SiON; and a coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 12, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Yu et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer on the substrate can silicon oxide (Figure 3, #22 & Paragraph 0074 – the first passivation layer includes a multi-layered structure in which two or more layers are combined).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer on the substrate includes SiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 13, O Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include silicon nitride (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon nitride).
Oh et al. does not explicitly teach that the silicon nitride layer has the formula SiNX.
Yu et al. teaches a silicon nitride layer used in the same capacity as Oh et al. that has the formula SiNX, and teaches that in addition to passivation by hydrogenation and surface field effect that SiNX also acts as an anti-reflective layer (Paragraph 0034). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to use this specific version of silicon nitride as disclosed by Yu et al. as the silicon nitride material used in Oh et al. silicon nitride layers for the advantage of having a silicon nitride layer that provides an ARC feature, passivation by hydrogenation and a surface field effect.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiNX” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 14, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 11. Oh et al. teaches that the single layered coating layer directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 can include SiON (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride).
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “the coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 includes SiON” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
In view of Claim 15, Oh et al., Yu et al., and Kuo et al. are relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 13. Oh et al. teaches a coating layer that can be selected from SiON directly on the coating layer that includes silicon nitride that is directly on the coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers selected from silicon oxynitride and silicon nitride). Yu et al. was relied upon to disclose why the silicon nitride layer of Oh et al. would be of the formula SiNx.
In regards to a specific orientation of these respective layers, Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 2143, I, E. In the instant case, there is a design need when selecting multi-layered structures for having a fixed positive or negative charge as disclosed by Oh et al. (Paragraph 0074), wherein Oh et al. discloses a finite number of identified predictable potential solutions for the design need (that being the limited Markush group of materials disclosed by Oh et al.). Oh et al. discloses that the material of the insulating layer 22 (corresponding to the “high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”) and the anti-reflection layer 24 “(correspond to the coating layer directly on the substrate) can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074). One of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known solutions with a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable.
Kuo et al. further teaches that anti-reflection layers can be graded multilayer that contains 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide in any combinations thereof (Figure 4, #111-#112 - Paragraph 0048 & 0054). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that anti-reflection layers coated on a substrate are predictably identified as being multilayer structures that include 3-10 layers that includes silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, and titanium dioxide, and that they may be combined in such a way to arrive at “a coating layer that includes SiON directly on the coating layer that includes SiNX that is directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” as there are a finite number of identified materials for an anti-reflection layer associated with a multilayered structure that contains 3-10 layers and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued these material choices for a multilayered structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Oh et al. does not teach or suggest a solar cell that includes an anti-reflection coating that includes a high refractive index coating layer and “a single layered coating directly on the single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that a single layered high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include a multi-layered structure including TiO2); a single layered coating layer on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2 (Figure 3, #24 & Paragraph 0074 – the anti-reflection layer can include TiO2 and a multi-layered structure comprising TiO2 and two or more layers).
In regards to the alternative obviousness conclusion, Oh et al. discloses two layers (Fig. 3, #22 & #24) disposed sequentially on the surface of a substrate (Fig. 3, #10) that each individually are selected as a multi-layered (Paragraph 0074 – “in which two or more layers are combined”) structure in which these “two or more layers” are selected from materials including silicon oxynitride (SiON), and titanium oxide (TiO2) (Paragraph 0074). In the instant case, Oh et al. discloses each element of the claimed anti-reflection coating, with only the difference between the claimed anti-reflection coating and Oh et al. two or more layers is an explicit example of the materials selected of the claimed anti-reflection coating. One of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that Oh et al. provides material selection guidance for layers 22/24 in that these two or more layers are selected from a finite Markush group selected from materials including silicon nitride (SiN), and titanium oxide (TiO2) and by explicitly stating that the material of the multi-layered structure and the like can be variously modified (Paragraph 0074 – “the material of the…multi-layered structure, and the like can be variously modified”). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus recognize that the specific ordering of the claimed anti-reflection coating that includes, 1 a generic single layer, 2 a SiON layer, 3 a TiO2 layer, and 4 an additional generic material single layer sequentially deposited on a solar cell substrate are known material selections from a solar cell substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed could have substituted the specific materials required for the claimed anti-reflection layer and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Annotated Oh et al. Fig. 3
Applicant argues that Oh et al. single layered material in either the form of the first passivation layer 22 or the anti-reflection layer 24 can be used to provide a function different than those expressly enumerated by Oh. The Examiner respectfully points out to Applicant that Oh et al. recited layers in either the form of the first passivation layer 22 or the anti-reflection layer 24 are structurally identical to Applicant’s claimed structure. In fact, Applicant has not provided any difference on why the same materials, layered in the same way as Applicant’s are any different than the identically claimed structures. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that Oh et al. does not disclose “a single layered coating directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2” because “because changing the unmediated contact between the anti-reflection layer 24 and an electrode to include a coating layer, would constitute a clear change in the principal of operation of the Oh et al. reference. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out to Applicant that Oh et al. explicitly discloses that layer 22 and layer 24 are multi-layered structures that can include silicon nitride, and TiO2. In the instant case claim 1 requires a coating layer on the substrate that includes silicon nitride and a high refractive coating layer that includes TiO2, Oh et al. discloses layer 22 can comprise a multi-layered structure of silicon nitride and TiO2, layer 24 resides on top of this multilayered structure and reads on the limitation “a single layered coating layer directly on the high refractive index coating layer that includes TiO2. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant argues that the first passivation layer 22 and the anti-reflection layer 24 are shown as distinct materials that play distinct roles in the operation of the solar cell. The Examiner respectfully points out to Applicant that Oh et al. recited layers in either the form of the first passivation layer 22 or the anti-reflection layer 24 are structurally identical to Applicant’s claimed structure. In fact, Applicant has not provided any difference on why the same materials, layered in the same way as Applicant’s are any different than the identically claimed structures. Furthermore, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the addition of these layers providing additional anti-reflective properties, only that the presence of these layers would inherently result in “an anti-reflection coating” multi-layer stack. For example, the only difference between Applicant’s claimed multi-layer anti-reflection coating and Oh et al. is that Oh et al. doesn’t recognize that the first passivation layer 22 additionally provides anti-reflective properties. See MPEP 2112, I-II. Thus, the Examiner has met the burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to show why the multi-layered stack of Oh et al. appears to be substantially identical to Applicant’s claimed structure and the burden has shifted to Applicant on explaining why the claimed structure of the instant claims are materially different than the multi-layered stack of Oh et al. (22/24). Accordingly, for the reasons stated above, this argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant’s other arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new grounds for rejection being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726