DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
The Office Action has been made issued in response to amendment filed January 9, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending. Applicant’s arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered in light of the instant amendment, and are not persuasive. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections
Applicant has amended claims 11, 13 and 19 to correct informality; thus, the objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC section § 101
Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 10 and 15 to include “first order of filters” and “second order of filters”; however, these amendment does not overcome the 101 rejections. However, “first order of filters” and “second order of filters” are equivalent to the directed acyclic graphs filters and thus is a is a mathematical equation written in prose and are elements that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract idea. Therefore, the rejection is not being withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC section § 102/103
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101
Regarding independent claims 1, 10 and 1 and dependent claims 2-9, 11-15 and 16-20.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to method, which falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis: Claim 1 recites, in part, obtaining a configuration information of a target effect filter chain corresponding to the selected filter identifier when a filter type indicated by the selected filter identifier is a combined filter, wherein the target effect filter chain comprises N filter elements, the N filter elements being connected in a first order of filters, and each filter element in the N filter elements is a single filter or a special effect filter chain, wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain comprises a combination information of M filter elements, the combination information of the M filter elements being a second order of filters based on the filter, is less than or equal to N; obtaining the combined filter by combining the M filter elements based on the combination information of the M filter elements;, as drafted, are elements that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas.
The limitation of “obtaining a configuration information of a target effect filter chain corresponding to the selected filter identifier when a filter type indicated by the selected filter identifier is a combined filter, wherein the target effect filter chain comprises N filter elements, the N filter elements being connected as a first order of filters, and each filter element in the N filter elements is a single filter or a special effect filter chain, wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain comprises a combination information of M filter elements, wherein the combination information of the M filter elements being a second order of filters, wherein is less than or equal to N;” is a mathematical equation written in prose.
The limitation of “obtaining the combined filter by combining the M filter elements based on the combination information of the M filter elements” is a mathematical equation written in prose.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Particularly, the claim recites the following additional limitations:
obtaining a preview image and a selected filter identifier and displaying the combined filter on the preview image. ,
The claim element of “obtaining…, and displaying… ” impart additional elements, the additional elements merely constitute pre-solution or post solution activities involving data gathering and a mere transfer of the data from one level to the next. The claim element of “obtaining…, ” impart additional elements, the additional elements merely constitute pre-solution activity involving data processing and a mere transfer of the data from one level to the next. Further, the claim element of “displaying… ” impart additional elements, the additional elements merely constitute post-solution activity involving data post processing and displaying of the filter. Such extra-solution activity does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
In view of the of the foregoing, the additional step does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
For all of the foregoing reasons, claim 1 does not comply with the requirements of 35 USC 101.
Independent claims 10 and 15 are similar in scope to claim 1 and the same rejection applies.
Regarding dependent 2-9, 11-15 and 16-20
Dependent claims 2, 11 and 14 recited additional elements of “wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain further comprises shader information of each filter element in the N filter elements, and based on each filter element in the N filter elements being single filters and prior obtaining the combined filter, the method further comprises: generating the N filter elements by initializing each filter element in the N filter elements based on the shader information corresponding to each filter element in the N filter elements”, the additional elements merely constitute, an abstract idea itself of is a mathematical equation written in prose. None of these activities integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Each respective claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Dependent claims 3, 12 and 17 recited additional elements of “wherein obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain corresponding to the selected filter identifier comprises: obtaining a material package corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the selected filter identifier being selected; and obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain from the material package”, the additional elements merely constitute, an abstract idea itself of is a mathematical equation written in prose. None of these activities integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Each respective claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Dependent claims 4, 13 and 18 recited additional elements of “wherein the material package comprises a script file, wherein the script file comprises display indication information of each filter element in the M filter elements, and wherein displaying the combined filter on the preview image comprises: displaying the combined filter on the preview image based on the display indication information of the each filter element in the M filter elements”, the additional elements merely constitute, pre-solution activity or post-solution activity. None of these activities integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Each respective claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Dependent claims 5, 14 and 19 recited additional elements of “wherein the method further comprises: generating a script program object based on the script file in the material package; and before the combining the M filter elements, the method further comprises: obtaining a filter effect reference information corresponding to the preview image by running the script program object, wherein the filter effect reference information comprises one or more of information indicating whether a target object exists in the preview image, size of the preview image, and brightness of the preview image; and updating the display indication information of each filter element in the M filter elements based on the filter effect reference information and a preset information update rule”, the additional elements merely constitute, an abstract idea itself of is a mathematical equation written in prose. None of these activities integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Each respective claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Dependent claims 6 and 20 recited additional elements of “wherein the material package comprises a shader information storage path corresponding to the each filter element in the N filter elements, and before generating the N filter elements, the method further comprises: obtaining the shader information of the each filter element in the N filter elements from the material package according to the shader information storage path corresponding to the each filter element”, the additional elements merely constitute, an abstract idea itself of is a mathematical equation written in prose. None of these activities integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Each respective claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Dependent claim 7 recited additional elements of “wherein the displaying the processed image based on applying filter on the preview image comprises: adding the combined filter to a rendering filter chain, the rendering filter chain comprising a basic image effect and the combined filter, wherein the basic image effect and the combined filter are connected in sequence; preprocessing the preview image based on the basic image effect in the rendering filter chain; and rendering and displaying the combined filter in the rendering filter chain on the preprocessed preview image. s”, the additional elements merely constitute, pre-solution activity or post-solution activity. None of these activities integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Each respective claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Dependent claim 8 recited additional elements of “wherein the first order filters the N filter elements comprises a chain structure and a graphical structure.”, the additional elements merely constitute, an abstract idea itself of is a mathematical equation written in prose. None of these activities integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Each respective claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Dependent claim 9 recited additional elements of “wherein obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain comprises: obtaining a correspondence between a filter, a filter identifier, and a filter type, wherein the filter type comprises either a single filter or a combined filter, wherein based on the filter type corresponding to the filter identifier being a single filter, the filter corresponding to the selected filter identifier is a single filter, and wherein the filter type corresponding to the filter identifier being a combined filter, a filter corresponding to the selected filter identifier is a special effect filter chain; searching for the filter type corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the correspondence between the filter, the filter identifier, and the filter type; obtaining the target effect filter chain corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the correspondence between the filter, the filter identifier, and the filter type based on the filter type corresponding to the selected filter identifier being a combined filter; and obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain.”, the additional elements merely constitute, an abstract idea itself of a mathematical equation written in prose. None of these activities integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Please see MPEP §2106.05(g). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Each respective claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Please see MPEP §2106.04.(a)(2).III.C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berteig et al (Pub No.: US20070018980) in view of Mihai (NPL titled: Using Graphics Processing Units and Compute Shaders in RealTime Multimodel Adaptive Robust Control).
As to independent claim 1, Berteig discloses an image processing method (methods for generating shader systems and using the shader systems so generated in rendering an image of a scene – see [p][0002]), the method being performed by at least one processor (a computer including a processor module 11 – see [p][0108] and Fig 1), and the method comprising: obtaining a preview image (a preview image describing the result produced by that node – see [p][0400] and Fig 45) and a selected filter identifier (A first Metanode 612 might compute the illumination over a surface while another Metanode 614 computes a textured pattern – see [p][0400] and Fig 45; note that the Metanode are shader blocks – see [p][0019]); obtaining a configuration information of a target effect filter chain (a pipeline 460 for shading – see Fig 31 and [p][0299]) corresponding to the selected filter identifier when a filter type indicated by the selected filter identifier is a combined filter (for e.g. note that the pipeline contained BRDF shader node and surface shader – see Fig 31), wherein the target effect filter chain comprises N filter elements ([a] phenomenon is a packaged and encapsulated system comprising one or more shaders, which are organized and interconnected in the form of one or more directed acyclic graphs (“DAGs”), with each DAG including one or more shaders – see [p][0107]), and each filter element in the N filter elements is a single filter (for e.g. color correction – see [p][0147]) or a special effect filter chain, wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain comprises a combination information of M filter elements (a pipeline 460 for shading with acquired BRDFs. The standalone utility application processes raw BRDF data and stores structured data in an XML file – see [p][02599]), wherein the combination information of the M filter elements ([a] phenomenon is a packaged and encapsulated system comprising one or more shaders, which are organized and interconnected in the form of one or more directed acyclic graphs (“DAGs”), with each DAG including one or more shaders – see [p][0107]), and wherein M is less than or equal to N (see [p][0290]); obtaining the combined filter by combining the M filter elements based on the combination information of the M filter elements (a pipeline 460 for shading with acquired BRDFs. The standalone utility application processes raw BRDF data and stores structured data in an XML file – see [p][02599]); and displaying the combined filter on the preview image ([a] third node 616 combines the results of the first two to produce its result of composite – see [p][0400] and Fig 45); however, Berteig does not teach the first order of filters and second order of filters.
Mihai a method of using shaders including the first order of filters (first order transfer function – see section 2.2, [p][002] and Eq 2) and second order of filters (second order transfer function - see section 2.2, [p][004] and Eq 11).
Berteig and Mihai are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of using directed method of using shaders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate method of using shaders of Mihai into the methods for generating shader systems of Berteig in order to implement scripts called shaders are used to perform programmatic manipulation of input data (see section 2.1, [p][001]). Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods, they would have performed as expected, and the results would have been predictable.
As to claim 2, Berteig disclose the method, wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain further comprises shader information of each filter element in the N filter elements, and based on each filter element in the N filter elements being single filters and prior obtaining the combined filter, the method further comprises: generating the N filter elements by initializing each filter element in the N filter elements based on the shader information corresponding to each filter element in the N filter elements (“[i]n addition an optional event method allows the shader to respond to initialization and exit events” and “[o]ther member variables can hold data used by the shading calculation and are initialized from the shader's event method”. - see [p][0261-0262]).
As to claim 3, Berteig teaches the method, wherein obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain corresponding to the selected filter identifier comprises: obtaining a material package corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the selected filter identifier being selected ([t]he material Phenomenon collects together the surface shader, which itself may be represented by a shader graph, and the direct and indirect BRDF shaders. When the surface shader invokes the lighting functions, the BRDF shaders in the material Phenomenon are used to iterate over light samples to compute the result of the lighting functions – see [p][0296]); and obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain from the material package ([t]he BRDF shader type unifies the representation of BRDFs represented by an analytical model, such as Phong, with acquired BRDFs which are represented by data generated by a measuring device. The direct_lighting and indirect lighting functions are not concerned with the implementation of the BRDFs they are given and thus operate equally well with acquired or analytical BRDFs – see [p][0297]).
As to claim 4, Berteig teaches the method, wherein the material package comprises a script file, wherein the script file comprises display indication information of each filter element in the M filter elements, and wherein displaying the combined filter on the preview image comprises: displaying the combined filter on the preview image based on the display indication information of the each filter element in the M filter elements ([a] third node 616 combines the results of the first two to produce its result of composite – see [p][0400] and Fig 45).
As to claim 5, Berteig teaches the method, wherein the method further comprises: generating a script program object based on the script file in the material package; and before the combining the M filter elements, the method further comprises: obtaining a filter effect reference information corresponding to the preview image by running the script program object ([w]hen a top level Metanode (outside of a Phenomenon) is selected, the corresponding MetaSL code will appear in the code editor view for the user to edit. After making changes to the code, a command is available to compile the shader. The MetaSL compiler and a C++ compiler for the user's native platform are invoked by mental mill to compile the shader. Cross-compilation for other platforms is also possible – see [p][0373]), wherein the filter effect reference information comprises one or more of information indicating whether a target object exists in the preview image (Preview—The preview window portion of the node allows the user to see the result of the shader node rendered on a surface – see [p][0327]), size of the preview image, and brightness of the preview image; and updating the display indication information of each filter element in the M filter elements based on the filter effect reference information and a preset information update rule ([t]he mental mill tool also provides an automatically generated graphical user interface (GUI) for Phenomena and Metanodes. This GUI allows the user to select values for parameters and interactively preview the result of their settings – see [p][0318] and The preview window will also update to give visual feedback on the look of the shader. This integration of the MetaSL and C++ compilers will greatly simplify the development of Metanodes and monolithic shaders. – see [p][0373] and [p[0662] for the noise table, i.e. preset rule, for the shader]).
As to claim 6, Berteig teaches the method, wherein the material package comprises a shader information storage path corresponding to the each filter element in the N filter elements, and before generating the N filter elements ([t]he language includes a mechanism to allow material shaders to express their result as a series of components instead of a single color value. This allows the components to be stored to separate image buffers for later compositing. Individual passes can also render a subset of all components and combine those with the remaining components that have been previously rendered – see [p][0306]), the method further comprises: obtaining the shader information of the each filter element in the N filter elements from the material package according to the shader information storage path corresponding to the each filter element ([a] material shader factors its result into components by declaring a separate output for each component. The names of the output variable define the names of layers in the current rendering – see [p][0307]).
As to claim 7, Berteig teaches the method, wherein the displaying the combined filter comprises: adding the combined filter to a rendering filter chain, the rendering filter chain comprising a basic image effect and the combined filter (a representation of a scene has been defined and phenomena attached, a scene image generator can generate an image of the scene. In that operation, the scene image generator operates in a series of phases – see [p][0106]), wherein the basic image effect and the combined filter are connected in sequence (see [p][0106]); preprocessing the preview image based on the basic image effect in the rendering filter chain (the scene image generator operates in a series of phases, including a pre-processing phase - see [p][0100]); and rendering and displaying the combined filter in the rendering filter chain on the preprocessed preview image (a rendering phase and a post-processing phase – see [p][0100] and A preview window displays a sample rendering of the currently selected Phenomenon. The image is the same image shown in the preview window of the Phenomenon node, but can be sized larger to show more detail – see [p][0349]).
As to claim 8, Berteig teaches the method, wherein the first order of filters of the N filter elements ([a] phenomenon is an encapsulated shader DAG (“directed acyclic graph”) comprising one or more nodes – see [p][0007]) comprises a chain structure (FIG. 31 is a diagram illustrating a pipeline 460 for shading with acquired BRDFs – see [p][0299]) and a graphical structure ([s]hader parameters are often set by users in an application using a graphical user interface (GUI) – see [p][0645]); however, Berteig does not teach the first order of filters.
Mihai a method of using shaders including the first order of filters (first order transfer function – see section 2.2, [p][002] and Eq 2).
Berteig and Mihai are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of using directed method of using shaders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate method of using shaders of Mihai into the methods for generating shader systems of Berteig in order to implement scripts called shaders are used to perform programmatic manipulation of input data (see section 2.1, [p][001]). Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods, they would have performed as expected, and the results would have been predictable.
As to independent claim 10, Berteig discloses an image processing apparatus, Berteig teaches the image processing apparatus (system for generating shader systems and using the shader systems so generated in rendering an image of a scene – see [p][0002]) comprising: at least one memory (see [p][0108] and Fig 1) configured to store computer program code (programs – see [p][0109]); at least one processor (a computer including a processor module 11 – see [p][0108] and Fig 1) configured to access the computer program code and operate as instructed by the computer program code, the computer program code comprising: first obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain a preview image (a preview image describing the result produced by that node – see [p][0400] and Fig 45) and a selected filter identifier (A first Metanode 612 might compute the illumination over a surface while another Metanode 614 computes a textured pattern – see [p][0400] and Fig 45; note that the Metanode are shader blocks – see [p][0019]); second obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain a configuration information of a target effect filter chain (a pipeline 460 for shading – see Fig 31 and [p][0299]) corresponding to the selected filter identifier when a filter type indicated by the selected filter identifier is a combined filter (for e.g. note that the pipeline contained BRDF shader node and surface shader – see Fig 31), wherein the target effect filter chain comprises N filter elements (see Fig 31), the N filter elements being connected ([a] phenomenon is a packaged and encapsulated system comprising one or more shaders, which are organized and interconnected in the form of one or more directed acyclic graphs (“DAGs”), with each DAG including one or more shaders – see [p][0107]), and each filter element in the N filter elements is a single filter (for e.g. color correction – see [p][0147]) or a special effect filter chain, wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain comprises a combination information of M filter elements (a pipeline 460 for shading with acquired BRDFs. The standalone utility application processes raw BRDF data and stores structured data in an XML file – see [p][02599]), wherein the combination information of the M filter elements ([a] phenomenon is a packaged and encapsulated system comprising one or more shaders, which are organized and interconnected in the form of one or more directed acyclic graphs (“DAGs”), with each DAG including one or more shaders – see [p][0107])wherein M is less than or equal to N (see [p][0290]); third obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain the combined filter by combining the M filter elements based on the combination information of the M filter elements (a pipeline 460 for shading with acquired BRDFs. The standalone utility application processes raw BRDF data and stores structured data in an XML file – see [p][02599]); and displaying code configured to cause the at least one processor to display a processed image based on applying the combined filter on the preview image ([a] third node 616 combines the results of the first two to produce its result of composite – see [p][0400] and Fig 45); however, Berteig does not teach the first order of filters and second order of filters.
Mihai a method of using shaders including the first order of filters (first order transfer function – see section 2.2, [p][002] and Eq 2) and second order of filters (second order transfer function - see section 2.2, [p][004] and Eq 11).
Berteig and Mihai are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of using directed method of using shaders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate method of using shaders of Mihai into the methods for generating shader systems of Berteig in order to implement scripts called shaders are used to perform programmatic manipulation of input data (see section 2.1, [p][001]). Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods, they would have performed as expected, and the results would have been predictable.
As to claim 11, Berteig teaches the apparatus, wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain further comprises shader information of each filter element in the N filter elements, and based on each filter element in the N filter elements being single filters and prior obtaining the combined filter, the computer program code further comprises generating code configured to cause the at least one processor to generate the N filter elements by initializing each filter element in the N filter elements based on the shader information corresponding to each filter element in the N filter elements (“[i]n addition an optional event method allows the shader to respond to initialization and exit events” and “[o]ther member variables can hold data used by the shading calculation and are initialized from the shader's event method”. - see [p][0261-0262]). .
As to claim 12, Berteig teaches the apparatus wherein the second obtaining code further comprises: fourth obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain a material package corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the selected filter identifier being selected (([t]he material Phenomenon collects together the surface shader, which itself may be represented by a shader graph, and the direct and indirect BRDF shaders. When the surface shader invokes the lighting functions, the BRDF shaders in the material Phenomenon are used to iterate over light samples to compute the result of the lighting functions – see [p][0296])); and fifth obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain the configuration information of the target effect filter chain from the material package ([t]he BRDF shader type unifies the representation of BRDFs represented by an analytical model, such as Phong, with acquired BRDFs which are represented by data generated by a measuring device. The direct_lighting and indirect lighting functions are not concerned with the implementation of the BRDFs they are given and thus operate equally well with acquired or analytical BRDFs – see [p][0297]).
As to claim 13, Berteig teaches the apparatus, wherein the material package comprises a script file, wherein the script file comprises display indication information of each filter element in the M filter elements, and wherein the displaying code is further configured to display the combined filter on the preview image based on the display indication information of the each filter element in the M filter elements [a] third node 616 combines the results of the first two to produce its result of composite – see [p][0400] and Fig 45).
As to claim 14, Berteig teaches the apparatus, wherein the computer program code further comprises: second generating code configured to cause the at least one processor to generate a script program object based on the script file in the material package ([w]hen a top level Metanode (outside of a Phenomenon) is selected, the corresponding MetaSL code will appear in the code editor view for the user to edit. After making changes to the code, a command is available to compile the shader. The MetaSL compiler and a C++ compiler for the user's native platform are invoked by mental mill to compile the shader. Cross-compilation for other platforms is also possible – see [p][0373]); sixth obtaining code configured to cause the at least one processor to obtain a filter effect reference information corresponding to the preview image by running the script program object, wherein the filter effect reference information comprises one or more of information indicating whether a target object exists in the preview image, size of the preview image, and brightness of the preview image (Preview—The preview window portion of the node allows the user to see the result of the shader node rendered on a surface – see [p][0327]); and the displaying code further configured to update the display indication information of each filter element n the M filter elements based on the filter effect reference information and a preset information update rule ([t]he mental mill tool also provides an automatically generated graphical user interface (GUI) for Phenomena and Metanodes. This GUI allows the user to select values for parameters and interactively preview the result of their settings – see [p][0318] and The preview window will also update to give visual feedback on the look of the shader. This integration of the MetaSL and C++ compilers will greatly simplify the development of Metanodes and monolithic shaders. – see [p][0373] and [p[0662] for the noise table, i.e. preset rule, for the shader]).
As to independent claim 15, Berteig discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium (system for generating shader systems and using the shader systems so generated in rendering an image of a scene – see [p][0002] and Fig 1) storing instructions (programs – see [p][0109]), the instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (a computer including a processor module 11 – see [p][0108] and Fig 1) of an image processing device, cause the one or more processors to: obtain a preview image (a preview image describing the result produced by that node – see [p][0400] and Fig 45) and a selected filter identifier (A first Metanode 612 might compute the illumination over a surface while another Metanode 614 computes a textured pattern – see [p][0400] and Fig 45; note that the Metanode are shader blocks – see [p][0019]); obtaining a configuration information of a target effect filter chain (a pipeline 460 for shading – see Fig 31 and [p][0299]) corresponding to the selected filter identifier when a filter type indicated by the selected filter identifier is a combined filter (for e.g. note that the pipeline contained BRDF shader node and surface shader – see Fig 31), wherein the target effect filter chain comprises N filter elements (see Fig 31), the N filter elements being connected ([a] phenomenon is a packaged and encapsulated system comprising one or more shaders, which are organized and interconnected in the form of one or more directed acyclic graphs (“DAGs”), with each DAG including one or more shaders – see [p][0107]), and each filter element in the N filter elements is a single filter (for e.g. color correction – see [p][0147]) or a special effect filter chain, wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain comprises a combination information of M filter elements (a pipeline 460 for shading with acquired BRDFs. The standalone utility application processes raw BRDF data and stores structured data in an XML file – see [p][02599]), wherein the combination information of the M filter elements ([a] phenomenon is a packaged and encapsulated system comprising one or more shaders, which are organized and interconnected in the form of one or more directed acyclic graphs (“DAGs”), with each DAG including one or more shaders – see [p][0107]), (see [p][0290]), and M being is less than or equal to N (see [p][0290]); obtain the combined filter by combining the M filter elements based on the combination information of the M filter elements (a pipeline 460 for shading with acquired BRDFs. The standalone utility application processes raw BRDF data and stores structured data in an XML file – see [p][02599]); and display the combined filter on the preview image ([a] third node 616 combines the results of the first two to produce its result of composite – see [p][0400] and Fig 45); however, Berteig does not teach the first order of filters and second order of filters.
Mihai a method of using shaders including the first order of filters (first order transfer function – see section 2.2, [p][002] and Eq 2) and second order of filters (second order transfer function - see section 2.2, [p][004] and Eq 11).
Berteig and Mihai are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of using directed method of using shaders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate method of using shaders of Mihai into the methods for generating shader systems of Berteig in order to implement scripts called shaders are used to perform programmatic manipulation of input data (see section 2.1, [p][001]). Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods, they would have performed as expected, and the results would have been predictable.
As to claim 16, Berteig teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the configuration information of the target effect filter chain further comprises shader information of each filter element in the N filter elements, and based on each filter element in the N filter elements being single filters and prior obtaining the combined filter, the one or more instructions further cause the one or more processors to generate the N filter elements by initializing each filter element in the N filter elements based on the shader information corresponding to each filter element in the N filter elements (“[i]n addition an optional event method allows the shader to respond to initialization and exit events” and “[o]ther member variables can hold data used by the shading calculation and are initialized from the shader's event method”. - see [p][0261-0262]).
As to claim 17, Berteig teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain corresponding to the selected filter identifier comprises: obtaining a material package corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the selected filter identifier being selected ([t]he material Phenomenon collects together the surface shader, which itself may be represented by a shader graph, and the direct and indirect BRDF shaders. When the surface shader invokes the lighting functions, the BRDF shaders in the material Phenomenon are used to iterate over light samples to compute the result of the lighting functions – see [p][0296]); and obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain from the material package ([t]he BRDF shader type unifies the representation of BRDFs represented by an analytical model, such as Phong, with acquired BRDFs which are represented by data generated by a measuring device. The direct_lighting and indirect lighting functions are not concerned with the implementation of the BRDFs they are given and thus operate equally well with acquired or analytical BRDFs – see [p][0297]).
As to claim 18, Berteig teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the material 8ackage comprises a script file, wherein the script file comprises display indication information of each filter element in the M filter elements, and wherein displaying the combined filter on the preview image comprises: displaying the combined filter on the preview image based on the display indication information of the each filter element in the M filter elements ([a] third node 616 combines the results of the first two to produce its result of composite – see [p][0400] and Fig 45)).
As to claim 19, Berteig teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the one or more instructions further cause the one or more processors to: generate a script program object based on the script file in the material package ([w]hen a top level Metanode (outside of a Phenomenon) is selected, the corresponding MetaSL code will appear in the code editor view for the user to edit. After making changes to the code, a command is available to compile the shader. The MetaSL compiler and a C++ compiler for the user's native platform are invoked by mental mill to compile the shader. Cross-compilation for other platforms is also possible – see [p][0373]); and before the obtaining the combined filter, the one or more instructions further cause the one or more processors to: obtain a filter effect reference information corresponding to the preview image by running the script program object, wherein the filter effect reference information comprises one or more of information indicating whether a target object exists in the preview image, size of the preview image ((Preview—The preview window portion of the node allows the user to see the result of the shader node rendered on a surface – see [p][0327])), and brightness of the preview image; and update the display indication information of each filter element in the M filter elements based on the filter effect reference information and a preset information update rule (([t]he mental mill tool also provides an automatically generated graphical user interface (GUI) for Phenomena and Metanodes. This GUI allows the user to select values for parameters and interactively preview the result of their settings – see [p][0318] and The preview window will also update to give visual feedback on the look of the shader. This integration of the MetaSL and C++ compilers will greatly simplify the development of Metanodes and monolithic shaders. – see [p][0373] and [p[0662] for the noise table, i.e. preset rule, for the shader])).
As to claim 20, Berteig teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the material package comprises a shader information storage path corresponding to the each filter element in the N filter elements, and prior to a generation of the N filter elements([t]he language includes a mechanism to allow material shaders to express their result as a series of components instead of a single color value. This allows the components to be stored to separate image buffers for later compositing. Individual passes can also render a subset of all components and combine those with the remaining components that have been previously rendered – see [p][0306]), the code further comprises: obtaining the shader information of the each filter element in the N filter elements from the material package according to the shader information storage path corresponding to the each filter element ([a] material shader factors its result into components by declaring a separate output for each component. The names of the output variable define the names of layers in the current rendering – see [p][0307]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berteig et al (Pub No.: US20070018980) in view of Mihai (NPL titled: Using Graphics Processing Units and Compute Shaders in RealTime Multimodel Adaptive Robust Control) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Su et al (NPL titled: Efficient Reachability Query with Extreme Labeling Filter).
As to claim 9, Berteig teaches the method, wherein obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain comprises: obtaining a correspondence between a filter, a filter identifier, and a filter type, wherein the filter type comprises either a single filter or a combined filter, wherein based on the filter type corresponding to the filter identifier being a single filter, the filter corresponding to the selected filter identifier is a single filter, and wherein the filter type corresponding to the filter identifier being a combined filter, a filter corresponding to the selected filter identifier is a special effect filter chain (a pipeline 460 for shading with acquired BRDFs. The standalone utility application processes raw BRDF data and stores structured data in an XML file – see [p][02599]); however, the combination of Berteig and Mihai as a whole does not expressly disclose searching for the filter type corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the correspondence between the filter, the filter identifier, and the filter type; obtaining the target effect filter chain corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the correspondence between the filter, the filter identifier, and the filter type based on the filter type corresponding to the selected filter identifier being a combined filter; and obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain.
Su discloses a method for graph algorithm analysis including searching for the filter type corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the correspondence between the filter, the filter identifier, and the filter type (Subsequently, when a reachability query is given, ELF may be able to quickly determine whether the query is unreachable based on the simple comparison (see Theorem 1) of the extreme la- bels (see Algorithm 5). Note that more unreachable queries may be determined by additionally constructing and assessing MinOut(), MinIn() and MaxIn() labels. But it will induce extra cost in label – see section 4.6,[p][001]); obtaining the target effect filter chain corresponding to the selected filter identifier based on the correspondence between the filter, the filter identifier, and the filter type based on the filter type corresponding to the selected filter identifier being a combined filter (see section 4.6,[p][001]); and obtaining the configuration information of the target effect filter chain (see section 4.6,[p][001]).
Berteig and Su are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor of using directed acyclic graph for data analysis. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate method for graph algorithm analysis of Su into the methods for generating shader systems of Berteig as modified by Mihai in order to perform the analysis of the given DAG in a systematic and autonomous manner, first using Extreme Labeling Filter (ELF) to determine whether to use predecessors or successors to label the vertexes. Based on such self-determined labels, ELF is then able to identify a large number of unreachable queries with a low time complexity (see abstract). Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods, they would have performed as expected, and the results would have been predictable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/ANDRAE S ALLISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673
May 28, 2026