Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 - 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claims 14 – 20, Afzal teaches fibers (refs. 207, 210) extending between the endplates. These fibers are considered the artificial annulus fibrosis.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the artificial annulus fibrosis (AF) of claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites “the first NNF” and “the second NNF”. It is unclear what the first and second NNF are referring to because only the first balloon is filled with an NNF material. For purposes of examination, claim 13 will be assumed to read “wherein the NNF material is either a dilatant or rheopectic NNF”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 8, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudgins et al. (US 2007/0093906 A1) in view of Kleiner et al. (US 2019/0224024 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hudgins discloses a spinal disc replacement device (Abstract), comprising:
a first balloon (paragraph [0050], ref. 62, Fig. 10) configured for insertion through an annulus fibrosis (AF) and into a cavity within an intervertebral disc (IVD),the cavity-surrounded by an annulus fibrosis (AF) (the first balloon is configured to be placed within a disc space and thus is fully capable of being inserted through an AF and into the disc space/cavity, paragraphs [0036 – 38]);
a first material disposed within the first balloon (paragraph [0041] discloses hydrating the ballon by adding fluid which is considered the first material); and
a second balloon physically separate from the first balloon (paragraph [0052] discloses that the first balloon may completely surround second balloon and Fig. 10 shows them as separated), wherein the first and second balloons are configured for in vivo assembly into a balloon-in-a-balloon assembly (BBA) (paragraph [0052]);
wherein the filled balloon-BBA is configured to support vertebrae disposed above the IVD (paragraph [0053]).
Hudgins is silent wherein the first material includes a first non-Newtonian fluid (NNF) and provides an NNF-filled balloon within the cavity.
Kleiner et al. teaches an analogous device (Abstract) comprising the use of a non-Newtonian fluid (NNF) (paragraph [0243]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first material of Hudgins to be a NNF, as taught by Kleiner, for the purpose of increased viscosity and further control of stability.
Regarding claim 2, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 1, wherein the cavity is defined by an amount of a nucleus pulposus (NP) removed from the IVD (Hudgins, paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 3, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 1, wherein a size of the cavity is substantially equal to a volume enclosed by the AF, a first vertebral body beneath the IVD, and a second vertebral body above the AF (Hudgins, paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 4, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 1, wherein the NNF-filled balloon occupies a substantial entirety of a volume of the cavity (Hudgins, paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 1, wherein the NNF-filled balloon has a discoid shape prior to insertion into the IVD or oblate spheroidal shape (Fig. 9 of Hudgins shows a discoid shape).
Regarding claim 6, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 1, wherein the cavity has an arbitrary shape defined at least in part by an amount of a nucleus pulposus (NP) removed from the IVD (Hudgins, paragraph [0036-38]), and wherein the NNF-filled balloon substantially conforms to the arbitrary shape of the cavity (paragraph [0038]).
Regarding claim 8, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 1, wherein the second balloon is disposed within the NNF-filled balloon (Hudgins Fig. 10), and wherein the spinal disc replacement device further comprises:
a second material disposed within the second balloon to provide a second filled balloon within the NNF-filled balloon, wherein the NNF-filled balloon and the second filled balloon provide the BBA (Hudgins discloses that spiral implant ref. 24 filles the second balloon);
wherein the second material is different than the first material (the implant if formed of a plastic, such as polyurethane); and
wherein the second filled balloon provides a solid spacer between adjacent vertebral bones, the solid spacer having a diameter equal to a distance between the adjacent vertebral bones while remaining fully enclosed within the NNF-filled balloon (Hudgins, paragraph [0051] discloses that the second balloon is more solid and configured to receive a load from the vertebrae).
Regarding claim 11, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 8, except wherein a volume ratio of the NNF-filled balloon to the second filled balloon is in a range of about 5:1 to 8:1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hudgins in view of Kleiner such that the range is about 5:1 to 8:1 since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 8, wherein the second filled balloon has a spheroidal shape (Hudgins, Fig. 10).
Claim(s) 7 and 13 (as best understood) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudgins et al. (US 2007/0093906 A1) in view of Kleiner et al. (US 2019/0224024 A1) and further in view of Corrigan (US 2018/0318693 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 1, except wherein the first NNF includes a dilatant NNF.
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Hudgins in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 8, except wherein one of the first NNF and the second NNF includes a dilatant NNF, and wherein the other one of the first NNF and the second NNF includes a rheopectic NNF.
Corrigan teaches medical and surgical materials for use on the spine (Abstract) wherein the material may be a dilatant NNF (paragraph [0168]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the NNF of Hudgins in view of Kleiner to be a dilatant NNF, as taught by Corrigan, since such materials are force-reactive with improved impact resistance and energy absorption.
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aflatoon (US 2009/0248159 A1) in view of Kleiner et al. (US 2019/0224024 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Aflatoon discloses a spinal disc replacement device (Abstract), comprising:
a first balloon (paragraph [0051], ref. 134, Fig. 4) configured for insertion through an annulus fibrosis (AF) and into a cavity within an intervertebral disc (IVD),the cavity-surrounded by an annulus fibrosis (AF) (the first balloon is configured to be placed within a disc space and thus is fully capable of being inserted through an AF and into the disc space/cavity, paragraph [0025]);
a first material disposed within the first balloon (paragraph [0052] discloses filling the first balloon with a first material, e.g. liquid or viscous substances); and
a second balloon physically separate from the first balloon (paragraph [0051] discloses a separate second balloon ref. 136), wherein the first and second balloons are configured for in vivo assembly into a balloon-in-a-balloon assembly (BBA) (the balloon are fully capable of being assembled in vivo, paragraph [0054])
wherein the filled balloon-BBA is configured to support vertebrae disposed above the IVD (paragraphs [00 52 - 55]).
Aflatoon is silent wherein the first material includes a first non-Newtonian fluid (NNF) and provides an NNF-filled balloon within the cavity.
Kleiner et al. teaches an analogous device (Abstract) comprising the use of a non-Newtonian fluid (NNF) (paragraph [0243]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first material of Aflatoon to be a NNF, as taught by Kleiner, for the purpose of increased viscosity and further control of stability.
Regarding claim 8, Aflatoon in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 1, wherein the second balloon is disposed within the NNF-filled balloon (Aflatoon Fig. 4), and wherein the spinal disc replacement device further comprises:
a second material disposed within the second balloon to provide a second filled balloon within the NNF-filled balloon, wherein the NNF-filled balloon and the second filled balloon provide the BBA (Aflatoon, paragraph [0052]);
wherein the second material is different than the first material (paragraph [0052]); and
wherein the second filled balloon provides a solid spacer between adjacent vertebral bones, the solid spacer having a diameter equal to a distance between the adjacent vertebral bones while remaining fully enclosed within the NNF-filled balloon (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0052] disclose a curring resin a material for second balloon 136 which hardens and thus becomes solid).
Claim(s) 9 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aflatoon (US 2009/0248159 A1) in view of Kleiner et al. (US 2019/0224024 A1) and in view of Trieu (US 2009/0222096 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Aflatoon in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 8, except wherein the second material includes a bone cement, and wherein the second filled balloon includes a cement-filled balloon.
Trieu teaches an expandable intervertebral disc device (Abstract) comprising a balloon filled with bone cement (paragraph [0044]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second material of Aflatoon, to be bone cement, as taught by Trieu, for the purpose of the second balloon becoming hard while also being biocompatible (paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, Aflatoon in view of Kleiner and in view of Trieu discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 9, wherein the bone cement includes polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA) (Trieu, paragraph [0044]).
Claim(s) 14 – 17 and 26 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afzal (US 2009/0076610 A1) in view of Kleiner et al. (US 2019/0224024 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Afzal discloses a spinal disc replacement device (Abstract), comprising:
an upper endplate (Fig. 2-3, ref. 202) and a lower endplate (ref. 204) configured for attachment to vertebral bodies at a bone-implant interface and along respective outer surfaces of the upper and lower endplates (Fig. 4);
a fluid filled balloon interposing the upper endplate and the lower endplate (paragraph [0032], ref. 206), the filled balloon attached to each of the upper and lower endplates along respective inner surfaces of the upper and lower endplates (Figs. 2 – 3); and
an artificial annulus fibrosis (AF) surrounding the NNF-filled balloon (paragraph [0032, 35], refs. 207, 210).
Afzal is silent that the fluid is a non-Newtonian fluid.
Kleiner et al. teaches an analogous device (Abstract) comprising the use of a non-Newtonian fluid (NNF) (paragraph [0243]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid of Afzal to be a NNF, as taught by Kleiner, for the purpose of increased viscosity and further control of stability.
Regarding claim 15, Afzal in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 14, wherein the upper and lower endplates are composed of a metal, a metal alloy, a plastic, or a combination thereof (Afzal, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 16, Afzal in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 14, wherein the upper and lower endplates include teeth, screw attachments, or keels along the respective outer surfaces of the upper and lower endplates (paragraph [0048], ref. 218, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Afzal in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 14, wherein the upper and lower endplates are coated along the respective outer surfaces of the upper and lower endplates with a porous layer of a different metal that encourages bone from respective ones of the vertebral bodies to grow onto the upper and lower endplates (paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 26, Afzal in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 14, wherein the NNF-filled balloon is attached, by an adhesive, to each of the upper and lower endplates along the respective inner surfaces of the upper and lower endplates (Afzal, paragraph [0055] discloses adhesive to joint together the endplates, fibers and balloons)
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Afzal (US 2009/0076610 A1) in view of Kleiner et al. (US 2019/0224024 A1) and in view of Trieu (US 2009/0222096 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Afzal in view of Kleiner discloses the spinal disc replacement device of claim 14, except for further comprising a cement-filled balloon disposed within the NNF-filled balloon, wherein the cement filled balloon includes polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA).
Trieu teaches an analogous device (Abstract) comprising a first balloon (Fig. 6, ref. 64) and a second PMMA cement-filled balloon (Fig. 6, ref. 62, paragraph [0037]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Afzal to include the second cement-filled balloon, as taught by Trieu, for the purpose of better securing the device the endplates of the patient (paragraph [0037]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 – 23, 25, 27 and 28 are allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/Examiner, Art Unit 3773