DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, “the group” lacks antecedent basis. See also claims 19 and 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 11, 13-15, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0292548) in view of Sheehan et al. (US 8,430,686) and Post et al. (US 5,704,806).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a human interface module comprising: a body (1) comprising a front side (111) and a rear side (131); at least one input device (15) and at least one output device (1111) connected to the body; a mounting protrusion (not labeled, see Fig. 2) that projects outwardly from said body and that is adapted to be received through a mounting aperture defined in an associated cabinet panel (3) for fixedly securing said body to the associated cabinet panel; wherein the mounting protrusion comprises and inner end (left end in Fig. 2) connected to the body, an outer end (right end in Fig. 2) axially spaced from the inner end.
Sheehan teaches a mounting protrusion (14) being cylindrical, and comprising a threaded portion (18) between the inner end and the outer end configured to engage with a mounting nut (38); and a locator nib (30) connected to the rear side (32 in Fig. 1) of the body and projecting radially outward relative to the threaded portion of the cylindrical mounting protrusion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a cylindrical mounting protrusion with a locator nib and a nut, as taught by Sheehan, in order to provide a secure but easily removable/replaceable assembly.
To the extent that Wang and Sheehan does not disclose the specific diameter of the mounting aperture, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the mounting aperture having a diameter selected from the group consisting of: 22mm, 22.5mm, 30mm, and 35mm in order to fit with a predetermine size mounting protrusion, and since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Post teaches a locator nib (108) monolithically connected to the rear side of the body and projecting radially outward; and one or more cable retention features (150) to facilitate retention of an associated cable that connects with an electrical connector on the rear side of the body, wherein the one or more cable retention features comprise: at least one undercut notch (140) each comprising a depression in the cylindrical mounting protrusion, and a lock face (inner end of 136) oriented transversely relative to a centerline of the cylindrical mounting protrusion and facing toward the inner end of said cylindrical mounting protrusion, wherein the lock face is adjacent to the at least one undercut notch (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a monolithically connected locator nib, as taught by Post, in order to provide proper placement of the nib and in order to ensure proper positioning of the mating connector/cable.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses an electrical connector (not labeled, receptacle inside the protrusion, Fig. 2) operably connected to said at least one input device and said at least one output device, wherein said electrical connector is located within a hollow core (receptacle) of said mounting protrusion and said mounting protrusion includes an open outer end that provides access to the electrical connector.
Regarding claim 3, Post teaches the locator nib configured to engage with an alignment notch on ta circumference of the mounting aperture (106).
Regarding claim 4, to the extent that Wang, as modified, does not disclose the mounting protrusion being selectively removable from said body, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to make the mounting protrusion removable from the body, in order to facilitate repair of damaged parts, and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlinchman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the electrical connector comprising a known type of connector, such as a USB connector, in order to provide a reliable and know connection interface.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the input device comprising one or more of: a keypad (15), a touch screen, or a voice input device; and the output device comprises one or more of: a visual display (at 111), an indicator light, or a speaker (see Fig 3).
Regarding claim 11, Sheehan teaches the mounting nut (38) threadably engaged with the threaded portion (18) of the cylindrical mounting protrusion and adapted to capture the associated cabinet panel (50) between the mounting nut and the rear side of the body.
Regarding claim 13, Sheehan and Post teach the locator nib adapted to be received in a locating notch portion of the mounting aperture of the associated panel
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the body comprising a bezel (11) including a receiving location that receives a removable HIM module (12).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses a method of mounting a human interface module (1) to a cabinet panel (3), the method comprising: forming a mounting aperture (on 3, not labeled, see Fig. 2) in the panel; locating a body of the human interface module adjacent the panel with a mounting protrusion (protruding from 1, Fig. 2) of the body extending through the mounting aperture, wherein the mounting protrusion comprises: an inner end (left side) connected to the body, an outer end (right side) axially spaced from the inner end.
Sheehan teaches a mounting protrusion (14) being cylindrical, and comprising a threaded portion (18) between the inner end and the outer end configured to engage with a mounting nut (38); locating a locator nib (30) in the alignment notch (52), wherein the locator nib is connected to a rear side of the body (32) and projects radially outward relative to the threaded portion of the cylindrical mounting protrusion; and advancing the mounting nut (38) on the externally threaded portion (18) of the cylindrical mounting protrusion to capture the panel (50) between the mounting nut and the body (Fig. 11). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a cylindrical mounting protrusion with a locator nib and a nut, as taught by Sheehan, in order to provide a secure but easily removable/replaceable assembly.
Post teaches a locator nib (108) monolithically connected to the rear side of the body and projecting radially outward; and one or more cable retention features (150) to facilitate retention of an associated cable that connects with an electrical connector on the rear side of the body, wherein the one or more cable retention features comprise: at least one undercut notch (140) each comprising a depression in the cylindrical mounting protrusion, and a lock face (inner end of 136) oriented transversely relative to a centerline of the cylindrical mounting protrusion and facing toward the inner end of said cylindrical mounting protrusion, wherein the lock face is adjacent to the at least one undercut notch (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a monolithically connected locator nib, as taught by Post, in order to provide proper placement of the nib and in order to ensure proper positioning of the mating connector/cable.
Regarding claim 17, to the extent that Wang, as modified, does not disclose the mounting protrusion being selectively removable from said body, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively file to make the mounting protrusion removable from the body, in order to facilitate repair of damaged parts, and since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlinchman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses said body comprising a bezel (11) including a receiving location that receives a removable HIM module.
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses said step of forming a mounting aperture in the panel comprising forming a push-button mounting aperture. To the extent that Wang does not disclose the specific diameter of the aperture, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form said standard push-button aperture having a diameter selected from the group comprising: 22mm; 22.5mm, 30mm, 35mm, in order to fit the desired size projection, and workable dimensions would have been a matter of routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618 (CCPA 1977). Variations in the distance would have been obvious minor adjustments without patentable significance. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955)(Where general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses a human interface module for a motor drive comprising: a body (1) comprising a front side and a rear side; at least one input device (13) and at least one output device (1111) connected to the body; a mounting protrusion that projects rearward from the body and that is adapted to be received through a mounting aperture defined in an associated cabinet panel (3) for fixedly securing the body to the associated cabinet panel, wherein the mounting protrusion comprises an inner end connected to the body, and outer end axially spaced from the inner end; an electrical connector (not labeled, see Fig. 2) connected to said body and adapted to mate with a corresponding mating connector of a motor drive cable (intended use). Sheehan teaches a mounting protrusion (14) being cylindrical, and comprising a threaded portion (18) between the inner end and the outer end configured to engage with a mounting nut (38); and a locator nib (30) connected to the rear side (32 in Fig. 1) of the body and projecting radially outward relative to the threaded portion of the cylindrical mounting protrusion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a cylindrical mounting protrusion with a locator nib and a nut, as taught by Sheehan, in order to provide a secure but easily removable/replaceable assembly.
To the extent that Wang and Sheehan does not disclose the specific diameter of the mounting aperture, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the mounting aperture having a diameter selected from the group consisting of: 22mm, 22.5mm, 30mm, and 35mm in order to fit with a predetermine size mounting protrusion, and since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Post teaches a locator nib (108) monolithically connected to the rear side of the body and projecting radially outward; and one or more cable retention features (150) to facilitate retention of an associated cable that connects with an electrical connector on the rear side of the body, wherein the one or more cable retention features comprise: at least one undercut notch (140) each comprising a depression in the cylindrical mounting protrusion, and a lock face (inner end of 136) oriented transversely relative to a centerline of the cylindrical mounting protrusion and facing toward the inner end of said cylindrical mounting protrusion, wherein the lock face is adjacent to the at least one undercut notch (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a monolithically connected locator nib, as taught by Post, in order to provide proper placement of the nib and in order to ensure proper positioning of the mating connector/cable.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to form the electrical connector comprising a known type of connector, such as a USB type C connector, in order to provide a reliable and know connection interface.
Regarding claim 21, Wang, as modified, discloses said USB Type-C electrical connector is one of: located on a rear side of the body and encircled by a hollow-core mounting protrusion that projects outwardly from the rear side of said body, said mounting protrusion adapted to be received through a mounting aperture defined in an associated cabinet panel for fixedly securing said body to the associated cabinet panel (see Fig. 2); located on a bottom edge of said body; located on said rear side of said body (see Fig. 2).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Sheehan and post, and further in view of Miller (US 7,186,130).
Regarding claim 7, Miller teaches the at least one undercut notch comprising first and second undercut notches that are arranged opposite each other (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Miller teaches a cable retainment clip (165) adapted to be connected to said mounting protrusion (110) to retain an associated plug connector and cable in engagement with said electrical connector, said cable retainment clip comprising first and second legs (135, 140) adapted to be received respectively in said first and second undercut notches.
Regarding claim 9, Miller teaches said cable retainment clip further comprises first and second tines (at 150, 160) that are adapted to receive the associated cable therebetween and engage a transverse face of the associated plug connector.
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a number of known connectors, such as a USB Type-C receptacle connector with an associated plug connector is a USB Type-C plug connector, in order to provide a known and reliable connection.
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Sheehan and Post, and further in view of McKay (US 7,029,216).
Regarding claim 12, McKay teaches the use of a torque-limiting nut (10) comprising a nut body and at least one axially extending slit (at 61) defined in the nut body that allows the body to expand radially when a select torque is applied to the nut body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a torque-limiting nut, as taught by McKay, in order to prevent damage by overtightening.
Regarding claim 16, McKay teaches the use of a torque-limiting nut comprising a nut body and at least one axially extending slit defined in the nut body that allows the body to expand radially when a select torque is applied to the nut body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a torque-limiting nut, as taught by McKay, in order to prevent damage by overtightening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833