DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 13, 15, 19-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-14, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20210120581 A1 to Kim (hereinafter “Kim”).
As per claim 1, Kim discloses a random access method, performed by a terminal (Kim Figs. 10 and 18), comprising: sending a message A in two-step random access, wherein the message A comprises a preamble and a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (Kim [0252] The RA MSG-A may include an RA preamble and an RA payload. In the 2-step random access procedure, the RA preamble may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA preamble’, and in the 2-step random access procedure, the RA payload may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA payload’. The RA preamble of the RA MSG-A may be selected by the MAC layer of the terminal. The RA payload of the RA-MSG-A may be generated by the MAC layer or the RRC layer. The RA preamble selected by the MAC layer of the terminal and the RA payload generated by the MAC layer or RRC layer of the terminal may be delivered to the physical layer. The RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, C-RNTI), uplink data, and control information. [0255] The expression that the radio resources for the radio access procedure are different may mean that one or more among the positions of the radio resources in the time domain or frequency domain, the indexes of the radio resources, the indexes of the RA preamble, the transmission timing, and the offset are configured differently. The RA preamble or RA payload may be transmitted using different radio resources. For example, the RA preamble may be transmitted on a PRACH, and the RA payload may be transmitted on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).); and related information of the preamble indicates location-related information of the terminal (Kim [0252] The RA MSG-A may include an RA preamble and an RA payload. In the 2-step random access procedure, the RA preamble may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA preamble’, and in the 2-step random access procedure, the RA payload may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA payload’. The RA preamble of the RA MSG-A may be selected by the MAC layer of the terminal. The RA payload of the RA-MSG-A may be generated by the MAC layer or the RRC layer. The RA preamble selected by the MAC layer of the terminal and the RA payload generated by the MAC layer or RRC layer of the terminal may be delivered to the physical layer. The RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, C-RNTI), uplink data, and control information. [0262] The RA payload of the RA MSG-A transmitted in the step 1002 may be configured to be the same or similar to the RA MSG3 transmitted in the step S904 shown in FIG. 9. For example, the RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the identifier, capability, property, mobility status, and position information of the terminal, the reason for attempting the access procedure, request information of a beam failure recovery, a measurement result on a base station (or cell) in the CA environment, request information of activation/deactivation of the CA, BWP switching request information, BWP deactivation/activation request information, uplink data, size of the uplink data, uplink buffer size information (e.g., BSR), a control message for requesting connection configuration, and a measurement result of a radio channel.) or the related information of the preamble and related information of the PUSCH jointly indicate the location-related information of the terminal.
As per claim 2, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 1, after the sending a message A in two-step random access, the method further comprising: receiving a message B in two-step random access that is sent by at least one first node (Kim Figs. 10 and 18 and [0280] In the step S1003, the base station may transmit a PDCCH for scheduling an uplink radio resource, a PDCCH (e.g., DCI) for the RAR (e.g., RA MSG-B), or the RA MSG-B. The RA MSG-B may be transmitted on a PDSCH. When only the PDCCH is transmitted in the step S1003, the corresponding PDCCH may include one or more among allocation information (e.g., scheduling information) of an uplink radio resource for the terminal, transmission timing adjustment information (e.g., TA information), transmission power adjustment information, backoff information, beam configuration information, TCI state information, CS state information, state transition information, PUCCH configuration information, the index of the RA preamble included in the RA MSG-A, and allocation information of a radio resource for transmission of the RA payload of the RA MSG-A. In addition, when only the PDCCH is transmitted in the step S1003, the terminal may recognize that there is no RA response transmitted on a PDSCH based on a DCI format of the PDCCH and/or the above-described PDCCH configuration information.); wherein sending-related information of the message B is associated with at least one of the related information of the preamble or the related information of the PUSCH (Kim Figs. 10 and 18 and [0280] In the step S1003, the base station may transmit a PDCCH for scheduling an uplink radio resource, a PDCCH (e.g., DCI) for the RAR (e.g., RA MSG-B), or the RA MSG-B. The RA MSG-B may be transmitted on a PDSCH. When only the PDCCH is transmitted in the step S1003, the corresponding PDCCH may include one or more among allocation information (e.g., scheduling information) of an uplink radio resource for the terminal, transmission timing adjustment information (e.g., TA information), transmission power adjustment information, backoff information, beam configuration information, TCI state information, CS state information, state transition information, PUCCH configuration information, the index of the RA preamble included in the RA MSG-A, and allocation information of a radio resource for transmission of the RA payload of the RA MSG-A. In addition, when only the PDCCH is transmitted in the step S1003, the terminal may recognize that there is no RA response transmitted on a PDSCH based on a DCI format of the PDCCH and/or the above-described PDCCH configuration information.); and the sending-related information of the message B comprises at least one of the following: identifier information of the at least one first node (Kim [0167,0280-0282]); or beam-related information for sending the message B (Kim [0280] In the step S1003, the base station may transmit a PDCCH for scheduling an uplink radio resource, a PDCCH (e.g., DCI) for the RAR (e.g., RA MSG-B), or the RA MSG-B. The RA MSG-B may be transmitted on a PDSCH. When only the PDCCH is transmitted in the step S1003, the corresponding PDCCH may include one or more among allocation information (e.g., scheduling information) of an uplink radio resource for the terminal, transmission timing adjustment information (e.g., TA information), transmission power adjustment information, backoff information, beam configuration information, TCI state information, CS state information, state transition information, PUCCH configuration information, the index of the RA preamble included in the RA MSG-A, and allocation information of a radio resource for transmission of the RA payload of the RA MSG-A. In addition, when only the PDCCH is transmitted in the step S1003, the terminal may recognize that there is no RA response transmitted on a PDSCH based on a DCI format of the PDCCH and/or the above-described PDCCH configuration information. [0281] The beam configuration information may be information indicating activation or deactivation of a specific beam. The TCI state information may be information indicating activation or deactivation of a specific TCI state. The CS state information may be information indicating activation or deactivation of radio resources allocated in the CS scheme. The state transition information may be information indicating transition of the operation state shown in FIG. 8. The state transition information may indicate transition from the current operation state to the RRC idle state, RRC inactive state, or RRC connected state. Alternatively, the state transition information may indicate maintaining the current operation state. The PUCCH configuration information may be allocation information of transmission resources of an SR. Alternatively, the PUCCH configuration information may be information indicating activation or deactivation of the transmission resources of the SR.).
As per claim 9, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending a first reference signal associated with a terminal identifier (Kim [0132,0157,0167,0227,0264]); and receiving a message B in two-step random access that is sent by at least one first node (Kim Fig. 10, discloses receiving a MSG-B); wherein sending-related information of the message B is associated with location-related information determined by using the first reference signal (Kim Fig. 10, discloses receiving a MSG-B in relation to receiving a MSG-A. (Kim [0252] The RA MSG-A may include an RA preamble and an RA payload. In the 2-step random access procedure, the RA preamble may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA preamble’, and in the 2-step random access procedure, the RA payload may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA payload’. The RA preamble of the RA MSG-A may be selected by the MAC layer of the terminal. The RA payload of the RA-MSG-A may be generated by the MAC layer or the RRC layer. The RA preamble selected by the MAC layer of the terminal and the RA payload generated by the MAC layer or RRC layer of the terminal may be delivered to the physical layer. The RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, C-RNTI), uplink data, and control information. [0262] The RA payload of the RA MSG-A transmitted in the step 1002 may be configured to be the same or similar to the RA MSG3 transmitted in the step S904 shown in FIG. 9. For example, the RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the identifier, capability, property, mobility status, and position information of the terminal, the reason for attempting the access procedure, request information of a beam failure recovery, a measurement result on a base station (or cell) in the CA environment, request information of activation/deactivation of the CA, BWP switching request information, BWP deactivation/activation request information, uplink data, size of the uplink data, uplink buffer size information (e.g., BSR), a control message for requesting connection configuration, and a measurement result of a radio channel.)); and the sending-related information of the message B comprises at least one of the following: identifier information of the at least one first node (Kim [0167]); or beam-related information for sending the message B (Kim Fig. 10 and [0167]).
As per claim 10, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 9, wherein the first reference signal is sent before or after the PUSCH, or on at least one symbol of a slot in which the PUSCH is located (Kim [0264] When the RA payload is transmitted together with the RA preamble in the step 1002, the RA payload may include one or more among the terminal identifier, uplink data, and control information. The attribute of the uplink data, the length of the uplink data, the attribute of the control information, the length of the control information, and whether the control information is included may be indicated by a MAC header, a logical channel identifier (e.g., LCID), or a MAC CE. For transmission timing adjustment (e.g., adjustment of a TA value) or transmission power control, the terminal may insert a preamble, a pilot symbol, or a reference signal in the first symbol or some symbols within the RA payload of the RA MSG-A.).
As per claim 11, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 2, further comprising: receiving N4 second measurement signals (Kim [0174-0180]), wherein the N4 second measurement signals are sent by the at least one first node (Kim [0174-0180]), and N4 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Kim [0174-0180] discloses a plurality of measurement beams); and receiving the message B according to beam-related information of the N4 second measurement signals (Kim Fig. 10 and [0174-0180,0265,0280]).
As per claim 12, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving related information of multiple nodes (Kim [0005,0105,0107,0166-0167]), wherein the related information of the multiple nodes comprises at least one of the following: identifiers of the multiple nodes (Kim [0005,0105,0107,0166-0167]); locations of the multiple nodes; information about synchronization signals or reference signals associated with the multiple nodes (Kim [0005,0105,0107,0166-0167]); or random access resource information associated with the multiple nodes (Kim [0005,0105,0107,0166-0167]).
As per claim 13, Kim discloses a random access method, performed by a network device (Kim Fig. 10), comprising: receiving a message A in two-step random access (Kim Fig. 10), wherein the message A comprises a preamble and a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (Kim [0252] The RA MSG-A may include an RA preamble and an RA payload. In the 2-step random access procedure, the RA preamble may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA preamble’, and in the 2-step random access procedure, the RA payload may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA payload’. The RA preamble of the RA MSG-A may be selected by the MAC layer of the terminal. The RA payload of the RA-MSG-A may be generated by the MAC layer or the RRC layer. The RA preamble selected by the MAC layer of the terminal and the RA payload generated by the MAC layer or RRC layer of the terminal may be delivered to the physical layer. The RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, C-RNTI), uplink data, and control information. [0255] The expression that the radio resources for the radio access procedure are different may mean that one or more among the positions of the radio resources in the time domain or frequency domain, the indexes of the radio resources, the indexes of the RA preamble, the transmission timing, and the offset are configured differently. The RA preamble or RA payload may be transmitted using different radio resources. For example, the RA preamble may be transmitted on a PRACH, and the RA payload may be transmitted on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).); and obtaining at least one of related information of the preamble or related information of the PUSCH (Kim [0252] The RA MSG-A may include an RA preamble and an RA payload. In the 2-step random access procedure, the RA preamble may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA preamble’, and in the 2-step random access procedure, the RA payload may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA payload’. The RA preamble of the RA MSG-A may be selected by the MAC layer of the terminal. The RA payload of the RA-MSG-A may be generated by the MAC layer or the RRC layer. The RA preamble selected by the MAC layer of the terminal and the RA payload generated by the MAC layer or RRC layer of the terminal may be delivered to the physical layer. The RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, C-RNTI), uplink data, and control information. [0262] The RA payload of the RA MSG-A transmitted in the step 1002 may be configured to be the same or similar to the RA MSG3 transmitted in the step S904 shown in FIG. 9. For example, the RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the identifier, capability, property, mobility status, and position information of the terminal, the reason for attempting the access procedure, request information of a beam failure recovery, a measurement result on a base station (or cell) in the CA environment, request information of activation/deactivation of the CA, BWP switching request information, BWP deactivation/activation request information, uplink data, size of the uplink data, uplink buffer size information (e.g., BSR), a control message for requesting connection configuration, and a measurement result of a radio channel.), wherein the related information of the preamble indicates location-related information of a terminal (Kim [0252] The RA MSG-A may include an RA preamble and an RA payload. In the 2-step random access procedure, the RA preamble may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA preamble’, and in the 2-step random access procedure, the RA payload may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA payload’. The RA preamble of the RA MSG-A may be selected by the MAC layer of the terminal. The RA payload of the RA-MSG-A may be generated by the MAC layer or the RRC layer. The RA preamble selected by the MAC layer of the terminal and the RA payload generated by the MAC layer or RRC layer of the terminal may be delivered to the physical layer. The RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, C-RNTI), uplink data, and control information. [0262] The RA payload of the RA MSG-A transmitted in the step 1002 may be configured to be the same or similar to the RA MSG3 transmitted in the step S904 shown in FIG. 9. For example, the RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the identifier, capability, property, mobility status, and position information of the terminal, the reason for attempting the access procedure, request information of a beam failure recovery, a measurement result on a base station (or cell) in the CA environment, request information of activation/deactivation of the CA, BWP switching request information, BWP deactivation/activation request information, uplink data, size of the uplink data, uplink buffer size information (e.g., BSR), a control message for requesting connection configuration, and a measurement result of a radio channel.), or the related information of the preamble and related information of the PUSCH jointly indicate the location-related information of the terminal.
As per claim 14, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 13, after the obtaining at least one of related information of the preamble or related information of the PUSCH, the method further comprising: determining sending-related information of a message B in two-step random access according to at least one of the related information of the preamble or the related information of the PUSCH (Kim Fig. 10 and [0251-0257]); and sending the message B by using at least one first node according to the sending-related information of the message B (Kim Fig. 10 and [0265]), wherein the sending-related information of the message B is associated with at least one of the related information of the preamble or the related information of the PUSCH (Kim Fig. 10 and [0251-0257,0265-0266]), and the sending-related information of the message B comprises at least one of the following: identifier information of the at least one first node (Kim Fig. 10 and [0167,0251-0257,0265-0266, 0280-0282]); or beam-related information for sending the message B (Kim Fig. 10 and [0167,0251-0257,0265-0266, 0280-0282]).
As per claim 19, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 13, further comprising: receiving a first reference signal associated with a terminal identifier (Kim [0132,0157,0167,0227,0264]), determining sending-related information to of a message B in two-step random access according to the first reference signal (Kim Fig. 10 and [0132,0157,0167-0170,0227,0264]), and sending the message B by using at least one first node according to the sending-related information of the message B (Kim Fig. 10 and [0280-0283]), wherein the sending-related information of the message B comprises at least one of the following: identifier information of the at least one first node (Kim Fig. 10 and [0132,0157,0167-0170,0227,0264,0280-0283]); or beam-related information for sending the message B (Kim Fig. 10 and [0132,0157,0167-0170,0227,0264,0280-0283]).
As per claim 20, Kim discloses a communication device (Kim Fig. 10 and Fig. 2), comprising a processor (Kim Fig. 2); a memory having a computer program or an instruction stored thereon (Kim Fig. 2 and [0095]), wherein the computer program or the instruction, when executed by the processor (Kim Fig. 2 and [0095]), causes the processor to perform a random access method, comprising: sending a message A in two-step random access, wherein: the message A comprises a preamble and a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (Kim [0252] The RA MSG-A may include an RA preamble and an RA payload. In the 2-step random access procedure, the RA preamble may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA preamble’, and in the 2-step random access procedure, the RA payload may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA payload’. The RA preamble of the RA MSG-A may be selected by the MAC layer of the terminal. The RA payload of the RA-MSG-A may be generated by the MAC layer or the RRC layer. The RA preamble selected by the MAC layer of the terminal and the RA payload generated by the MAC layer or RRC layer of the terminal may be delivered to the physical layer. The RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, C-RNTI), uplink data, and control information. [0255] The expression that the radio resources for the radio access procedure are different may mean that one or more among the positions of the radio resources in the time domain or frequency domain, the indexes of the radio resources, the indexes of the RA preamble, the transmission timing, and the offset are configured differently. The RA preamble or RA payload may be transmitted using different radio resources. For example, the RA preamble may be transmitted on a PRACH, and the RA payload may be transmitted on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).); and related information of the preamble indicates location-related information of the terminal (Kim [0252] The RA MSG-A may include an RA preamble and an RA payload. In the 2-step random access procedure, the RA preamble may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA preamble’, and in the 2-step random access procedure, the RA payload may be referred to as a ‘2-step-RA payload’. The RA preamble of the RA MSG-A may be selected by the MAC layer of the terminal. The RA payload of the RA-MSG-A may be generated by the MAC layer or the RRC layer. The RA preamble selected by the MAC layer of the terminal and the RA payload generated by the MAC layer or RRC layer of the terminal may be delivered to the physical layer. The RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the terminal identifier (e.g., UE ID, C-RNTI), uplink data, and control information. [0262] The RA payload of the RA MSG-A transmitted in the step 1002 may be configured to be the same or similar to the RA MSG3 transmitted in the step S904 shown in FIG. 9. For example, the RA payload of the RA MSG-A may include one or more among the identifier, capability, property, mobility status, and position information of the terminal, the reason for attempting the access procedure, request information of a beam failure recovery, a measurement result on a base station (or cell) in the CA environment, request information of activation/deactivation of the CA, BWP switching request information, BWP deactivation/activation request information, uplink data, size of the uplink data, uplink buffer size information (e.g., BSR), a control message for requesting connection configuration, and a measurement result of a radio channel.), or the related information of the preamble and related information of the PUSCH jointly indicate the location-related information of the terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1-2, 9-14, and 19-20 above, and further in view of US 2021/0014900 A1 to Lei et al. (hereinafter “Lei”).
As per claim 4, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 1, before the sending a message A in two-step random access, the method further comprising: measuring N1 first measurement signals to determine the location-related information of the terminal, and determining at least one of the following according to the location-related information: the related information of the preamble or the related information of the PUSCH, wherein the N1 first measurement signals are sent by at least one first node, and N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or the method further comprising: measuring N2 first measurement signals to determine the related information of the preamble, wherein the N2 first measurement signals are sent by at least one first node, and N2 is an integer greater than or equal to 1; or the method further comprising: measuring the N3 first measurement signals to determine at least one of transmit power of the message A and a transmit carrier, wherein the N3 first measurement signals are sent by at least one first node, and N3 is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and the sending a message A in two-step random access comprises: sending the message A according to at least one of the transmit power of the message A or the transmit carrier.
Kim may not explicitly disclose, but Lei, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses measuring N1 first measurement signals to determine the location-related information of the terminal (Lei [0116] For contention-based two-step random access, the UE can obtain positioning-related information from multiple transmission points of the serving base station, or from the serving base station and neighboring cells, or from UE-centric machine learning and sidelink communications (e.g., P2P/D2D communication between UEs). The positioning information can be derived from the time(s) of arrival of reference signals from the base station (e.g., as in a round-trip-time procedure), reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement(s) of reference signals from pairs of base stations, RSRP measurements of reference signals received from the base station, the angle of arrival and/or angle of departure of reference signals transmitted/received between the UE and the base station and/or other base stations/TRPs, and/or, for UEs in an RRC_CONNECTED or RRC_INACTIVE mode, from the latest timing advance (TA) parameter. Based on the network configuration (e.g., as received at 610 of FIG. 6) and the UE's knowledge of such positioning information, the UE can select an appropriate preamble format for msgA transmission.), and determining at least one of the following according to the location-related information: the related information of the preamble (Lei [0116] For contention-based two-step random access, the UE can obtain positioning-related information from multiple transmission points of the serving base station, or from the serving base station and neighboring cells, or from UE-centric machine learning and sidelink communications (e.g., P2P/D2D communication between UEs). The positioning information can be derived from the time(s) of arrival of reference signals from the base station (e.g., as in a round-trip-time procedure), reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement(s) of reference signals from pairs of base stations, RSRP measurements of reference signals received from the base station, the angle of arrival and/or angle of departure of reference signals transmitted/received between the UE and the base station and/or other base stations/TRPs, and/or, for UEs in an RRC_CONNECTED or RRC_INACTIVE mode, from the latest timing advance (TA) parameter. Based on the network configuration (e.g., as received at 610 of FIG. 6) and the UE's knowledge of such positioning information, the UE can select an appropriate preamble format for msgA transmission. [0117] For contention-free two-step random access, the base station can obtain positioning-related information for the UE based on DL/UL measurements in the serving cell or neighboring cells. The base station can coordinate the msgA preamble format assignment in scheduling the msgA transmission. The base station can also schedule multiple UEs in the same RO, unlike conventional techniques, where only one UE can be scheduled in an RO. In addition, as illustrated in FIG. 9, different preamble formats can be multiplexed on the same RO (i.e., the same time/frequency resources), or assigned to different ROs. For example, as illustrated by graph 910, the first and second msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#2”) may occupy given time and frequency resources, and the third msgA preamble format of FIG. 8 (i.e., format “#3”) may occupy higher frequency and longer time resources than the first and second msgA preamble formats. Further, as illustrated by graph 920, the first and third msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#3”) may be multiplexed over the time and frequency resources allocated for the third msgA preamble format in graph 910. Note that in some cases, where preamble formats are multiplexed across time/frequency resources, one or more of the preamble sequences can be cyclic extended (as described above) to fit into the time/frequency resources configured for the multiplexed preamble formats. See also [0118-0124]) or the related information of the PUSCH (Lei [0116-0124]), wherein the N1 first measurement signals are sent by at least one first node (Lei [0116] discloses a plurality of measurement signals from a base station), and N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Lei [0116] discloses a plurality of measurement signals); or the method further comprising: measuring N2 first measurement signals to determine the related information of the preamble (Lei [0116-0124]), wherein the N2 first measurement signals are sent by at least one first node (Lei [0116-0124]), and N2 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Lei [0116-0124]); or the method further comprising: measuring the N3 first measurement signals to determine at least one of transmit power of the message A (Lei [0116-0124,0129]) and a transmit carrier (Lei [0116-0124,0129-0130,0133]), wherein the N3 first measurement signals are sent by at least one first node (Lei [0116-0124]), and N3 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Lei [0116-0124]), and the sending a message A in two-step random access comprises: sending the message A according to at least one of the transmit power of the message A (Lei [0110,0116-0124,0129-0130,0133]) or the transmit carrier (Lei [0110,0116-0124,0129-0130,0133]). The purpose of Lei is to enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Kim, enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]).
As per claim 5, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 1, wherein the related information of the preamble comprises at least one of the following: sequence information; time domain resource information; or frequency domain resource information.
` Kim may not explicitly disclose, but Lei, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the related information of the preamble comprises at least one of the following: sequence information (Lei [0116-0124]); time domain resource information (Lei [0116-0124]); or frequency domain resource information (Lei [0116] For contention-based two-step random access, the UE can obtain positioning-related information from multiple transmission points of the serving base station, or from the serving base station and neighboring cells, or from UE-centric machine learning and sidelink communications (e.g., P2P/D2D communication between UEs). The positioning information can be derived from the time(s) of arrival of reference signals from the base station (e.g., as in a round-trip-time procedure), reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement(s) of reference signals from pairs of base stations, RSRP measurements of reference signals received from the base station, the angle of arrival and/or angle of departure of reference signals transmitted/received between the UE and the base station and/or other base stations/TRPs, and/or, for UEs in an RRC_CONNECTED or RRC_INACTIVE mode, from the latest timing advance (TA) parameter. Based on the network configuration (e.g., as received at 610 of FIG. 6) and the UE's knowledge of such positioning information, the UE can select an appropriate preamble format for msgA transmission. [0117] For contention-free two-step random access, the base station can obtain positioning-related information for the UE based on DL/UL measurements in the serving cell or neighboring cells. The base station can coordinate the msgA preamble format assignment in scheduling the msgA transmission. The base station can also schedule multiple UEs in the same RO, unlike conventional techniques, where only one UE can be scheduled in an RO. In addition, as illustrated in FIG. 9, different preamble formats can be multiplexed on the same RO (i.e., the same time/frequency resources), or assigned to different ROs. For example, as illustrated by graph 910, the first and second msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#2”) may occupy given time and frequency resources, and the third msgA preamble format of FIG. 8 (i.e., format “#3”) may occupy higher frequency and longer time resources than the first and second msgA preamble formats. Further, as illustrated by graph 920, the first and third msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#3”) may be multiplexed over the time and frequency resources allocated for the third msgA preamble format in graph 910. Note that in some cases, where preamble formats are multiplexed across time/frequency resources, one or more of the preamble sequences can be cyclic extended (as described above) to fit into the time/frequency resources configured for the multiplexed preamble formats. See also [0118-0124]). The purpose of Lei is to enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Kim, enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]).
As per claim 6, Lei discloses the random access method according to claim 1, wherein the related information of the PUSCH comprises at least one of the following: bit information carried on the PUSCH; demodulation reference signal-related information of the PUSCH; time domain resource information of the PUSCH; or frequency domain resource information of the PUSCH.
` Kim may not explicitly disclose, but Lei, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the related information of the PUSCH comprises at least one of the following: bit information carried on the PUSCH; demodulation reference signal-related information of the PUSCH; time domain resource information of the PUSCH (Lei [0116-0124]); or frequency domain resource information of the PUSCH (Lei [0116-0124]). The purpose of Lei is to enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Kim, enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]).
As per claim 7, Lei discloses the random access method according to claim 1, wherein the location-related information comprises at least one of the following: location information; or a measurement related to a location.
` Kim may not explicitly disclose, but Lei, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the location-related information comprises at least one of the following: location information; or a measurement related to a location (Lei [0116-0124]). The purpose of Lei is to enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Kim, enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]).
As per claim 16, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 13, further comprising: sending N1 first measurement signals by using at least one first node, wherein the N1 first measurement signals are used to determine the location-related information of the terminal, wherein N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
Kim may not explicitly disclose, but Lei, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses sending N1 first measurement signals by using at least one first node (Lei [0116] For contention-based two-step random access, the UE can obtain positioning-related information from multiple transmission points of the serving base station, or from the serving base station and neighboring cells, or from UE-centric machine learning and sidelink communications (e.g., P2P/D2D communication between UEs). The positioning information can be derived from the time(s) of arrival of reference signals from the base station (e.g., as in a round-trip-time procedure), reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement(s) of reference signals from pairs of base stations, RSRP measurements of reference signals received from the base station, the angle of arrival and/or angle of departure of reference signals transmitted/received between the UE and the base station and/or other base stations/TRPs, and/or, for UEs in an RRC_CONNECTED or RRC_INACTIVE mode, from the latest timing advance (TA) parameter. Based on the network configuration (e.g., as received at 610 of FIG. 6) and the UE's knowledge of such positioning information, the UE can select an appropriate preamble format for msgA transmission. [0117] For contention-free two-step random access, the base station can obtain positioning-related information for the UE based on DL/UL measurements in the serving cell or neighboring cells. The base station can coordinate the msgA preamble format assignment in scheduling the msgA transmission. The base station can also schedule multiple UEs in the same RO, unlike conventional techniques, where only one UE can be scheduled in an RO. In addition, as illustrated in FIG. 9, different preamble formats can be multiplexed on the same RO (i.e., the same time/frequency resources), or assigned to different ROs. For example, as illustrated by graph 910, the first and second msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#2”) may occupy given time and frequency resources, and the third msgA preamble format of FIG. 8 (i.e., format “#3”) may occupy higher frequency and longer time resources than the first and second msgA preamble formats. Further, as illustrated by graph 920, the first and third msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#3”) may be multiplexed over the time and frequency resources allocated for the third msgA preamble format in graph 910. Note that in some cases, where preamble formats are multiplexed across time/frequency resources, one or more of the preamble sequences can be cyclic extended (as described above) to fit into the time/frequency resources configured for the multiplexed preamble formats. See also [0118-0124]), wherein the N1 first measurement signals are used to determine the location-related information of the terminal (Lei [0116] For contention-based two-step random access, the UE can obtain positioning-related information from multiple transmission points of the serving base station, or from the serving base station and neighboring cells, or from UE-centric machine learning and sidelink communications (e.g., P2P/D2D communication between UEs). The positioning information can be derived from the time(s) of arrival of reference signals from the base station (e.g., as in a round-trip-time procedure), reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement(s) of reference signals from pairs of base stations, RSRP measurements of reference signals received from the base station, the angle of arrival and/or angle of departure of reference signals transmitted/received between the UE and the base station and/or other base stations/TRPs, and/or, for UEs in an RRC_CONNECTED or RRC_INACTIVE mode, from the latest timing advance (TA) parameter. Based on the network configuration (e.g., as received at 610 of FIG. 6) and the UE's knowledge of such positioning information, the UE can select an appropriate preamble format for msgA transmission. [0117] For contention-free two-step random access, the base station can obtain positioning-related information for the UE based on DL/UL measurements in the serving cell or neighboring cells. The base station can coordinate the msgA preamble format assignment in scheduling the msgA transmission. The base station can also schedule multiple UEs in the same RO, unlike conventional techniques, where only one UE can be scheduled in an RO. In addition, as illustrated in FIG. 9, different preamble formats can be multiplexed on the same RO (i.e., the same time/frequency resources), or assigned to different ROs. For example, as illustrated by graph 910, the first and second msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#2”) may occupy given time and frequency resources, and the third msgA preamble format of FIG. 8 (i.e., format “#3”) may occupy higher frequency and longer time resources than the first and second msgA preamble formats. Further, as illustrated by graph 920, the first and third msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#3”) may be multiplexed over the time and frequency resources allocated for the third msgA preamble format in graph 910. Note that in some cases, where preamble formats are multiplexed across time/frequency resources, one or more of the preamble sequences can be cyclic extended (as described above) to fit into the time/frequency resources configured for the multiplexed preamble formats. See also [0118-0124]), wherein N1 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Lei [0116] For contention-based two-step random access, the UE can obtain positioning-related information from multiple transmission points of the serving base station, or from the serving base station and neighboring cells, or from UE-centric machine learning and sidelink communications (e.g., P2P/D2D communication between UEs). The positioning information can be derived from the time(s) of arrival of reference signals from the base station (e.g., as in a round-trip-time procedure), reference signal time difference (RSTD) measurement(s) of reference signals from pairs of base stations, RSRP measurements of reference signals received from the base station, the angle of arrival and/or angle of departure of reference signals transmitted/received between the UE and the base station and/or other base stations/TRPs, and/or, for UEs in an RRC_CONNECTED or RRC_INACTIVE mode, from the latest timing advance (TA) parameter. Based on the network configuration (e.g., as received at 610 of FIG. 6) and the UE's knowledge of such positioning information, the UE can select an appropriate preamble format for msgA transmission. [0117] For contention-free two-step random access, the base station can obtain positioning-related information for the UE based on DL/UL measurements in the serving cell or neighboring cells. The base station can coordinate the msgA preamble format assignment in scheduling the msgA transmission. The base station can also schedule multiple UEs in the same RO, unlike conventional techniques, where only one UE can be scheduled in an RO. In addition, as illustrated in FIG. 9, different preamble formats can be multiplexed on the same RO (i.e., the same time/frequency resources), or assigned to different ROs. For example, as illustrated by graph 910, the first and second msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#2”) may occupy given time and frequency resources, and the third msgA preamble format of FIG. 8 (i.e., format “#3”) may occupy higher frequency and longer time resources than the first and second msgA preamble formats. Further, as illustrated by graph 920, the first and third msgA preamble formats of FIG. 8 (i.e., formats “#1” and “#3”) may be multiplexed over the time and frequency resources allocated for the third msgA preamble format in graph 910. Note that in some cases, where preamble formats are multiplexed across time/frequency resources, one or more of the preamble sequences can be cyclic extended (as described above) to fit into the time/frequency resources configured for the multiplexed preamble formats. See also [0118-0124]). The purpose of Lei is to enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Kim, enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]).
As per claim 17, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 13, further comprising: Sending N2 first measurement signals by using at least one first node, wherein the N2 first measurement signals are used to determine the related information of the preamble, wherein N2 is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
Kim may not explicitly disclose, but Lei, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses Sending N2 first measurement signals by using at least one first node (Lei [0116-0124]), wherein the N2 first measurement signals are used to determine the related information of the preamble (Lei [0116-0124]), wherein N2 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Lei [0116-0124]). The purpose of Lei is to enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Kim, enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]).
As per claim 18, Kim discloses the random access method according to claim 13, further comprising: sending N3 first measurement signals by using at least one first node, wherein the N3 first measurement signals are used to determine at least one of transmit power of the message A or a transmit carrier, wherein N3 is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
Kim may not explicitly disclose, but Lei, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses sending N3 first measurement signals by using at least one first node (Lei [0110,0116-0124,0129-0130,0133]), wherein the N3 first measurement signals are used to determine at least one of transmit power of the message A (Lei [0110,0116-0124,0129-0130,0133]) or a transmit carrier (Lei [0110,0116-0124,0129-0130,0133]), wherein N3 is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Lei [0110,0116-0124,0129-0130,0133]). The purpose of Lei is to enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lei with Kim, enable positioning assisted resource configuration and selection for two-step random access channel procedure and improve the selection of msgA preamble and PRU resources (Lei [0110]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lei as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-14, and 16-20 above, and further in view of US 2021/0360701 A1 to Xu et al. (hereinafter “Xu”).
As per claim 8, Kim and Lei disclose the random access method according to claim 4, wherein the determining transmit power of the message A comprises: separately determining N3 path loss values by using receive power of the N3 first measurement signals; and determining the transmit power of the message A according to the N3 path loss values.
` Kim and Lei may not explicitly disclose, but Xu, which is in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the determining transmit power of the message A comprises: separately determining N3 path loss values by using receive power of the N3 first measurement signals; and determining the transmit power of the message A according to the N3 path loss values (Xu [0184] Msg A 1331 may be transmitted in an uplink transmission by the UE. Msg A 1331 may comprise one or more transmissions of a preamble 1341 and/or one or more transmissions of a transport block 1342. The transport block 1342 may comprise contents that are similar and/or equivalent to the contents of the Msg 3 1313 illustrated in FIG. 13A. The transport block 1342 may comprise UCI (e.g., an SR, a HARQ ACK/NACK, and/or the like). The UE may receive the Msg B 1332 after or in response to transmitting the Msg A 1331. The Msg B 1332 may comprise contents that are similar and/or equivalent to the contents of the Msg 2 1312 (e.g., an RAR) illustrated in FIGS. 13A and 13B and/or the Msg 4 1314 illustrated in FIG. 13A. [0250] In an example, the configuration parameters may indicate the power offset to the wireless device. The wireless device may determine the transmission power (e.g., for PUSCH) based on the measurements and the power offset (e.g., within a duration from time T5 to T6). The measurements may comprise the pathloss measurement based on the one or mor pathloss RSs. In an example, the wireless device may refer the one or more pathloss RSs to as pathloss RS(s) used for calculating the pathloss of a channel (e.g., for PUSCH transmission) between the wireless device and TRP2. The determination of the transmission power based on the measurements and the power offset may comprise determining the transmission power based on an adjusted pathloss value (or an effective pathloss value). In an example, the adjusted pathloss value (or the effective pathloss value) may comprise a pathloss value being equal to the pathloss measurement (e.g., RSRP value) minus the power offset. The wireless device may transmit the one or more transport blocks (TBs) with the transmission power via the second TCJ state (or the second spatial relation information) to the base station (e.g., via TRP2 at time T6). The spatial relation information may indicate quasi colocation information of a channel for the transmission and/or reception. The spatial relation information may comprise an RS for quasi colocation. The RS for quasi colocation may comprise an SSB, a CSI-RS, and/or an SRS. The wireless device may perform reception and/or transmission based on the quasi colocation information indicated by the spatial relation information. The wireless device may perform reception and/or transmission based on the RS for quasi colocation indicated by the spatial relation information. See also [0176]). The purpose of Xu is to improve throughput and coverage of transmissions and receptions (Xu [0218]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xu with Kim, to improve throughput and coverage of transmissions and receptions (Xu [0218]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant must also ensure that the “or” statement is removed in the in the independent claims and that the limitation of “the related information of the preamble and related information of the PUSCH jointly indicate the location-related information of the terminal” is selected to be in line with claims 3 and 15 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the cited Kim reference does not disclose the preamble including position information of a terminal, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim merely requires that related information of the preamble indicates location-related information of the terminal. The claim does not require the preamble itself to contain location information of the terminal. Further the claim does not state what the related information of the preamble is, how it relates to the preamble, or how it indicates the location-related information of the terminal. Therefore, the Kim reference teaches the limitations of claim 1 as disclosed in the rejection above.
Applicant's arguments concerning the remaining claims are moot in view of the response above as the arguments merely state that claims are allowable due to their dependency from claim 1 or reciting similar limitations.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2476
/FAIYAZKHAN GHAFOERKHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476